Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Guy Miller Amateur Journals Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1933 -1989
Creator: Miller, Guy
Extent: .80 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0881
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Collection of amateur print publications, most dating from the early and mid 20th century.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated by Guy Miller in August 2008.

Preferred Citation: Guy Miller Amateur Journals Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Guy Miller has been active for decades in the field of amateur printing and journalism. He has served as president of "The Fossils," billed as the historians of amateur journalism, and was a friend and collaborator of Willametta Turnepseed and many other amateur printers.

This collection consists of a number of published products from various amateur printers, most dating from the early and mid-20th century. The majority of the collection consists of a fairly complete run of Literary Newsette, issued from 1941-1989 by prominent printer and National Amateur Printing Association (NAPA) officer Willametta Turnepseed (Keffer) and her collaborators.
GERINGER, LAUREN, 1908-1992. Lauren Geringer Papers, 1919-1992. 1.75 ft.

Iowa City printer and author. The bulk of the collection is comprised of monthly bundles from amateur press associations during 1990 and 1991, including the Amalgamated Printers Association, the National Amateur Press Association, and Peat's press. Items from Geringer's Press, clippings about Geringer, a miscellaneous collection of samples of printing, and several editions of his small journal, People Watcher make up the remainderof the collection. MsC0847.

ROW, HEATH. Heath Row Amateur Press Association Collection, 1934-2010. 2.0 ft.

Zine writer and editor, and member of multiple amateur press associations. Includes apa publications, apa official organs, and assorted loose ajay publications. MsC0364.

RUBEN, ELLIOTT M., 1916-2009. Elliott M. Ruben Amateur Press Association Collection, 1926-2009. 30 ft.

Amateur journalist and member of a number of amateur press associations. Bundles of apa publications, apa official journals, correspondence, official apa documents, and Ruben's childhood efforts at printing. MsC0336.

TURNEPSEED, WILLAMETTA, 1909-1989. Papers of Burton Jay Smith and Willametta Turnepseed, 1941-1944. 0.8 ft.

Correspondence, chiefly love letters, between amateur printers Smith and Turnepseed, together with a few additional materials, including copies of their co-edited Literary Newsette. Many of Smith's letters document his activities training as a navigator in the United States Army Air Force, 1943-1944. MsC0868.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Bellette 19 - 20; Edna Hyde McDonald, ed. - January 1945 - May 1946
  • The Grape Vine; Willametta Keffer, ed.
  • 1 - 3, 12 - 14 (January - March 1983; December 1983 - February 1984)
  • 52 - 53, 55 (April - May 1987; July 1987)
  • 61 - 68 (January - August 1988)
  • 70 -77 (October 1988 - May 1989)
  • Literary Newsette - Burton Jay Smith and Willametta Turnepseed, eds. (From issue #179, Turnepseed only.)
  • 1 - 7, 9 - 25 (April - July 5, 1941; July 12 - October 8, 1941)
  • 26 - 40, 42 - 50 (October 22 - December 6, 1941; December 13, 1941 - January 31, 1942)
  • 51 - 56, 58 - 71, 73 - 75 (February 3 - February 25, 1942; March 14 - May 20, 1942; May 30 - June 3, 1942)
  • 76 - 100 (June 6 - early November 1942)
  • 101 - 150 (November 14, 1942 - January 16, 1944)
  • 151 - 197, 199 - 200 (January 29, 1944 - March 15, 1945; April 6 - 16, 1945)
  • Literary Newsette; Willametta Turnepseed, ed. (From issue #266, Willametta Keffer)
  • 201 - 202, 204 - 250 (April 30 - May 7, 1945; May 26, 1945 - February 10, 1947)
  • 251 - 267 (February 21 - August 10, 1947), 269 - 270 (October 10 - November 10, 1947), 272 - 274 (January 10 - March 6, 1948),
  • 276 - 290 (April 15 - December 28, 1948), 292 - 296 (January 15 - March 15, 1949), 298 - 300 (April 15 - June 15, 1949)
  • 301 - 311 (July 1, 1949 - November 8, 1950), 313 - 344 (February 14, 1951 - Christmas 1953), 346 - 350 (December 29, 1953 - February 20, 1954)
  • Box 2:
  • Literary Newsette - Willametta Keffer, ed.
  • 351 - 359 (April 5 - August 21, 1954), 361 - 400 (October 6, 1954 - April 1959)
  • 401 - 416 (July 1959 - January 1961), 418 (March 1961), 421 - 437 (January 1962 - December 1963), 439 - 444 (April 1964 - April  1965), 446 (May 1965)
  • 452 (July 1965), 456 - 457 (October - November 1965), 460 - 461 (February - March 1966), 463 (April 1966), 470 (July 1966), 473 (September 1966), 475 (November 1966)
  • 477 (December 1966), 482 - 483 (March 1967), 485 (April 1967), 493 - 495 (July - September 1967), 497 - 498 (November 1967)
  • 503 - 504 (April - May 1968), 507 - 510 (July - September 1968), 515 - 517 (January - February 1969), 531 (April 1970), 534 - 535 (June- July 1970), 544 (February 1971)
  • 557 (March 1972), 561 - 562 (July 1972), 564 - 568 (September - December 1972), 572 - 574 (April - June 1973)
  • 576 - 582 (July 1973 - January/February 1974), 586 (October-November 1974), 592 - 593 (December 1975 - August 1976), 595 (January 1977), 600 (March 1978)
  • 601 - 618 (December 1978 - September 1980), 621 - 624 (November 1980 - January 1981), 627 (March 1981), 629 (March 1981),
  • 630 - 643 (April 1981 - April 1982), 645 - 650 (April - September 1982)
  • 651 - 656 (October 1982 - March 1983), 666 (January 1984), 670 - 671 (May - June 1984)
  • 681 (May 1985), 704 - 705 (April - May 1987), 707 (July 1987), 713 - 727 (January 1988 - March 1989), 729 (May 1989)
  • Lo-qui-tur 1; 3 - 4 (1940, August 1941 - April 1942), Springfield, Ohio Chapter of NAPA, eds.
  • NAPA Administrative Material: 1954, 1965 - 1966, 1969
  • The NAPA Mailer - Willametta Turnepseed, ed.
  • Vol. 2 - Issues 4 and 11 - November 15, 1940; June 15, 1941
  • The NAPA Mailer - Alma L. Weixelbaum, ed.
  • Vol.3 - Issue 11 June 16, 1942
  • The Perspective Review; 34, 36 - 37 (May 1933, July - August 1933), Chester P. Bradley, ed.
  • The Wolverine - Michigan Amateur Press Association, eds. - July 5, 1934

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
Zines and the Amateur Press