Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Rosanne Klass Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1951-2008
Creator: Klass, Rosanne
Extent: 1.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0872
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Author of Land of the High Flags: A Travel Memoir of Afghanistan. The collection consists of manuscripts for this book, articles, correspondence, and other miscellany.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs Box 3

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Rosanne Klass Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Rosanne Klass was born in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. She received a B.A. at the University of Wisconsin and her M.A. at Hunter College. In the early 1950s she went with her husband to Afghanistan to teach English. In 1964, she published Land of the High Flags about her experiences in Afghanistan and in the sixties she returned to Afghanistan as a journalist. In 1978 she published Afghanistan: The Great Game Revisited. After the Soviet invasion, she helped establish the Afghan Relief Committee which provided humanitarian aid to the country, and she served as vice-president for programs for the Committee from 1980 to 1996. In the 1980s she managed the Afghanistan Information Center at Freedom House, a clearinghouse for human rights information about Afghanistan for the international media.
 
She has written essays for many publications, including Foreign Affairs, The New York Times, Asia, and Les Nouvelles d'Afghanistan. She lectures widely in the United States and Europe. Living in New York, Klass edited Spotlight for some time.
 
In 2007, Land of the High Flags was reissued with the subtitle Afghanistan When the Going Was Good.

The collection is comprised of draft manuscripts of Land of the High Flags, notes, reviews, illustrations and photographs for this book. Correspondence from Klass to her family from the East and correspondence with Random House also form part of this collection. Also included are copies of articles Klass wrote.
Ms. Klass has placed the bulk of her material at the The Paul H. Nitze School of Advanced International Studies (SAIS)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 2: MISCELLANEOUS
Series 3: WRITINGS: ARTICLES
Series 4: BOOKS: LAND OF THE HIGH FLAGS

  • Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • Family
  • Random House, including correspondence with Bennett Cerf and Albert Erskine
  • Series 2: MISCELLANEOUS
  • Box 1:
  • Contract for teaching in Afghanistan
  • Philip Klass (Rosanne's brother and famous "debunker")
  • Spotlight
  • Triegle tribute concert
  • Gul Baz Khan's account book - 1950-1959
    Gul Baz was her house manager in Kabul and the notebook reflects the costs and methods of running a household in Kabul in the 1950s
  • Series 3: WRITINGS: ARTICLES
  • Box 2:
  • "In the Tents of Kabul"
  • Ms about living in Kabul
  • "Missing in Action"
  • "Pakistan's Costly Delusion"
  • Various articles
  • Series 4: BOOKS: LAND OF THE HIGH FLAGS
  • Box 2:
  • Notes
  • Illustrations
  • Outline and first submission
  • Early versions
    2 folders
  • Author's first proofs
  • Author's second proofs
    2 folders
  • Box 3:
  • Setting copy
    2 folders
  • Plate proofs
    2 folders
  • Photographs
  • Reviews

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.