Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Gallup Organization Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span:
Creator:
Extent: 60.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MsC0811
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Official recordsof the world famous polling organization. Includes personal papers of George Gallup II (Ted), George III, and Alec Gallup and other members of the family

Access: This collection is open for use.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The papers were donated to the University of Iowa Libraries in several donations by the Gallup family.

Preferred Citation: Gallup Organization Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Browse by Series:
Series 1: AUDIO VISUAL MATERIALS
Series 2: GEORGE HORACE GALLUP (TED) - BIOGRAPHICAL AND PERSONAL
Series 3: CLIPPINGS
Series 4: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 5: GALLUP BUSINESS RECORDS
Series 6: GALLUP FAMILY FINANCES
Series 7: HONORS AND AWARDS, GEORGE GALLUP (TED)
Series 8: HUMOR
Series 9: PHOTOGRAPHS
Series 10: POLLS AND RESULTS
Series 11: QUILL AND SCROLL SOCIETY
Series 12: SPEECHES
Series 13: SUBJECT FILES
Series 14: WRITINGS
Series 15: George H. Gallup, III

  • Series 1: AUDIO VISUAL MATERIALS
  • Sub-Series: Audio Materals
  • Box 1:
  • ¼ inch reel-to-reel tapes of Wild Sounds
    ¼ inch reel-to-reel tapes; 3 10.5 inch reels
  • Box 2:
  • Pirates of Penzance
    ¼ inch reel-to-reel tapes; 2 10.5 inch reels
  • Living - 1948
    LP
  • Living - 1948
    LP
  • Living - 1948
    LP
  • Make Way For Tomorrow, George Gallup - 1945
    LP
  • George Gallup “Variety Show” December 27 - 1938
    LP
  • George Gallup Speech, April 5 - 1949
    LP
  • George Gallup Speech, April 5 - 1949
    LP
  • George Gallup Speech, April 5 - 1949
    LP
  • George Gallup: The Judgment of the Common People
    Aluminum record
  • George Gallup: The Judgment of the Common People
    Aluminum record
  • Unidentified
    Aluminum record
  • Box 3:
  • The Mikado
    ¼ inch reel-to-reel tapes; 3 tapes on 7 inch reels
  • “Ladies of the Press” Guest, George Gallup, May 23 - 1965
    ¼ inch reel-to-reel tapes; 1 tape on 7 inch reel
  • Ed Murrow – Person to Person; George Gallup and Family
    ¼ inch reel-to-reel tapes; 1 tape on 7 inch reel
  • Youth article
    ¼ inch reel-to-reel tapes; 1 tape on 7 inch reel
  • Eisenhower speech, part 2. Mutual security, problems with foreign aid
    ¼ inch reel-to-reel tapes; 1 tape on 7 inch reel
  • WOR Radio, November 4 - 1958
    ¼ inch reel-to-reel tapes; 5 tapes on 7 inch reels
  • Broadcast over Mutual Broadcasting Network, January 14, 1961 Broadcast over station WOR (NYC), January 15 - 1961
    ¼ inch reel-to-reel tapes; 1 tape on 5 inch reel
  • Gallup family history
    ¼ inch reel-to-reel tapes; 1 tape on 7 inch reel
  • Unidentified tape
    ¼ inch reel-to-reel tapes; 1 tape on 7 inch reel
  • Gilbert and Sullivan, George solo
    Audio cassette
  • “Jesus You Want All of Me”
    Audio cassette
  • GHG, August 30, 1979 Audio cassette
    Audio cassette
  • Harold Anderson, September 26 - 1980
    Audio cassette
  • Ogilvy and Gallup - 1979
    Audio cassette
  • GHG, September 22 - 1981
    Audio cassette
  • Card Walker, Jack Sayers Audio cassette
    Audio cassette
  • Alec Gallup, June 26 - 1979
    Audio cassette
  • GHG, September 11 - 1979
    Audio cassette
  • Loretta Young
    Audio cassette
  • Tom Lewis
    Audio cassette
  • Tom Lewis/Loretta Young
    Audio cassette
  • GHG, September 30 - 1981
    Audio cassette
  • Gallup on pre-testing/rest. Business
    Audio cassette
  • GHG, September 18 - 1979
    Audio cassette
  • GHG, September 13; GHG September 18; Joe Bachelder October 2 - 1979
    Audio cassette
  • Box 4:
  • “Gallup in Russia”
    ¼ inch reel-to-reel tapes; 1 tape on 3 inch reel
  • “Gallup in Russia”
    ¼ inch reel-to-reel tapes; 1 tape on 3 inch reel
  • George interviewing Ted (GHG)
    ¼ inch reel-to-reel tapes; 1 tape on 3 inch reel
  • Mr. John Williams “Shadbolt,” Wednesday, May 29
    ¼ inch reel-to-reel tapes; 1 tape on 3 inch reel
  • College paper
    ¼ inch reel-to-reel tapes; 1 tape on 3 inch reel
  • Career decesion
    ¼ inch reel-to-reel tapes; 1 tape on 3 inch reel
  • College years
    ¼ inch reel-to-reel tapes; 1 tape on 3 inch reel
  • Alison talking
    ¼ inch reel-to-reel tapes; 1 tape on 3 inch reel
  • Mirror of America articles
    ¼ inch reel-to-reel tapes; 1 tape on 3 inch reel
  • Unidentified
    ¼ inch reel-to-reel tapes; 6 tapes on 3 inch reel
  • Sub-Series: Visaul Materials: 8 mm movie file on three inch reels
  • Box 5:
  • 8 mm movie file on three inch reels - 1956-1961
  • Box 6:
  • 8 mm movie file on three inch reels - 1961-1968
  • Box 7:
  • 8 mm movie file on three inch reels - 1970-1979
  • Box 8:
  • 8 mm movie file on three inch reels - 1970-1979
  • Box 9:
  • 8 mm movie file on three inch reels - 1970-1973
  • Box 10:
  • 8 mm movie file on three inch reels - 1973-1978
  • Box 11:
  • 8 mm movie file on three inch reels - 1979-1989
  • Box 12:
  • 8 mm movie file on three inch reels - 1980-1982
  • Box 13:
  • 8 mm movie file on three inch reels - 1983-1986
  • Box 14:
  • 8 mm movie file on three inch reels - 1986-1990
  • 11 unidentified reels
  • Sub-Series: Visual Materials: 8 mm movie film on various sized reels
  • Box 15:
  • - 1960-1979
    3 reels on 7 inch reels
  • Princeton footbal game - 1970-1979
    1 reel on 7 inch reel
  • Football, Soccer-Leidenberg, House-Great Road, puppy in snow. Early
  • - 1960-1969
    1 reel on 6 inch reel
  • - 1970-1979
    1 reel on 6 inch reel
  • - 1970-1979
    1 reel on 5 inch reel
  • Sub-Series: Visual Materials: 16 mm movie film on 3.5 inch reels
  • Box 15:
  • Family - 1959
  • Home and garden
  • GHG III and dog
  • Family, especially Alec & dog
  • Gallup place
  • Personal
  • Alison
  • Gallop arms, Stinko
  • Dublin
  • Shannon airport
  • Belfast
  • Box 16:
  • Rotterdam
  • Delphi
  • Parnham and coming into Netherbury
  • Chartres
  • Greece, Epidaares
  • Hospital, Galway
  • Portschach
  • Box 17:
  • Athens
  • Shipboard
  • 4 unidentified reels
  • Box 18:
  • 6 unidentified reels
  • Box 19:
  • 3 unidentified reels
  • Sub-Series: Visual Materials: Microfilm
  • Box 20:
  • American Institute of Public Opinion ballot file 1935 - 1950
  • Unknown content, October-August - 1935-1944
  • American Institute of Public Opinion data sheets, October-August - 1935-1944
  • American Institute of Public Opinion data sheets, August 6-December - 1944-1952
  • American Institute of Public Opinion data sheets, January-December - 1953-1956
  • American Institute of Public Opinion data sheets, January-December - 1953-1957
  • Who Lives to be 95 and Over?
