Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Jerry King Collection of Leaves of Grass

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1899-2007
Creator: King, Jerry
Extent: 6.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MsC0930
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Jerry King Collection of Leaves of Grass, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Browse by Series:
Series 1: EDITIONS OF "LEAVES OF GRASS"

  • Series 1: EDITIONS OF "LEAVES OF GRASS"
  • Box 1:
  • Boston: Small, Maynard & Company - 1899
    Lighter embossed cloth.
  • Boston: Small, Maynard & Company - 1899
    Darker embossed cloth
  • Boston: Small, Maynard & Company - 1903
    Embossed cloth
  • London: G.P. Putnam's Sons - 1903
    Decorated spine
  • London: G.P. Putnam's Sons - 1904
  • New York: H. Caldwell - 1900
    Selections
  • New York: Dodge - 1900
    Selections
  • New York: Aventine Press - 1931
    Green cloth
  • New York: Aventine Press
    Brown cloth, dustjacket by O.H. Jahn
  • New York: Aventine Press
    Gray cloth, dustjacket
  • New York: Aventine Press
    Brown cloth. Dustjacket, slipcase
  • London: J.M. Dent; New York: H.P. Dutton - 1913
    Coloured illustrations by Margaret C. Cook
  • London: J.M. Dent; New York: H.P. Dutton. Leaves of Grass (1) & Democratic Vistas. Everyman’s Library #573. - 1921
    Cloth
  • London: J.M. Dent; New York: H.P. Dutton
    Red leather, dustjacket
  • London: J.M. Dent; New York: H.P. Dutton - 1949
    Introduction and notes by Emory Holloway.
  • London: J.M. Dent; New York: H.P. Dutton - 1950
  • London: J.M. Dent; New York: H.P. Dutton - 1964
  • London: J.M. Dent; New York: H.P. Dutton - 1971
  • London: J.M. Dent; New York: H.P. Dutton - 1996
    Leaves of Grass and Selected Prose. Wrappers.
  • Box 2:
  • Garden City: Doubleday, Doran & Co. - 1920
  • Garden City: Doubleday, Doran & Co. - 1923
  • Garden City: Doubleday, Doran & Co. - 1924
  • Garden City: Doubleday, Doran & Co. - 1931
    "Inclusive Edition" Edited by Emory Holloway
  • Garden City: Doubleday, Doran & Co. - 1945
  • Garden City: Doubleday, Doran & Co. - 1948
  • Garden City: Doubleday, Doran & Co.
  • International Collectors Library
  • International Collectors Library - 1926
    "Abridged Edition"
  • International Collectors Library - 1997
    New York Public Library “Collector’s Edition.”
  • New York: Modern Library
    Introduction by Carl Sandburg. Green cloth.
  • New York: Modern Library
    Red cloth.
  • New York: Modern Library
    Blue cloth
  • New York: Modern Library
    Gray cloth, dustjacket
  • New York: Modern Library - 1944
    Designed by Warren Chappell, introduction by Carl Sandburg, illustrations by Boardman Robinson.
  • New York: Modern Library
    “...Comprising all the poems … following the arrangement of … 1891-2.” Woodcuts by Valenti Angelo.
  • New York: Modern Library
    Gray cloth, dustjacket. Modern Library Giant.
  • New York: Modern Library - 1980
    Modern Library College Edition edited by Lawrence Buell.
  • New York: Modern Library - 1993
    "Death Bed Edition"
  • New York: Modern Library - 2001
    Introduction by William Carlos Williams, notes by Meir Rinde. Wrappers.
  • New York: Charles Scribner’s Sons - 1922
    Modern Student’s Library. Introduction by Stuart P. Sherman.
  • New York: Grosset & Dunlap
    Light green cloth. "Universal Library"
  • New York: Grosset & Dunlap
    Black cloth stamped silver and green.
  • New York: Grosset & Dunlap - 1971
    “Illustrated Leaves of Grass.” Edited by Howard Chapnick. Introduction by William Carlos Williams.
  • Box 3:
  • New York: Thomas Y. Crowell - 1933
    Introduction by Sherwood Anderson; selected and illustrated by Charles Cullen.
  • New York: Thomas Y. Crowell - 1964
    Selected by Lawrence Clark Powell, woodcuts by John Ross and Clare Romano Ross.
  • New York: Macmillan Co. - 1928
    Edited by John Valente.
  • New York: Macmillan Co. - 1936
    Edited by John Valente.
