Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Lenore Marshall Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1943-1965
Creator: Marshall, Lenore
Extent: .25 linear foot.
Collection Number: MsC0955
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Draft of the novel The Hill is Level and drafts of twelve poems.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Lenore Marshall Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Lenore Guinzberg Marshall (1899-1971) was an author, poet, and political activist. She received her B.A. from Barnard College in 1919. She authored three novels and three volumes of poetry. Marshall co-founded SANE, the National Committee for a Sane Nuclear Policy. She also co-founded the New Hope Foundation of Pennsylvania with her husband Charles with the mission of supporting the arts and world peace. Each year the New Hope Foundation, through the Academy of American Poets, awards the Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize for the best volume of poetry in the previous year. Former winners include Adrienne Rich, Robert Pinsky, and W.S. Merwin.

This collection contains a draft of Lenore Marshall's novel The Hill is Level as well as drafts of twelve of her poems.
In 1972, Lenore Marshall's son James donated three dresses from Marshall's wardrobe to the Arizona Costume Institute.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: NOVELS
Series 2: POEMS

  • Series 1: NOVELS
  • Box 1:
  • Typescript draft of novel The Hill is Level
    Includes Part I (a complete novel in itself, called The Other Side of the Door). This typescript contains some small revisions which make the pages numbers somewhat unreliable. It was published by Random House, New York, in 1959.
  • Series 2: POEMS
  • “Argument on Immortality.”
    This was first published in Poetry; it was also included in her book Other Knowledge, 1956.
  • “All My Dear Dead.”
    Autographed, with minor changes, 1962
  • “Dream.”
    Holograph draft, autographed. With a note that it was published in the Partisan Review
  • “Gogglehead.”
    This was first published in the Saturday Review in 1956; it was also included in her book Other Knowledge 1956
  • “Interloper.”
    Autographed
  • “Invented a Person.”
    Autographed. This was first published in the Partisan Review; it was also included in her book Other Knowledge, 1956
  • “Latest Will.”
    Three drafts, manuscript and typescript; autographed, with a note that it was published in the American Scholar
  • “Mexican Night.”
    Autographed. This was first published in the Partisan Review; it was also included in her book Other Knowledge, 1956
  • “Mortality.”
    Autographed. This was first published in the New Yorker; it was also included in her books No Boundary 1943 and Other Knowledge, 1956
  • “Respite.”
    Autographed, with minor revisions. With a note that it was published in the American Scholar, June 1956. It was also included in her book Other Knowledge, 1956
  • “The Return.” Autographed.
    Autographed. This was first published in the Saturday Review, 1951. It was also included in her book Other Knowledge.
  • “While Reading History.”
    This was first published in the Partisan Review in the Spring of 1945. It was included in her book No Boundary, 1943

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.