  • Gallup poll releases, dates unknown
  • 2 reels of unknown content and date
  • Box 21:
  • Gallup poll releases, dates unknown - 1958-1960
  • Copies of Gallup poll printed newspapers articles - 1950-1969
  • Gallup poll, January-February. 8 reels - 1961-1974
  • Unknown content, January 1-December 20. 2 reels - 1961-1964
  • Sub-Series: Visual Materials: 35 mm film
  • Box 22:
  • Edward R. Murrow film
    35 mm stills,single frame, no sound
  • Sub-Series: Visual Materials: Slides
  • Box 23:
  • Unknown content. 3 boxes
    3 inch slides
  • Bahamas
    2 inch slides
  • England
    20 2 inch slides
  • "Flashbacks - 50 Years"
    136 2 inch slides
  • Unknown content
  • Photos of Ted and Ophie at Upper Strode Farm
    60 2 inch slides
  • Mirror of America
    18 2 inch slides
  • Sub-Series: Visual Materials: Video Cassettes
  • Box 24:
  • Ali-Kiki Trip to Town, “Dating Game” - 1988
  • Alpha: Power to Transform
  • Buntin Group
  • Champions of Industry
  • “Christmas in America” December 12 - 1985
  • Dr. Gallup July 15, 1982
  • Heaven and Hell: Bible Images of the Afterlife
  • Mary Baker Eddy: Daughter of New England . . . Citizen of the World
  • Miscellaneous
  • People’s Choice Awards, George Gallup J. Segment
  • Perspectives #81-105, Evangelism & Church Renewal. November 20 - 1981
  • Radio & TV Commission Choices
  • The Road to Omaha Video presentation for July STAR award
  • Box 25:
  • Surveying the Religious Landscape
  • Surveying the Religious Landscape. Back-up copy
  • “View of the Church: Rooted in Living Lord/Preparing for Flight.” 30th National Conference of Trinity Institute - 1999
  • Unidentified
  • Sub-Series: Visual Materials: CDs
  • Box 25:
  • Speeches and articles by GHG, Jr.; Gallup Youth Survey
  • Unidentified video cassettes
  • "The Search for America's Inner Life"
  • "George's Hats"
  • "An Evening With George Gallup at Montgomery Center for the Arts, March 23 - 2006
  • Sub-Series: Visual Materials:Miscellaneous and Unidentified Materials
  • Box 25:
  • 15 items in various media; all unidentified
  • Series 2: GEORGE HORACE GALLUP (TED) - BIOGRAPHICAL AND PERSONAL
  • Box 1:
  • George personal materials
    Including 1945 trip to Europe; appointment book pages for May 15-16, 1935 and March-November 1950; appointment diary 1956; letterhead; titles (some humorous) for George Gallup. 5 folders
  • George Gallup III's biography of George Gallup II
    21 folders
  • Phyllis Gillis biograph of George Gallup
    3 folders
  • Box 2:
  • Phyllis Gillis biograph of George Gallup
    7 folders
  • Columbia Oral History
    3 folders
  • Biographical sketches of Ted
    4 folders
  • Ancestry
    20 folders
  • Box 3:
  • Books on ancestry
    12 books
  • Box 4:
  • GHG's childhood
    13 folders
  • Jefferson and Greene Counties, Iowa
    6 folders and 3 books
  • GHG's University of Iowa years
    4 folders
  • Box 5:
  • GHG's University of Iowa years
    17 folders
  • Marriage
    5 folders
  • Drake years
    8 folders
  • Northwestern University
    3 folders
  • Box 6:
  • Young and Rubican Years
    11 folders
  • Columbia
    4 folders
  • Medical files
    4 folders
  • Obituaries
    11 folders
  • Octagonal houses
  • George Henry Gallup (Ted's father)
    6 folders
  • Nettie Gallup (Ted's mother)
    5 folders
  • Ophelia Miller Gallup (Ted's wife)
    11 folders. See also Oversized Box 1 for materials relating to the Prince of Orange
  • Box 7:
  • Ophelia Miller Gallup (Ted's wife)
    10 folders
  • Julia Gallup (Ted's daughter)
    4 folders
  • Gladys Gallup (Ted's sister)
    4 folders
  • Other family and friends of the Gallup family
    14 folders
  • Box 8:
  • Galllup properties
    17 folders
  • Montgomery Township (New Jersey)
    20 folders
  • Box 9:
  • Miscellaneous personal
    4 folders
  • Series 3: CLIPPINGS
  • Sub-Series: Items removed from their original publication
  • Box 1:
  • 1910s to 1950s
    29 folders
  • Box 2:
  • 1950s to 1970s
    54 folders
  • Box 3:
  • 1970s to 2000s
    26 folders
  • Box 4:
  • Undated
    4 folders
  • Subject clippings files
  • Academy Awards
    2 folders
  • Obituaries of other people
  • Sub-Series: Complete magazines
  • Box 5:
  • 1925-1958
  • Box 6:
  • 1958-2010
  • Box 7:
  • Oversized magazines - 1931-1944
    In Oversized Box 7
  • Box 8:
  • Oversized magazines - 1944-1980
    In Oversized Box 8
  • Sub-Series: Complete newspapers or newspaper sheet
  • Box 9:
  • Complete newspapers or newspaper sheet
    Not in any order
  • Box 10:
  • Complete newspapers or newspaper sheet
    Not in any order
  • Box 11:
  • Complete newspapers or newspaper sheet
    Not in any order
  • Box 12:
  • Complete newspapers or newspaper sheet
    Not in any order
  • Series 4: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • 1920s-July to December 1945 - 1920-1945
  • Box 2:
  • January-May 1946 to 1949 - 1946-1949
  • Box 3:
  • January-April 1950 to November 1952-February 1953 - 1950-1953
  • Box 4:
  • March-April 1953 to March-April 1958 - 1953-1958
  • Box 5:
  • May-August 1958 to November-December 1959 - 1958-1959
  • Box 6:
  • 1960 to April 1973-1974 - 1960-1974
  • Box 7:
  • April-December 1974-no date
  • Box 8:
  • Crank mail
  • Series 5: GALLUP BUSINESS RECORDS
  • Sub-Series: American Institute of Public Opinion (AIPO)
  • Box 1:
  • Articles of partnership
    2 folders
  • America Speaks - 1935
  • America Speaks visit to the Boston Globe, March 7 - 1936
  • America Speaks promotion. October 4 - 1935
  • Australia
  • Biography
  • Expenses
    2 folders
  • Finances
  • Financial report - 1944
  • Highlights and Sidelights of U.S. Public Opinion
  • Interoffice memos: Benson
  • Interoffice memos: R. Coursen
  • Interoffice memos: General
  • Interoffice memos: Ruby
  • Members papers - 1948-1949
  • AIPO Miscellaneous
    5 folders
  • Partnership agreement
  • AIPO Promotion
    3 folders
  • Paul Rudd correspondence - 1949-1950
  • Special Bulletin. July 21 - 1942
  • Sub-Series: Audience Research Institute (ARI)
  • Box 1:
  • Board of Directors
  • Description of services
  • Interoffice and client correspondence - 1948
  • Office memoranda
  • Interoffice correspondence - 1950
    Mostly Bev Jones
  • Box 2:
  • Employee information
  • Publicity releases
  • Contracts (Paul Perry)
  • Industry letter and proposal
  • Krepps, Dillon
  • Miscellaneous
  • General correspondence - 1950
  • Office and client correspondence - 1949
  • Report Cover
  • Sales reports
  • Sayers, Jack - 1949
  • Sayers, Jack - 1950
  • Taxes - 1939
  • Television
  • Sub-Series: Buildings
  • Box 2:
  • Agreement for 214 Western Way, Princeton
  • New building for the Gallup Organization
  • New building on Chambers Street
  • Rent
  • Sub-Series: Gallup and Robinson
  • Box 2:
  • Activation
  • Advertisers in Life Magazine, Saturday Evening Post, and McCalls Magazine - 1950-1954
  • Announcement of the formation of the company
  • Gallup and Robinson letterhead
  • Impact report
  • Sales impact method
  • Sub-Series: Gallup Organization
  • Box 2:
  • Company policy memos
  • Council on Foundations
  • Gallup Organization Conference: Venice - 1961
  • Gallup Organization Conference: Oslo - 1963
  • Gallup Organization Conference: Athens - 1964
    Conferences after 1964 seem to be under the auspices of Gallup International
  • Executive committee
  • Gallup Poll publications - 1982-1983
  • General Gallup business
  • Box 3:
  • General memos
  • Manual for public opinion reporters
  • Miscellaneous
  • Promotion
  • Stock agreement and bylaws
  • Staff
  • The "New Gallup" - 198-2010
  • Promotion
  • Publishers Syndicate contract
  • Stockholders and directors meeting minutes
  • Sub-Series: Gallup Organization Finances
  • Box 3:
  • Contributions
  • Costing memos
    3 folders
  • Cost record: Mirror of American Studies
  • Cost record: Philadelphia Metro Market
  • Costs: Job costs summary
  • Costs: K-survey
  • Costs: Precinct samples
  • Galllup Management Research, Inc.
  • Box 4:
  • Financial Analysis
    6 folders
  • Financial notes
  • Gallup Economic Services
  • Interviewing costs and Intervierwer's pay rates and salaries
  • Political Surveys and Analyses, Inc.
  • Profit and Loss Statement - 1958-1959
  • Profit and Loss Statement - 1958-1970
  • Profit and Loss Statement, balance sheet - 1983, 1982
  • Salaries 1983
  • Sub-Series: Gallup Miscellaneous
    Includes items that represent more than one Gallup Organization as well as items for which we were unable to determine to which organization it belongs
  • Box 4:
  • Bank resolutions
  • Business cards
  • Christmas cards from various Gallup organizations
  • Descriptions of early Gallup-affiliated organizations - 1948
  • Fringe benefits-research from other companies
  • A Gallup national research network
  • Gallup Poll Celebrates 50 Years
  • Gallup Research Services
  • George H. Gallup expense account
  • Impact Magazine
  • Interviewer's anecdotes
  • Letterhead
  • Poll Reporter and other house orgrans
  • Registration for the Gallup poll
  • Religion research
  • Syndicated column suggestions
  • Ten Good Reasons to Subscribe to the Gallup Poll
  • We Interview Our Interviewers
  • Sub-Series: Gallup Sociel Sciences Research Group
  • Box 4:
  • Brochure
  • Sub-Series: Mirror of America
  • Box 4:
  • Letterhead, brochure
  • Sub-Series: Selection Research Incorporated (SRI)
  • Box 4:
  • Merger with Gallup
    6 folders
  • Series 6: GALLUP FAMILY FINANCES
  • Box 1:
  • Banks
    5 folders
  • Charities
  • Estate Planning
  • Expenses
  • Farms
    6 folders
  • Insurance
    7 folders
  • Notes
  • Miscellaneous personal finances
  • Stocks and Bonds
    7 folders
  • Box 2:
  • Taxes
    11 folders
  • Series 7: HONORS AND AWARDS, GEORGE GALLUP (TED)
  • Box 1:
  • Realia
  • Box 2:
  • Realia
  • Box 3:
  • Diplomas and paper awards
  • Series 8: HUMOR
  • Box 1:
  • Humor, consisting mostly of cartoon
  • Series 9: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Sub-Series: AIPO Photo Archive
  • Box 1:
  • Actors, Actresses
  • Aeroplanes
  • Agnew, Spiro
  • Anderson, John
  • Animals
  • Atcheson, Dean
  • Atlee, Clement
  • Authors
  • Autos
  • Backgrounds
  • Barkley, Alben; Baruch, Bernard
  • Beauty queens
  • Berlin sector
  • Borah, William; Bricker, John
  • Browder, Earl; Bryce, James; Brynes, James
  • Buildings
    2 folders
  • Calhoun, John C.
  • Carter, Jimmy
  • Chamberlain, Neville
  • Child labor
  • China
  • Churchill, Winston
  • Civil Rigts
  • Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC)
  • College Campuses
  • Congress-Senate
  • Connally, John B.
  • Connally Tom
  • Coolidge, Calvin
  • Coughlin, Reverend Charles
  • Countries-General
  • Crowds
  • DeGaulle, Charles
  • Death penalty
  • Democratic candidates
  • Demonstrators, Demonstrations
  • Dewey, Thomas E.
  • Dies, Martin; Douglas William O.
  • Dirkson, Everett
  • Duke and Duchess of Windsor
  • Dulles, John Foster
  • Eden, Anthony; Edison, Thomas
  • Eisenhower, Dwight and Mamie
  • Electric chair
  • Miscellaneous A-E
  • Factory Labor
  • Family at home
  • Farley, James A.
