Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Vee Stade Star Trek Fanzines Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1967-2001
Creator:
Extent: 7.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0962
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Fanzines in the Star Trek fandom, 1967-2001, collected by Vee Stade.

Alternate Extent Statement: Audio: 45 rpm record

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by Vee Stade in June 2012.

Preferred Citation: Vee Stade Star Trek Fanzines Collection, the University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

The Vee Stade Star Trek Fanzines Collection primarily consists of materials relating to the Star Trek fandom. However, this collection does include one linear foot of multimedia fanizines. In addition to fanzines, this collection houses convention fliers, film promotion posters, magazines, six comic books, and one 45 rpm record. One linear foot of books that were a part of this collection have been physically housed in the Special Collections x-collection. These books are searchable in the University of Iowa online catalog by title. These books are:

Goldstein, Stan and Fred Goldstein. Star Trek Spaceflight Chronology. New York: Pocket Books, 1980.

Johnson, Shane. Star Trek: Mr. Scott's Guide to the Enterprise. New York, N.Y.: Pocket Books, 1987

May, John. Star Wars, the Empire Strikes Back. Ridgefield, Conn.: Paradise Press, 1980.

Okuda, Michael and Denise Okuda. Star Trek Chronology: The History of the Future. New York: Pocket Books, 1993.

Okuda, Michael, Denise Okuda and Debbie Mirek. The Star Trek Encyclopedia: A Reference Guide to the Future. New York: Pocket Books, 1994.

Rotsler, William. Star Trek II Biographies. New York: Pocket Books, 1982.

Star Fleet Medical Reference Manual. New York: Ballantine Books, 1977. (two copies)

Star Fleet Technical Manual: Federation Classified Training Command, Star Fleet Academy, Official Version for Cadets from United Nations, Earth, Sol System. New York: Ballantine Books, 1975.

Star Fleet Technical Manual: Training Command, Star Fleet Academy. New York: Ballantine Books, 1986.

Star Trek Blueprints: General Plans, Constitution Class, U.S.S. Enterprise. New York: Paramount Pictures Corp., 1975

Sternbach, Rick and Michael Okuda. Star Trek, the Next Generation: Technical Manual. New York: Pocket Books, 1991.

The Star Wars Iron-on Transfer Book. New York: Ballantine, 1977.

Trimble, Bjo. The Star Trek Concordance. New York: Ballantine Books, 1976.

The box list, below, is organized by series. Folder titles are listed for each box. Folders which house multiple issues display those titles indented.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: TOS: STAR TREK
Series 2: OTHER FANDOMS
Series 3: MULTIMEDIA
Series 4: MISCELLANEOUS

