Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Bess G. Bissell Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1908-1970
Creator: Bissell, Bess G.
Extent: 1.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MsC0564
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Typescript dras of short stories and poems along with correspondence, and journals.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Bess G. Bissell Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Bess G. Bissell grew up in Dubuque, Iowa, attended college in Pennsylvania, and continued her studies in Rome and Florence. She established an animal shelter in Dubuque, but during World War I enlisted in the Red Cross and served as a canteen worker in France and Italy. After the war she worked with mill-workers for the YWCA and continued her human activities.

Mrs. Bissell published at least two books of verse, Milltown Days and Nights (Dorrance & Co., 1973, as Roberta Perrigo) and A Log Cabin Log (Vantage, 1973). She also wrote stories, drafts of which compose the larger part of this collection. These papers date from 1908 to 1970 and measure one linear foot.

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.