Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Civil War Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1861-1970
Creator:
Extent: 2.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0906
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Documents having to do with the Civil War.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 1 (Conard)

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was assembled from various small Civil War collections already in the Manuscript Collection.

Preferred Citation: Civil War Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

A collection of material having to do the the War Between the States, these items were drawn together from collections held separately by the University of Iowa Libraries. Though some deal with the Civil War and Iowa, they do not all do so.
See the Civil War Collection at the Iowa Digital Library

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Ames, William Price. Account of the Battle of Bull Run. [186?]
  • Bailey,Turner S.. Civil War Diaries. 3 diaries, 1861, 1862, 1863.
    Turner S. Bailey of Epworth, Iowa, enlisted on May 22, 1861 and mustered in June 10, 1861, probably at Dubuque, Iowa in the 3rd Iowa Infantry, Company A. They left the state of Iowa on June 29 and spent the rest of 1861 in moving around the state of Missouri, engaging in skirmishes at Hannibal, Macon City, Chilicothe, Brookfield, and Kirksville, among others.Bailey apparently served as chaplain for his unit, but he served in other capacities as well. On March 27 he writes, “I commenced cooking for our mess of fourteen men. Am to receive 35 cent for each man per month.”  It doesn’t appear that he cooked the entire time because there are some entries in which he says, “I cooked tonight,” implying that he wasn’t cooking all the time. He often goes out foraging and brings back beeves, corn, potatoes, and sweet potatoes, among other items. He often leaves camp in the summer months to harvest wild berries. The army also apparently made use of his ability to write because he made out muster rolls for pay rolls and for the distribution of clothing.  P  In the spring of 1862 they were moved to the south by boat and train, and participated in the battle of Shiloh, which he calls Pittsburg Landing.Turner S. Bailey’s description of the Battle of Shiloh: P“Sunday, April 6th. It has been a pleasant day so far as weather is concerned but extremely unpleasant on account of the shell, shot, and bullets flying so profusely. The rebels attacked our advance about six o’clock A.M. Our regiment was not called out until about ½ past 7 oclock. We formed in line of battle soon after leaving our camp and met the enemy (who had driven our advance divisions back) about ¾ of a mile from our camp. The battle was tremendious and we were under continual fire till dark. The secesh flanked us and caused us to fall back and finally drove us back nearly to the river, but we checked them by well aimed shots from our gun boats and siege guns on the hill above the landing. Firing closed about dark and we lay on our arms all night in a drenching rain. Buell reinforced us during the night. P “Monday, April 7th. Buell took the advance this morning and at early dawn the ball opened again with fresh vigor on our side for our boys were determined to drive them over the ground we lost yesterday. Cheered on by reinforcements the old troops took fresh vigor and by four P.M. they were entirely routed and made a hasty retreat leaving us in possession of the field and many of their cannon. The field is covered all over with killed and wounded. I look over a portion of the field and Oh, the suffering to be seen.  I went back to the old camp and am in my own tent once more safe but it looks lonesome for many of our boys are not here and we know not what has become of them. It has been rainy all day and rains very hard tonight. PApril 7th to 12thP“It was storming all the time and very muddy almost impossible to get along the road at all. The bodies are nearly all removed from the field. Gilliam and Swift from our mess are wounded.  15 from our Co wounded and Capt Oneill prisoner. The loss in our regiment in killed, wounded, and missing in the two days battle was 215. I have been in my tent every night. There is a great deal of talk about the battle among the boys and the camp seems lonely.”PHe contracted bilious fever after this and spent May 4 to July 15 in hospitals, including one at Terre Haute, Indiana, or recuperating at his sister Emaline’s in Berlin Heights, Ohio.P The 1862 diary will be especially valuable for scholars researching Company A of the 3rd Iowa Infantry, since it includes a list of field and staff officers when sworn into service and remarks about them. It is believed that he lists all the non-commissioned men, as well.  This diary contains a list of his correspondents and their relationship to him, as well as what he calls an index, but is in reality a recap of some of the highlights of the year.P In 1863, they were assigned to Memphis. They took an active part in the siege of Vicksburg and were very near the fort at some of the heaviest fighting and they saw the flag of truce come out on the fort on July 3, the day before the official surrender.P They were on the march after this. The print gets very cramped and faint here, but it looks like one of the last locations named is Champion Hills. On Sunday, July 12, the entry ends “. . . was repulsed with heavy loss. I was wounded but walked off the field.”  Written across the spaces for July 13 ad 14 is the following: “There follows the loss of the right hand and [dam(age)?] to the elbow and final discharge because of viability.” P His great-granddaughter, who donated these diaries, tells us that he spent the rest of his life as a Presbyterian minister.
