Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Comic Books of the Bronze Age

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1969-1986
Creator: Friedman, Ken
Extent: .
Collection Number: MSC0883
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: COMIC BOOKS. Comic Books of the Bronze Age, 1969-1986, bulk dates 1970-1976.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Comic Books of the Bronze Age, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Ken Friedman was born on September 19, 1949 in New London, Connecticut. He matriculated at Shimer College in Mount Carroll, Illinois from 1966-1967. He received his Master of Arts in Interdisciplinary Studies at San Francisco State University in 1971. In 1976 he received his doctorate from United States International University.

He has been an important figure in the Fluxus movement, an internanationl laboratory for experimental art, architecture, design, literature, and music. He has been involved in the mail art movement. He has written extensively on these movements.

From 1994-2009 Friedmans served on the faculty at the Norwegian School of Management in Oslo as well as at the Design Research Center at the Danish School of Design in Copenhagen from 2003-2009. In October 2007 he was appointed Dean of the Faculty of Design at Swinburne University of Technology in Melbourne, Australia.

This collection consists of 3.5 linear feet of comic books given to the libraries by Ken Friedman. Note that the issue numbers and date-spans listed in the finding aid for each title indicate the spread of dates for which we possess issues. They do not indicate uninterupted runs.
The University of Iowa is the official repository for the Friedman's works and papers, which are held in the Ken Friedman Archive and Collection.

