Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Joe Michaud Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1940-2014
Creator: Michaud, Joe
Extent: 20.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MsC0982
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Writing materials of an Iowa City writer. Also includes a Border Collection, which comprises most of the collection, on the Iron Curtain countries.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were donated to the University of Iowa by Joe Michaud in 2013.

Preferred Citation: Joe Michaud Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Iowa City writer, long-time resident.

Includes notes on his writing. The Border Collection includes books and movies about the Cold War and the Berlin wall as well as insignia and uniforms.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BORDER COLLECTION
Series 2: WRITING RELATED
Series 3: 2014 ADDENDUM

  • Series 1: BORDER COLLECTION
  • Box 2: BC:Plastic bag: Books on insignias
    BC=Border Collection
  • Box 3: BC: Cold War movies; an East German Winter Field Cap
  • Box 4: BC: Books
  • Box 5: BC: Books in German
  • 30 Jahre Bayerische Grenzpolizei (Gustav Haring) 30 Years of the Bavarian Border Police
  • 50 Jahre BGS: Daten, Menschen, Fakten. Bundesgrenzschutz, Polizei des Bundes. (Hans- Jurgen Schmidt) 50 Years of the BGS: Dates, People, Facts. Bundesgrenzschutz: Federal Border Police.
  • 50 Jahre Bundesgrenzschutz, am Flughafen Frankfurt/Main 50 Years of the Federal Border Police at the Frankfurt/Main Airport
  • DV 018/0/009 Einsatz der Grenztruppen zum Schutz der Staatsgrenze, Grenzposten. (East German Defense Ministry publication). Utilization of Border Troops for the Defense of the National Border, Borderguards
  • Alliierte in Berlin, 1945-1994. Ein Handbuch zur Geschichte der militarischen Prasenz der Westmachte (Jeschonnek, Riedel & Durie) The Allies in Berlin, 1945 - 1994. A Historical Handbook on the Military Presence of the Western Powers.
  • Alliierte Militarfahrzeuge in Berlin, 1945-1994 (Lemke) Allied Military Vehicles in Berlin,
  • 1945-1994
  • Amerkaner in Berlin (Amo Scholz) Americans in Berlin
  • Bereitschaftspolizei Berlin: 10 Jahre, 1952-1962 Special Police Units Berlin, 10 Years, 1952- 1962
  • Berlin und die Berliner von Amerikanern Gesehen ( Millar & McBride) Berlin and the Berliners as Seen by the Americans
  • Die Besatzer und die Deutschen: Amerikanische Zone, 1945-1948 (K-J Ruhl) The Occupiers and the Germans: The American Zone, 1945-1948
  • Bundesgrenzschutz: Aufgaben und Organization. Federal Border Police: Duties and Organization
  • Chronik: 50 Jahre Bundesgrenzschutz, 1951 - 2001. Chronicle of 50 Years of the Federal Border Police
  • Coburg und die amerikanischen Streikrafte, 1945-1990 (Hans-Jurgen Schmidt) Coburg and the American Armed Forces, 1955 - 1990
  • Die Deutsch-Deutsche Grenze, Eine Dokumentation: Von Posseck bis Lehesten, von Ludwigsstadt nach Prex (Ingolf Hermann) The German-German Border, A Documentation: From Posseck to Lehesteh, from Ludwigsstadt to Prex.
  • Deutschland, 10 Jahre Danach (Artus) Germany, 10 Years Later
  • Drei Jahre Nach Null: Geschichte der britischen Besatungszone, 1945-1948 Trees, Whiting, et al) Three Years After Zero Hour: History of the British Zone of Occupation, 1945-1948
  • Die Grenze: Em deutsches Bauwerk (Ritter & Lapp) The Border, a German Edifice
  • Grenze Durch Deutschland Border Through Germany
  • Grenzschutzprasidium Mitte Informiert. Border Police Headquarters, Center Informs ...