  • Fashions
  • Fashions-Women's
  • Faubus, Orval
  • Ford, Gerald; Ford, Henry II
  • Frankfurter, Felix
  • Garfield (US President)
  • Garner, John
  • General
  • Box 2:
  • General
  • General - Recent
  • General - Morgue
  • Goetz, Bernard (subway vigilante)
  • Goldwater, Barry
  • Harding, Warren; Harriman, Averell
  • Hart, Gary
  • Hatfield, Mark
  • High school journalism students
  • Hitler, Adolph
  • Hoffman, Paul
  • Hoover, Herbert
  • Hoover, J. Edgar
  • Hopkins, Harry
  • Household
  • Hughes, Charles E. (Chief Justice, US Supreme Court)
  • Hull, Cordell
  • Humphrey, Hubert
  • Ickes, Harold
  • Industry
  • Israel invasion of Lebanon
  • Israeli-Arab skirmish
  • Jackson, Andrew; Jefferson, Thomas
  • Johnson, Lyndon B.
  • Johnston, Eric (President, US Chamber of Commerce)
  • Kennedy, Edward
  • Kennedy, Jacqueline
  • Kennedy, John Fitzgerald
  • Kennedy, Robert
  • King, Martin Luther
  • Knowland, William F. (US Senate Majority Leader)
  • Kefauver, Estes (Congressman)
  • Kruschev, Nikita
  • Labor
  • LaFollette, Robert (US Senator)
  • Landon, Alf (Governor of Kansas, GOP Presidential Candidate)
  • Lausche, Frank (Governor of Ohio)
  • Lehman, Herbert (Governor of New York)
  • Lewis, John L.
  • Libb, Willard (Atomic Energy Commission)
  • Lincoln, Abraham
  • Lindsay, John Vliet
  • Lippman, Walter
  • Lodge, Henry C, Jr. (US Embassador and Permanent Representative to the United Nations)
  • Lodge, Henry Cabot
  • Louis, Joe
  • MacArthur, Douglas (US General)
  • Marshall, George C. (US Secretary of State)
  • Martin, Joseph W. (Congressman, Massachusetts)
  • May Day
  • McCarthy, Eugene
  • McCathy, Joseph
  • McCarran, Pat (US Senator)
  • McCloskey, Pete (California Representative)
  • McGovern, George
  • McKinley, William
  • McNamara, Robert
  • Miller, William S.
  • Morganthau, Henry (Secretary of the Treasury)
  • Muskien, Edmund (Senator)
  • Mussolini
  • Miscellaneous photographs
  • Newspapers
  • Nixon, Pat
  • Nixon, Richard
  • Percy, Charles
  • Objects
  • O'Connor, Sandra Day (First Woman on the Supreme Court)
  • Occupations
  • Box 3:
  • People
  • Pepper, Claude (US Senator)
  • Petrillo, James
  • Political conventions
  • Photographs
  • Police
  • Pope John XXIII
  • Pope Paul VI
  • Professors
  • Reagan, Ronald
  • Reagan in California
  • Relief WPA
  • Relief WPA - Breadlines
  • Rickenbacker, Eddie (US Captain)
  • Rioting and looting, 1967
  • Rockefeller, Nelson
  • Romney, George
  • Roosevelt, Eleanor
  • Roosevelt, F.D., Jr.
  • Roosevelt, Franklin D
  • Roosevelt and cabinet members
  • Roosevelt, James (son of FDR)
  • Roosevelt, Teddy
  • Roosevelt, Teddy, Jr.
  • Saltonstall, Leverett (Governor of Massachusetts, US Senator)
  • Sanger, Margaret (Head of birth control organization)
  • Schweitzer, Albert (Humanitarian, Physican, Nobel Prize Winner)
  • Scranton, William
  • Seal of the United States
  • Science - Medical
  • Shippping
  • Smith, Alfred E.
  • Smoking - ACS Report
  • Spellman, Francis (Archbishop of New York)
  • Sports
  • Stalin
  • Stassen, Harold
  • Stevenson, Adlai
  • Strikes - Labor disputes
  • Supreme Court Justices
  • Supreme Court
  • Symington, Stuart (US Senator)
  • Taft, Robert A. (US Senator)
  • Talmadge, Eugene (Governor of Georgia)
  • Taylor, Glen (US Senator, Idaho)
  • Thomas, Norman (Leader of Socialist Party)
  • Thompson, Frank, Jr., (US Congressman)
  • Townsend, Dr. (Orginiator of the Townsend Plan)
  • Thurmand, J. Strom (US Senator)
  • Tydings, Millarld (US Senator)
  • Truman, Bess, Harry, and Margaret
  • Unemployed
  • USSR
  • Vendenberg, Arthur (US Senator)
  • Voters
  • Viet Nam -- People and war photos
  • Viet Nam -- Prisoners of war, American North Vietnamese
  • Wagner, Robert H. (US Senator)
  • Wallace, George C.
  • Wallace, Henry A. (US Secretary of Commerce)
  • Wallace, George (US Presidential Candidate)
  • War -- cannons, missiles
  • War --destruction
  • War - marching soldiers
  • Box 4:
  • War - miscellaneous
  • War - planes, bombs
  • War - ships, destroyers
  • War - soldiers
  • War - soldiers in action
  • War - tanks
  • Warren, Earl
  • Washington, George
  • Welles, Sumner
  • Wilkie, Wendell (GOP Presidential candidate)
  • Wilson, Woodrow
  • Women
  • Miscellaneous, K-Z
  • Unidentified photographs
  • Sub-Series: Gallup Organization Photographs
  • Box 5:
  • 7th Anniversary of the Gallup Poll
  • Gallup affiliates
  • Emery Ruby and staff
  • Interviewer photographs
  • Interviewing and staff photographs
  • Office shots
  • Staff photographs
  • Sub-Series: Gallup International Photographs
  • Box 5:
  • Conference and people
  • Conference: Loxwood - 1947
  • Conference: Netherlands - 1951
  • Conference: Talloires /Oucley - 1953
  • Conference: Netherlands - 1955
  • Conference: Helsinki - 1957
  • Conference: Vienna - 1959
  • Conference: Brighton - 1959
  • Conference: Venice - 1961
  • Conference: Oslo - 1963
  • Conference: Athens - 1964
  • Conference: Princeton - 1965
  • Conference:Uruguay - 1970
  • Conference: Kyoto - 1972
  • Conference: Rio de Janeiro - 1974
  • Conference: San Francisco - 1981
  • GIRI: Location unknown
  • GIRI: Unknown members
  • Interviewer shots from around the world
  • GHG visit to Vienna - 1979
  • Miscellaneous
  • Sub-Series: Personal Photographs
  • Box 5:
  • Photographs of GHG
    7 folders, including photographs with Greer Garson, Jane Wyman, and Jimmy Stewart as well as photographs of GHG when he was a child, along with his brother and sisters; GHG on his high school football team; a photograph taken in the 1920s at the University of Iowa; photographs from a scrapbook dating from the 1920s or 1930s
  • Gallup family photographs
    Including a photograph of Ophy with Loretta Young
  • The Gallup house in Switzerland
  • Roper, Gallup, Crossley - 1960-1969
  • "As I Saw Them." Painted portrait of GHG by William Collins - 1956
    Photographs of the portrait, along with a letter from Collins and a copy of booklet containing a copy of the portrait
  • Ophelia
  • Other relatives
    Includes a trifold frame containing portraits of Horace Davenport and Celia Haines Davenport Gallup along with their children Frank and Nettie. Nettie was GHG's mother. This is stored in an oversized box.
  • Box 6:
  • Travelling in Europe and the Bahamas
  • Upper Strode Farm
  • Gallup homes
  • Livestock
  • Hopkins Televote Machine - 1940-1949
  • Launching of the John Gallup Liberty Ship - 1943
  • Washington Iowa photos
  • USS Pocono
    In Oversized Box
  • Contents of notebooks compiled by GHG, Jr.
    5 folders from 3 notebooks
  • Miscellaneous photographs
  • Unidentified photographs
    2 folders
  • Negatives
  • 2x2 Slides
    Includes "Flashback: 50 Years," Mirror of America, England, and Bahamas, among other unidentified slides
  • 3x3 Slides
  • Description of missing photographs
  • Sub-Series: Oversized photographs and scrapbooks
    This is an oversized box
  • Box 7:
  • Georgr H. Gallup, Sr. (Ted)
  • Upper Strode Farm
  • Scrapbook: Gallup International Conferences - 1935-1965
  • Scrapbook: Visit to Finland - 1978
  • Scrapbook: GHG, Jr. scrapbook of houses
  • Scrapbook - 1939-1949
  • Box 8:
  • 2 phogograph albums - 1850-1930
    Time frame is an estimate. None of the people in the photographs are identified. Box 8 in an Oversized box.
  • Triptych photo frame with Ted's maternal grandparents, his mother, and his uncle
  • Box 9:
  • Scrapbook: George Dudinsky
    Box 9 in an oversized box.
