Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Serials and Journals Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1880-
Creator: Serials and Journals
Extent: 160.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG01.0009.002
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs exist only as published in numerous titles.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials have been transferred to the University Archives at various times. Guide posted to the Internet March 2008.

Preferred Citation: Serials and Journals Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

The Serials and Journals Collection consists of over 200 University-produced publications, past and current, reflecting a wide range of academic and campus-related activity.

Each entry represents one title and includes, where appropriate and available, date span, alternate titles, and annotations about its content. Each entry represents a full or partial set of the publication. Not all editions of each publication have been consistently transferred to the Archives over time, as practices have varied among creating offices. Where available, the name of the University-based creating office, unit, department or college is included in brackets following the title.

These publications are arranged alphabetically by title in the Archives' serials and journals section. Titles followed by a Library of Congress classification number in bold are in the adjacent Archives' cataloged section.
University Directories collections (RG01.0007.001)

General Catalogues Collection (RG01.0008.001)

State University of Iowa Bulletin and Publications Collection (RG01.0009.001)

Student-Produced Publications and Newsletters Collection (RG02.0005.001)

Yearbooks and Student Newspapers collections (RG02.0010.001 and RG02.0011.001)

Student Guides and Handbooks Collection (RG02.0012.001)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: SHELF LIST

  • Series 1: SHELF LIST
  • Box 1:
  • Academic Opportunities at Iowa
    LD2562 .U55
  • Accessions, Museum of Art 1970-
  • Adding Life to Years, Institute of Gerontology
  • Aims and Progress of Research, Graduate College and other source - 1916-1954
    Title is a sub-series of University of Iowa Studies AS36 .I6
  • American Prefaces: A Journal of Critical and Imaginative Writing, School of Journalism and School of Letters - 1935-1943
  • Announcements. College of Engineering
  • Announcements. College of Pharmacy
  • Announcements. Graduate College
  • Announcements. College of Liberal Arts
  • Announcements. College of Homeopathic Medicine
  • Announcements. Dental Department
  • Announcements. College of Law
  • Annual Report, Center for Global and Regional Environmental Research (CGRER)
    HC79.E5 U57
  • Annual Report, Iowa's Center for Agricultural Safety and Health, University of Iowa
    S565 .I68
  • Annual Report, State Hygienic Laboratory, University of Iowa
    RA428.3 .I8
  • Annual Report, University of Iowa Libraries
    Z733.U858 U55
  • Annual Report. Department of Special Support Services
  • Annual Report. Committee on Institutional Cooperation
  • Annual Report. Coordinator of Automated Library Services
  • Annual Report. Institute of Urban and Regional Research
  • Annual Report. Division of Physical Education
  • Annual Report. Department of Orthopedic Surgery
  • Annual SUI Geology Club Field Trip
  • Applied History, Iowa Applied History Series
  • Archives of Speech, Department of Speech - 1934-1936
  • ASA/Census Working Paper, Institute of Urban and Regional Research - 1982
  • At Your Service, Facilities Services Group
  • Athelney Book, Athelney Club - 1914-1919
    Undergraduate poetry and prose
  • Basketball, the University of Iowa, University of Iowa Sports Information Office
    GV886 .B37
  • Big Ten
  • Big Ten Records Book - 1948-
    Alternate titles: Big Ten Men's Records Book, Big Ten Conference Records Book
  • Bindings, Friends of the University of Iowa Libraries - 1997-
  • Books at Iowa , Friends of the University of Iowa Libraries
  • Bulletin. College of Homeopathic Medicine
  • Bulletin. Laboratories of Natural History
  • Bulletin. Studies in Natural History
  • Bulletin. Institute of Agricultural Medicine
  • Bulletin. School of Political and Social Science
  • Bulletin. Museum of Art
  • Campus Review - 1985-1994
    Alternate title: National Conservative Student Review; see also: Hawkeye Review, 1983-1984, in Student-produced Publications and Newsletters Collection, RG 02.05
  • Cancer in Iowa, Iowa Cancer Epidemiology Research Center