Other comic book collections in the University of Iowa Special Collections include The ATCA Comics Collection (MsC 780), which consists of Artists' and underground comics 1969-1979; the The Jen Wolfe Collection of Female-Driven Comic Books (MsC 879,) which contains comics from 1948-2006; and The Papers of Thomas Ollive Mabbott Burton Pollin Illustrated Poe Addendum (MsC 429), which includes many comic book editions of Poe's short stories.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
    Titles - listed alphabetically boxes 1 - 4
  • Box 1:
  • Archie  [Archie Comic Publications]
  • #82-228 July 1970- August 1973
  • Archie [Archie Comic Publications]
  • #234-245 April 1974- January 1976
  •   [Archie Comic Publications]
  • #36-79 August 1970-December1975
  • Archie: Betty and Me  [Close-Up Inc.]
  • #57-74 June 1974-April 1976
  • Archie: Everything's Archie  [Archie Music Corp.]
  • #8-46 June 1970-April 1976
  • Archie's Girls: Betty and Veronica [Close-up Inc.]
  • #221-244 May 1974- April 1976
  • Archie: Jughead Series  [Archie Comic Publications]
  • #21-240 October 1970-September 1975
  • Archie: Life with Archie  [Archie Comic Publications]
  • #142-167 February 1974-May 1976
  • Archie: Mad House Series  [Archie Enterprises]
  • #92-100 March 1974-November 1975
  • Archie's Pals 'n' Gals  [Archie Comic Publications]
  • #69-90 April 1972-December 1974
  • Archie: Reggie and Me  [Close-Up Inc.]
  • #70-85 May 1974-March 1976
  • Archie at Riverdale High  [Archie Enterprises]
  • #7-21 June 1973-December 1974
  • Atlas  [National Periodical Publications]
  • #1 April 1975
  • Avengers, The [Magazine Management Co.]
  • #75-101 April 1970-July 1972
  • Beast, The [Magazine Management Co.]
  • #13 July 1972
  • Black Goliath  [Marvel Comics Group]
  • #1 February 1976
  • Captain America  [Magazine Management Co.]
  • #139-140 July 1971-August 1971
  • Captain Marvel [Magazine Management Co.]
  • #16-21 September 1969-July 1970
  • Captain Savage [Magazine Management Co.]
  • #8-19 November 1968-March 1970
  • Cat, The [Magazine Management Co.]
  • #2 January 1973
  • Chamber of Chills [Marvel Comics Group]
  • #13-22 November 1974-May 1976
  • Chamber of Darkness [Magazine Management Co.]
  • #3-4 March 1970-April 1970
  • Code Name Assassin [National Periodical Publications]
  • #11 February 1976
  • Combat Kelly [Magazine Management Co.]
  • #3 October 1972
  • Conan the Barbarian [Magazine Management Co.]
  • #16 July 1972
  • Creatures [Magazine Management Co.]
  • #10-15 March 1971-January 1972
  • Daredevil [Magazine Management co.]
  • #55-59 August 1969-December 1969
  • #60-66 January 1970-July 1970
  • #2-79 February 1971-August 1971
  • #128-133 December 1975- May 1976
  • Deathlok the Demolisher
  • #35 May 1976
  • Defenders, The [Marvel Comics Group]
  • #34 April 1976
  • Demon, The [National Periodical Publications]
  • #1 August-September 1972
  • Dr. Strange [Magazine Management Co.]
  • #180-183 May 1969-November 1969
  • Enemy Ace [National Periodical Publications]
  • #58-149 October 1965-March 1970
  • Falling in Love [National Periodical Publications]
  • #135 August  1972
  • Fantastic Four [Marvel Comics Group]
  • #91 October 1969
  • #69-101 March 1970-August 1970
  • #106-111 January 1971-June 1971
  • #112-32 July 1971-December 1971
  • #121 April 1972
  • #166 January 1976          
  • Fear [Magazine Management Co.]
  • #9-10 August 1972-October 1972
  • From Beyond the Unknown [National Periodical Publications]
  • #24 October 1973
  • Ghost Rider  [Marvel Comics Group]
  • #5-13 August 1972-August 1975
  • Girls' Love Stories [National Periodical Publications]
  • #173 September 1972
  • Golem [Marvel Comics Group]
  • #174-176 October 1974-November 1974
  • Gunhawks [Marvel Comics Group]
  • #1-6 October 1972-August 1973
  • Heart Throbs [National Periodical Publications]
  • #144 August 1972
  • Hero for Hire [Magazine Management Co.]
  • #5 January 1973
  • House of Mystery [National Periodical Publications]
  • #200 March 1972
  • House of Secrets [National Periodical Pubications]
  • #140 March 1976
  • Howard the Duck [Marvel Comics Group]
  • #7 December 1976
  • Box 2:
  • Incredible Hulk, The [Marvel Comics Group]
  • #127-190 May 1970-August 1975
  • Inhumans and the Black Widow [Magazine Management Co.]
  • #1-8 August 1970-September 1971
  • Iron Man [Magazine Management Co.]
  • #13-20 May 1969-December 1969
  • #24-31 April 1970-November 1970
  • #36-41 April 1971-September1971
  • #44-50 January 1972-September 1972
  • #82-85 January 1976-April 1976
  • Iron Man - Daredevil [Magazine Management Co.]
  • #28-29 October 1970-January 1971
  • Journey into Mystery [Marvel Comics Group]
  • #10-13 April 1974-October 1974
