Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the James McCracken Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span:
Creator: McCracken, James (1875-1967)
Extent: .25 linear foot.
Collection Number: MsC0970
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: A collection of photographs of McCracken's paintings, along with other photographs, cards, and newspaper clippings.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 1

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Purchased in 2013.

Preferred Citation: James McCracken Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

James McCracken was born in Pundland, Scotland in 1875 and as a young man he came to the US where he settled in Oak Park, Illinois. He studied with Grant Wood at his Anamosa art colony and became a successful artist and illustrator. He is known for painting tropical scenes, birds, and flowers.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Cards
    Cards that McCracken collected for their images?
  • Photos of paintings (3 folders)
    Black and white photographs, for the most part, of some of McCrcaken's workd
  • Photos of other things
  • The Chicago Evening Post Magazine of The Art World - December 8, 1925; January 26, 1926; July 13, 1926

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.