  • Grenzsoldaten (ManfredPaul & Horst Liebig) Border Soldiers
  • Das Haus Auf Der Grenze Clute-Simon & Emmerich) The House on the Border
  • t f
  • Die Hubschrauberstaffel des Bundesgrenzschutzprasidiums Mitte. Information fur Gaste.
  • The Helicopter Squadron of the Federal Border Police, Center. Information for Guests.
  • Die Innerdeutsche Grenze (Federal Ministry of the Interior) The Inner German border
  • Die Innerdeutsche Grenze im Lankreis Wemigerode (?) The Inner German Border in Wemigerode County
  • Kustenwacht und Grenzsicherung zur See, 1945-1961 Coast Guard and Naval Border Security, 1945-1961
  • Die Mauer, August 1961: Zwolf Tage Zwischen Krieg und Frieden (Petschull) The Wall, August, 1961: Twelve Days Between War and Peace
  • Mauer, Zaun und Stacheldraht: Sperrenanlagen an der innerdeutschen Grenze, 1945 - 1990. (Robert Lebegem). Wall, Fence and Barbed Wire: Barriers on the Inner German Border
  • Merkbuch fur freiwillige Hilfer der Deutschen Volkspolizei (East German Ministry of the Interior) Field Manual for the Voluntary Helpers of the German People’s Police
  • Der Seegrenzschutz, 1951-1956: Erinnerung, Bericht, Dokumentation (Fritz Poske) Naval Border Patrol, 1951-1956: Memories, Reports, Dokumentation
  • Stunde Null in Deutschland. Die westlichen Besatzungszonen, 1945-1948 (Trees, Whiting, et al) Zero Hour in Germany. The Western Zones of Occupation, 1945-1948
  • Sudwestdeutschland: Stunde Null: Die Geschichte der franzosischen Besatzungszone, 1945- 1948. (Thies & von Daak) Southwest Germany: The History of the French Zone of Occupation, 1945-1948
  • Worte Gegen Panzer: Der Prager Fruhling, 1968 Harald Schott) Words Against Tanks: 3Se Prague Spring, 1968
  • Box 6: BC: Books in English
  • Box 7: BC: Books and movies
  • Box 9: BC: Books and movies
  • Box 10: Enlarged photographs mounted on foam core
  • Box 11: BC: Translations of German titles in Border Collection
  • 30 Jahre Bayerische Grenzpolizei (Gustav Haring) 30 Years of the Bavarian Border Police
  • 50 Jahre BGS: Daten, Menschen, Fakten. Bundesgrenzschutz, Polizei des Bundes. (Hans- Jurgen Schmidt) 50 Years of the BGS: Dates, People, Facts. Bundesgrenzschutz: Federal Border Police.
  • 50 Jahre Bundesgrenzschutz, am Flughafen Frankfurt/Main 50 Years of the Federal Border Police at the Frankfurt/Main Airport
  • DV 018/0/009 Einsatz der Grenztruppen zum Schutz der Staatsgrenze, Grenzposten. (East German Defense Ministry publication). Utilization of Border Troops for the Defense of the National Border, Borderguards
  • Alliierte in Berlin, 1945-1994. Ein Handbuch zur Geschichte der militarischen Prasenz der Westmachte (Jeschonnek, Riedel & Durie) The Allies in Berlin, 1945 - 1994. A Historical Handbook on the Military Presence of the Western Powers.
  • Alliierte Militarfahrzeuge in Berlin, 1945-1994 (Lemke) Allied Military Vehicles in Berlin, 1945-1994
  • Amerkaner in Berlin (Amo Scholz) Americans in Berlin
  • Bereitschaftspolizei Berlin: 10 Jahre, 1952-1962 Special Police Units Berlin, 10 Years, 1952- 1962
  • Berlin und die Berliner von Amerikanern Gesehen (Millar & McBride) Berlin and the Berliners as Seen by the Americans
  • Die Besatzer und die Deutschen: Amerikanische Zone, 1945-1948 (K-J Ruhl) The Occupiers and the Germans: The American Zone, 1945-1948
  • Bundesgrenzschutz: Aufgaben und Organization. Federal Border Police: Duties and Organization
  • Chronik: 50 Jahre Bundesgrenzschutz, 1951 - 2001. Chronicle of 50 Years of the Federal Border Police
  • Coburg und die amerikanischen Streikrafte, 1945-1990 (Hans-Jurgen Schmidt) Coburg and the American Armed Forces, 1955 —1990
  • Die Deutsch-Deutsche Grenze, Eine Dokumentation: Von Posseck bis Lehesten, von Ludwigsstadt nach Prex (Ingolf Hermann) The German-German Border, A Documentation: From Posseck to Lehesteh, from Ludwigsstadt to Prex.
