Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the M. Horvat National Fantasy Fan Federation Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1942-2008
Creator: Horvat, M. M.
Extent: 1.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0886
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Collection of materials from the National Fantasy Fan Federation (N3F), a major and venerable SF fannish organization. Materials include administrative documents, publications, and records from N3F subsidiary bodies.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use:

Acquisition: Most of the materials in this collection were acquired from Mike Horvat in December 2004. Copies of the 2004-2008 "National Fantasy Fan" were acquired from Jon D. Swartz, N3F Historian, in December 2008 and added to the Horvat N3F Collection. The collection was processed in early 2009.

Preferred Citation: M. Horvat National Fantasy Fan Federation Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Biographical Note
 
Martin M. (Mike) Horvat is a printer and collector in Stayton, Oregon. For many years, his collecting focused on general circulation science fiction magazines and fanzines. Horvat founded the American Private Press Association and, during the 1970s and 1980s, published South of the Moon, a catalog of publications of amateur press associations. As a result of this endeavor, and because Horvat himself was a prolific amateur publisher and apa contributor, he ended up collecting a vast archive of apazines as well.
 
Historical Note
 
In 1941 science fiction author and fan Damon Knight published an article entitled "Unite or Die!'. In it Knight, a member of the New York-based Futurians, proposed the creation of a national organization of science fiction fans, that would facilitate communication and social contact among fans separated by distance.
 
Until Knight's proposal, fannish activities were generally limited to local or regional organizations (i.e. the Futurians or the Boston-based Stranger Club). Major methods of communication between fans involved written exchanges in the letter columns of SF prozines such as "Astounding Science Fiction" and "Amazing Stories". In this highly fragmented, individualized and relatively inefficient atmosphere, Knight's proposal was enthusiastically welcomed, and the N3F was born, established initially by elements of the Stranger Club and containing 64 charter members. It continues to thrive today as a forum for fans to meet, organize, and participate in a number of fannish activities.
 
The N3F was, and is, a highly structured organization, with a written constitution, a president, a board of directors, a secretary and a treasurer. It consists of a number of subsidiary bureaus that organize and operate fannish activities: these bureaus as of 2009 include Art, Birthday Cards, Blind Services, Computer Gaming, Convention Coordinator, Correspondence, Fan Clubs, Future Fandom, Gaming, Kaymar and Neffy Awards, N3F Bookworms, N'APA (the club's apa), Short Story Contest, Mangaverse, Teaching Science Fiction, Welcommittee (the bureau for new members), and Writer's Exchange. Other bureaus relate to more specific organizational matters such as membership cards and drives and the e-mail directory.
 
One of the N3F's more popular activities is its Round Robins. Round robins are groups of members with interest in a specific genre topic. Each RR has a Robin Master, who starts the group by sending a letter or e-mail to one of the other members; that person adds their contribution and sends both items on to the next person in the group. Each time the packet returns to a member, they remove their previous contribution and insert a new one, often containing responses to what other RR members have written.
 
The club's official/organizational publication is the "National Fantasy Fan" (it had been preceded for the first few years of the club's existence by "Bonfire"). The club's apa is called N'APA (Neffer Amateur Press Alliance, and its apazine is entitled "Alliance Amateur". For many years the N3F published a letterzine entitled "Tightbeam"; this zine served the same purpose as the old prozine letter columns and ongoing apazines - as a forum for the exchange of letters and ideas among fans.

This collection consists of various materials produced by the National Fantasy Fan Federation (N3F) through much of its existence and assembled by Mike Horvat. Materials include administrative materials such as membership rosters, records relating to N3F bodies such as the Collector's Bureau and the Tape Bureau, and assorted fannish informational items produced by the N3F.

Most of the collection consists of N3F publications, particularly the club's organizational organ "National Fantasy Fan" and the letterzine "Tightbeam". The club also produces an apazine, entitled the "Alliance Amateur", issues of which are housed in the M. Horvat Collection of Genre Apazines (MsC 825).
HORVAT, M. The M. Horvat Collection of Science Fiction Convention Materials, 1943-2000. Materials produced for or relating to numerous science fiction conventions, including progress reports, advertisements, newsletters, and assorted ephemera. MsC0884.

