Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Eric Morton Civil Rights Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1964-2008
Creator: Morton, Eric
Extent: 1.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MsC0999
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Papers of an organizer for the Freedom Summer.

Alternate Extent Statement: Audio tapes.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Gift of Eric Morton, April 2014.

Preferred Citation: Eric Morton Civil Rights Papers, The University of Iowa, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Eric Morton worked in the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC) from 1962-1966 in Georgia, Mississippi, Alabama, and North Carolina, where he was Materials Coordinator for the Mississippi Project, later known as Freedom Summer. He also served as Project Director for the North Carolina Project, which covered nine Black Belt counties. After this he worked to elect black officials including John Conyers and Ron Dellums to Congress and Coleman Young as mayor of Detroit. In 1968 he worked with a group of local activists to organize the 1969 National Black Economic Development Conference where James Forman presented his historic speech, "The Black Manifesto." In later years, Morton worked as an International Organizer for AFSCME organizeng hospital workers and housekeepers in northern California and UC Berkeley.

Later, his academic career included the position of Associate Professor of Philosophy at Fort Valley State University of Georgia.

Includes papers and audio tapes.
Stephen Lynn Smith Papers RG 02.0009.032

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: WRITINGS
Series 3: TAPES

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • "The Black Manifesto"
    A speech given by James Forman at the National Black Economic Development Conferences, April, 1969.
  • California politics
  • Clippings
  • Corresppondence - 1964-2002
  • Denial of space for the Berkeley Free Clinic - 1970
  • FBI files on Eric Morton
  • Miscellaneous
    Includes tickets to the Democratic National Convention in Atlantic City, 1964; State of South Carolina Voter Registration form; pay stubs for Eric Morton from Congress of Racial Equality and SNCC; a map of Mississippi marked with activities undertaken by SNCC among other items.
  • Photographs
    Includes photographs of Martin Luther King, Jr., Ron Dellums, Gwen Patton, and Malcolm X. There are other unidentified photos. Some are computer generated copies.
  • Posters
  • Proposal for SNCC Project, North Carolina, n.d.
  • Report of a trip to New York to SNCC from Morton
  • The SNCC Meeting That Evicted Whites and the Participants Involved
    Exceprts of transcripts from the SNCC Central Committee meeting notes of May 1967 in Atlanta.
  • SNCC position papers
  • SNCC Chairman John Lewis' Speech at the March on Washington
  • SNCC 50th Anniversary. Volume 6. Luncheon keynote: Reverend James Lawson: "We Have Not Yet Arrived"
  • State of Mississipi Sovereignty Commission Files: Eric Morton
  • Series 2: WRITINGS
  • Sub-Series: Writings by Morton
  • Box 1:
  • "The Black Manifesto: SNCC's Last Hurrah" - 2004
  • "California Politics and Diversity: An Analysis of the 1970 Congressional Campaign of Ronald V. Dellums for California's 7th District Seat and Its Implications for Future Elections Campaigns" - 1990
  • "Discipline and Punisih: The Public Policy of Panopticism Teaching Philosophy Radically." International Studies in Philosophy, XXXII/2 - 2000
  • Oral presentation, Ph.D. Comprehensive exam - 1997
  • "Race and Racism in the Works of David Hume." Journal of African Philosophy - 2002
  • Research Prospectus
  • "Tremor in the Icebery: The Mississippi Summer." Originally published in Freedomways, Spring 1965.
  • "We All Be Free: The Philosophical World of the Student Nonviolent Coordinatinig Committee n the Civil Rights Movement From 1960 to 1970." Dissteration Prospectus.
  • Part of the dissertation(?)
  • Sub-Series: Writings by others
  • Box 1:
  • Baker, Elaine Delott. "The 'Freedom High' and 'Hardliner' Factions of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC) in 1964: A Re-Examination." September - 1994
  • Baker, Elaine Delott. "'They Sent Us This Girl'" - 1999
  • Mississippi Black Paper: Fifty-seven Negro and white citizens' testimony of police brutality, the breakdown of law and order and the corruption of justice in Mississippi
  • Rachlis, Eugene and John E. Marqusee. The Land Lords. - 1963
    Inscribed to Morton, October 13, 1964
  • Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee. Freedom School Poetry - 1965
  • Sutherland, Elizabeth. Letters From Mississippi: Personal reports from volunteers in the Summer Freedom Project, 1964, to otheir parents and friends. - 1965
    Inscribed to Morton, June 1965
  • Series 3: TAPES
    Available at a later date; they are being reformatted.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.