  • Catalog of Art Exhibitions, Festival of the Arts - 1939-1969
  • Chemistry Newsletter, Department of Chemistry
  • Civil War History, Department of History
  • College of Education Series - 1924-1965
  • Continuing Medical Education: Annual Report - 1971-1984
  • Course-Instructor Evaluation, Student Evaluation Service
  • Crisis and the Arts, A History of Dada : The Newsletter, School of Art and Art History - 1993-
  • December, December Arts Society - 1958-1959
    Creative writing magazine
  • Dental FYI, College of Dentistry - 1977-1992
  • Dental Link, College of Dentistry - 1982-
    Alumni news
  • Directory of Living Graduates, Alumni Association
  • Discussion Paper Series, Department of Geography - 1966?-
  • Drug Letter, University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics
  • EMS Update, University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics
    Emergency Medical Services Learning Resources Center
  • Earthwords, Associated Residence Halls - 1981-
    Prose, poetry and artwork by undergraduate students
  • Eclectic, School of Library and Information Science
  • Exchanges, Translation Workshop - 1990-1998
  • Exhibition, Center for New Performing Arts
  • Experimental Research in the Psychology of Music - 1970-1975
    Alternate title: Studies in the Psychology of Music
  • Extension Division Bulletin - 1916-
    Alternate title: SUI Extension Bulletin
  • Faculty Exhibition, Museum of Art - 1982
  • Field Hockey, University of Iowa Sports Information Office
    GV1017.H7 H39
  • Financial Report, University of Iowa - 1921-
    Alternate titles: Financial Report, Report of the Secretary for the Year Ending June 30 ... LD2553 .A3
  • Fisz 1950-1951 Student humor and literary magazine
  • Formulary and Handbook, University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics
  • Forum International, Department of Russian
  • Free Environment, Activities Center, Iowa Memorial Union
    Alternate titles: Free Environment / Chinook Winds, Free Environment Magazine, Free Environment Monthly, Free Environment Newsletter
  • Frivol - 1919-1953
    Student humor and literary magazine
  • Fusion, Department of Physics
    Alternate title: Physics News
  • Gray Hawk, Faculty and Staff Retirees Association
  • Guides for Clerks, Institute of Public Affairs - 1966-
  • Handbook of Dental Health Education for the Elementary Teacher, Dental Hygiene Program - 1947-
  • Harbinger - 1950-1951
    Poetry and prose by students enrolled in creative writing programs
  • Haw-Haw-Hawkeye - 1910
    Student humor magazine
  • HawkScripts, College of Pharmacy - 2007
  • Hawk Wings - 1924-1930
    Alternate title: Iowa Literary Magazine
  • Hawkeye Regimental Review, ROTC - 1934
    Military service
  • Headlining America 
    SEE: News Stories
  • Health at Iowa, University of Iowa Health Care - 2010-  
    Replaces Pacemaker and Well and Good.
  • Health Care Research Series, Graduate Program in Hospital and Health Administration - 1966-1975
  • Honorable Mention, University of Iowa Honors Program - 2001-
  • In Service, School of Social Work - 2007
  • Independent Higher Education
  • Information Series, Bureau of Labor and Management - 1959-1965
  • International Accents, International Programs - 2000-
  • Iowa Alumni Magazine, Alumni Association - 2000-
  • Iowa Alumni Quarterly, Alumni Association - 1993-1999
  • Iowa Alumni Review, Alumni Association - 1947-1993
  • Iowa Alumnus, Alumni Association - 1903-1925
  • Iowa Business Digest, Bureau of Business Research - 1930-1968
  • Iowa Business Calculator
    Alternate title: Iowa Business Educator
  • Iowa City, Activities Center, Iowa Memorial Union
    Author is the Free Environment Magazine
  • Iowa City Catalyst - 1968-1969
    Literary magazine
  • Iowa Climber, Iowa Mountaineers
    Alternate titles: Iowa Mountaineer, Iowa Mountaineers Journal
  • Iowa Counselor's Guide, Office of the Registrar
  • Iowa Dental Bulletin
  • Iowa Economic Forecast, Institute for Economic Research - 1983-
  • Iowa English Bulletin
  • Iowa English Yearbook
    Alternate title: ICTE Yearbook PE1065.I6
  • Iowa Executive MBA: Participant Roster, College of Business
    LD2579.5.B47 U55
  • Iowa Foreign Language Bulletin, Extension Division
  • Iowa Guide: Scholarly Journals in Mass Communication and Related Fields, Iowa Center for Communication Study, School of Journalism and Mass Communication - 1987-
  • Iowa High School Music Festival - 1926-
  • Iowa International Papers, Center for International and Comparative Studies - 1989-
  • Iowa Journal of Literary Studies, Department of English - 1977-
