Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Jerry Bumpus Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span:
Creator: Bumpus, Jerry
Extent: 3.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MsC0985
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Manuscripts for short stories and novels and related material. Also includes notebooks where Bumpus kept ideas for stories, interesting phrases, and other items.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Donated to the University of Iowa Libraries in 2013.

Preferred Citation: Jerry Bumpus Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Browse by Series:
Series 1: MANUSCRIPTS AND RELATED MATERIALS
Series 2: NOTEBOOKS
Series 3: MISCELLANEOUS

  • Series 1: MANUSCRIPTS AND RELATED MATERIALS
  • Box 1:
  • Anaconda
    Cover art
  • Bronze
  • Bullock in Love
  • California Girl, Part 1
  • California Girl, Part 2
  • California Girl, Part 3
  • The Day I Die, pages 1-200
  • The Day I Die, pages 201-414
  • The Day I Die, pages 415-600
  • The Day I Die, pages 601-884
  • Eat Wolf
    2 folders
  • Follow Me Quietly, pages 1-103
  • Follow Me Quietly, pages 104-272
  • Goldfish
  • Gunny
  • The Happy Convent
    Artwork
  • The Happy Convent
    Correspondence
  • The Happy Convent
    Reviews
  • Heroes and Villains and Special Offer
  • Heroics
  • Hot Stuff
  • In the Arbors of Babylon
  • In Sobibor
  • In Utica
  • Lovers
  • Lucy
  • Miss Glass
  • A Morning in Acadia
  • Mr. Tangible
  • Muezzin 4 Notes
  • Myra
  • Our Lady of the Owls
    Introduction and outline
  • The O'Hanrahan Girls and All the Other Mutant Mamas
  • Package Deal
  • Permanent Residence
  • Portrait of the Artist with Timid Virgins
  • Portrait of a Laddie
  • The Power of Ordinary Angels
  • Things in Place
    Reviews
  • Ricki Lee
  • Shooting in Diyarbakir
  • Short Trip
  • Slicing
  • Special Offer
    Reviews
  • Take Outs
  • Toughing It
  • Wilbur
  • Winter Daughters
  • Winter Quarters
  • Series 2: NOTEBOOKS
  • Box 2:
  • 48 small notebooks
    3 folders
  • Loose pages from notebooks
  • Series 3: MISCELLANEOUS
  • Box 3:
  • Miscellaneous

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.