  • Baker, N.B.. Adjutant General of Iowa. A document voiding commissions that were done incorrectly and stating that soldiers can enlist in General Hancock's corps. Davenport, Iowa. January 7 - 1865
  • Brockway Diary. Civil War Diary of Henry Brockway.January-September - 1864
    34th Massachusetts Regiment, Company K. In paper form and digitized on 4 CDs.
  • By the President on the United States of America. A Proclamation. April 2 - 1866
    Declaring the insurrection at an end in certain states of the Union. Questionable signatures of Andrewe Johnson and William Stanton, cut from another piece of paper and pasted on.
  • Carroll, Anna Ella. Miss Carroll's Claim Before Congress. Philadelphia. January 14 - 1863
    A document stating that Miss Carroll conceived the idea of The Union attacking the south from the Tennessee River rather than the Mississippi River and asking compensation for that. Also requesting compensation for pamphlets she had written for the war effort.
  • Child, Joseph. Civil War Diary. November 26-June 8 - 1861-1865
    26th Iowa Infantry, Company K
  • Conard, Philip. Diaries. - 1861-1862, 1864-1865
    Two diaries were donated to the libraries by Craig C. and Linda D. Grannon under the assumption that both were diaries of Philip Conard. Neither has any legible identifying marks. Upon further examination it looks like the two diaries are by different men. The handwriting is different as are the styles, spelling, and format of the entries. The first, the 1861-1862, is by someone who starts his diary (presumably after the fact) as follows: "Liberty, Union County, Indiana, April 23, 1861. This day I enlisted in a company of volunteers under the command of Capt. T. W. Bennett." Information on Captain Bennett reveals that he was at the Battle of Cheat Mountain, one of the first engagements of the war and the first at which General Robert E. Lee directed an offensive against Brigadier General Joseph Reynolds. This journal is kept in a lined small ledger book, with entries of varying length as the situation demands. The ink in this part of the diary is faded to near illegibility but the dates coincide with the dates of the Battle of Cheat Mountain, September 12-15.  He describes a battle on October 3 and 4, as well, in the area of Cheat Mountain. He writes to Sally, his wife, and has three daughters. He writes to E.C. McKee [his father-in-law?] and Mark McKee. The journal ends at Nashville on March 13, 1862. In his diary he speaks of Orilla and Nan, who are the daughters of Andrew F. Davis, so it is believed that this is the diary of Davis, who lived near Liberty. Orilla Davis apparently married Philip Conard, so it's not surprising that the two diaries would be together. The other diary is printed with the dates and a quite small space to enter text. Each entry begins with the time the writer arose and ends with the time he retired for the night, and also includes a very brief statement about the weather, such as "Pleasant day." The writer of the 1861-1862 diary never included this information, which is a reason for believing they are not written by the same person. The first third of this diary details life on a farm, then beginning on May 2, there are some entries made from a camp. It isn't clear exactly where the camp is. He mentions going to Utica and going by rail to Newark. On May 5th he "came to Columbus" and marched to camp. He mustered in on May 8th.The diary then follows his life in camp until he leaves the army about September 5. The discharge papers indicate that he served from May 2 to September 1 (100 days) in Company A of the 135th Regiment of the National Guard of Ohio, under the command of Captain W. A. McKee. The narrative then resumes dealing with farm chores, including what appears to be a sheep drive.  He kept up the diary on extra pages at the back of the book until April 12, 1865. This diary mentions Hatty Conard, and is labeled on the back "Papa's diary 1864. His war experience. Sarah." This is presumably Sarah Conard Jacob, who was Philip's daughter. Other names mentioned in the diary are Hiram and Anna, who died on September 14. [Christhy] Conard is also mentioned, as is C.M. Conard, perhaps the same person. Uncles Joe, Nathan, and Ely are also mentioned. Frank is mentioned, and is probably Philip's brother. Henry, Minty, and Cyrus are also mentioned. This diary also includes recipes for a fistula medicine and a concoction to stop making water. Doses are given for horses and men. (The man's dose is taken in whiskey.) There is also a recipe for white wash.Etching plate and photographics reproduction of Philip Conard's discharge papers. See also the Travel Journal of Sarah Jacob. Not Civil War related, but of the same family.
  • Davis, Andews. See entry for Conard, above. CD for "Dear Beloved Wife" by David Davenport, based on the letters of Andrew Davis.
  • Cross, Albert. Diary - 1862
  • Curtis, S.R. Military pass. Benton barracks, October 12 - 1861
  • Dahlgren, John A. "Minutes of Disposition by General Foster for the Expedition in the Stono to begin 1 July 1864."
