Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Minckler Collection of Silent Movie Sheet Music

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1890-1929
Creator: Minckler, Frank T.R.
Extent: 25.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MsC0911
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Sheet music, probably used by a pianist for silent  movies.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Donated to the University by the Appanoose Historical Society in 2010.

Preferred Citation: Minckler Collection of Silent Movie Sheet Music, The University of Iowa, Iowa City, Iowa

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Frank T. R. Minckler was the long-time musical "presence" in Centerville, Iowa, conducting an orchestra to accompany silent movies, performing with bands and other groups, and eventually serving as the high school music instructor.

Minckler left this collection of music to the Appanoose County Historical Society. Eventually that organization judged it out of scope and, after evaluation by Rick Altman, it was acquired in 2010 by the University.

The collection consists of an estimated 3000 scores, existing music (not original compositions) presumably used by Minckler as music director at the Majestic Theatre in Centerville, Appanoose County, Iowa. Most are numbered, suggesting they might once have been coded to a card or other catalog, but a thorough search at the Appanoose Historical Society failed to discover anything that might be even a fragment of such a finding aid. Many of the scores are marked to indicate selected or deleted passages, and there seem to be notes on many that might link them to movies for which they were used.

A goodly portion of the scores are not marked, however, and do not have Minckler Library stamp or number.

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.