Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Edward S. Perkins World War II Letters

Collection Overview

Date Span:
Creator: Perkins, Edward S.
Extent: 1.00 linear foot.
Collection Number: MsC0951
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Donated by the doctor and his son.

Preferred Citation: Edward S. Perkins World War II Letters , The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Captain Edward S. Perkins qualified as a Doctor in July 1942 with a specialty in Eye, Ear, Nose and Throat. He was called up for service in the Royal Army Medical Corp. As a doctor he was given the rank of Lieutenant and ordered to report to the depot in Aldershot in the first week of November, 1942, just after his twenty-third birthday. From there, he was transferred throughout England for several months, and then assigned to a Ugandan medical service where he stayed until 1946. After the war he worked in the Eye Department at St. Bartholomew's Hospital, the Institute of Ophthalmology, and in Ophthalmology at London University, before emigrating to the United States, where he was a Professor of Ophthalmology at the University of Iowa.

The original letters make up the bulk of this collection. Perkins and his son created a book to preserve some of his letters, which spans a greater period of time than the letters themselves, which go only to 1945. Specific envelopes have been left with their corresponding letter if there was no indication of date anywhere except the envelope, and other envelopes have been collected if their postage, stamps, or other markings are notable. The remainder of the envelopes are preserved at the end of the collection. Perkins also used a series of 3.5 by 5 inch notecards to mark some of his letters as he sorted them for his book; although not every letter has a notecard, the notecards included are dated, and have summaries of what their letters included.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: LETTERS
Series 2: “LETTERS HOME” LETTERS FROM THE WAR YEARS FROM CAPT. EDWARD S. PERKINS TO HIS PARENTS 1942-1946

  • Series 1: LETTERS
  • July-October - 1942
    One letter from 1940.
  • November-December - 1942
  • January-May - 1943
    Including one letter from a friend of the Perkins family to Mrs. Perkins, Edward Perkins’ mother.
  • May-June - 1943
  • Late July-August - 1943
    Otherwise undated, some reproduced in book.
  • July-October - 1943
  • November-December - 1943
  • January-April - 1944
  • May-August - 1944
  • September-December - 1944
  • January-April - 1945
    Including two copies of the same letter, dated February 23, 1945. One copy is hand written, the second typed by censors, both with the same information removed. The envelopes for these letters have been added to the file. The envelope for the typed letter has a stamp, dated June 26 1946, from a prisoner of war camp.
  • July-October - 1945
    Not including a full-page newspaper spread, enclosed in the October 10th, 1945 letter. This item is kept in a separate folder.
  • November-December - 1945
  • Envelopes
  • Series 2: “LETTERS HOME” LETTERS FROM THE WAR YEARS FROM CAPT. EDWARD S. PERKINS TO HIS PARENTS 1942-1946
  • Dummy bound in marbled paper with a cloth spine
  • Notecards

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.