  • Davis, Jefferson. An Address to the People of the Free States by the President of the Southern Confederacy. Richmond, January 5 - 1863
    Stating that since Lincoln had declared all slaves free, including those in the Confederacy, that Davis was declaring all free blacks in all states and all their issue in perpetuity to be slaves; and that "the proper condition of the negro is slavery, or a complete subjection to the white man."
  • Dawley, Jesse. Civil War Diary. - 1864
  • Box 2:
  • Ewringmann, Charles. Transcription, Civil War soldier - 1861-1863
    27th Iowa Volunteer Infantry, Company D. In German.
  • Fiske, Samuel. Letters. Connecticut and Massachusetts - 1842-1876
    "Fiske is better known to the larger public under his pseudonym, Dunn Browne. Using that name Samuel Fiske provided the Springfield Republican a series of ninety battlefront letters, unique in the literature of the Civil War." [From the appraisal document that accompanied the collection.] Samuel's brother Asa collected these letters and published them in 1866 as Mr. Dunn Browne's Experience in the ArmyIn 1998, noted historian Stephen W. Sears edited the letters and published them as Mr. Dunn Browne's Experiences in the Army: The Civil War Letters of Samuel W. FiskeThis is a series of 13 documents, private communications relating to the Fiske family, ranging in date from 1843-1876, with the majority of them coming during the war years of 1862-1863. There are letters from Samuel to his wife Elizabeth, and letters to Samuel from members of the Fiske family, including his brother Asa and his sisters Rebecca (Wheeler Hart), and Minnie. Also included are letters for Samuel Fiske from Z. C. Montague, S. D. Learned, and a wedding invitation from Pamelia Taylor for her wedding to George L. Lyman, addressed to "Brother Samuel." In 1876, a card is sent from Lancaster County Bank in Lincoln Nebraska, soliciting ex-soldiers to sell their lands awarded to them by an act of Congress. It is unclear whether this is sent to the Fiske family, since it is addressed to a real estate agent in Marion Wright County, Iowa. These are clear-headed, well-written letters as demonstrated by the following excerpt from a letter of September 24, 1862 to his wife: "Possibly he (the chaplain who has gone for their belongings) will be able to send on our baggage also, in which case that old trunk will appear & the luxury of a clean shirt will be mine once more. That is however almost too much to hope for. I am most anxious to know how you have succeeded in reference to a boarding place & whether you are comfortable & brave & happy. I trust greatly in your fortitude & endurance since you separated from me so bravely & helped me so much in every way in getting off. Oh if I could only be with you now for a fortnight. I would go though a thicker fire that that of last Wednes. gladly to accomplish it. But God is over all. He will bring all things around wisely & for the best. And if God so wills, we will value our little quiet home more than even before & not mind the little ills of life so long as we are blessed with peace, sweet peace." Gift of Ruth and Sam Becker.
  • Foote, J.G. Letter to the New York Chamber of Commerce, soliciting contributions to the Southern Iowa Soldiers Fair. September - 1864
  • Forest, Joseph H. Volunteer descriptive list and account of pay and clothing. Iowa Infantry - 1862-1863
    23rd Regiment, Company E.
  • Gates, Charles Arad
    Charles Arad Gates was born in 1841, one of five children of Arad and Charlotte Gates, in the village of West Monroe, near Baldwinsville, New York. His parents were third generation New York farmers, but his farmily history dated back to the immigrant Stephen Gates and his wife Anne who traveled from England to settle in Hingham in the Massachusetts Bay Colony in 1638. Charles' ancestors Deacon Samuel Gates II and Samuel Gates both served in the Revolutionary War. From September 161 to June 1865 Gates served in the 1st New Your Light Artillery, Battery B, which was known until the Gettysburg campaign in 1863 as Petit's Battery, after their first captain Rufus Pettit of Baldwinsville. The battery was organized at Baldwinsville and was composed chiefly of Onondaga county men. It was mustered into the state service at Baldwinsville on August 24, 1861 and into the service of the United States at Elmire on August August 31, 1866. Charles wrote letters home frequently to his parents, relatives, and friends describing his experiences and thoughts about the war. This collection is