Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Marian Mendez Blake's 7 Fanzines Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1979-2005
Creator: Mendez, Marian
Extent: 14.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0969
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Collection of fanzines written for the Blake's 7 fandom, from 1979 to 2005.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by Marian Mendez in cooperation with the Organization for Transformative Works in February 2013.

Preferred Citation: Marian Mendez Blake's 7 Fanzine Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Marian Mendez has graciously provided the following biographical note.

"My journey into fandom was a series of accidental long-distance connections. Reading an older sibling's SF led me to watching Dr. Who, and later, Blake's 7 on PBS. Dr. Who's 25th anniversary US tour ended at my PBS station- I got a fanclub newsletter. Ads in that newsletter led to other clubs. I discovered that you could share stories with other fans, and that they could get printed in zines. At that time a contributor's free copy was standard practice, and it greatly helped me add to my collection.

I've been almost exclusively a correspondence fan. I have only attended 3 conventions & have no local fan friends, but I have fan friends around the world. I got on the internet (in the days when dial-up was all I could get) in order to join a B7 mailing list. The mailing list folks led me to RPGing as a B7 character and to various sites where fanfic could be archived. At one point I even had a Blake's 7 site with my stories and other fanfun items.

Internet fandom is constantly changing- nothing is permanent there, so I'm very glad that my zines have found a permanent home".

This collection primarily includes fanzines from the Blake's 7 fandom. Other formats include apazines, magazines, newsletters, and one book. Blake's 7 was a science fiction television show which aired in the United Kingdom from 1977 to 1981. According to Fanlore.org, few Blake's 7 fanzines were created after 2004. The collection includes one script written by actor Paul Darrow, who played the Kerr Avon character in the TV series.

The box list, below, is organized by series. Folder titles are listed for each box. Folders which house multiple issues display those titles indented.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BLAKE'S 7
Series 2: MULTIMEDIA
Series 3: MISCELLANEOUS

  • Series 1: BLAKE'S 7
  • Box 1:
  • 5th Season #1 [photocopy] (July) - 1982
  • 5th Season #2 (May) - 1983
  • 5th Season #3 - 1983
  • 5th Season #4 - 1986
  • 5th Season #5 (August) - 1988
  • 5th Season #6 (May) - 1990
  • Box 2:
  • A Companion for My Death (June) - 1989
  • A Delicate Balance (May) - 1995
  • A Ledge Between the Streams - 1993
  • Against All the Odds (September) - 2004
  • Airwaves [stories from various issues] [CZ] - 1997
  • Alternative Seven
  • Alternative Seven #4 - 1980
  • Alternative Seven #6 (n.d.)
  • Alternative Seven #8 (n.d.)
  • Angelfood - 2002
  • Avon
  • Avon #1, part one - 1991
  • Avon #18 - 2000
  • Avon, Anyone? [second printing] (between 1986-1989) - 1987
  • Box 3:
  • Avon Calling #1 - 1990
  • Avon Calling #3 (January) - 1994
  • The Avon Special - 1998
  • Avon the Terrible (December) - 1990
  • Avon's 8 (October) - 1992
  • Avon's Gadget Works (January) - 1989