  • Scrapbook: Crank Mail
  • Scrapbook: What Good Are Opinion Surveys
  • Early photos of Ted
  • Miscellaneous oversized photographs
  • Series 10: POLLS AND RESULTS
    Organized chronologically
  • Sub-Series: 1920s
  • Box 1:
  • Readership study, The Des Moines Register
  • Voting map - 1928
  • Presidental vote by county - 1928-1932
  • Miscellaneous
  • Sub-Series: 1930s
  • Box 1:
  • Radio survey - 1930-1937
  • Readership poll, miscellaneous - 1930-1931
  • Liberty (magazine) Study of Reader Interest - 1931-1932
    2 folders
  • Survery of reader interest - 1931
  • Presidental election - 1932
    2 folders
  • State election poll results - 1932
  • Experimental Gallup political polls, November-December - 1933-1935
  • Report of a Gallup Survery of the Grape Nutes Company's Advertising in Six British National Newspapers - 1933
  • Gallup Survery of "Daily Skecth" advertising - 1933
  • Results of polls on Roosevelt's popularity - 1935-1936
  • Election polls - 1935-1936
  • War questions - 1935-1939
  • AIPO America Speaks Questionnaires 25, 30,36, 37, 56, 58, 59, 60, 61, and 62 - 1936
  • Barometer and ballots - 1936
  • Ballot returns, 23-55, 70 - 1936
  • Birth control issues - 1936-1937
  • Comparison of poll results - 1936
  • Barometers - 1936
    2 folders
  • Final results in the Literary Digest poll - 1936
  • Fortune suveys, October-August - 1936-1939
  • Box 2:
  • Vote by state and county - 1936
  • AIPO America Speaks Questionnair
  • Miscellaneous polls - 1936
  • AIPO Press releases - 1937
  • AIPO America Speaks Questionnaires 64, 65,66, 67, 68, 69, 74, 75, 77, 78, 79, 81, 85, 86, 87, 88, 91, 92, 99, 102, 106, cross section 350 - 1937
  • Keying for APIO America Speaks Questionnaires 101-112 - 1937-1938
  • Keying for APIO America Speaks Questionnaires 112-129 - 1937-1938
  • Joint proposal for National Survey of Rural Radio Ownership and use - 1937
  • Motion picrture "Snow White" - 1937
  • War questions - 1937-1939
  • Miscellaneous - 1937
  • Barometer, questionnaires 107-109, 112-114 - 1938
  • Barometer, questionnaires 113-129 - 1938
  • Barometer, questionnaires 99-138 - 1938
  • Third term for Roosevelt. Ballots 137, 138, 144A&B, 167A&B, 173, 175, 176, 177A7&B, 179, 183, 184, 185, 188, 189, 195 - 1938-1940
  • AIPO Questionnaires 119, 120 - 1938
  • Citrus growers survey - 1938-1939
  • Farm and agriculture related polls - 1938-1939
  • Health Issues -- Research - 1938-1948
  • Ladies Home Journal - 1938
  • National Research Bureau Surveys - 1938-1939
  • Box 3:
  • Keying for ballots 60-132 - 1939
  • Keying for ballots 133-154 - 1939
  • AIPO Questionnaire 165A, 165B, 169A - 1939
  • Barometers, Questionnaires 139-178 - 1939
  • Poll on public buying habits, 701 - 1939
  • Annual Report of the Baruch Committee of Physical Medicine; State and Regional Life Tables, 1939-1941 - 1939-1945
  • Life's Continuing Study of Magazine Audiences, Report No. 2. May 1 - 1939
  • A New Method for Measuring Selling Effectiveness - 1939
  • Poll on public buying habits, 701-T - 1939
  • President Roosevelt related questions. Ballots 155B, 266 K&T, 122A&B, 123
  • War and Peace (in the UK). September - 1939
  • Miscellaneous - 1939
  • Sub-Series: 1940s
  • Box 3:
  • AIPO Ballots 207K, 211K, 211T, 214K, 214T, 214J, 182K, 182T, 183K, 183T, 184, 185K, 185T, 186K, 186T, 187K, 187T, 188T, 189K, 190K, 191K, 192K, 193K, 193T, 199K, 199T, 300E, 301J, 802C, 204 Maine - 1940
  • Evidence concerning "Bandwagon" - 1940
  • Barometer. Ballots 176, 177, 178, 179, 180, 181, 182, 183, 184, 212k, 213J, 214, 215, - 1940
  • Election polls - 1940
  • Iowa Pinpoint cross section - 1940
  • Life's Continuing Study of Magazine Audiences, Report No. 3. January 1 - 1940
  • Mail ballots voting and results. By state - 1940
  • Maine survey - 1940
  • New York Daily News - 1940
  • Post War Attitudes - 1940-1942
  • Radio News Broadcast survey - 1940
  • OAA, WPA, Home Relief. Ballots 210L, 210V, 210J, 210KT, 211KT, 212V, 212J, 212KT, 213KT, 219, 220, 221, 221KT, 224KT,
  • Religious Groups. Ballots 207, 208, 209216, 217, 218, 219, 220, 221 - 1940
  • State Races - 1940
  • Trends in the presidential election - 1940
  • Trial heats, presidential election - 1940
  • Undecideds, presidential elction. Ballots 202, 203, 206, 213, 219, 224 - 1940-1941
  • Vote breakdown, presidential election - 1940
  • 1940 state results weighted on 1936 basis - 1940
  • Ballots 208-223 - 1940
  • Box 4:
  • Young people's vote. Ballots 199-203 - 1940
  • Miscellaneous 1940 materials - 1940
  • AIPO Questionnaires LUB101, 102, 233K, 233T, 234T, 244K, 244T, 245K, 245T, 246K, 246T, 248K, 248T, 249, 250K, 250T, 251K, 252 T, 253K, 253T, 245K, 254T, 255, 256T, 257T, 706K, FORM A, 706K, FORM B, 807T, 808K, 808T - 141
  • Report on the New York City poll - 1941
  • Ballots 228-233, 236-240, 243-244, 246-248, 258-259, 262-263, 266-267, 270-271, 274, 282, 284, 297 - 1941-1943
  • Questionnarie on happiness - 1941
  • Miscellaneous - 1941
  • AIPO Questionnaires 258-268 - 1942
    2 folders
  • American Red Cross Questionnaire - 1942
  • An Analysis of American Public Opinion Regarding the War - 1942
  • Index of Gallup Poll Releases for 1942 - 1942
  • Mrs. Miniver spot sheet - 1942
  • Once Upon a Honeymoon - 1942
  • Pre-election polls in the 1942 election - 1942
  • Warfare Organizations Survey - 1942
  • AIPO Ballots 217-308 - 1943
  • AIPO Ballots 288, 299K&T, 222W, 217F. - 1943
    Includes Gallup Poll Results from January 1-June 30, 1943
  • Trial tabluations Questionnaires 249, 304T, 306K, 306T, 314K&T, 316K&T, 317K&T, 320K&T, 330, 333, 336K&T, 342K&T, 343K&T, 344K&T, 349K&T - 1943
  • Ballots 296-298 - 1943
  • Accuracy of AIPO samples - 1943
  • Audience Research Institute Report on Movies - 1943
  • Canadian Institues of Public Opinion surveys and reports - 1943-1946
  • Gallup Poll Results July 1-December 31 - 1943
    Includes cumulative index from January-December 1943
  • Health, Disability, and Rehabillitation Research - 1943-1948
    2 folders
  • Box 5:
  • Incidence of the Common Cold - 1943
  • Motion picture: Are These Our Children? - 1943
  • Motion picture: Behind the Rising Sun - 1943
  • Motion picture: Bombardier - 1943
  • Motion picture: Experiment Perilous - 1943
  • Motion picture: Fallen Sparrow - 1943
  • Motion picture: The First Woman Doctor - 1943
  • Motion picture: Fight for Freedom - 1943
  • Motion picture: Government Girl - 1943
  • Motion picture: Having Wonderful Crime - 1943
  • Motion picture: Hiawatha - 1943
  • Motion picture: Higher and Higher - 1943
  • Motion picture: Hilter's Children - 1943
  • Motion picture: The Iron Major - 1943
  • Motion picture: Keep 'Em Singing - 1943
  • Motion picture: A Laday Takes a Chance - 1943
  • Motion picture: The Light Fantastic - 1943
  • Motion picture: Mr. Lucky - 1943
  • Motion picture: None Shall Escape - 1943
  • Motion picture: Show Business - 1943
  • Motion picture: The Sky's the Limit - 1943
  • Motion picture: So Proudly We Hail - 1943
  • Motion picture: Ten Percent Woman - 1943
  • Motion picture: Tender Comrade - 1943
  • Motion picture: Truth or Consequences - 1943
  • Motion picture: Varga Girl - 1943
  • Motion picture: Victory Through Air Power - 1943
  • Motion pictiure: Wal Away From 'Em - 1943
  • People's Book Club - 1943-1946
  • Radio Stars - 1943
  • Radio Advertising - 1943
  • Reason Analysis, Presidential Election - 1943
  • Social Security - 1943
  • A Study of the Public's Attitude Toward the American Red Cross - 1943
  • Taxes - 1943
  • US Government Directory - 1943
  • AIPO Questionnaries 235, 310-321, 325, 330 - 1944
  • AIPO Questionnaires 320-322, 326-338 - 1944
  • Campaign Expenditures - 1944
  • Election polls - 1944
  • Election poll data - 1944
  • Evaluation of the Use of Advertising Media - 1944
  • France research - 1944-1947
  • Harlem Study - 1944
  • Knickerbocker Distributors Semi-Annual Report - 1944
  • Life Magazine Penetration Report - 1944-1946
  • Box 6:
  • Motion picture: Action in Arabia - 1944
  • Motion picture: Address Unknown - 1944
  • Motion picture: Bar of Music - 1944
  • Motion picture: Belle of the Yukon - 1944
  • Motion picture: Betrayal From the East - 1944
  • Motion picture: Bride by Mistake - 1944
  • Motion picture: Bulldog Drummond - 1944
  • Motion picture: Casanova Brown - 1944
  • Motion picture: Chopin Property - 1944
  • Motion picture: Cinderalla - 1944
  • Motion picture: Cover Girl - 1944
  • Motion picture: Day of Glory - 1944
  • Motion picture: Duel in the Sun - 1944
  • Motion picture: Enchanged Cottage - 1944
  • Motion picture: Farwell My Lovely - 1944
  • Motion picture: For the Love of Lulu Belle - 1944
  • Motion picture: Galveston - 1944
  • Motion picture: The Greatest Gift - 1944
  • Motion picture: Heavenly Days - 1944
  • Motion picture: Hercule Poirot - 1944
  • Motion picture: Hollywood Star Time - 1944
  • Motion picture: I Am Thinking of My Darling - 1944
  • Motion picture: I'll Be Seeing You - 1944
  • Motion picture: The Impatient Years - 1944
  • Motion picture: Kiss and Tell - 1944
  • Motion picture: The Lady and the Tramp - 1944
  • Motion picture: Made In Heaven - 1944
  • Motion picture: Male and V-Mail - 1944
  • Motion picture: The Master Race - 1944
  • Motion picture: Oh Careless Love - 1944
  • Motion picture: Once Off Guard - 1944
  • Motion picture: Once Upon a Time - 1944
  • Motion picture: Pigeons and People - 1944
  • Motion picture: The Pretty Girl - 1944
  • Motion picture: Princess and the Pirate - 1944
  • Motion picture: The Power of Darkness - 1944
  • Motion picture: Rebecca - 1944
  • Motion picture: Remember the Day - 1944
  • Motion picture: Since You Went Away - 1944
  • Motion picture: Sister Carrie - 1944
  • Motion picture: Situation Out of Hand - 1944
  • Motion picture: Three Caballeros - 1944
  • Motion picture: Up in Arms - 1944
  • Motion picture: Wind in the Willows With Toad of Toad Hall - 1944
  • Motion picture: What a Woman - 1944
  • Motion picture: Who Could Ask For Anything More - 1944
  • Motions picture stars test survey - 1944
  • New York City vote by assembly districts - 1944
  • Post War Attitudes - 1944
  • RKO Radio Pictures, Inc - 1944-1946
  • Raio - Humorour News Commentator Progam - 1944
  • Radio Listeners - 1944
  • Presidential election - 1944
  • Units shipped to OCR area - 1944
  • Miscellaneous - 1944
    2 folders
  • AIPO Questionnaire 339-345 - 1945
  • AIPO Questionnaire 346-362 - 1945
  • Box 7:
  • British results - 1945
  • Motion picture: All Brides Are Beautiful - 1945
  • Motion picture: All Kneeling - 1945
  • Motion picture: The Bells of St. Mary's - 1945
  • Motion picture: Blithe Spirint - 1945
  • Motion picture: The Calico Kid - 1945
  • Motion picture: China Sky - 1945
  • Motion picture: Cornered - 1945
  • Motion picture: Counterattack - 1945
