Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Charles Feinberg Walt Whitman Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1860-1880
Creator: Feinberg, Charles
Extent: 8.00 items.
Collection Number: MSC0891
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Seven portraits of Whitman, including photographs, phototypes, and engravings.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs throughout.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Gift of Charles Feinberg with an addendum from Augustana College.

Preferred Citation: Charles Feinberg Walt Whitman Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Framed images of Walt Whitman.Some of the information below is from the online gallery of Whitman portraits at http://whitmanarchive.org/multimedia/gallery.html

Also includes a prospectus for In Re Walt Whitman: Edited by his Literary Executors, Horace L. Traubel, Richard Maurice Bucke, Thomas B. Harned and a page from the Conservator containing the poem "At the Graveside of Walt Whitman.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • 1. Engraving of Whitman. Bust. Boston. Stephen Alonzo Schoff after an oil portrait by Charles W. Hine - 1860
    This is the only likeness of himself not based on a photograph that Whitman used in his books. Whitman called it "characteristic," and noted that "I was in full bloom then: weighed two hundred and ten pounds" "in those years I was in the best health: not a thing amiss."
  • 2. Photograph of Whitman sitting sideways at desk with his head leaning on his hand. "Photo'd from life, September '72, Brooklyn, N.Y. by G.F.E. Pearsall, Fulton St. (Printed by D. F. Spieler, Phila.)" - 1872
  • 3. Photograph of Whitman with white hair and beard and wearing a tall hat. "Phototype. F. Gutekunst. Philadelphia" On back: "Saunders #76", Philadelphia. Frederick Gutekunst - 1880
    This photograph appears in 1889 Leaves of Grass (pocket edition). Whitman asked Horace Traubel about this photo: "Do you think it glum? severe? I have had that suspicion but most people won't hear of it." When Traubel dissented, Whitman said, "I hope your view is correct: I don't want to figure anywhere as misanthropic, sour, doubtful: as a discourager - as a putter-out of lights." Whitman records in his daybooks receiving photos from Gutekunst in March 1880.
  • 4. Photograph of Whitman with white hair and beard and wearing a tall hat. On back of framed photo "Sarony 1872. Saunders #37.1" New York. Napoleon Sarony. July - 1878
    In July 1878, Whitman was invited by Sarony to sit for a group of portraits; this and eight other photographs are the result. Whitman wrote Harry Stafford on the afternoon after the sitting at "the great photographic establishment" that he "had a real pleasant time". In the Library of Congress copy, Whitman erroneously dates this photograph 1872.
  • 5. Photograph of unidentified woman. "Phototype. F Gutekunst. Philadelphia"
  • 6. Photograph of unidentified man. "Phototype. F. Gutekunst. Philadelphia"
  • 7. Double image of number 2 above
    Stored on shelf
  • Folder. Gift of Augustana College.
  • Prospectus for In Re Walt Whitman: Edited by his Literary Executors, Horace L. Traubel, Richard Maurice Bucke, Thomas B. Harned
  • A page from the Conservator containing the poem "At the Graveside of Walt Whitman"

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.