  • Box 4:
  • B7 Complex
  • B7 Complex #1 [reprint] (July) - 1984
  • B7 Complex #2 (March) - 1982
  • B7 Complex #3 [reprint] (July) - 1984
  • B7 Complex
  • B7 Complex #5 - 1983
  • B7 Complex #6/7 (May) - 1984
  • B7 Complex
  • B7 Complex #8 (May) - 1986
  • B7 Complex #10 (Winter) - 1987
  • B7 Complex
  • B7 Complex #11 (May) - 1987
  • B7 Complex #12 (July) - 1987
  • B7 Complex
  • B7 Complex #13 (January) - 1988
  • B7 Complex #14 (January) - 1988
  • B7 Complex
  • B7 Complex #15 - 1988
  • B7 Complex #16 - 1988
  • Box 5:
  • Badlands #1 [partial] (August) - 1994
  • Before & After - 1991
  • The Big B7 Zine - 1993
  • The Bizarro Coloring Book #1 (February) - 1991
  • The Bizarro Zine #1 (January) - 1988
  • The Bizarro Zine #2 - 1989
  • The Bizarro Zine #3 - 1990
  • The Bizarro Zine #4 - 1992
  • Blake's Doubles #2 [contains two novellas, bound: "The Log of the Hellbound" and "Half-Life"] - 1989
  • Box 6:
  • Blake, Rabble and Roll
  • Blake, Rabble and Roll #1 - 1989
  • Blake, Rabble and Roll #2 - 1990
  • Blake, Rabble and Roll #3 - 1992
  • Blake's 7 Role-Playing Game (August) - 1994
  • Blake's Doubles
  • Blake's Doubles #3 - 1998
  • Blake's Doubles #4 - 1999
  • The Bondstone [reprint] - 1993
  • Brother of Shadows…and Son of the Light - 1989
  • Careless Whispers - 1992
  • Box 7:
  • Children of the Federation - 1990
  • The Chronicles #7 (September), #9/10 (July) [bound] - 1982-1983
  • The Chronicles
  • The Chronicles #19 (April) - 1985
  • The Chronicles #59 (April) - 1995
  • The Chronicles Annual #1 - 1986
  • The Chronicles Annual #2 - 1987
  • The Chronicles Annual #3 - 1988
  • The Chronicles Annual #4 - 1989
  • Coma Avon Nights (May) - 1998
  • The Cost of the Cheeseboard - 1995
  • Cygnus Alpha [unfilmed script from Season 1 by Terry Nation]
  • Box 8:
  • Dandruff Droppings
  • Dandruff Droppings [apazine] Vol. 2: No. 3 (March) - 1992
  • Dandruff Droppings [apazine] Vol. 2: No. 5 (May) - 1992
  • Deadlier Than the Male - 1997
  • Derelicts - 1986
  • Desperado (June) - 1989
  • Different Destinies #1 - 1989
  • Down and Unsafe
  • Down and Unsafe #1 - 1984
  • Down and Unsafe #2 - 1984
  • Down and Unsafe #3 - 1985
  • Down and Unsafe #4 - 1986
  • Down and Unsafe #5 - 1986
  • Down and Unsafe #6 - 1987
  • Down and Unsafe
  • Down and Unsafe #7 - 1988
  • Down and Unsafe #8 - 1992
  • Box 9:
  • Dr. Bellfriar's Memorial Journal
  • Dr. Bellfriar's Memorial Journal #1 - 1988
  • Dr. Bellfriar's Memorial Journal #2 - 1989
  • Dr. Bellfriar's Memorial Journal #3 - 1989
  • Dr. Bellfriar's Memorial Journal #4 - 1990
  • DSY #1 - 1994
  • DSY #2 - 1995
  • DSY #3 - 1998
  • E-Man-Uelle
  • E-Man-Uelle #5 (n.d.)
  • E-Man-Uelle #6 (n.d.)
  • The Endless Farce
  • The Endless Farce #1 - 1999
  • The Endless Farce #2 - 2002
  • The Erogenous Zine - 2001
  • Evasive Maneuvers - 1994
  • Box 10:
  • Fire and Ice
  • Fire and Ice #1 - 1990
  • Fire and Ice #2 - 1993
  • Fire and Ice #3 - 1995
  • Fire and Ice #4 - 1998
  • Fire and Ice #5 - 1999
  • Fire and Ice #6 - 2000
  • Fire and Ice #7 - 2002
  • Fire and Ice #8 - 2005
  • Box 11:
  • Fire and Ice #9 - 2005
  • The Flotsam Chronicles - 1988
  • Forbidden Star #1 - 1995
  • Forbidden Star
  • Forbidden Star #2 - 1997
  • Forbidden Star #3 - 2001
  • Forbidden Zone
  • Forbidden Zone #1 (n.d.)
  • Forbidden Zone #2 - 1985
  • Forbidden Zone #3 [photocopy] (n.d.)