  • Motion picture: D-Day in Las Vegas - 1945
  • Motion picture: Deadlier Then the Male - 1945
  • Motion picture: Deadline at Dawn - 1945
  • Motion picture: Diary of a Chambermaid - 1945
  • Motion picture: Face to Face - 1945
  • Motion picture: First Man Into Tokyo - 1945
  • Motion picture: The Gay Echo - 1945
  • Motion picture: George White's Scandals - 1945
  • Motion picture: The Gibson Girl - 1945
  • Motion picture: Gilda - 1945
  • Motion picture: Home is Here - 1945
  • Motion picture: If This Be Known - 1945
  • Motion picture: The Invisible Army - 1945
  • Motion picture: Lady Luck - 1945
  • Motion picture: Lady Not Alone - 1945
  • Motion picture: The Legeng of Sleepy Hollow - 1945
  • Motion picture: The Life of Rudolf Valentino - 1945
  • Motion picture: Love Lies Bleeding - 1945
  • Motion picture: The Magnificent Tramp - 1945
  • Motion picture: Married at Leisure - 1945
  • Motion picture: Mexican Honeymoon - 1945
  • Motion picture: Midnight and Jeremiah - 1945
  • Motion picture: Minstrel Boy - 1945
  • Motion picture: Never Say Die - 1945
  • Motion picture: None So Blind - 1945
  • Motion picture: Over Twenty-One - 1945
  • Motion picture: Palace on Main Street - 1945
  • Motion picture: Pardon My Past - 1945
  • Motion picture: The Passionate Ghost - 1945
  • Motion picture: Perilous Holiday - 1945
  • Motion picture: Pink Lady - 1945
  • Motion picture: Pinocchio - 1945
  • Motion picture: Rawhide - 1945
  • Motion picture: The Robe - 1945
  • Motion picture: Sex is Out - 1945
  • Motion picture: She Wouldn't Say Yes - 1945
  • Motion picture: Show Business Out West - 1945
  • Motion picture: The Show Goes West - 1945
  • Motion picture: Snafu - 1945
  • Motion picture: Some Must Watch - 1945
  • Motion picture: A Song to Remember - 1945
  • Motion picture: The Spanish Man - 1945
  • Motion picture: The Spiral Staircase - 1945
  • Motion picture: Stars in Her Hair - 1945
  • Motion picture: The Story of GI Joe - 1945
  • Motion picture: The Story of Katherine Clay - 1945
  • Motion picture: The Strange Adventures of Sinbad the Sailor - 1945
  • Motion picture: Sweet Georgia Brown - 1945
  • Motion picture: Terror - 1945
  • Motion picture: Thanks God, I'll Take It From Here - 1945
  • Motion picture: They Dream of Home - 1945
  • Motion picture: A Thousand and One Nights - 1945
  • Motion picture: The Thurber Carnival - 1945
  • Motion picture: Tomorrow is Forever - 1945
  • Motion picture: Travellers Three - 1945
  • Motion picture: Uncle Remus - 1945
  • Motion picture: A Very Memorable Fellow - 1945
  • Motion picture: Virgin With Butterflies - 1945
  • Motion picture: A Walk in the Sun - 1945
  • Motion picture: You Came Along - 1945
  • Motion picture title tests - 1945
  • Motion picture title tests, November - 1945
  • Motion picture title tests, December - 1945
  • National Survey of Post-War Attitudes - 1945
  • Prohibition figures - 1945
  • US Government Army Servies Forces - 1945-1946
  • Miscellaneous - 1945
  • British results - 1946
  • Colorado Conference on Public Opinion - 1940
  • General Book Surveys - 1946-1950
  • Motion Picture Title Tests - January - 1946
  • Motion Picture Title Tests - February - 1946
  • Motion Picture Title Tests - March - 1946
  • Motion Picture Title Tests - April - 1946
  • Motion Picture Title Tests - May - 1946
  • The New French Press: A Survey Conducted in France for Time-Life International - 1946
  • Ohio Pilot Study - 1946
  • People's Book Club Gift Book Synopses - 1946
  • Record of the Month Club - 1946
  • State Polls - Highway Safety Poll - 1946
  • Telephone movie survey - 1946
  • Box 8:
  • AIPO Questionnaires 388-408, 410, 429 - 1947
  • AIPO America versus Britain Suvey - 1947
  • AIPO Special Release - Americana - 1947
  • Impact Readership Study - 1947
  • Greece and Turkey - American policy toward. March - 1947
  • Newspaper Surveys - 1947-1951
  • Miscellaneous - 1947
  • Bulletin poll - 1948
  • Chinese student opinon poll - 1948
  • Merrill Lynch television show - 1948
  • New Jersey presidential vote - 1948
  • New Jersey presidential election - 1948
  • ARI Mirror Newspaper survey - 1948
  • ARI research - plots for television - 1948
    Biography and Richard Harkness
  • ARI research - profile 5 television programs, Monday night, September 13 - 1948
  • ARI research - plots for television - 1948
    A Christmas Carol
  • ARI research - plots for television - 1948
    Our Miss Brooks, Old Lady Robbins
  • ARI research - plots for television - 1948
    Parlor Story, Meet the Press
  • ARI research - plots for television - 1948
    Street Scene, Meet the Press
  • ARI research - plots for television - 1948
    This Thing Called Love, Ropes
  • Philco TV Play house graphs - 1948
  • Presidential preference state-by-state - 1948
    2 folders
  • Presidential election speical field staff data, results pinpoint, and crew - 1948
  • Reagarding the 1948 election - 1948
  • Suggestions, AIPO ballot - 1948-1950
  • Television profiles - 1948
  • AIPO Questionnaries - 1949
  • Quick Polling on Front Page Issues - 1949
  • Experiment in Democracy - 1949
  • Box 9:
  • Iowa Bar Association survey - 1949
  • Product group levels - 1949-1950
  • The Relationship Between Motion Picture Advertising and Box-Office Revenue
  • Public Opinion and Government Policy - 1949-1953
  • The State of German Political Interest at the Outset of the West German Republic - 1949
  • Sunoco Dynafuel Resarch - 1949
  • Questionnaire 299 supplementary report form - 1949
  • Time and place factor study - 1949-1950
  • Voting intention questions - 1949
  • Miscellaneous - 1949
  • Miscellaneous - 1940-1949
  • Sub-Series: 1950s
  • Box 9:
  • Culture study - 1950-1959
  • AIPO Questionnaires 443, 446, 451, 453, 454, 456, 469 - 1950
  • Continuing Audit ofo Marquee Values, No. 42 - 1950
  • Germans View the US Reorientation Program - 1950
  • Magazine survery - 1950
  • McCall's Magazine Impact Report - 1950
  • Oil Industry Information Committee Natioanal Survey 1950
  • Case History Studies of Poliomyelitis - 1950
  • Statistical Suvey of Factors Associated with Susceptibility to Poliomyelitis - 1950
  • Polio Research - 1950
  • Box 10:
  • Polio Research - 1950-1951
  • 1950 Polio Survey
  • Polio Survey #2 - 1950
  • A Survey of the Pocket-Size Book Market, Part 1 - 1950
  • A Survey of the Pocket-Size Book Market, Part 2 - 1950
  • 446 K&T postcard study - 1950
  • Buick cars - 1951
  • Inventory of interests
  • Report on a Suvey for the National Broadcasting Company to Determine the Relative Popularity of Television Performers - 1951
    Study conducted in February 1951
  • Television ballots - 1950-1959
  • British results - 1951
    2 folders
  • Entertainment survey - 1951
  • Report on a Suvey for the National Broadcasting Company to Determine the Relative Popularity of Television Performers - 1951
    Study conducted between November 16 and December 8, 1951. Volume 1
  • Red Cross Survery - 1951-1952
  • Weekly motion picture penetration index, Jully 27 - 1951
  • Audience test for paramount picture: Anything Can Happen - 1952
  • Beer drinkers reaction a proposed Blatz label - 1952
  • Congressional preference trends - 1952
  • Experience political observers survey - 1952
  • Gallup and Robinson Television material - 1952
  • New Nescafe 100% pure instant coffee - 1952
  • Party afiliation - 1952
  • Polio research and National Foundation for Infantile Paralysis miscellaneous - 1952-1957
  • Political notebook - 1952
  • Box 11:
  • Political parties - 1952
  • Political quiz for 1952 - 1953
  • The Poll Reporter - 1952
  • Reader's Digest culture survey - 1952
  • Readership test on local newspapers - 1952-1953
  • Special 1952 election supplement - 1952
  • A special report of client newspapers by George Gallup - 1952
  • State-by-state figures, presidential election - 1952
  • Why We Are Losing the Ideological War - 1952
  • Aye product research and polls - 1953-1956
  • Current event survey for the International Press Institute - 1953
  • Health Information Foundation Survey - 1953-1954
  • International Press Institute - 1953
  • News events survey - 1953
  • Politcal Stapel Scales questuions. September - 1953
  • Readership of international news - 1953
  • Readership report - 1953
  • Report of survey for internationanl Press Institute - 1953
  • Schedule of Impact tests - 1953
  • Veteran's opinions, including Negro veteran's survey - 1953
  • Veterans surveyed on their experiences in the armed services - 1953
  • Achievement test research - 1954-1960
  • Advance reports on survey IV for the National Broadcasting Company to determine the relative popularity of television performers - 1954
  • "Have You Ever . . .?" series of questions - 1954
  • Leisure time research - 1954-1964
  • New Jersey mental health survey - 1954
  • New Jersey public opinion poll on state and national questions - 1954
  • Vote of the workingman - 1954
  • Miscellaneous - 1954
  • Advance reports on survey IV for the National Broadcasting Company to determine the relative popularity of television performers
  • Pennsylvania income tax survey - 1955
  • Progress in public opinion sampling - 1955
  • Miscellaneous - 1955
  • Series 11: QUILL AND SCROLL SOCIETY
  • Box 1:
  • Annual members meeting, October 22 - 1983
  • Application for second class mail
  • Certificate of intention
  • Chapter chronicle of Quill and Scroll Society
  • Constitution, initiation, and achievement scale
  • Correspondence - 1932-1953
  • Early letterheard
  • Fourth estate banquet - 1963
  • Fiftieth anniversary - 1976
  • "He May Have Founded a Fifth Estate" - 1936
  • Homecming weekend, September 28, 29, and 30 - 1984
  • "How to Conduct a High School Poll"
  • "I Remember George Gallup" - 1984
  • Quill and Scroll (magazine)
    3 folders
  • Quill and Scroll business - 1970-1989
  • Quill and Scroll business - 1981-1982
  • Quill and Scroll business, October 10 - 1982
  • Subscribers - 1920-1939
  • Series 12: SPEECHES
  • Sub-Series: Speeches by George Horace Gallup (Ted), arranged alphabetically
  • ABC Convenvtion. October 21 - 1937
  • The Absorption Rate of Ideas. April 19 - 1955
  • Accuracy of Modern Polling Techniques in Making Election Forecasts
  • Advertising Club - 1930-1939
  • All-American City Award - 1952
  • All-American City Award - 1967
  • The Amateur Versus the Pros or Taking the Profit Out of Politics
  • American Association of Public Opinion Research - 1965
  • American Philosophical Society - 1942
  • American Press Institute. October 7 - 1946
  • Answering the Poll Critics
  • Association of Canadian Advertisers
  • Atlanta. March - 1952
  • Attaining a Right Understanding. April - 1966
  • The Bandwagon Myth
  • The Battle We're Still Losing
  • Boston. October 19 - 1939
  • Buying and Voting . . . Who Makes Up Your Mind?