  • Deutschland, 10 Jahre Danach (Artus) Germany, 10 Years Later
  • Drei Jahre Nach Null: Geschichte der britischen Besatungszone, 1945-1948 Trees, Whiting, et al) Three Years After Zero Hour: History of the British Zone of Occupation, 1945-1948
  • Die Grenze: Ein deutsches Bauwerk (Ritter & Lapp) The Border, a German Edifice
  • Grenze Durch Deutschland Border Through Germany
  • Grenzschutzprasidium Mitte Informiert. Border Police Headquarters, Center Informs ...
  • Grenzsoldaten (ManfredPaul & Horst Liebig) Border Soldiers
  • Das Haus Auf Der Grenze Clute-Simon & Emmerich) The House on the Border
  • Die Hubschrauberstaffel des Bundesgrenzschutzprasidiums Mitte. Information fur Gaste.
  • The Helicopter Squadron of the Federal Border Police, Center. Information for Guests.
  • Die Innerdeutsche Grenze (Federal Ministry of the Interior) The Inner German border
  • Die Innerdeutsche Grenze im Lankreis Wernigerode (?) The Inner German Border in Wemigerode County
  • Kustenwacht und Grenzsicherung zur See, 1945-1961 Coast Guard and Naval Border Security, 1945-1961
  • Die Mauer, August 1961: Zwolf Tage Zwischen Krieg und Frieden (Petschull) The Wall, August, 1961: Twelve Days Between War and Peace
  • Mauer, Zaun und Stacheldraht: Sperrenanlagen an der innerdeutschen Grenze, 1945 - 1990. (Robert Lebegem). Wall, Fence and Barbed Wire: Barriers on the Inner German Border
  • Merkbuch fur freiwillige Hilfer der Deutschen Volkspolizei (East German Ministry of the Interior) Field Manual for the Voluntary Helpers of the German People’s Police
  • Der Seegrenzschutz, 1951-1956: Erinnerung, Bericht, Dokumentation (Fritz Poske) Naval Border Patrol, 1951-1956: Memories, Reports, Dokumentation
  • Stunde Null in Deutschland. Die westlichen Besatzungszonen, 1945-1948 (Trees, Whiting, et al) Zero Hour in Germany. The Western Zones of Occupation, 1945-1948
  • Sudwestdeutschland: Stunde Null: Die Geschichte der franzosischen Besatzungszone, 1945' 1948. (Thies & von Daak) Southwest Germany: The History of the French Zone of Occupation, 1945-1948
  • Worte Gegen Panzer: Der Prager Fruhling, 1968 Harald Schott) Words Against Tanks: The Prague Spring, 1968
  • Box 12: BC: Books and movies
  • Box 14: BC: Books
  • Box 15: BC: 10 visual items, mostly posters and warning signs. 9 of them are framed
  • Box 16: Steins and cups
  • Box 17: Headcovering, Boots, & Load Bearing Gear in large box
  • 1.  Black Laceless Boots: NVA (East german Army) combat boots. This style of boot was called ‘Knobelbecher’ (Dice cups) in the German Army
  • 2.  Laced Combat Boots. Non-issue, ‘Cochran Jump Boots’ popular with US Army Airborne Toopers. Boots contain two blousing bands to blouse uniform trousers.