HORVAT, M. The M. Horvat Collection of Science Fiction Fanzines, 1925-2002. 96 ft. A large collection, stretching across the 20th century, of science fiction fanzines, together with some assorted "genzines" (general issue magazines concerned with SF). MsC0791.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: MISCELLANEOUS
Series 2: PUBLICATIONS

  • Series 1: MISCELLANEOUS
  • Box 1:
  • Author Indexes to Prozines - 1963-1964
  • Background and Historical Information -  1972-1974
    Undated
  • Collector's Bureau - 1967-1968, 1970
    Undated
  • Constitutions - 1970, 1972-1974, 1977, 1979
  • Information Pamphlets - 1951, 1957-1958, 1962-1963, 1965, 1971
  • Membership Applications
    Undated
  • Membership Rosters - 1955, 1959, 1962-1965, 1968-1972, 1976, 1984
  • Miscellaneous Materials - 1956, 1958, 1964-1966, 1971-1972, 1974, 1978-1979, 1981
    Undated
  • Short Story Contest -  1961, 1963-1964, 1969-1970, 1974, 1981, 1995, 1999
  • Tape Bureau: Library Contents - 1969-1975
    Undated
  • Writer's Exchange
    Undated
  • Writer Handbooks - 1970
    Undated
  • Series 2: PUBLICATIONS
  • Box 1:
  • Bonfire [Bulletin of the N3F] (April, May) - 1942, 1981
  • Bullzine [N3F Welcommittee] (November, August) - 1958, 1965
  • Bullzine [N3F Welcommittee] Issues No. 2-4, 6-7, 9-10 - 1968
  • Bullzine [N3F Welcommittee] Issues No. 61-67 (January-November) - 1969
  • Bullzine [N3F Welcommittee] Issues No. 69-72 (March-September, February, April) - 197,019,781,979
  • Collector's Bulletin [N3F Collector's Bureau] (November, June, April) - 196,719,681,969
  • Diplomania [N3F Games Bureau, Diplomacy Division] (November) - 1971
  • The Gamesman [N3F Games Bureau] Issue No. 1 (n.d)
  • Ionisphere [N3F Fan/Pro Coordinating Activity] (November, August, February) - 1978, 1979, 1980
  • Kaymar Trader [N3f Trade Bureau] (May, March, October, June) - 1954, 1955
  • Miscellaneous Publications (n.d) -  1966, 1978
  • The National Fantasy Fan (February, June-December) - 1964
  • The National Fantasy Fan (January-December) - 1968
  • The National Fantasy Fan (February-April, August-December, June, August, October) - 19,691,970
  • The National Fantasy Fan (February-December) - 1971, 1972
  • The National Fantasy Fan (February-August, December, February-December) - 1973, 1974
  • The National Fantasy Fan (February-December, April) - 1975, 1976
  • The National Fantasy Fan (April, October-December) - 1977
  • The National Fantasy Fan (February-August) - 1978
  • The National Fantasy Fan (February-December, April-October, February-April, August-October) - 1979, 1980, 1981
  • The National Fantasy Fan (February-December, June) - 198,219,861,987
  • The National Fantasy Fan (September-December, December, March-June) - 2002, 2003, 2004,
  • The National Fantasy Fan (March, March-June, June/September) - 2005, 2006, 2008
  • The National Fantasy Taper (September/October, January-February, August) - 1962, 1963
  • Newsletter, Issues No. 1-2 (n.d) (January) - 1971
  • NFFF Collector [N3F Collector's Bureau] (Winter) - 1976
  • Replay [N3F Tape Bureau] Issue No. 2, No. 3-13, No. 14-17 - 1970
  • Replay [N3F Tape Bureau] Issue No. 19-23, No. 27-31, No. 32-35 - 1970, 1971, 1972
  • Replay [N3F Tape Bureau] Issue No. 36, No. 41, No, 45-47 - 1973, 1975, 1978
  • Box 2:
  • Tape Bureau Newsletter (July, December, September, January) - 1965, 1966, 1967
  • Thru The Haze [Art Hayes: Nonofficial N3F Publication] Issue No. 3, No. 2, 4, 16, No. 30, (March-December, January-April, August) - 1961, 1962, 1964, 1968, 1969
  • Tightbeam (December, September, January-August, November) - 1963, 194, 1966
  • Tightbeam (January-November, January-December) - 1967, 1968
  • Tightbeam (January-November, January/March-July/August, November/December) - 1969, 1970
  • Tightbeam (January/February-November/December, January/February-September/October) - 1971, 1972
  • Tightbeam (May/June, March/April, July/August) - 1974, 1976
  • Tightbeam (January-November, January, July, September-November) - 1978, 1979,
  • Tightbeam (March-November, January-March) - 1980, 1981

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
Fandom-Related Collections