  • Can Public Opinion Be Controlled? September 18 - 1967
  • Canadian Adverstising Association. October 31 - 1941
  • The Changes Which Will Come in Newspapering
  • Chicago Round Table. November 3 - 1940
  • Christopher Columbus International Price [sic] for Outstanding Achievement in the Field of Communications. October 12 - 1968
  • Cincinnati Advdertiser's Club. February 26 - 1947
  • City Charter Committee, Cincinnati Ohio. July - 1945
  • Coe College Commencement Address. May 20 - 1979
  • Columiba Workshop - 1945
  • Columbis, South Carolina. March - 1952
  • The Consumer and the Voter. March 5 - 1964
  • Development of the Impact Method - 1951
  • Editors for Congress. January 24 - 1958
  • Education -- Three Proposals - 1955
  • The Election -- 1973 - 1973
  • Election Forecast - 1958
  • Evaluating and Influencing Public Opinion. October 18 - 1938
  • The Failure of Leadership
  • The First Five Years. August - 1973
  • The First Ten Years: Trends and Observations. August - 1978
  • The Future Direction of Election Polling - 1952
  • The Future of Polls
  • Gallup International Research Institute Conference. April - 1979
  • Government By Bribery. November 17 - 1965
  • How Important is Public Opinion in Time of War?
  • How Research Can Improve Education
  • Impact Report: What It Is: How to Put it to Work - 1949
  • The Importance of Opinion News. August 31 - 1966
  • Insurance People. March 19 - 1943
  • Laurel Highland High School. March 11 - 1970
  • Leaders Magazine. October - 1981
  • The Leisure Index. March 2 - 1966
  • Lessons Learned: 40 Years of Polling. May 21 - 1976
  • Looking Back on 41 Years of Polling. August - 1976
  • Main Street Rates the Issues
  • Making American Strong. December 4 - 1940
  • Mass Information or Mass Entertainment. April 15 - 1953
  • Measuring Public Opinion
  • Measuring the Impact of Television Commercials
  • Media Vacuum. May 7 - 1975
  • The Mood of America. December 9 - 1966
  • The Mood of America. October 29 - 1968
  • Morale: The First Line of Defense? January 19 - 1941
  • National Conference of State Legislators. November 21 - 1980
  • National Fisheries Institute. April 15 - 1947
  • National Municipal League November 12 - 1946
  • National Press Club. November 21 - 1935
  • National Press Club. October 27 - 1976
  • Needed -- A Reading Revolution
  • The Newspaper of the Future/Schoolmaster to the People - 1951
  • The Newspaper 25 Years From Now - 1954
  • The Next 25 Years in Marketing and Advertising Research. April 13 - 1965
  • Oklahoma Christian College. Apirl 4 - 1975
  • Our Quadrennial Madness
  • Peaks of Progress Breakfast, Jun 1 - 1942
  • Philadelphia. April 25 - 1942
  • Polling Experiences, 1936-1948
  • Polling in the Year 2000
  • Polls and the Crisis. May 25 - 1941
  • Polls and the Political Process -- Past, Present and Future
  • Poor Richards Club. January 26 - 1939
  • Poor Richards Club. January 5 - 1943
  • Preparing for the Coming Media Battle
  • The Presidential Election of 1976
  • Presidential Election, 1980. October 30 - 1980
  • The Problems and Values of Opinion Measurement
  • The Problem of the Uninformed Citizen
  • Progress in Public Opinion Research
  • Progress in Public Opinion Sampling. October 18 - 1951
  • Public Attitudes Toward Public Education. April 20 - 1975
  • The Public Looks at Public Schools. February - 1975
  • Public Opinion Changes. December 7 - 1938
  • Public Opinion and Depth Materials
  • The Place of Public Opinion Polls in a Democracy - 1939
  • The Public Philosophy - 1955
  • Public Response Rsearch. May 30 - 1975
  • Publications Workshop. February - 1946
  • Qualitative Measurement of Public Opinion. August - 1947
  • The Quintamensional Plan of Question Design. May 17 - 1947
  • Rating of Today's Newspaper
  • Research Interest Speech given before Circulation Men. March 25 - 1920
  • Remarks by George Gallup, the Institute of Man and Science. October 28 - 1972
  • Report of the National Polls in the 1968 Elections - 1968
  • Restoring Public Confidence in the Schools. May 1 - 1977
  • Rider College Commencement Address. August 14 - 1966
  • The Role of Opinion and Market Research. April 18 - 1969
  • Some Observations on Copy Testing Methods. October 22 - 1943
  • Schoolmaster to the People. May 4 - 1951
  • A Second Look at the 1948 Election
  • Sigma Alpha Epsilon - 1936
  • Statement of George Horace Gallup - Senate Foreign Relatins Committee - 1976
  • The Struggle for the Minds of Men - 1950
  • Tear Down the Roadblocks. October 27 - 1969
  • There Must Be a Better Way
  • Trends in U.S. Public Opinion
  • Tufts College Commencement Address. June 10 - 1939
  • Two American Delusions
  • University of Iowa Commencement Address. Februaru 1 - 1938
  • Unsolved Problems and Unused Talents
  • The Vote of Women: An Appraisla 1920-1956
  • The War We Are Losoing - 1950
  • We Have Been Outsold - 1950
  • We Need An Adequate Solution to the Problem of Ideological Warfare
  • What America Thinks
  • What Happened?
  • What We Have Learned About Predicting Political Behavior - 1953
  • What We, the American People Thinak About Europe - 1939
  • Where Do We Go From Here in Advertising Research? July 17 - 1946
  • Why We Are Losing the Ideological War. April 2 - 1952
  • Why We Are Doing So Badly in the Ideological War. June 1 - 1952
  • Williamstown Institute on Lord Bryce. September 3 - 1937
  • The Work Week for Leaders. June 9 - 1967
  • Sub-Series: Speeches by George Horace Gallup (Ted), bound volumes
    The bound volumes are arranged thematically in the first few; thereafter, by date. They duplicate some of the speeches in the alphabetical sequence, but some appear only in one place or the other.
  • Volumes 1-18, copy 1
  • Volumes 1-18, copy 2
  • Sub-Series: Miscellaneous materials relating to speeches by George Horace Gallup (Ted)
  • Clark Getts Waldorf Speaking Bureau - 1942
  • Notes for unnamed speeches
  • Speeches brought together by George Gallup, Jr. under the heading Iowa - 1950-1959
    Inlcuding The Changes Which Will Come in Newspapering, Measuring the Impact of Television Commercials, The Newspaper Twenty-Five Years From Now, and Rating of Today's Newspaper
  • Speeches brought together by George Gallup, Jr. under the heading GHG speeches on newspapers - 1950-1959
    Including The changes Whike Will Come in Newspapering and Rating of Today's Newspaper
  • Speeches brought together by George Gallup, Jr. under the heading Gallup speeches - 1955
    Including The Absoprtion Rate of Ideas, How Research Can Improve Eduction, Progress in Public Opinion Sampling, and We Nee An Adequate Solutiont to the Problem of Ideological Warfare.
  • Series 13: SUBJECT FILES
  • Box 1:
  • Activity Letters
  • Advertising Age
  • Advertising Council
  • Advertising Council Public Advisory Committee
  • Advertising Research Foundation
  • Advisory Commission on Information
  • Advisory Committee on Local Government - 1954
  • Alcoholism - Research Council on Problems of Alcohol
  • Allen, Francis G.
  • America, Inc.
  • American Association for Public Opinion Research (AAPOR) - 1950
  • American Association of Adverstising Agencies
  • Amercan Council on Public Relations
  • American Institute of Pacific Relations
  • American Leadership Panel
  • American Marketing Association
  • American Marketing Association - Farm buying
  • American Political Science Association
  • American Red Cross - 1941
  • American Red Cross - 1942
  • American Red Cross - 1943
  • American Red Cross - 1944
  • American Red Cross - 1945
  • Amerian Red Cross - 1946
  • American Red Cross - Bulleting, Clippings, etc.
  • American Red Cross - Famine Emergency Relief Campaign
  • American Red Cross - News Service
  • American Red Cross - News Service Releases
  • American Red Cross - Ross, T. J.
  • American Red Cross - Survery of Nurses
  • American Social Surverys, Inc.
  • Anderson, Harold - Publishers Syndicate - 1941-1950
  • Army Education
  • Asmussen, Kirsten
  • Associated Booking Corporation - Ash & Woods
  • Attorney
  • Autograph requests, etc.
  • Balter, Bluford H.J
  • Bantam Books
  • Batchelder, Grace
  • Bear, Charles
  • Bensen-Day,Virginia
  • The Blue Network - 1944-1945
  • Boy Scouts
  • Brookings Institute - 1962
  • Brazilian Institute of Public Opinion
  • Box 2:
  • Canadian Institute of Public Opinion - 1941-1946
  • Canadian Institute of Public Opinion - Newspaper clippings, etc.
