Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Tim Barrett Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span:
Creator: Barrett, Timothy
Extent: 9.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MsC0937
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary:

Access:

Use:

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: [Name of collection], The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

From the Center for the Book web site:

Barrett earned a BA degree in Art Communications from Antioch College in 1973 and later spent two years working with Kathryn and Howard Clark at Twinrocker Handmade Paper, Inc., two years under a Fulbright Fellowship studying papermaking in Japan, and many years researching early European handmade papers. The latter work has been funded by the NEA, the Kress Foundation, the Institute for Museum and Library Services, and as of 2009, a MacArthur Fellowship. He joined the University of Iowa Center for the Book as its paper specialist in 1986 and served as its director between 1996 and 2002. During his career he has made a number of one-of-a-kind artist's books using handmade paper and leather as the primary materials. He continues to teach courses that address the history, technique, science, and aesthetics of hand papermaking. He also oversees the UICB Research and Production Paper Facility. His current research is focused on the non-destructive analysis of European paper made between the 14th and the 19th centuries, with a special interest in the role of gelatin in paper stability. He is very interested in the emerging field of book studies and in the fertile territory shared by those who produce physical books, and those who study the impact of the book (or the future book-equivalent) on society and culture.

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.