Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Sharron L. McElmeel Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1970-1999
Creator: McElmeel, Sharron L.
Extent: 30.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MsC0991
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Papers of the nationally-known children's and young adult literature scholar.

Arrangement: Her published books were removed from this collection of her papers and moved into the cataloged section of Iowa Authors.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Gift of Sharron McElmeel, Spring 2014.

Preferred Citation: Sharron L. McElmeel Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman

Sharron McElmeel is a nationally known children's and young adult literature specialist and literacy advocate. She has written many books for parents and educators.

She received a BA in Elementary Education from the University of Northern Iowa and her MA in Library Science from the University of Iowa. She has completed post-graduate work in educational administration and reading and hold certificates in both areas. She has taught at all levels from elementary thought University. She contributes to professional publications and blogs and served on the 2067 Caldecott medal nomination committee. She maintians a blog, McBookwords.

McElmeel and her husband live north of Cedar Rapids.

This collection is comprised almost entirely of research materials on children's book authors, which McElmeel used for various publications. It also contains multimedia items for five titles, which include a microfilm, an audiocassette and a paper component. In addition, there are audiocassettes of children's literature award acceptance speeches from 1995 and 1999.

Browse by Series:

  • Box 1:
  • Aardema- Baird
  • Box 2:
  • Bang-Brett
  • Box 3:
  • Brown-Carbone
  • Box 4:
  • Carle- Cone
  • Box 5:
  • Conford-de Paola
  • Box 6:
  • de Paola-Feeny
  • Box 7:
  • Ferguson-Greenfield
  • Box 8:
  • Goble-Halperin
  • Box 9:
  • Hamilton-Hurst
  • Box 10:
  • Hurwitz-Landau
  • Box 11:
  • Langton-Marshall
  • Box 12:
  • Marshall-McElmeel
  • Box 13:
  • McGinnis-Parish
  • Box 14:
  • Park-Prelutsky
  • Box 15:
  • Pulver-Santucci
  • Box 16:
  • Sargaent-Small
  • Box 17:
  • Smith-Uchida
  • Box 18:
  • Van Allsburg-Williams
  • Series 2: MULTIMEDIA
  • Sub-Series:
  • Paper copy, audiocassette, and microfilm
  • Box 19:
  • Evolution of a Graphic Concept: The Stonecutter
  • How a Picture Book is Made: The Island of the Skog
    Microfilm missing
  • The Island of the Skog
  • Meet the Newbery Author: Laura Ingalls Wilder
    No paper component
  • The Stonecutter
  • Sub-Series: Audiocassettes
  • Box 19:
  • Acceptance speeches for the Newbery, Caldecott, and Laura Ingalls Wilders awards - 1995
    Sharon Creech, David Daiz, and Virginia Hamilton
  • Acceptance speeches for the Newbery and Caldecott Awards - 1999
    Louis Sachar, Mary Azarian
  • Ride a Purple Pelican

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.