  • Canadian Opinion Company
  • Canadioan Opinion Company - Record
  • Check-A-Tron
  • Citizens Forum on Self Government
  • Citizens Public Celebrations Association of Boston
  • Citizenship Conference, 4th National
  • City Charter Committee
  • Cole, George
  • Columbia Broadcasting System, Inc.
  • Commendation letters
  • Commision to Study the Organization of Peace
  • Committee for Economic Development - 1944-1946
  • Committee to Defend America
  • Committee of Foreign Relations - 1972
  • Corn Belt Farm Dailies - Chicago Daily Drovers Journal
  • Correspondence with Congressmen
    2 folders
  • Council on Foreign Relations
  • Council on Foreign Relations Study Group Reports and Others - 1945
  • Country Gentleman
  • Crocker, Stuart M. - 1945
  • Crowell-Colliers Publishing Company - 1944
  • Cushman, Harvey E.
  • Danish Institute
  • Davies, Ray
  • Department of Commerce - Motion Pictures
  • Department of Commerce - Motion Pictures Abroad
  • Box 3:
  • Detroit Negroe Vote - 1958
  • The Doctor Takes to the Air
  • Donavin, K. H.
  • Dorfman, Edmund L.
  • Fenton, John
  • Field, Harry
  • Foote, Cone, & Belding
  • Forbes, Wendell
  • French Institute of Public Opinion
  • Gallup Poll of the Air
  • Gallup Political Almanac for 1952
  • Goldwyn, Sam. Letter from GHG, Sr. to - 1951
  • Government Appointment & Travel Regulations
  • Governmental Affairs Institute
  • Halpern, Henry
  • Harbeck, Larry
  • Hollywood Reporter
  • Hollywood Strike
  • Howard, Edwin L.
  • Hungary
  • Illinois, University of - 1945
  • Income - Impact of War on Family Income
  • Income Test
  • Indicators of Economic Activity
  • Infantile Paralysis - 1945
  • International Association of Public Opinion Institutes - 1953
  • International Circulation Managers Association
  • Introductions
  • Iowa, University of
    3 folders
  • Iowa University Association of New York
  • Italian Institute of Public Opinion
  • Jewish Army Issues
  • Journalism Quarterly - 1949
  • Karabian Bills - California Legislative
  • Katz, Prof. Daniel
  • Chester F. Kettering Foundation
  • Korbholz, Bertha (Institute of Fashion Research) - 1949-1950
  • Kornhauser, Arthur
  • Kuever, Prof.
  • Lazarfeld, Paul F.
  • Lever Brothers - 1945
  • Life, Inc. - 1945
  • Lithographic Technical Foundation Inc. - 1945
  • Look Magazine
  • Look - Mr. J. Herrick
  • Look - Kurie
  • Longley, Agnes - 1945
  • Lorge, Irving (Columia University)
  • Lux Radio Theater Proposal - 1947
  • Lydgate, William A.
  • MacFadden Publicationsn Inc. - 1944
  • Mac Fadden Publications Inc. - The Wage Eaner Forum - 1944
  • The Macmillan Company
  • Madden, Karl E.
  • Magazine Advertising Bureau
  • Magazine Audience Group
  • Market Research Company of America - 1945
  • Market Research Council - 1945
  • Market Research Council - Research Men - 1945
  • Market Research Council - Research Men - 1944
  • Box 4:
  • Marshall, George C.
  • Mattison, Lewis
  • Max, Alfred
  • McCall Corporation
  • Measurement of Opinion, Attitudes and Consumer Wants - Committee
  • Meier, Norman C.
  • Mercer County Safety Council
  • Mexican Institute of Public Opinion
  • Meyer, Eugene
  • Miller, Spencer., Jr.
  • Milloy, James S.
  • Minnesota University
  • Morrison, Elizabeth
  • Museum of Modern Art
  • Nash-Kelvinator Corporation
  • National Biscuit Company
  • National Book Committee
  • National Broadcasting Company Inc. - 1945
  • National Civic Review - 1976
  • National Committee for an Adequate Overseas U. S. Information Program
  • National Committee of Resources for Youth
  • National Council on Public Polls - 1968-1972
  • National Council on Public Polls - 1972-1980
  • National Editorial Association - 1945-1946
  • National Resources Planning Boards - Post War NRPB Security Plan
  • National Municipal League
    2 folders
  • National Municipal League - 1940
  • National Municipal League - 1943
  • National Municipal League - 1944
  • National Municipal League - 1945
  • National Municipal League - 1946
  • National Municipal League - 1950
  • National Municipal League - 1951
  • Box 5:
  • National Municipal League - Bronxville Village
  • National Municipal League - Minutes and Documents
  • National Municipal League - Pamphlets, Bulletins, etc.
  • National Municipal League - Post War
  • National Municipal League - Stationery
  • National Opinion Research Center - 1942-1947
  • National Opinion Research Center - 1940
  • National Opinion Research Center - 1942
  • National Opinion Research Center - 1944-1945
  • National Opinion Research Center - 1947
  • New School for Social Research
  • Newell, Tom
  • News Letter
  • Newspapers (Non-members)
  • Nielsen, A. C.
  • Obituaries and biographies - 1984
    Materials for Beatrice Gould, Arthur Keiser, Archibald Crossley, Roy Morgan, Gardner Cowles, and Emery Ruby
  • Ogilvy, David
    5 folders
  • Ogilvy, Benson & Mather
  • Oil Industry Information Committee
  • Ooionion Research Corporation
    2 folders
  • Opionion Research Reports
  • People's Book Club
  • Peoples Research Corporation
  • Pittsburgh Plate Glass Co.
  • Pillsbury Mills, Inc.
  • Politz, Alfred
  • Polls, Washington Post
  • Poor Richard Club
  • Pocket Books, Inc.
  • Post War
  • Post War Planning
  • Princeton Bank and Trust Company
  • Box 6:
  • Princeton Municipal lmprovements, Inc.
  • Princeton University
    2 folders
  • Princetone Univeristy--Princeton Packet
  • Princeton Press
  • Princeton University -- Post War Planning
  • Princeton University Press -- Public Opinion Quarterly
  • Promotion
  • Prudential Insurance Company
  • Psychological Corporation
  • Public Opinion Quarterly
  • Public Opinion Research -- International Conference, Central City, July - 1946
  • Public Opinion Research -- International Conference -- Continuing Committee
  • Public Opinion Research -- International Conference -- Standards Committee
  • Public Sentiment in Foreign Countries
  • Box 7:
  • Publication Research Service
  • Publishers Syndicate - 1951-1952
  • Quaker Oats Co.
  • Radio Show (ABC)
  • Radio Show (NBC)
  • Radio -- News Broadcast Study - 1930
  • Radio -- News Broadcast Study - 1941
  • Radio -- News Broadcast Study - 1942
  • RKO -- Gallup Speech
  • RKO -- Radio Pictures Corp.
  • Radio Program Quiz
  • Radio Quize Program
  • Radio Reports
  • Radio Shows
  • Radin, Max, Dr.
  • Radvanyi, Laszlo
  • Rae, Saul F.
  • Ragin, Philip
  • Readers' Digest Article
  • Readers Digest
  • Recommendation Letters
  • Replies to newspaper comments
  • Reports Letters
  • Requesta for information about the Gallup Polls, 1960s and earlier
  • Rhodes Scholarship Trust - 1947
  • Robinson, Claude - 1944-1945
  • Rockefeller Foundation
  • Roosevelt-Wilkie campaign
  • Roper, Elmo
    2 folders
  • Roper Organization
  • Rubin, Ida
  • Ruby, Emery
  • Rural marketing
  • Russian trip
  • Saturday Review of Literature
  • Scandinavian Institute - 1950
  • Scherman Foundation
  • Schlitz Brewing Company
  • Searle & Parks
  • Selznick, David O.