  • 3.  Helmet. This NVA helmet was adopted by the NVA after WWII. This style of helmet was intended to replace the German ‘coal-scuttle’ style helmet used by Wehmacht in WWII.
  • 4. US Army issue helmet liner painted green, Letters U P stand for Unit Police. Decals: over the left ear a representation of the 7 army shoulder insignia, over the right ear, the insignia for the 14th Cavalry. Unit Police was a rotating duty, mainly on payday weekends. Jeep patrols from troop or company size units would check the bars about an hour before curfew and bring in the drunks to avoid the unit looking bad. Otherwise the Military Police would arrest them and these arrests would count against the unit’s reputation for disciplined conduct. This goes with O.D. uniform with UP armband.
  • 5.   Web or load-bearing gear, Vietnam era, cartridge belt, suspenders, first aid pouch (first aid packet missing), canteen with cup and two magazine pouches. US issue.
  • 6.  NVA Service Cap for the Grenzbrigade Kuste (Coastal Border Brigade) Goes with blue dress uniform.
  • 7.  American Army winter field cap called ‘pile cap’ by troops
  • 8. NVA Border Troops Service Cap enlisted men
  • 9. West German Bundesgrenzschutz (Federal Border Police) field cap, Goes with BGS tunic.
  • 10.  NVA uniform belt
  • 11.  NVA cap for field uniform
  • 12.  NVA White & black sailor’s cap with trailing bands. The words ‘Grenzbrigade Kuste’ mean Coastal Border Brigade. These men patrolled the North Sea coast and waterways that separated East & West Germany
  • 13. Dress uniform service cap. The braid indicates an officer
  • 14. East German Militia (Kampfgruppen) field cap. Goes with shirt & trousers. I don’t believe they had a dress uniform.
  • 15.  Russia military beret. Insignias unknown
  • 16.  Czech Army Border Troops service cap, enlisted
  • Box 18: Ryker Mounts
  • I. Grenztruppen Ranks. Enlisted: Private to Sgt. Major. left to right top: Soldat (Private); Gefreiter (Private First Class); Stabsgefreiter (Corporal); Unteroffizier (Sergeant) bottom: Unterfeldwebel (Staff Sergeant), Feldwebel (Sgt. First Class); Oberfeldwebel (Master Sergeant); Stabsfeldwebel (1st Sergeant/Sgt Major
  • II.  Grenztruppen Ranks. Warrant Officers & Officer’s School Cadets. left to right, top: Unteroffiziersschule (NCO School), Faehnrichschueler, 1. Studienahr (Warrant Officer Cadet, 1st School Year. Faehnrichschueler, 2.Studienjahr (Warrant Officer Cadet, 2nd School Year. Officiersschueler, 1. Jahr (Officer School Cadet, 1st Year); “ : bottom: Offiziersschueler, 2.Jahr, Officer’s School 2nd year; OS, 3.Jahr, OSC, 3d Year; OS, 4. Jahr (OSC 4th Year); OS, 5. Jahr (OSC, 5th Year)
  • III. Grenztruppen Ranks. Officers. left to right, top row: Unterleutnant (Junior Lieutenant); Leutnant (Lieutenant); Leutnant (Lieutenant Military Band) Oberleutnant (Senior Lieutenant); left to right bottom row: Hauptman (Captain); Major (Major); Oberstleutnannt (Lieutenant Colonel); Oberts (Colonel); General Major (Major General)
  • IV. Berlin Wall Medals & Badges. Left side above: Kampfgruppen badge and shoulder patch. Below Verdienstmedaille der Kampfgruppen (Militia Meritorious Service) in gold, silver & bronze, in descending order of merit. The ‘Kampfgruppen’ were heavily involved in the construction of the Berlin Wall, both for labor & security. Medal & presentation package for officers involved in raising of the Berlin Wall. Right side: Top two medals:Freie Deutsche Jugend (FDJ), (Medals for Free German Youth), lower three given to enlisted men involved in construction and security of the wall.