  • Forgotten Seven - 1990
  • The Freedom City Gazette #2 [newsletter] (April) - 1987
  • Box 12:
  • Gambit #1 (October) - 1987
  • Gambit #2 (April) - 1988
  • Gambit #3 (October) - 1988
  • Gambit #4 (May) - 1989
  • Gambit #5 (December) - 1989
  • Box 13:
  • Gambit #6 (August) - 1990
  • Gambit #7 (June) - 1991
  • Gambit #7 [story, "A Box Made of Glass"] (June) - 1991
  • Gambit #8 (February) - 1992
  • Gambit #9 (October) - 1992
  • Gambit #10 (June) - 1993
  • Gambit #11 (March) - 1994
  • Box 14:
  • Gambit #12 (November) - 1994
  • Gambit #13 (August) - 1995
  • Gambit #14 (November) - 1996
  • The Gilbert and Servalan Song Book [filk] (November) - 1998
  • Horizon
  • Horizon #3 - 1983
  • Horizon #6 (July) - 1984
  • Horizon #7 - 1985
  • Horizon
  • Horizon #1+8 (July) - 1990
  • Horizon #9 - 1986
  • Horizon #10 - 1987
  • Horizon #11 (January) - 1988
  • Box 15:
  • Horizon
  • Horizon #12 (October) - 1988
  • Horizon #13 (June) - 1989
  • Horizon #14 (March) - 1990
  • Horizon #15 (August) - 1991
  • Horizon
  • Horizon #16 (April) - 1992
  • Horizon #17 (November) - 1992
  • Horizon #18 (October) - 1994
  • Horizon
  • Horizon #19 (August) - 1995
  • Horizon #20 (October) - 1996
  • Horizon #22 (October) - 2000
  • Horizon #23 (March) - 2002
  • Horizon Newsletter
  • Horizon Newsletter [The Blake's Seven Appreciation Society] #15 - 1985
  • Horizon Newsletter [The Blake's Seven Appreciation Society] #17 - 1986
  • Horizon Newsletter [The Blake's Seven Appreciation Society] #18 - 1987
  • Horizon Newsletter
  • Horizon Newsletter [The Blake's Seven Appreciation Society] #23 - 1989
  • Horizon Newsletter [The Blake's Seven Appreciation Society] #28 - 1992
  • The Invaders [unfilmed script from Season 1 by Terry Nation] (n.d.)
  • The Last, Best Hope - 1988
  • Last Stand at the Edge of the World - 1987
  • Box 16:
  • The Laughing Mutoid
  • The Laughing Mutoid #1 - 1988
  • The Laughing Mutoid #2 - 1989
  • The Laughing Mutoid #3 - 1989
  • The Laughing Mutoid #4 - 1989
  • The Laughing Mutoid #5 - 1990
  • The Laughing Mutoid #6 - 1990
  • Liberator
  • Liberator #7 (August) - 1979
  • Liberator #8 (January) - 1980
  • Liberator Dreams - 1991
  • Liberator Fantasies - 1998
  • Lone Star - 1986
  • The Long Way Back - 1989
  • Lunatic Heroes (June) - 1989
  • Magnificent Seven
  • Magnificent Seven #1 (n.d.)
  • Magnificent Seven #2 [fourth printing] (March) - 1988
  • Box 17:
  • Magnificent Seven #3 [fourth printing] (April) - 1989
  • Magnificent Seven #4 [third printing] (April) - 1989
  • Magnificent Seven #5 (February) - 1988
  • Magnificent Seven #6 (February) - 1988
  • Magnificent Seven #7 (November) - 1988
  • Magnificent Seven #8 (December) - 1989
  • Magnificent Seven #9 (March) - 1991
  • Magnificent Tails #1 (February) - 1988
  • Box 18:
  • Magnificent Tails #2 - 1988
  • Man of Iron [unproduced script by Paul Darrow] (n.d.)