    Alternate title: Iowa Journal of Cultural Studies LH1.I6 I57
  • Iowa Journal of Social Work, School of Social Work - 1968-1976
  • Iowa Ledger, Department of Accounting, College of Business - 1982-
    LH1.I6 I58
  • Iowa Newspaper Desk Book, School of Journalism
  • Iowa Nurse, University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics - 1981-
  • Iowa Orthopaedic Journal, Department of Orthopaedics, College of Medicine
    RD701 .I68
  • Iowa Perinatal Letter, College of Medicine - 1980-
  • Iowa Rag - 1985-
    Undergraduate creative arts
  • Iowa Review, School of Letters
  • Iowa State Liquor Store - 1969-1971
    Student artwork and poetry
  • Iowa Studies in African Art, School of Art and Art History - 1984-
  • Iowa Studies in Business, Bureau of Business and Economic Research - 1928-1937
  • Iowa Tapes for Teaching, Bureau of Audio-Visual Instruction - 1952-
  • Iowa Testing Programs Occasional Papers, College of Education - 1973-
  • Iowa Transit, College of Engineering
  • It's About Time, Iowa City Center for Men - 1977-1978
  • Journal of Communication Inquiry, Center for Communication Study - 1974-
  • Journal of General Education
  • Journal of Research for School Executives, College of Education - 1991-
  • Kinnikinnick - 1925-1928
    Student poetry and prose under direction of Prof. Edwin Piper, Department of English
  • Lab Hotline, State Hygienic Laboratory
  • Lake Okoboji Audiovisual Leadership Conference: Summary Report of the Lake Okoboji Audiovisual Leadership Conference, Extension Division - 1955-1964
  • Legislative Studies Quarterly, Comparative Legislative Research Center
  • Liberal Arts Review, College of Liberal Arts
  • Literature and the Art of Writing, School of Letters - 1934-1939
    PR53 .I8 .L5
  • Little Tin God on Wheels - 1881
    Student literary publication
  • Media Message, Center for Research in Educational Media Design
  • Medigram, College of Medicine
  • Micromegas, Department of English - 1965-1966
    Undergraduate prose and poetry PN1010 .M53
  • Mystics Quarterly, Department of English - 1984-
  • Muses, Iowa Humanities Board for Public Programs
  • El Nahuatzen, Chicano Indian American Cultural Center
    Poetry and prose
  • Nahuatzen, a Chicano Literary Magazine
  • News and Views for Iowa Latin Teachers, Department of Classics
  • News Stories, School of Journalism - 1933-1934
    Alternate title: Headlining America
  • Newsletter. Art and Art History, School of
  • Newsletter. Community College Affairs, Office of
  • Newsletter. Emergency Medical Services Learning Resources Center
  • Newsletter. History, Department of
  • Newsletter. Library and Information Science, School of
  • Newsletter. Naturally, Museum of Natural History, March-December - 2001-2004
  • Newsletter. New University Conference
    HX1 .N5286
  • Newsletter. Pharmacy, College of
    Alternate title: College of Pharmacy News
  • Newspaper in the Classroom, School of Journalism
  • Noggin - 1990-1992
    Student magazine xf PS571 .I8N6
  • Occasional Paper, Iowa Writing Project
  • On Iowa
    Alternate title: University of Iowa News Bulletin
  • On the Level, Facilities Services Group
  • Oracle, Interfraternity and Panhellenic Councils of the University of Iowa - 1967-1968
    Greek life LJ41 .I83O7
  • Pacemaker, University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics - 1974-
  • Pamoja, Black Student Union
    Alternate titles: Challenger, New Challenger
  • Papers of the Midwest Modern Language Association - 1969-1972
  • Pavement, Threepenny Poetry - 1981-1986
    Contributors include Iowa Writers' Workshop participants
  • Perspectives
    Alternate title: College of Education Newsletter
  • Philological Quarterly, Department of English
  • Pipeline, Department of Computer Science - 1974-1983
    Alternate title: Conduit
  • Private Higher Education
  • Probe, College of Dentistry - 1969-
  • Proceedings. Iowa Conference on Gerontology, Institute of Gerontology
  • Proceedings. Pharmaceutical Alumni Association
  • Proceedings. Conference on Computers in the Undergraduate Curricula
  • Proceedings. Urban Policy Conference - 1964-1968
  • Proceedings of the Annual Conference of the Iowa Housing and Redevelopment Association
  • Proceedings of the Institute on Preventive Psychiatry
  • Proceedings of the Iowa Power and Industrial Conference - 1927-1930
  • Profile of Students Enrolled at the University of Iowa, Office of the Registrar - 1965-
  • Quadrangler
  • Quill and Scroll, School of Journalism
  • Religious News Bulletin, School of Religion
