Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the George S. Smith Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1862-1890s
Creator: Smith, George S.
Extent: .25 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0890
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Civil war diary; diary of a minister in the Church of Christ in Kellogg, Iowa.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Box 1

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was purchased by the University of Iowa Libraries in 2003.

Preferred Citation: George S. Smith Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Two diaries, one from the Civil War with entries describing engagements with the enemies as well as routine daily entries; the other details the life of a minister in the Chuch of Christ around Kellogg, Iowa.
Received with this collection was a cloth broadside upholding prohibition and signed in type by Smith. This was removed to the x broadside collection and given the call number xfNC1849 W36 T45 1888

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Tintype, presumably of George S. Smith in uniform, with his wife
  • 170 page manuscript diary and account book - 1874-1878
    Details his preaching discourses and telling of his life in and around Kellogg, Iowa as a minister in the Church of Christ. He includes the town where he preached, what text he took for his sermon, miles travelled, and how much he was paid. Bound in tan sueded leather.
  • A ledger diary containing entries for Company E, 83rd Ohio Regiment, with sometimes daily entries. Bound in brown leather
  • When these entries are routine they are short, but when there has been some action he recounts it in some detail, as the following excerpt (corrected for spelling and punctuation) shows: - 1865
    "[April] 9th, 1865. Not very much firing in the forenoon. Spanish Fort surrendered this morning. Report of the fall of the domed city of Richmond and Petersburg. Received orders to go to the front rifle pit at 3 o'clock p.m. and when we got there and got our lines formed received orders to be ready to seal the work at the word forward and then to storm the rebel works. Received the orders forward at 5 o'clock p.m. Every man sealed his rifle pit and went with a yell for the rebel fort through a grueling fire of musketry shell and grape shot but nevertheless we went into the rebel works and made them surrender capturing about 3000 prisoners and 20 pieces of artillery. Engagement lasted about 55 minutes. Captured two brigadier generals. . . 6 killed and 27 wounded."
  • This is followed in the same ledger book by clippings about post-war politics
  • There are some other miscellaneous entries about clothing allotment and sermons preached and letters sent and received
  • Laid in are a printed Church Covenant
  • A testimonial for the Smiths
  • A letter to Mrs. Sarah Smith dated January 21 - 1867
    containing portions written by three different groups of people: Mary and Sam (no last name), Catherine and Peter Orebaugh, and Mollie Orebaugh

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.