    4 folders
  • Selznick, David O. -- Productions - 1944
  • Sigma Alpha Epsilon
  • Slater, Helen
  • Smith, Datus
  • Social Science Research Council
  • South African Institute
  • South American Material
  • Spencer, Don
  • Stapel, Jan
  • Survery Research Center (U of Michigan)
  • Svenska Gallup Institute
  • Sycruse University
  • Taylor, Henry J. (General Motors Radio Script)
  • Territorial Surveys
  • Thorndike, Robert L. (Columia University World Test, Intelligence Test)
  • Tibby and Lydgate
  • Tibby, John R. - 1944
  • Time -- Rich, Willison
  • Time Inc. - 1945
  • Tufts University, April 17 - 1984
  • Word Institute of Public Opinion, W orld Opinion Digest of Polls
  • YMCA
  • Sub-Series: US Government
  • Box 7:
  • Executive office of the President
  • Legislation: Congressional Investigation Blanar, Abe
  • Legislation: Bills
  • Legislation: House of Representatives
  • Legislation: Senate
  • Memorandums: Absenteeism
  • Memorandums: Race Riots
  • Memorandums and Reports: Rationing
    2 folders
  • Memorandums: War Finance Act
    Myer, Eugene. Statement concerning 5th Liberty Bond Bill
  • Memorandums: War Jobs
  • Memorandums: War Jobs in New England
  • State Department
  • State Department: Benton, William
  • Treasury Department
  • War Department - 1944
  • War Food Administration
  • War Manpower Commission
  • War Production Board - 1943
  • War Production Board - 1944
  • War Production Board - 1945
  • War Shipping Administration
  • Series 14: WRITINGS
  • Sub-Series: Articles written by George Horace Gallup, Sr. (Ted), arranged chronologically
  • Box 1:
  • An Attack kon the College of Libertal Arts of the University of Iowa - 1922
  • Rhodes Scholar Application - 1923
  • Traits of Successful Reatil Salespeople: A Preliminary Study - 1926
  • Journalism Schools Should Teach Underlyilng Practice - 1927
  • Modern Tendencies in Journalism - 1929
  • A Scienfitic Methord for Determining Reader-Interest - 1930
  • Reader Interest - 1931
  • America Speaks (Article in the New York Herald Tribune). February 24 - 1936
  • Properly Cross Sectioned, Polls Are Accurate. June - 1936
  • A Telegran to the Boston Globe From Dr. Gallup. November 3 - 1936
  • Facts About Opinions -- The Human Side - 1936
  • Resarch in Journalism. June - 1937
  • Government and the Sampling Referendum. March - 1938
  • Public Opinion Changes. December 7 - 1938
  • The Place of Public Opionon Polls in a Democracy. December 29 - 1939
  • The Inside Story of Public Opinion - 1939-1940
  • How to Conduct a Survery to Determine Radio Coverage - 1930-1939
  • Early article on polling - 1930-1939
  • The New Science of Public Opinion Measurement - 1930-1939
  • An Announcement and a Statement of a New Philosophy of Advertising - 1930-1939
  • What Public Opinion Research Can Do In Latin America - 1940
  • Comparison of Fortune's August Release with AIPO Figures - 1940
  • The New Science of Public Opinion Measurement - 1940
  • Polling Public Opinion - 1940
  • Polls and the Crisis. May 25 - 1941
  • Reporting Public Opinion - 1942
  • How Important is Public Opinion in Time of War? - 1942
  • Climate of Post-War Public Opinion - 1942
  • The Quintamensional Plan of Question Design. August - 1947
  • Questions Used on Information Please Radio Show. February 12 - 1947
  • Statement of George Gallup on an National Network of the National Broadcasting Company. November 7 - 1948
  • How Accurate Are the Polls? August - 1948
  • Accuracy of Modern Polling Techniques in Making Election Forecasts - 1948
  • A Persoanl Report to Member Newspapers on 1948 Election - 1948
  • The Case for Public Opinion Polls. February 27 - 1949
  • Article for the Public Opinion Quarterly. March 31 - 1949
  • Memorandum Regarding Article on IMPACT. August 13 - 1949
  • History and Development of the IMPACT Method of Adverstising Research. November - 1949
  • A Proposal by Which Congress Can Keep a Constant Check on the Views of the People in Their Constituencies - 1930-1949
  • Peace Through Understanding - 1940-1949
  • The Struggle for the Minds of Men. December 19 - 1950
  • IMPACT: A New Methof for Evaluating Advertisint - 1950
  • Political Myths - 1950
  • We Won't Be Red-Faced This Time! - 1950
  • The Future Direction of Election Polling - 1950
  • The War We are Losing. March 25 - 1951
  • What Advertising Needs to Know About Public Opinion Today - 1951
  • The Gallup Poll and the 1950 Election - 1951
  • Development of the Impact Method - 1951
  • Inteview with Dr. George Gallup. April 25 - 1952
  • Matching the Russian Menace - 1955
  • Script for the Edward R. Murrow Show. April 13 - 1956
  • Gallup Polls Plans for the 1956 Presidential Election - 1956
  • The People's Platform - 1956
  • Building Newspaper to Meet Today's Competition - 1957
  • Activation: A Major Development in Advertising Research. June - 1957
  • How To Attract Young Readers to the Newspaper - 1959
  • Do You Know What You Believe? - 1950-1959
  • Activation - 1950-1959
  • The Cub Reporter - 1950-1959
  • Whey We Are Doing So Badly in the Ideological War - 1950-1959
  • Mirror of America - 1950-1959
  • Three Proposals - 1950-1959
  • The Characteristics of an Intellectual - 1960
  • You Can't Get Ahead Today Unless You Read - 1960
  • A Proposedo Experimental Program to Measure the Success of Secondary Education in the United States - 1960
  • How a Public Opinion Poll is Conducted - 1960
  • Ted's notes and quotes foro books and speeches - 1961
  • Opinion Polls. Interviews by Donald McDonald with Elmo Roper and George Gallup - 1962
  • Article on Interviewing - 1965
  • The Mary and John Sets Sail - 1965
  • Prediction of the Future of Polling - 1965
  • How Will Polling in the Year 2,000 Differ From What it is Now: - 1965
  • A Stranger at the Door - 1965
  • Personal Request to Interviewers - 1965
  • The Importance of Opinion News - 1966
  • A Plan For a National Standards Group for Polling - 1967
  • A New Theory of Advertising - 1967
  • A Charter for the Future of Gallup Organization - 1968
  • The Politics of the Future - 1969
  • Madison Avenue Beckons - 1960-1969
  • The American People - 1960-1969
  • The Idea Man - 1960-1969
  • Earmarks of an Intellectuall - 1960-1969
  • Daily Newspapers Continue to Reach the Largest Number of American Adults with News - 1970
  • Guidebook for Parents - 1970
  • Box 2:
  • The Public Opinion Referendum - 1970
  • Guidelines for Research - 1971
  • Don't Stay Home on Election Day - 1972
  • Opinion Polling in a Democracy - 1972
  • How Advertising Works - 1974
  • The Source of Wisdom - 1974
  • Public Response Research - 1975
  • Article for Dynamic Maturity - 1976
  • Human Needs and Satisfactions: A Global Survey - 1976
  • Lessons Learned in 40 Years of Polling - 1976
  • Article from Pravda based on an interview of George Gallup - 1976
  • National Survery of Newspaper Readers - 1976
  • What Mankind Thinks About Itself - 1976
  • The Ethical Problems of Polling - 1977
  • The First Ten Years: Trends and Observations - 1978
  • Projective Thinking - 1979
  • School Men/Women Vs. Educators - 1979
  • Preserving Majority Rule - 1979
  • The Cities: Unsolved Problems and Unused Talents - 1979
  • Ideas: A New Field for Journalism - 1979
  • A Research Proposal - 1970-1979
  • Government by Bribery - 1970-1979
  • [Learn from Experience] - 1970-1979
  • Gallup Local Poll Program - 1970-1979
  • The American People Take New Look at War - 1970-1979
  • You Can't Get Ahead Today Unless You Read - 1970-1979
  • The Kind of America -- If the People Had Their Way - 1970-1979
  • The Intelligents Reader's Guide to the Polls - 1970-1979
  • Prescription for the 80s: More Intensive Research and Greater Copy Concentration - 1980
  • Our Quadrennial Madness - 1980
  • Preparing for the Coming Media Battle - 1981
  • Polling the the Year 2000 - 1981
  • The 15th Annual Gallup Poll of the Public's Attitudes Toward the Public Schools - 1983
  • State and Local Polls in Conjunction With the Gallup Poll - 1983
  • Sub-Series: Articles written by George Horace Gallup, Sr. (Ted), undated, arranged alphabetically
  • Box 2:
  • Activation
  • American Speaks
  • Announcing a New and Inexpensive Way to Conduct Public Opinion Polls on a Continuing Basis
  • Article for New York Times Magazine
  • The Band Wagon Theory
  • Center for Ideas
  • Coalitions and Political Trends
  • Constructive: A Word to Help the World
  • The Day We Committed Deweycide
  • A Description of the Impact Method of Pre-Testing Advertising and Editorial Material
  • Directions for Conducting Survey to Determine Radio Coverage
  • Do Campaigns Really Change Votes
  • Evaluating and Influencing Public Opinion. October 18
  • Foreword
  • The Gallup Poll
  • General Comments About Polls
  • Great Issues Ahead Which the People Must Think About -- and Solve
  • Hoover Ad copy
  • How to Conduct a High School Poll
  • Ideas as News
  • Increasing the Effectiveness of Institutional Advertising
  • Improvement in Election Polling Techniques
  • Lies, Damn Lies and Statistics
  • Logic
  • The Most Useful Instrument of Democracy Ever Devised
  • Motion Picture Audience Research
  • Movie Research
  • A Nationall Labor-Management Plan
  • New Dimensions of Journalism
  • Notes From a Talk With Lord Woolton at the Annual Conservative Meeting at Bournemouth
  • Of Life and Leisulre
  • Public Opinion in Democracy
  • The Public Opinion Referendum
  • Rating of Today's Newspaper
  • The Raw Score Fallacy
  • Taking the Misconceptions and Myths Out of Polling
  • They Want to Be Good Citizens
  • Unsolved Problems and Unused Talents
  • We Need an Adequate Solution to the Problem of Ideological Warfare
  • Sub-Series: Articles written by George Gallup, undated and untitled
  • Box 2:
  • Articles written by George Gallup, undated and untitled
  • Sub-Series: Miscellaneous fragments
  • Box 2:
  • Miscellaneous fragments
  • Sub-Series: Requests to reprint articles written by George Gallup
  • Box 2:
  • Requests to reprint articles written by George Gallup
    2 folders
  • Sub-Series: Articles written by others, arranged chronologically
  • Box 3:
  • 1919-1948
  • Box 4:
  • 1948-1980
  • Box 5:
  • 1981-1998; undated; and articles about the Gallup Organization
  • Series 15: George H. Gallup, III
  • Sub-Series: Childhood
  • Box 1:
  • Cards and letters
  • Drawings
  • The House I Would Like to Live In
  • Miscellaneous items
    2 folders
  • Scrapbook with paintings and drawings
  • Sub-Series:
  • Box 1: Deerfield
  • 2009 Reunion
  • Deerfield reunion poll
    10 folders
  • Deerfield roster 1948-1949
  • Deerfield Scroll
  • Diary
  • Ivy Club poll
  • Pocumtuck
  • Sub-Series: Princeton
  • Box 2:
  • Princeton
  • Sub-Series: Biographical
  • Box 3:
  • Address books
  • Articles about George H. Gallup, Jr.
  • Biographical booklet on himself put together by George
    Contains many letters
  • Biographical sketches
  • Medical
  • Miscellaneous biographical items
  • Resume
  • Kinny
    The Link, 1950-1964; The Lenox Lantern, 1955-1956; Mosaic, 1958
  • Sub-Series: Clippings
  • Box 4:
  • Clippings
    5 folders
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence
  • Box 4:
  • Correspondence
    1 folder
  • Sub-Series: George Gallup Institute
  • Box 4:
  • George Gallup Institute
    6 folders
  • Sub-Series: Miscellaneous
  • Box 4:
  • Miscellaneous
    1 folder
  • Sub-Series: Photographs
  • Box 4:
  • Photographs
    1 folder
  • Sub-Series: Speeches
  • Box 4:
  • Publicity about speeches
  • Box 5:
  • 1971-1980
  • Box 6:
  • 1980-1986
  • Box 7:
  • 1987-1992
  • Box 8:
  • 1992-1998
  • Box 9:
  • 1999-undated
  • Sub-Series: Subject files
  • Box 10:
  • 2005 Taxes
  • Avdisory Boards
  • Miscellaneous
  • Politics
  • St. Vincent's House, Galveston
  • Sub-Series: Writings by Geroge H. Gallup, Jr.
  • Box 10:
  • Writings by Geroge H. Gallup, Jr. - 3 folders
  • Sub-Series: Writings by others
  • Box 11:
  • Writings by others - 14 folders

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.