Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Sue Ann Wilson Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1929-1931
Creator: Wilson, Sue Ann
Extent: .25 linear foot.
Collection Number: MsC0950
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Papers of an early twentieth century woman writer.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Sue Ann Wilson Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

The papers of Sue Ann Wilson include clippings from the St. Nicholas Magazine for Boys and Girls, writings, correspondence regarding a possible theatre publication in the Ladies' Home Journal, and a scrapbook for promotional materials from the WPA Federal Theatre Project.
Sue Ann Wilson's promotion reports can be found on the Library of Congress's American Memory website (http://memory.loc.gov/cgi-bin/ampage?collId=ftscript&fileName=fpraf/09670023/ftscript.db&recNum=0).

The WPA Federal Theatre Project, 1935-1939, can be found on the Library of Congress's website(http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/fedtp/ftwpa.html).

The papers of her husband, Carl Glick, can be found in the University of Iowa Special Collections (Finding Aid: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/spec-coll/MSC/ToMsC650/MsC611/glick2.html).

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CLIPPINGS
Series 2: CORREPSPONDENCE
Series 3: SCRAPBOOK
Series 5: WRITINGS

  • Series 1: CLIPPINGS
  • Sub-Series: "The Green Room: A Meeting Place for Junior Players the World Over"
  • Box 1:
  • November - 1933
  • December - 1933
  • January - 1934
  • February - 1934
  • March - 1934
  • May - 1934
  • July - 1934
  • September - 1934
  • October - 1934
  • November - 1934
  • December - 1934
  • January - 1935
  • February - 1935
  • March - 1935
  • Undated
  • Series 2: CORREPSPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • Transcripts correspondence with George T. Byel, Fifth Avenue, New Your, NY, regarding a possible theatre segment in the Ladies Home Journal
  • 28-Sep - 1931
  • 28-Sep - 1931
  • 7-Oct - 1931
  • 15-Oct - 1931
  • 16-Oct - 1931
  • 30-Oct - 1931
  • 16-Nov - 1931
  • Series 3: SCRAPBOOK
  • Series 5: WRITINGS
  • Sub-Series: Manuscripts
  • Box 1:
  • “Celebrating Easter: A List of Suggestions Compiled by Sue Ann Wilson,” 9 pages, mimeographed
  • “The Circus Comes to Town,” 9 pages
  • “The Fireside Theater”
    15 pages
  • “The Legend of the Knight of Good-Will: A Christmas Pageant”
    12 pages
  • “A Meeting of the House Committee…”
    4 pages, with two carbon copies
  • “Plays for Christmas” (bibliography),
    3 pages
  • “Recreation and the ‘New’ Leisure”
    11 pages
  • “Water Pageants”
    6 pages
  • Sub-Series: The Drama magazine
  • Box 1:
  • December - 1929
  • January - 1930
  • March - 1930
  • May - 1930
  • October - 1930
  • November - 1930
  • March - 1931

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.