Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Presidential Lectures Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1984-
Creator: Presidential Lectures
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG01.0011.005
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Presidential Lectures Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Through funds provided by The University of Iowa Foundation, the Presidential Lecture series provides an opportunity for a distinguished member of the UI faculty to present significant aspects of their scholarly work to the entire University community. The Foundation established the annual series to encourage intellectual communication among the many disciplines that constitute The University of Iowa. The first of this series was delivered by Professor Sherman Paul on February 19, 1984, at Clapp Recital Hall.

The Presidential Lectures Collection consists of promotional fliers, programs, and, in some instances, texts of speeches beginning with the series' inception in 1984.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: LECTURE PROGRAMS

  • Series 1: LECTURE PROGRAMS
  • 1st Annual: Sherman Paul, "The Onward Way" - 1984
  • 2nd Annual: Antonio R. Damasio, "What's in a Brain that may Ink Character?" - 1985
  • 3rd Annual: June Helm, "Horde, Band and Tribe; Northern Approaches" - 1986
  • 4th Annual: Linda K. Kerber, "History Will Do It No Justice" - 1987
  • 5th Annual: Beaumont Glass, "Genius on the Opera Stage" - 1988
  • 6th Annual: George Wolfgang Forell, "The Sacred and Secular" - 1989
  • 7th Annual: John E. Donelson, "Molecular Biology of Parasites" - 1990
  • 8th Annual: Jorie Graham, "A Poetry Reading" - 1991
  • 9th Annual: James A. Van Allen, "The Modern Saga of Planetary Exploration" - 1992
  • 10th Annual: Nancy C. Andreasen, "O Brave New World" - 1993
  • 12th Annual: Herbert Hovenkamp, "The Mid and Heart of Progressive Legal Thought" - 1995
  • 13th Annual: Jerald L. Scnoor, "Eco-logic; An Environmental Perspective" - 1996
  • 14th Annual: Dudley Andrew, "Fade In/Fade Out; Aspirations of National Cinema" - 1997
  • 15th Annual: Ed Folsom - 1998
  • 16th Annual: Louis A. Frank, "Small Comets and our Origins" - 1999
  • 17th Annual: Jeffery C. Murray, "Genes and Environment, Science and Society" - 2000
  • 22nd Annual: Kenneth Cmiel and color advertisement - 2005

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa General Information and University History