Guide to the Peggy Wood Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span:
Creator: Wood, Peggy (1892-1978)
Extent: .25 linear feet.
Collection Number: MsC0953
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: The papers of Peggy Wood consist of typescript and printed proofs for a book, Arts and Flowers (1963).

Administrative Information

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Peggy Wood Papers, The University of Iowa Lilbraries, Iowa City, Iowa

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Biographical Note

Peggy Wood (1892-1978) was born in Brooklyn, New York, and died in Stamford, Connecticut. She was an American actress, singer, and author. She is known for her performances in Maytime, Blithe Spirit and The Sound of Music in which she played the Mother Superior, She published an autobiography in 1941 entitled How Young You Look: Memoirs of a Middle-Sized Actress and later wrote a memoir of her career, Arts and Flowers. She wrote for newspaers and periodicals, and authored other books as well.


Content Description

The papers of Peggy Wood consist of typescript and printed proofs for a book, Arts and Flowers (1963). It includes layout for design and drawing, the carbon typescript with revisions, the galley proofs with minor corrections, and the page proofs (on sheets) with minor notes and revisions. It was published by William Morrow and Co., 1963.

Detailed Description of the Collection

Browse by Series:


Subjects

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.