Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Ira Victor! Morris Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1966
Creator: Morris, Ira Victor!
Extent: .25 linear foot.
Collection Number: MsC0945
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Materials relating to The Road to Spain.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was purchased at an International Writer’s Fund auction in 1967.

Preferred Citation: Ira Victor! Morris Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Ira Victor! Morris (1903-1972) was a novelist and political activist. His work often portrayed Americans abroad and their dismay with international relations. Morris was born in Chicago, Illinois and graduated from Harvard University. His father was a United States diplomat to Sweden. There he met his wife Edita Morris (nee Edith Toll [1902-1988]). Together they traveled internationally, writing and surveying the damage left by World War II. They were particularly upset by the aftermath of the bombing of Hiroshima and Nagasaki. Edita Morris wrote The Flowers of Hiroshima (1959) exposing the atrocities in Japan, which garnered international acclaim and attention. Ira Morris also wrote many critical articles on this subject and the United States Cold War policies. The couple started the Edita and Ira Morris Hiroshima Foundation for Peace and Culture, which provided hostels and recreation centers for the victims of the bombings. Today, the foundation funds projects that continue to research and assist those affected. Their son Ivan Morris (1925-1976) became a noted Japanologist and professor at Columbia University, where the majority of Edita and Ira Morris's papers are held.

This collection consists of one box which contains a revised manuscript of Ira Morris's The Road to Spain and a letter from Morris to the International Writer's Fund about the manuscript. The novel was published in 1966 by Dennis Dobson, Ltd., London.
Columbia University has a collection of Ira and Edith Morris's papers.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: MATERIALS RELATING TO THE ROAD TO SPAIN

  • Series 1: MATERIALS RELATING TO THE ROAD TO SPAIN
  • Sub-Series:
  • 384 page heavily revised draft carbon typescript with a letter from the author - 1966
    2 folders

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.