  • Mascarada [reprint] - 1987
  • Memory-Play (October) - 1990
  • The Mind of a Man is a Double-Edged Sword (September) - 1983
  • Mindfire (March) - 1998
  • Mirage - 1988
  • Necessities (October) - 1989
  • Box 19:
  • Oblaque #1 (October) - 1988
  • Oblaque #2 (February) - 1989
  • Oblaque #3 (June) - 1989
  • Oblaque #4 (April) - 1980
  • Oblaque #5 (May) - 1991
  • Oblaque #6 (January) - 1993
  • One Night Stand (December) - 2002
  • Orbit #3 [photocopy] (September) - 1983
  • The Other Side #8 (May) - 1992
  • The Other Side #9 (February) - 1993
  • The Other Side of the Coin - 1988
  • Box 20:
  • Paula and Steve Stagger Home - 2003
  • Phoenix
  • Phoenix #1 - 1983
  • Phoenix #2 - 1984
  • Phoenix #3 - 1985
  • Phoenix #4 [partial] (n.d.) [CZ]
  • The Plain Man's Guide to Alien Invasions #1 - 1989
  • Powerplay #1 - 1987
  • Powerplay #3 (July) - 1988
  • Powerplay #4 (January) - 1989
  • Powerplay #6 - 1989
  • Powerplay #7 - 1989
  • Pressure Point [photocopy] - 1999
  • Probability Square - 1989
  • Puppeteer - 1996
  • Puzzline [puzzle zine] (1989 or 1990) - 1990
  • Box 21:
  • The Quibell Abduction - 1980
  • Quicksilver Rising #4 (August) - 1986
  • Questions of the Past - 1992
  • Raising Hell
  • Raising Hell #1 - 1987
  • Raising Hell #2 - 1988
  • Raising Hell
  • Raising Hell #3 - 1990
  • Raising Hell #4 - 1991
  • Raising Hell
  • Raising Hell #5 - 1992
  • Raising Hell # 6 - 1994
  • Rebel Desires (January) - 1995
  • Box 22:
  • Rebel Destinies #1 (January) - 1994
  • Rebel Destinies #2 - 1995
  • Reclaimed (July) - 1988
  • Resistance
  • Resistance #1 (September) - 1987
  • Resistance #2 (January) - 1988
  • Resistance
  • Resistance #3 (January) - 1989
  • Resistance #4 (June) - 1990
  • Resistance
  • Resistance #5 (January) - 1991
  • #Resistance #6 - 1992
  • Box 23:
  • Resistance
  • Resistance #7 (February) - 1993
  • Resistance #8 (August) - 1994
  • Return of the 7 #1 - 1985
  • Return of the 7 #2 - 1987
  • Return of the 7 #3 - 1989
  • Return of the 7 #4 - 1991
  • Roads Not Taken - 1991
  • Box 24:
  • Serrated Seven - 1993
  • The Seven Live On
  • The Seven Live On #4 (May) - 1991
  • The Seven Live On #5 (July) - 1991
  • The Seven Live On #6 (May) - 1992
  • The Seven Live On #7 (May) - 1993
  • The Seven Live On #8 (May) - 1994
  • Shadow at the Edge - 1995
  • Shadowplay - 1988
  • Box 25:
  • Something Unfriendly #1 - 1988
  • Something Unfriendly #2 - 1990
  • Songs of Experience (October) - 1994
  • Songs of Innocence (May) - 1993
  • The Sonic Screwdriver #2 - 1987
  • Star #3 - 1996
  • Star #4 (October) - 2000
  • Sopron #2 - 2001
  • Sopron #3 (January) - 2002
  • Southern Lights
  • Southern Lights #2.5 (March) - 1986
  • Southern Lights #3.5 (April) - 1987
  • Southern Lights
  • Southern Lights #3.75 (September) - 1987
  • Southern Lights #4.5 (March) - 1988
  • Box 26:
  • Southern Comfort [previously Southern Lights] #4.75 (September) - 1988
  • Southern Comfort [previously Southern Lights] #5.5 (May) - 1990
  • Southern Comfort [previously Southern Lights] #6.5 (April) - 1991
  • Southern Comfort [previously Southern Lights] #7.5 (May) - 1993
  • Southern Comfort [previously Southern Lights] #8.5 (November) - 1994
  • Southern Comfort
  • Southern Comfort [previously Southern Lights] #8.75 (November) - 1994
  • Southern Comfort [previously Southern Lights] #9.5 (May) - 1996
  • Box 27:
  • Southern Comfort
  • Southern Comfort [previously Southern Lights] #10.5 (May) - 1999
  • Southern Comfort [previously Southern Lights] #11.5 (May) - 1999
  • Southern Seven #1 [fourth printing] - 1988
  • Southern Seven #2 [reprint] - 1987
  • Southern Seven #3 (August) - 1988
  • Southern Seven #4 (December) - 1988
  • Box 28:
  • Southern Seven #5, part one (July) - 1989
  • Southern Seven #5, part two - 1989
  • Southern Seven #6 (October) - 1991
  • Southern Seven #7 (April) - 1992
  • Southern Seven #8 (May) - 1994
  • Southern Seven #9 (May) - 1994
  • Southern Seven #10 (May) - 1995
  • Box 29:
  • Southern Seven #11 - 1998
  • Spacefall, Best of #1 (n.d.)