  • Series 1: TOS: STAR TREK
  • Box 1:
  • A Handful of Snowflakes - 1976
  • A Matter of Survival - 1979
  • A New Future & Out of Bounds [two novels, bound] - 1982
  • Academy Chronicles
  • Academy Chronicles #3 - 1978
  • Academy Chronicles #5 - 1978
  • Academy Chronicles #6 - 1979
  • Academy Chronicles #7 - 1979
  • The Adventures of…the Legion of Galactic Coordinators - 1979
  • Alnitah
  • Alnitah #1 - 1975
  • Alnitah #2 - 1975
  • Alnitah #4 - 1976
  • Alnitah #5 - 1977
  • Alnitah
  • Alnitah #6 - 1977
  • Alnitah #7 - 1978
  • Alnitah #8 - 1978
  • Alnitah #9 - 1979
  • Alnitah #10 - 1979
  • Alnitah
  • Alnitah #11 - 1980
  • Alnitah #12 - 1980
  • Alnitah #13 - 1981
  • Alnitah #14 - 1982
  • Alnitah #15 - 1983
  • Alnitah Omnibus #1 (March) - 1980
  • Alpha Continuum
  • Alpha Continuum #1 - 1976
  • Alpha Continuum #3 - 1980
  • Alpha Continuum #4 - 1980
  • As New Wine (June) - 1979
  • Box 2:
  • Back Trekkin' - 1975
  • The Beast - 1978
  • The Bedside Grope/Queen Grope (July) - 1981
  • Berengaria #5/6 (June) - 1977
  • Berengaria #9 (June) - 1977
  • The Best of…Scotty #2 - 1977
  • The Best of… Pon Farr #3 - 1977
  • The Best of… Amanda and Sarek #4 - 1978
  • Beta Lyrae - 1974
  • The Bloodstone - 1983
  • The Castaways (January) - 1977
  • The Complete Rack (July) - 1980
  • Box 3:
  • Deck Five Digest
  • Deck Five Digest #1 (June) - 1981
  • Deck Five Digest #2 - 1981
  • Deck Five Digest #3 (March) - 1983
  • Deep Grope (May) - 1977
  • Dreadnought Explorations
  • Dreadnought Explorations #1 (May) - 1976
  • Dreadnought Explorations #2 (July) - 1976
  • Dreadnought Explorations
  • Dreadnought Explorations #3 (September) - 1976
  • Dreadnought Explorations #4 (November) - 1976
  • Dreadnought Explorations #5 (January) - 1977
  • Dreadnought Explorations Collected #2 (February) - 1982
  • Ee-Miniar
  • Ee-Miniar #2 (April) - 1979
  • Energize! - 1976
  • Enter-Comm
  • Enter-Comm #1 (August) - 1979
  • Enter-Comm #2 (February) - 1980
  • Enter-Comm
  • Enter-Comm #3 (August) - 1980
  • Enter-Comm #4 (February) - 1981
  • Box 4:
  • Enter-Comm
  • Enter-Comm #5 (January) - 1982
  • Enter-Comm #6 (May) - 1983
  • Enter-Comm #7 (May) - 1984
  • Enterprise Incidents #2 [reprint] - 1978
  • Eridani Triad #2 - 1971
  • The Ermine Violin
  • The Ermine Violin #2 (July) - 1978
  • The Ermine Violin #3 (February) - 1979
  • The Ermine Violin #4/5 (Summer) - 1980
  • The Female of the Species is More Deadly Than the Male - 1982
  • Box 5:
  • Furaha
  • Furaha #1 (March) - 1975
  • Furaha #2 (July) - 1975
  • Furaha #3 (September) - 1975
  • Furaha #5 (April) - 1977
  • The Grapes of Roth (March) - 1978
  • The Graveside Grope (May) - 1983
  • Grope (June) - 1976
  • Guardian Forever (July) - 1981
  • The Halkan Council
  • The Halkan Council #10 - 1975
  • The Halkan Council #11 - 1975
  • The Halkan Council #12 - 1975
  • The Halkan Council #13 - 1975
  • The Halkan Council #14 - 1976
  • The Halkan Council #15 - 1976
  • The Halkan Council #16 - 1976
  • The Halkan Council #17 - 1976
  • The Halkan Council #19 - 1976
  • The Halkan Council #20 - 1976
  • The Halkan Council #21 - 1976
  • The Halkan Council #22 - 1976
  • The Halkan Council #23 - 1977
  • The Halkan Council #24 - 1977
  • The Halkan Council #25 - 1977
  • The Halkan Council #26/27 - 1977
  • Holmesian Federation #1 - 1978
  • If Freedom Fall? - 1982
  • Inevitable Love - 1981
  • Interphase #4 (May) - 1977
  • Box 6:
  • Interstellar Mail Collected - 1981
  • Invasion of the Klingon Empire - 1978
  • It Takes Time on Impulse
  • It Takes Time on Impulse #1 - 1983
  • It Takes Time on Impulse #2 - 1983
  • It Takes Time on Impulse #3 - 1985
  • King Grope (September) - 1978
  • Kraith Collected #1 [3rd edition] - 1976
  • Kraith Collected #2 (February) - 1974
