Guide to the Sharron L. McElmeel Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1970-1999
Creator: McElmeel, Sharron L.
Extent: 30.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MsC0991
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Papers of the nationally-known children's and young adult literature scholar.

Administrative Information

Arrangement: Her published books were removed from this collection of her papers and moved into the cataloged section of Iowa Authors.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Gift of Sharron McElmeel, Spring 2014.

Preferred Citation: Sharron L. McElmeel Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Biographical Note

Sharron McElmeel is a nationally known children's and young adult literature specialist and literacy advocate. She has written many books for parents and educators.

She received a BA in Elementary Education from the University of Northern Iowa and her MA in Library Science from the University of Iowa. She has completed post-graduate work in educational administration and reading and hold certificates in both areas. She has taught at all levels from elementary thought University. She contributes to professional publications and blogs and served on the 2067 Caldecott medal nomination committee. She maintians a blog, McBookwords.

McElmeel and her husband live north of Cedar Rapids.


Content Description

This collection is comprised almost entirely of research materials on children's book authors, which McElmeel used for various publications. It also contains multimedia items for five titles, which include a microfilm, an audiocassette and a paper component. In addition, there are audiocassettes of children's literature award acceptance speeches from 1995 and 1999.

Detailed Description of the Collection

Browse by Series:


Subjects

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.