  • V.          Medals & Badges awarded to NVA Border Troops: top left: badge for Border Unit Commanding Officers. Below with green background, small badge for enlisted men serving on border. Center top: sercice cap badge. Top right: Fuer Vorbildlichen Grenzdienst (For Meritorious Border Service Medal) Middle row of three medals: Fuer Hervorragende Verdienste (For Outstanding Service medals in bronze, silver & gold.) Bottom row of four medals: Fuer Treue Dienste (For Faithful Service medals in bronze (5 yrs service), silver (10 yrs.), gold 15 yrs. and gold with double ‘x’ for 20 yrs. service)
  • VI: Miscellaneous West German Badges & patches: top left Gross-Hessen Grenzpolizei (Greater Hessian Border Police. A state border police before occupation ended. Rare item) Right side: Bayerische Grenzpolizei (Bavarian Border Police- also rare early patch.) To the left of this patch, a pocket badge (hangs on pocket button) for Bavarian Border Police. Bottom right Pocket badge for ‘Zoll’ (custom’s Police who also patrolled border) to its left a Zoll cap badge, a small metal eagle (also Zoll) and in the center a Zoll patch worn on upper sleeve. On the left there are 6 badges or patches plus cuff title, plus curved tab from the Bundesgrenzschutz (Federal Border Police. Established 1953
  • VII. Miscellaneous unit patchges and distinctive unit crests worn by US troops serving in Berlin. Note right center a money clip, left center is a British Army patch. Medals on bottom from left to right: ‘Za Bzyatye Berlina (For the Battle of Berlin) - Medal given to all Russian soldiers who fought in Berlin. Next Berlin Airlift medal, next Berlin Occupation medal, last Unofficial Cold War medal.
  • VIII. Miscellaneous NVA Uniform items: Center: pair of ‘birds’ nests’ epaulets worn by members of army band, left naval shooting cord, right army shooting cord. Bester (Best, 1st, 2nd, 3rd, & 4th Sports Badge awards.) Kragenspiegel (Collartabs - 2 double columns with green background, worn by all enlisted men & lower ranking officers.) In lower corners, collar tabs with birds & tabs with birds & oak leaf clusters worn by generals.
  • IX. Miscellaneous Czeck Army Border Troops badges, medals & color brass (wolves). Note customs (Douane) pocket badge. Don’t read Czech, so can’t identify these. There is a book in check in the collection in Czech that will help if you can access a Czech speaker.
  • X. Soviet Bloc Border Service badges from Soviet Union, Yugoslavia, Bulgaria, Hungry & Romania. You’ll have to get a slav specialist to sort these out.
  • Box 19: BC:Translations of German titles in Border Collection (Umlauts in German title are missing.)
  • 30 Jahre Bayerische Grenzpolizei (Gustav Haring) 30 Years of the Bavarian Border Police
  • 50 Jahre BGS: Daten, Menschen, Fakten. Bundesgrenzschutz, Polizei des Bundes. (Hans- Jurgen Schmidt) 50 Years of the BGS: Dates, People, Facts. Bundesgrenzschutz: Federal Border Police.
  • 50 Jahre Bundesgrenzschutz, am Flughafen Frankfurt/Main 50 Years of the Federal Border Police at the Frankfurt/Main Airport
  • DV 018/0/009 Einsatz der Grenztruppen zum Schutz der Staatsgrenze, Grenzposten. (East German Defense Ministry publication). Utilization of Border Troops for the Defense of the National Border, Borderguards
  • Alliierte in Berlin, 1945-1994. Ein Handbuch zur Geschichte der militarischen Prasenz der Westmachte (Jeschonnek, Riedel & Durie) The Allies in Berlin, 1945 - 1994. A Historical Handbook on the Military Presence of the Western Powers.