  • Kraith Collected #3 (April) - 1978
  • Kraith Collected #4 (June) - 1974
  • Kraith Collected #5 (May) - 1977
  • Kraith Collected #6 (December) - 1980
  • Box 7:
  • Log Entries
  • Log Entries #22 (January) - 1979
  • Log Entries #23 (April) - 1979
  • Log Entries #24 (June) - 1979
  • Log Entries
  • Log Entries #25 (August) - 1979
  • Log Entries #26 (October) - 1979
  • Log Entries #27 (October) - 1979
  • Masiform D
  • Masiform D #7 (July) - 1978
  • Masiform D #8 (February) - 1979
  • Matter/Antimatter #1, "Eye of the Mind" - 1978
  • Menagerie
  • Menagerie #11 (February) - 1977
  • Menagerie #14 (March) - 1978
  • Menagerie #15 (May) - 1979
  • Menagerie #16 (January) - 1980
  • The Monkey of the Inkpot
  • The Monkey of the Inkpot #1 (n.d.)
  • The Monkey of the Inkpot #2 (June) - 1975
  • More Deadly Than the Male - 1976
  • More Grope (November) - 1976
  • More Trek Tales - 1977
  • Box 8:
  • Nexus #4 (1979) - 1979
  • Nichelle Nichols Fan Club (1975) [TOS: Star Trek and Nichelle Nichols] - 1975
  • Nor No Man Ever Loved (1982) - 1982
  • Only Trek #1 (December 1982) - 1982
  • Orbit 304 (1981) - 1981
  • Orion Quadrant
  • Orion Quadrant #1 (July) - 1979
  • Orion Quadrant #2 (July) - 1980
  • Outpost Recorder #1 (January) - 1978
  • Box 9:
  • Passages - 1978
  • Pastak
  • Pastak #4 (January) - 1978
  • Pastak #5 (December) - 1979
  • Pastaklan Vesla
  • Pastaklan Vesla #5 (Summer) - 1978
  • Pastaklan Vesla # (Spring) - 1980
  • Pentathlon #1 - 1970
  • Personal Log #1 - 1980
  • Plak Tow #2 (May) - 1979
  • Probe #2 (February) - 1979
  • Quartet (January) - 1975
  • Question of Balance - 1979
  • Reflections in Amber - 1980
  • Repeat Missions
  • Repeat Missions #1 (July) - 1979
  • Repeat Missions #2 (October) - 1979
  • Replica - 1979
  • Box 10:
  • Rim of Starlight
  • Rim of Starlight #1 (October) [second printing] - 1978
  • Rim of Starlight #2 (October) [second printing] - 1978
  • Rim of Starlight #3 (July) [second printing] - 1979
  • Rim of Starlight
  • Rim of Starlight #4 - 1979
  • Rising Star - 1978
  • Saurian Brandy Digest
  • Saurian Brandy Digest #15 (October/November) - 1978
  • Saurian Brandy Digest #19 (May) - 1979
  • Saurian Brandy Digest #20 (June) - 1979
  • Saurian Brandy Digest
  • Saurian Brandy Digest #3 [subtitled: A Question of Duty] (June)
  • Saurian Brandy Digest
  • Saurian Brandy Digest
  • Scripts, final drafts
  • "Operation - Annihilate!" (January 24) - 1967
  • "The Immunity Syndrome" (October 17) - 1967
  • Scuttlebutt #13 (May/June) - 1979
  • Secret Agent: Enterprise - 1977
  • Box 11:
  • Something Hidden - 1976
  • Son of Grope (February) - 1977
  • Southern Star #3 (May) - 1977
  • Spin Dizzie
  • Spin Dizzie #5 (June) [second printing] - 1981
  • Spin Dizzie #6 (April) - 1982
  • Star Trek Adventure - 1975
  • The Star Trek Songbook (Summer) - 1971
  • Starborne (August) - 1979
  • Stardate #10 [newszine by editor Terry Whittier] (August 7) - 1976
  • Sun & Shadow - 1980
  • T-Negative
  • T-Negative #1 (June) - 1969
  • T-Negative #2 (August) - 1969
  • T-Negative #3 (September) - 1969
  • T-Negative #4 (December) - 1969
  • T-Negative # 5 (February) - 1970
  • T-Negative #6 (April) - 1970
  • T-Negative #7 (June) - 1970
  • T-Negative #8 (August) - 1970
  • T-Negative #9 (January) - 1971
  • T-Negative #10 (April) - 1971
  • T-Negative
  • T-Negative #11 (July) - 1971
  • T-Negative #12 (October) - 1971
  • T-Negative #13 (December) - 1971
  • T-Negative #14 (March) - 1972
  • T-Negative #15 (May) - 1972
  • T-Negative #16 (July) - 1972
  • T-Negative #17 (August) - 1972
  • T-Negative #18 (October) - 1972
  • T-Negative #19 (February) - 1973
  • T-Negative #20 (May) - 1973
  • T-Negative
  • T-Negative #21 (August) - 1973
  • T-Negative #22 (January) - 1974
  • T-Negative #23 (July) - 1974