comprised of 39 of those letters written between September 1861 and December 1863 and envelopes for which no letters were found. There are examples of illustrated stationery, both in the letters and the envelopes, including Union icons and likenesses of McClellan, George Washington, and the Sons of Erin. Among the contents are four maps drawn by Gates including the battery's first winter camp at Camp California near Alexandria, Virginia; a map of the Antietam battlefield; a camp at Bolivar Heights near Harper's Ferry, Virginia duruing the Maryland campaign in 1862; and a cmp of the Chacellorsvillel battlefield. Noteworthy letters include a letter of July 4th, 1864 describing two days of battle including the climactic charge of Confederate troops led by General George Pickett on the Union defense of Cemetery Ridge on the third day of battle. Others include descriptions of the battles of Fair Oaks, Antietam, Fredericksburg, and Chalcellorsville. Gift of Steven M. and Lori A. Gates
  • 17-Sep - 1861
  • 29-Nov - 1861
  • 12-Dec - 1861
  • 20-Dec - 1861
  • 27-Dec - 1862
  • 4-Feb - 1862
  • 17-Feb - 1862
  • 10-Mar - 1862
  • 18-May - 1862
  • 22-Jun - 1862
  • 18-Jul - 1862
  • 14-Aug - 1862
  • September 21 (Sharpsburg, Antietam) - 1862
  • September 29 (Sketch of camp) - 1862
  • 9-Oct - 1862
  • 20-Oct - 1862
  • 10-Nov - 1862
  • 18-Nov - 1862
  • 16-Dec - 1862
  • 25-Dec - 1862
  • 27-Dec - 1862
  • 7-Feb - 1863
  • 14-Feb - 1863
  • 14-Mar - 1863
  • 12-Apr - 1863
  • 17-Apr - 1863
  • 22-Apr - 1863
  • 28-Apr - 1863
  • 9-May - 1863
  • 1-Jun - 1863
  • 6-Jun - 1863
  • 11-Jun - 1863
  • 4-Jul - 1863
  • 21-Jul - 1863
  • 2-Aug - 1863
  • 20-Oct
  • 1-Dec - 1863
  • Unconfirmed dates
  • Envelopes
  • Gibson, Laura R. Correspondence to her mother, June-August - 1863
    These nine letters detail life in a camp near Vicksburg where she resided with her husband, a surgeon with the 15th Iowa Volunteer Regiment. The return addresses show the progress toward Vicksurg, with the first letter, dated June 20 having been sent from "camp 3 miles [rear?] of Vicksburg," and the next letter addressed "Magnolia Hall," ending with the last four letters, written from Vicksburg itself.
  • Hoover, Earl R. Papers concerning Benjamin R. Hanby, composer of “Darling Nelly Gray,” Civil War songs and music
  • Howard, Robert A. General orders. No. 4, Benton Barracks. September 18 - 1861
  • Huntington, Mrs. Henry. Memoirs of the Civil War, correspondence. n.d.
    Published in abbreviated form as "Escape from  Atlanta: The Huntington Memoir," edited by Ben Krenmenak in Civil War History June 1965, pp 160-177.
  • Iowa Infantry, 3rd Regiment. Muster Roll, June 8 - 1861
    Company E.
  • Iowa Infantry, 3rd Regiment. Losses at Shiloh. April 6-7 - 1862
    Companies A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, J, and K
  • Iowa Infantry, 20th Regiment, Company E documents. - 1862-1864
  • Myers, John - 1838-1863
    John Myers was a married farmer who enlisted in Company F of the 28th Iowa Infantry as a corporal in late 1862. He started out at Camp Pope in Iowa City, then moved to Camp Helena in Arkansas, from which he moved to take part in the battle for Vicksburg. He was wounded in action at Port Gibson and died of disease at Helena Arkansas in August 1863. These are letters to his wife (Ceclia?). These letters describe camp life in Iowa City and how the bored men got drunk and ". . . tore 1 whiskey shop all to smash."  His words on the battle of Vicksburg: ".. .it has been nothing but a  continual roar of muskets, cannons, mortars and the bursting of shells since the beginning f the battle the 16. . . we have got them surrounded so they cannot get away. . ."  His last letter, from Miliken's Bend, Louisiana begins "Dear and most loved wife; With pleasure I take the present opportunity to write you a few lines but I can't tell you that I am well this time for I have had the chillfever ever since I wrote you the last letter every day til yesterday. I did not have it yesterday or today yet and I am in hopes I have got it broke. . ." Apparently it did not break, because he died of disease within the month.
  • Kellogg. Iowa Infantry, 29th Regiment. Trip to Lewisburg. July 26 - 1864
  • Kimberly, Wesley Clark. "Some Recollections of My Father's Family". - 1926
    Includes information on 1st Iowa Cavalry, 1861-1866
  • McDowell Family Papers. - 1857-1863
    7th Iowa Infantry, Company H. Including war letters. 54 items
  • Merriam, Rufus Nelson. Narrative of Experiences in the U.S. Civil War.
