Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Committee on University Lectures Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1956-
Creator: Committee on University Lectures (1803-1868)
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG01.0011.001
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Box contents list compiled by Ryan Knight in 2009.

Preferred Citation: [Name of collection], The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

The Records of the Committee on University Lectures include minutes, correspondence, event programs, and other materials used in the planning and scheduling of public lectures at The University of Iowa.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Annual report, 2006-
  • List of University Lecture Committee members - 1915-1996
  • Lecture Series Committee Minutes (incomplete) - 1973-1978
  • Henry Hull, October 24 - 1956
  • Earl Attlee, January 9 - 1957
  • Jesse Owens, February 6 - 1957
  • Marquis Childs, February 20 - 1957
  • Mrs. Eleanor Roosevelt, March 13 - 1957
  • Peter Freuchen, October 7 - 1957
  • Roscoe Drummond, November 19 - 1957
  • Lecture Course, Misc. - 1956-1957
  • W. Colston Leigh, Inc. - 1956-1957
  • Anna Russell, March 12 - 1958
  • T. V. Smith, February 13 - 1958
  • Prof. James Van Allen, March 19 - 1958
  • Sen. Hubert Humphrey, October 9 - 1958
  • Meredith Willson, October 15 - 1958
  • Vincent Price, November 13 - 1958
  • Emlyn Williams, February 18 - 1959
  • Justice William O. Douglas, May 6 - 1959
  • Correspondence, prospective talent - 1958-1959
  • Inquiries - 1958-1959
  • Brochures - 1958-1959
  • Brochures - 1959-1960
  • President Virgil Hancher, January 20 - 1960
  • Marquis Childs, March 9 - 1960
  • Joyce Grenfell, March 23 - 1960
  • Martin Luther King, Jr., November 11 - 1959
  • Madame Pandit, November 19 - 1959
  • Attractions Schedule/Staff Letters - 1959-1960
  • Lecture Committee - 1959-1960
  • Lecture Committee - 1985-1986
  • Lectures - 2002

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Administration
University of Iowa General Information and University History