  • Spacefall, Best of #2 [second printing] (July) - 1991
  • Stadler Link - 1998
  • Standard by Seven #9 [photocopy] (March) - 1981
  • Standard Seven #11 [photocopy] (April) - 1982
  • Tales from the Rebel's Return [photocopy] (early 1980s) - 1980-1985
  • Tales from Space City #2 (March) - 2000
  • Tales from Space City
  • Tales from Space City #3 (December) - 2002
  • Tales from Space City #4 (December) - 2002
  • Tales from Space City #5 (January) - 2003
  • Tales from Space City #6 (January) - 2003
  • Tales from Space City #7 (October) - 2003
  • Tales from Space City #8 (March) - 2004
  • Tarial Cell
  • Tarial Cell #1 - 1982
  • Tarial Cell #2 - 1982
  • Ten-Credit Touch - 1993
  • Those Who Favor Fire - 1989
  • Box 30:
  • To Lose, To Win - 1987
  • The Totally Imaginary Cheeseboard - 1988
  • Trooper Orac's Fantastic Plastic Army - 2001
  • Trust, Like the Soul (September) - 1988
  • Vila, Please! (May) - 1989
  • Voices from the Present
  • Voices from the Present #1 (September) - 1988
  • Voices from the Present #2 (June) - 1989
  • The Way Back - 1995
  • Who Was That Masked Man? #3 (October) - 1992
  • Working Holiday - 2002
  • Zen and the Art of Rebellion #1 - 1991
  • Zen and the Art of Rebellion #2 - 1992
  • Zen and the Art of Rebellion #3 - 1994
  • Series 2: MULTIMEDIA
  • Box 31:
  • Banzine
  • Banzine #1 - 1989
  • Banzine #2 - 1991
  • BASCon [convention zine] - 2004
  • Bene Dictum #2 - 1995
  • Dark Fantasies #1 - 1993
  • Dark Fantasies #2 - 1994
  • Dark Fantasies #3 - 1995
  • Dark Roses [photocopy of a story, "Labyrinth"] (n.d.)
  • Diverse Doings #1 [partial, photocopy] (November) - 1997
  • Box 32:
  • Enarraré #7 - 1989
  • Enarraré #8 - 1992
  • It's Greek to Me - 1992
  • Liasons (May) - 1991
  • No Holds Barred #26 (May) - 2002
  • Paean to Priapus #1 (June) - 1990
  • Paean to Priapus #2 (October) - 1990
  • Paean to Priapus #4 (August) - 1992
  • Box 33:
  • Red Rose
  • Red Rose #1 - 1994
  • Red Rose #3 - 1998
  • Starlines
  • Starlines #5 (June) - 1985
  • Starlines #6 (August) - 1986
  • The Ultimate Mary Sue - 1987
  • Uncharted Waters #13 [photocopy of a story, "Destination"] - 1995
  • Whatever Works [photocopies of stories] - 1986
  • Who's Blake #1 (February) - 1987
  • Series 3: MISCELLANEOUS
  • Box 34:
  • Merlin fandom, Desperate Measures [photocopy of a story, "Tara"] (n.d.)
  • Atwood, Tony. Blake's 7 Afterlife. London: Target Book - 1984
  • Zenith Magazine (n.d.)
  • Blake's 7 wall calendars (1983, 1984, 1991, 1992, 1995) - 1983-1995
  • Blake's 7 awards - 1998, 1999
  • Marian Mendez 1995 Fan Quality Award for "Pilot Program" - 1995

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.