    4th Iowa Infantry, Company B
  • Mills County, Iowa. Mounted Minute Men Records - 1861-1869
  • Quartermaster's documents, 2nd Iowa Cavalry - 1862-1864
  • Resolutions Passted by a Large Democratic Meeting Held at Benton, Luzerne County, PA. July 4 - 1863
    A document protesting the war against the south. It states that the war is being fought "that Lincoln might be great" and "the nigger might be free." Calls for the impeachment on Lincoln, accusing him of treason.
  • Rhodes, Hinman. 1866 typescript diary.
    Life during and after the war
  • Roller, John G. Diary transcript. - 1864-1865
    Also on Microfilm available from Media Services, film number 8444
  • Rupp, Christian D. Diary. "Rupp's Memrandom Book Com. A 28 Ia In Vol" July 5-September 22 - 1864
    Begins in Thibodoux, Louisiana on July 5. The soldiers are put onto a boat in the Mississippi River which almost immediately runs aground on a sandbar. They are transferred to another boat, the original boat is freed from the sand bar, then they are transferred once again to the original boat. They then travel out into the gulf, past the Tortugas, past the Hatteras Lighthouse, and up the east coast to Chespeake Bay. They travel up the Potomac River. They disbark and travel overland to participate in battles at Winchester and Cedar Creek. Rupp was from Vinton, Iowa. He enlisted on August 12, 1862, was mustered in on September 2, 1862, and mustered out on July 31 1865 at Savannah, Georgia. This journal was donated by the Owen Winfield Family.
  • The South in Revolt
    Apparently a newspaper extra, announcing John Minor Botts' plan to march to Washington at the head of 7,000 men to protect the capitol. Botts was a Virginian. No date and no place of publication.
  • Sillanpa, Tom. Address delivered in 1970: “The Day an Ironclad Named U.S.S. Keokuk Stormed Fort Sumter”
  • Stafford Family Papers - 1862-1865
    Iowa Infantry, 38th Regiment, Company A
  • Box 4:
  • State of Iowa, Southern Division, Sidney, Iowa. Special Order No. 1. January 23 - 1864
    Orders for W. Hoyt as Captain of Company A, 4th Battalion, S.B.B. with Shepperson as his Lieutenant. The sole object of the detail is to protect the citizens on the county. Issued by J. N. Cornish, Lieut.-Col., Commanding.
  • Tidball, John C. Segments of a book on the Civil War, "War  Period, 1862."
    Also includes a printed article, "Artillery Service in the War of the Rebellion. Part II" by  Bvt. Brig.-General J. C. Tidball, U.S.A. These tear sheets indicate that the first part was published in the Journal No. 52, but the publication is not further identified.
  • U.S Army. Special Order no. 132. South Grange, Tennessee, October 3 - 1863
    Iowa Infantry, 7th Regiment, Company H; Illinois Infantry, 108th Regiment, Company B; Illinois Infantry, 108th Regiment, Company E
  • Worley Family Papers. Civil War papers of Joshua Worley. - 1861-1886
    126th Ohio Infantry
  • U. S. Army, Iowa Infantry Regiment, 11th - 1861-1865
    Company A. Manuscript. Muster Roll, Company A, 11th Regiment. April-August, 1863. Muster roll for the company, signed by Captain John W. Anderson. In Map Case 2, drawer 7
  • Letters to the Governor and Adjutant General of the state of Iowa duing the Civil War, concerning military appointments, etc. - 1862-1865
    27 letters
  • Box 3:
  • Burmeister, George C., Captain Company C, 35th Iowa Infantry. Diaries - 1861, 1862, 1863, 1864
    Accompanied by a transcription, which was returned to the family. Gift of Tom Hart. Burmeister was a school teacher, apparently boarding with the Ady family near Muscatine, when the war broke out. Includes a muster roll of Company C.
  • Ensign, E. W. Diaries, 1864, August 13,1865-June 15, 1866. New Hartford, Butler County, Iowa.
    Company E, 44th Iowa Infantry. Gift of Mrs. Karen Wilson.
  • Civil War envelopes.
    Includes envelopes from Union and Confederate sympathizers. Stored at v14
  • Muster rolls. For the 11th Iowa Infantry, Company A, April 30, 1863-June 30, 1863 under Captain John W. Anderson; and for 1st Iowa Cavalry, Company S, June ?, 1862-August 31, 1862, under Captain Henry H. Heath. - 1863, 1862
    In map case 2, drawer 7
  • Box 5:
  • Marks family letters
    This box is lying atop the collection
  • Box 6:
  • Marks family letters
    This box is lying atop the collection

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
Civil War