  • Cleveland: World Publishing Co. - 1942
    Illustrated by S. Witewitz
  • New York: Alfred A. Knopf - 1945
    Preface by Bernard Smith
  • New York: Books, Inc.
    “Art-Type Edition"
  • New York: Books, Inc.
    Quarter black cloth
  • New York: Caxton House, Inc.
    "Popular Classics of the World"
  • New York: Lowell Press
  • New York: Literary Guild of America
    Introduction by Carl Van Doren.
  • New York: Carlton House
    Introduction by Carl Sandburg. Red cloth.
  • New York: Carlton House
    Black cloth, dustjacket.
  • Mount Vernon: Peter Pauper Press
    Illustrated by John Steuwart Curry. Green quarter cloth.
  • Mount Vernon: Peter Pauper Press
    Quarter gray cloth.
  • Mount Vernon: Peter Pauper Press - 1968
    Selections. Illustrated by Mary Jane Gorton.
  • Secaucus: Longriver Press
    Faux leather
  • New York: Viking Press - 1959
    Edited by Malcolm Cowley
  • New York: Crown Publishers - 1961
    Introduction by Walter Lowenfels
  • Norwalk: Easton Press - 1977
  • Franklin Center: Franklin Press - 1979
  • New York and Scarborough, Ontario: New American Library: A Signet Classic - 1980
    With an Introduction by Gay Wilson Allen. Includes a Revised and Updated Bibliography.
  • New York: Book of the Month Club - 1992
    Quarter green cloth, dustjacket
  • New York: Book of the Month Club - 1992
    Quarter red cloth
  • Box 4:
  • New York: Barnes & Noble - 1993
  • New York: Barnes & Noble - 1997
    Edited by Malcolm Cowley
  • New York: Barnes & Noble - 2004
    “Collector’s Library.” Afterword by Peter Harness.
  • Garden City: American Masterpiece Library
  • Garden City: International Collectors Library
  • New York: Metro Books - 2001
  • Ann Arbor: Borders
    Gray cloth, dustjacket.
  • Ann Arbor: Borders - 2003
    Black cloth, dustjacket.
  • Woodstock: Skylight Paths - 2004
    Whitman: the Mystic Poets. Selected by Gary David Comstock.
  • New York: Rinehart & Co. - 1955
    Introduction by Sculley Bradley.
  • New York: Mentor Books MD 117. - 1958
    Introduction by Gay Wilson Allen.
  • New York: Airmont Books - 1965
    Introduction by Francis R. Gemme.
  • New York: Viking Press - 1965
    . Introduction by Malcolm Cowley.
  • New York: Holt, Rinehart and Winston. - 1965
    Introduction by Sculley Bradley.
  • New York: Hill and Wang - 1961
    Edited by Floyd Stovall.
  • San Francisco: Chandler Publishing - 1968
    Facsimile of Berkeley copy of 1855 edition. Introduction by Richard Bridgman.
  • New York: Avon Books GS16. - 1969
    Supplementary material by Dr. Francis Griffith.
  • Kansas City: Hallmark Editions - 1969
    Selections. Edited by C. Merton Babcock, illustrations by Jim Spanfeller.
  • Ithaca: Cornell University Pres - 1969
    Facsimile Edition of the 1860 text, introduction by Roy Harvey Pearce.
  • Ithaca: Cornell University Press - 1884
  • New York: W. W. Norton & Co. - 1973
    Edited by Sculley Bradley and Harold W. Blodgett.
  • New York: Penguin Books
  • New York: Penguin Books - 1983
    Introduction by Malcolm Cowley.
  • New York: Penguin Books - 1986
  • New York: Penguin Books - 2005
    150th Anniversary Edition. Introduction by Harold Bloom.
  • New York: Bantam Books - 1983
    Introduction by Justin Kaplan.
  • New York: Bantam Books
    7th printing
  • Germany: Goldmann Verlag - 1987
    Introduction by Justin Kaplan.
  • Oxford: Oxford University Press - 1990
    Edited by Jerome Loving.
  • Santa Barbara: Bandanna Books - 1992
  • Santa Barbara: Bandanna Books
    Featuring Humanist Editing by A. S. Ash
  • Amherst: Prometheus Books - 1995
  • New York: Signet Classic - 2000
    Afterword by Peter Davison.
  • New York: HarperLargePrintClassic - 2000
  • New York: Barnes & Noble Classics - 2004
    Introduction and notes by Karen Karbiener.
  • New York: Pocket Books - 2006
    Supplementary material by Charles Brower.
  • Mineola: Dover Publications - 2007
  • Colognola ai Colli, Italy: Demtra - 1997

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.