  • T-Negative #24 (September) - 1974
  • T-Negative #25 (December) - 1974
  • T-Negative #26 (March) - 1975
  • T-Negative #27 (April) - 1975
  • T-Negative #28 (September) - 1975
  • T-Negative #29 (October) - 1975
  • T-Negative #30/31 (March) - 1976
  • T-Negative #32/33 (March) - 1977
  • T-Negative #34/35 (March) - 1979
  • Box 12:
  • Tal-Shaya #2 - 1974
  • The Time of Surak - 1979
  • Tomorrow is Another Day (April) - 1979
  • T'Purr the Enterprise Cat - 1979
  • Understanding Kraith - 1978
  • Variations on a Theme #1 (September) - 1977
  • The Web of Selagor - 1979
  • The Wheel of Fate (December) - 1980
  • With Hoops of Steel (April) - 1981
  • Worlds Apart - 1979
  • WXYZine
  • WXYZine #1 - 1978
  • WXYZine #2 - 1979
  • WXYZine #3 - 1981
  • Series 2: OTHER FANDOMS
  • Box 13:
  • Dragonriders of Pern/Tolkien, Dragonlore #1 - 1983
  • Kingdom of Valdemar, The Danya Winterborn Saga - 2001
  • The Sentinel, Sentry Duty #1 (July) - 1997
  • The Sentinel, Obsession (pre-2001) - 2000
  • The Sentinel, Primal Instincts #3 (April) - 1998
  • Star Wars, Bright Center of the Universe #9 - 1999
  • Star Wars, Dagobah - 1985
  • Star Wars, Dragon's Teeth - 1986
  • Star Wars online fan fiction (April 16) - 2000
  • Box 14:
  • Star Wars, Skywalker #5 - 1982
  • Unknown fan fiction
  • War of the Worlds, The Forrester Papers: A "War of the Worlds" Concordance - 1993
  • Savage Empire, Wulfstone #1 - 1989
  • Series 3: MULTIMEDIA
  • Box 15:
  • Forum/Datazine
  • Forum #20 [Later named Datazine] (July 1-August 15) - 1982
  • Datazine #25 (April/May) - 1983
  • Grip
  • Grip #1 (February) - 1978
  • Grip #4 - 1978
  • SLAYSU
  • SLAYSU #1 (November) - 1980
  • SLAYSU #2 (February) - 1981
  • SLAYSU
  • SLAYSU #3 (May) - 1981
  • SLAYSU #4 (March) - 1982
  • SLAYSU #5 (August) - 1982
  • Time Warp #1 [Isis Press] (April) - 1977
  • Warped Space
  • Warped Space #7 (June) - 1975
  • Warped Space #11 (October) - 1975
  • Warped Space #21 (November) - 1976
  • Warped Space #40 (March) - 1979
  • Warped Space #44 (July) - 1980
  • Warped Space #45 (March) - 1981
  • Warped Space
  • Warped Space #46 (September) - 1981
  • Warped Space #47 (June) - 1982
  • Warped Space #48 (March) - 1983
  • Warped Space #49 (October) - 1983
  • Series 4: MISCELLANEOUS
  • Box 16:
  • Comic books: Star Trek, Vol. 1: No. 18 [Marvel Comics] (February) - 1982
  • Comic books: Star Trek: The Origin of Saavik! [DC Comics] (August) - 1984
  • Comic books: Star Wars: Return of the Jedi [Marvel Comics]
  • Return of the Jedi, #1 (October) - 1983
  • Return of the Jedi, #2 (November) - 1983
  • Return of the Jedi, #3 (December) - 1983
  • Return of the Jedi, #4 (January) - 1984
  • Conventions: Omnicon! Program book - 1976
  • Conventions: Star Trek 75 Program book - 1975
  • Conventions: Fliers, Star Trek
  • Conventions: Fliers, Star Wars
  • Conventions: Fliers, various
  • Conventions: Fliers, unknown fanzine convention
  • Film promotional materials: Star Trek posters
  • Film promotional materials: Star Trek movie stills
  • Film promotional materials: Paramount Pictures Star Trek
  • Film promotional materials: Universal Studios Battlestar Galactica
  • Film promotional materials: Lucas Films Star Wars
  • Magazines: Enterprise Incidents #8 (April) - 1980
  • Magazines: Mad #210 (October) - 1979
  • Magazines: Nova Enterprises bookseller's catalogs - 1980-1981
  • Magazines: The Official Star Trek III: The Search for Spock Movie Magazine - 1984
  • Magazines: The Official Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home Movie Magazine - 1986
  • Magazines: Starlog #27 [multimedia] (October) - 1979
  • Records: Peter Pan Records, 45 rpm. "Star Trek: Original Stories for Children Inspired by Star Trek" - 1979

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.