  • Report from the Laboratory for Political Research, Department of Political Science - 1965-
  • Report. Student Health Department - 1930-
    Alternate name: Student Health Service
  • Report. Internal Medicine Annual Report, College of Medicine
  • Report. Iowa Child Welfare Research Station - 1926-1950
    Alternate names: Annual Reports of the Iowa Child Welfare Research Station, Report of the Work of the Iowa Child Welfare Report. Report. Research Station, Report of Research in the Iowa Child Welfare Research Station.
  • Report. Iowa Conference on Gerontology, Institute of Gerontology
  • Report. State Hygienic Laboratory
    RA428.3.I8
  • Report of the Graduate College
  • Reports on Computational Mathematics, Department of Mathematics - 1989-
  • Reprints. Center for Labor and Management - 1967-1970
  • Reprints. Iowa Urban Community Research Center - 1961-
  • Reprint Series. Laboratory for Political Research, Department of Political Science
  • Research in Progress, Office of the Vice President for Research and Dean of the Graduate College - 1985-
    Alternate name: Research
  • Research Report, Iowa Testing Programs; College of Education - 1966-1990
  • Research Report, Department of Physics and Astronomy - 1953-1996
  • Research Series, Bureau of Labor and Management - 1951-1962
  • SAMA News
    Student American Medical Association chapter, College of Medicine
  • SUI Quill, School of Journalism; Quill and Scroll Society - 1891-1900
  • SUI Staff Magazine, University Personnel Service - 1950-1966
    Alternate titles: U of I Staff Magazine, Iowa Staff Magazine LD2564.5 .S7
  • Science in Progress
    Q171 .S36
  • Script - 1941-1942
    Undergraduate poetry and prose PS508.C6 S3
  • Serials Currently Received, University Libraries
    Z6945 .U56
  • Social Development Issues, School of Social Work
  • Softball, the University of Iowa, University of Iowa Sports Information Office
    GV881.3 .S64
  • Special Recreation Digest, Department of Physical Education - 1984-
  • Spectator, University Relations - 1967-
  • Staff Magazine
    SEE: SUI Staff Magazine
  • Staff Development
    Alternate title: Learning and Development
  • Studies in Child Welfare, Iowa Child Welfare Research Station
  • Studies in Engineering, College of Engineering
    TA7 .I85
  • Studies in the Social Sciences, College of Liberal Arts - 1916-1943
  • Swimming, the University of Iowa, University of Iowa Sports Information Office
    GV837.5 .S95
  • Technical Bulletin, Evaluation and Examination Service - 1948-
  • Technical Report, Department of Computer Science
  • Technology and the Spirit of Man, College of Engineering - 1968-
  • L'Atelier, Department of Romance Languages - 1944-1946
  • Thunderhead, Army Air Forces Technical Training Command, Training Detachment, S.U.I. - 1941-1944
  • Torre de Papel, University of Iowa Student Associations, Sociedad Hispanica and Graduate College - 1991-
    Spanish-language literature
  • UCC User's Guide, University Computer Center - 1965-
  • UIHC Compass, University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics - 1998-
  • University Convocation
    LD2576 .U55
  • University Libraries: Where, What, How - 1908-
    Alternate titles: Libraries Handbook Z733 .U83 A8
  • University of Iowa Alumni Association Membership Directory - 1986-
    Alumni directory
  • University of Iowa Humanistic Studies, College of Liberal Arts - 1921-1966
  • University of Iowa News Bulletin
    SEE: On Iowa
  • University of Iowa Service Bulletin
  • University of Iowa Studies in Education - 1921-
  • University of Iowa Studies in Medicine - 1919-1932
  • University of Iowa Studies in Physics - 1907-1925
  • University of Iowa Studies in Psychology - 1897-1945
    BF21 .I8
  • Variaciones Borges, The Borges Center
  • Villager, Department of Residence Services
    Alternate title: Quarterly
  • A Visitors Guide, University of Iowa
    LD2569 .U56
  • Voice of the Hawkeyes, Department of Athletics - 1984-
  • Voices from the Prairie, Humanities Iowa
  • Well and Good, University of Iowa Health Care
  • Whitby Year Book, Whitby Society - 1919-1923
  • Working Paper. Committee for Mathematical Analysis in Social Sciences - 1983-
  • Working Paper Series. Institute of Urban and Regional Research - 1968-1979
  • Working Papers in Art Education, School of Art and Art History - 1981-
  • World of Drug Information, Iowa Drug Information Service - 1992-
    Alternate title: World of Drugs

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa General Information and University History