  • Justice League of America [National Periodical Publications]
  • #107 October 1973
  • Kamandi the Last Boy on Earth [National Periodical Publications]
  • #8-26 August 1973-February 1975
  • Karate Kid [National Periodical Publications]
  • #1 April 1976
  • Ka-Zar [Magazine Management Co.]
  • #2-6 December 1970-June 1971
  • Kid Colt Outlaw [Marvel Comics Group]
  • #151-206 December 1970-May 1976
  • Killraven [Marvel Comics Group]
  • #34 January 1976
  • Kull the Conqueror [Magazine Management Co.]
  • #3 July 1972
  • Kung-Fu Fighter [National Periodical Publications]
  • #6 March 1976
  • Lady Cop [National Periodical Publications]
  • #4 July 1975
  • Liberty Legion [Marvel Comics Group]
  • #29 April 1976
  • Manhunter, The [National Periodical Publications]
  • #5 August 1975
  • Master of Kung-Fu [Marvel Comics Group]
  • #20-35 September 1974-December 1975
  • Mighty Thor, The [MArvel Comics Group]
  • #176-254 May1970-December 1976
  • Mister Miracle [National Periodical Publications]
  • #11-17 December 1972-January 1974
  • Monsters [Marvel Comics Group]
  • #4-27 July 1970-March 1974
  • New Gods, The [National Periodical Publications]
  • #10 September 1972
  • Omac [National Periodical Publications]
  • #2 December 1974
  • Our Love Story [Marvel Comics Group]
  • #19-38 October 1972-February 1976
  • Outlaw Kid, The [Marvel comics Group]
  • #1-18 August 1970-October 1973
  • Phantom Stranger, The [National Periodical Publications]
  • #21 October 1972
  • Prez [National Periodical Publications]
  • #2 November 1973
  • Rawhide Kid [Marvel Comics Group]
  • #70-35 June 1969-October 1974
  • Richie Rich [Harvey Publications]
  • #85-88 September 1969-December 1969
  • #37-49 April 1971-September 1971
  • #2-3 December 1972
  • #8 September,October 1973
  • #9-55 February 1974-April 1974
  • #4-137 February 1975-December 1975
  • #75-76 January 1976-March 1976
  • Ringo Kid [Marvel Comics Group]
  • #1-25 January 1970-January1976
  • Sgt. Fury [Perfect Film and Chemical Corp.]
  • #61 December 1968
  • #69-73 August 1969-December 1969
  • #74-79 Januaray 1970-June 1970
  • #6-82 August 1970-December 1970
  • #83-87 January 1971-May 1971
  • #88-7 June 1971-November 1971
  • #94-102 January 1972-September 1972
  • #110-14 May 1973-November 1973
  • #118-123 March 1974-November 1974
  • #127-134 July 1975-July 1976
  • Shield [Marvel Comics Group]
  • #11-?? April 1969-October 1973
  • Box 3:
  • Silver Surfer, The [Magazine Management Co.]
  • #9-10 October 1969-November 1969
  • #12-18 January 1970-September 1970
  • Skull, The Slayer [Marvel Comics Group]
  • #4 March 1976
  • Son of Satan [Marvel Comics Group]
  • #5 February 1976
  • Spider-man, The Amazing [Magazine Management co.]
  • #81-91 February 1970-December 1970
  • #92-98 January 1971-July 1971
  • #99-8 August 1971-December 1971
  • #154-156 March 1975-May 1976
  • Star Spangled War Stories [National Periodical Publications]
  • #156 May 1971
  • Sub-Mariner [Magazine Management]
  • #19 November 1969
  • #21-31 January 1970-November 1970
  • #35-38 March 1971-June 1971
  • #39-41 July 1971-Spetember 1971
  • #51 July 1972
  • Box 4:
  • Supergirl [National Periodical Publications]
  • #398 October 1970
  • Superman [National Periodical Publications]
  • #298 April 1976
  • Superman's Girl Friend [National Periodical Publications]
  • #110 May 1971
  • Thor [Marvel Comics Group]
  • #179-247 August 1970-May 1976
  • Tomb of Darkness [Marvel Comics Group]
  • #9-20 July1974-May1976
  • Tomb of Dracula
  • #3-44 July 1972-May1976
  • Tower of Shadows [Magazine Management Co.]
  • #2 November1969
  • Two-Gun Kid [Marvel Comics Group]
  • #97-112 March 1971-September 1973
  • Uncanny Tales [Marvel Comics Group]
  • #4 June 1974      
  • Unexpected [National Periodical PUblications]
  • #171 February 1976
  • Vault of Evil [Marvel Comics Groups]
  • #6 October 1973
  • War of the Worlds [Marvel Comics Group]
  • #23 March 1973
  • Warlock [Magazine Management Co.]
  • #2 May1972
  • Weird Western Tales [National Periodical Publications]
  • # 20-30 December 1973-October 1975
  • Weird Wonder Tales [Marvel Comics Group]
  • # 4 June 1974
  • Werewolf by Night [Marvel Comics Group]
  • #17 May 1974
  • Western Kid, The [Magazine Management Co.]
  • #4 June 1972
  • Wulf, The Barbarian [Seaboard Periodicals]
  • #1 February 1975
  • X-Men, The [Magazine Management Co.]
  • #62-98 February 1969-April 1976
  • Young Love [National Periodical Publications]
  • #98-99 August 1972-September 1972
  • Young Romance [National Periodical Publications]
  • #184-186 July 1972-September 1972

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
Twentieth Century Avant-Garde Art
Alternative Traditions in the Contemporary Arts (ATCA)
Comic Books