  • Alliierte Militarfahrzeuge in Berlin, 1945-1994 (Lemke) Allied Military Vehicles in Berlin, 1945-1994
  • Amerkaner in Berlin (Amo Scholz) Americans in Berlin
  • Bereitschaftspolizei Berlin: 10 Jahre, 1952-1962 Special Police Units Berlin, 10 Years, 1952- 1962
  • Berlin und die Berliner von Amerikanern Gesehen (Millar & McBride) Berlin and the Berliners as Seen by the Americans
  • Die Besatzer und die Deutschen: Amerikanische Zone, 1945-1948 (K-J Ruhl) The Occupiers and the Germans: The American Zone, 1945-1948
  • Bundesgrenzschutz: Aufgaben und Organization. Federal Border Police: Duties and Organization
  • Chronik: 50 Jahre Bundesgrenzschutz, 1951 - 2001. Chronicle of 50 Years of the Federal Border Police
  • Coburg und die amerikanischen Streikrafte, 1945-1990 (Hans-Jurgen Schmidt) Coburg and the American Armed Forces, 1955 —1990
  • Die Deutsch-Deutsche Grenze, Eine Dokumentation: Von Posseck bis Lehesten, von Ludwigsstadt nach Prex (Ingolf Hermann) The German-German Border, A Documentation: From Posseck to Lehesteh, from Ludwigsstadt to Prex.
  • Deutschland, 10 Jahre Danach (Artus) Germany, 10 Years Later
  • Drei Jahre Nach Null: Geschichte der britischen Besatungszone, 1945-1948 Trees, Whiting, et al) Three Years After Zero Hour: History of the British Zone of Occupation, 1945-1948
  • Die Grenze: Ein deutsches Bauwerk (Ritter & Lapp) The Border, a German Edifice
  • Grenze Durch Deutschland Border Through Germany
  • Grenzschutzprasidium Mitte Informiert. Border Police Headquarters, Center Informs ...
  • Grenzsoldaten (ManfredPaul & Horst Liebig) Border Soldiers
  • Das Haus Auf Der Grenze Clute-Simon & Emmerich) The House on the Border
  • Die Hubschrauberstaffel des Bundesgrenzschutzprasidiums Mitte. Information fur Gaste.
  • The Helicopter Squadron of the Federal Border Police, Center. Information for Guests.
  • Die Innerdeutsche Grenze (Federal Ministry of the Interior) The Inner German border
  • Die Innerdeutsche Grenze im Lankreis Wernigerode (?) The Inner German Border in Wemigerode County
  • Kustenwacht und Grenzsicherung zur See, 1945-1961 Coast Guard and Naval Border Security, 1945-1961
  • Die Mauer, August 1961: Zwolf Tage Zwischen Krieg und Frieden (Petschull) The Wall, August, 1961: Twelve Days Between War and Peace
  • Mauer, Zaun und Stacheldraht: Sperrenanlagen an der innerdeutschen Grenze, 1945 - 1990. (Robert Lebegem). Wall, Fence and Barbed Wire: Barriers on the Inner German Border
  • Merkbuch fur freiwillige Hilfer der Deutschen Volkspolizei (East German Ministry of the Interior) Field Manual for the Voluntary Helpers of the German People’s Police
  • Der Seegrenzschutz, 1951-1956: Erinnerung, Bericht, Dokumentation (Fritz Poske) Naval Border Patrol, 1951-1956: Memories, Reports, Dokumentation
  • Stunde Null in Deutschland. Die westlichen Besatzungszonen, 1945-1948 (Trees, Whiting, et al) Zero Hour in Germany. The Western Zones of Occupation, 1945-1948
  • Sudwestdeutschland: Stunde Null: Die Geschichte der franzosischen Besatzungszone, 1945' 1948. (Thies & von Daak) Southwest Germany: The History of the French Zone of Occupation, 1945-1948
  • Worte Gegen Panzer: Der Prager Fruhling, 1968 Harald Schott) Words Against Tanks: The Prague Spring, 1968
  • Unboxed: 6 large photographs mounted on foam core
  • Series 2: WRITING RELATED
  • Box 1: Writing related
  • Box 8: Writing related
  • Box 13: Writing related
  • Series 3: 2014 ADDENDUM
  • Box 2014.1: 2014 addendum: Miscellaneous, not related to the Border Collection

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.