Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Iowa Author's Manuscripts Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1888-1990
Creator: Iowa Author's
Extent: 16.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0869
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Includes manuscripts, galley proofs, page proofs, dust jackets, and other miscellany associated with publications of many Iowa Authors.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs throughout.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Various sources at different times. This is an aggregate collection.

Preferred Citation: Iowa Author's Manuscripts Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Multiple manuscripts for numerous Iowa authors are collected here.
 
Abbe,George
 
Aldrich, Bess
 
Andreas,Osborn
 
Argow,Waldemar
 
Aurner, Nellie
 
Baker, Laura Nelson
 
Baker, Richard Terrill
 
Bissell, Bess
 
Brown, Charles
 
Brown, Lewis H.
 
Buxbaum, Katherine
 
Calhoun, Mary Huiskamp
 
Carlson, Esther
 
Carver, Thomas Nixon
 
Cassill, R. Verlin
 
Clark, Glenn
 
Colby, Anthony
 
Crary, Margaret
 
Darling, Frederick
 
Donovan, Josephine Berry
 
Duncan, Actea Carolyn Young
 
Eastman, Harold Lloyd
 
Elston, Hattie Phinnette
 
Gard, Wayne
 
Gavitt, Benjamin H.
 
Gearhart, Susan Merriam
 
Gingerich, Melvin
 
Gould (Charles) Bruce
 
Hale, Arlene
 
Hall, Lynn
 
Hoeltje, Hubert
 
Hoffman, Mathias Martin
 
Hughes, Rupert
 
Humphrey, James
 
Hunn, L.E. "Jack"
 
Jorgenson, George and Nora
 
Kauffman, Ray Franklin
 
Kemp, Charles F.
 
Kramer, Dale
 
Lafferty, R.A.
 
LeSueur, Meridel
 
Loeser, Katinka
 
McClurg, William H.
 
McHale, Tom
 
McInerney, Carl
 
Moeller, Dorothy
 
Murphy, Thomas Dowler
 
Nelson Evelyn and Violet
 
O'Connor, Rose Agnes
 
Olson, Eugene
 
Olson, Harry Ferdinand
 
Painter, Eleanor
 
Paluka, Frank
 
Perrin, Joyce
 
Petersen, William John
 
Peterson, Virgil W.
 
Porter, Ella Williams
 
Prange, Gordon W.
 
Quick, Herbert
 
Randolph, Colonel Charles D
 
Reed, Warren A.
 
Rosheim, David L
 
Rowan, Edward Beatty
 
Saunders, William Irving
 
Schell, James Peery
 
Schoonover, Lawrence
 
Seagrave, Sadie Fuller
 
Sheets, George March
 
Sherman, Richard
 
Shultz, Gladys Denny
 
Simpson, Frank B.
 
Smith, Grace Noll
 
Smith, Lewis Worthington
 
Stevenson, Neal
 
Taylor, James C
 
Trueblood, D. Elton
 
Van Etten, Mrs. Winifred
 
Ver Duft, Lee
 
Wallace, Zella
 
Wandrey, Ralph H.

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Saunders, William Irving
Simpson, Frank B.
Smith, Grace Noll, 1878-1974
Ver Duft, Lee, 1910-
Abbe, George, 1911-1989
Rosheim, David L.
Rowan, Edward Beatty, 1898-1946
Smith, Lewis Worthington, 1866-1947
Ward, Leo R. (Leo Richard), 1893-
Bissell, Bess G., 1908-1970
Brown, Lewis H. (Lewis Herold), 1894-
Carlson, Esther Elizabeth
Cassill, R. V. (Ronald Verlin), 1919-2002
Clark, Glenn, 1882-1956
Colby, Anthony Owen
Crary, Margaret
Eastman, Harold Lloyd
Elston, Hattie Phinnette, 1900-
Elston, Hattie Phinnette, 1900-
Zaffiras, George John, 1917-
Zaffiras, George John, 1917-

Corporate Names:
Drake University
Johns-Manville, Incorporated
Radio Corporation of America
University of Iowa
University of Iowa

Dates:
20th century
20th century

Topics:
Poetry
Authors, American
Legends
Poets, American
Acoustical engineering
Alumni and alumnae
American literature
Authors, American
Authors, American
Authors, American
Authors, American
Authors, American
Authors, American
Authors, American
Authors, American
Authors, American
Children's literature
Fiction
Frontier and pioneer life
Missions
Newspapers
Presbyterian Church
Presbyterian Church
Women authors
Women authors
Women authors, American
Women authors, American
Women authors, American
Women in the humanities

Occupations:
Authors
Poets
Business economists
Civil servants
Clergy
Directors of corporations
Engineers
Physicians

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa
United States -- Iowa -- Iowa City
United States -- Minnesota
United States -- Iowa
United States -- Iowa
United States -- Iowa
United States -- Iowa
United States -- Iowa
United States -- Iowa
Middle West
Middle West

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Archives
Scores
Articles
Drafts (Documents)
First drafts
Galley proofs
Holographs (Autographs)
Sheet music
Clippings (Information artifacts)
Manuscripts (Document genre)
Manuscripts for publication
Proofs (Printed matter)
Short stories
Songs
Sources
Typescripts
Photocopies
Annual reports
Archives
Archives
Archives
Archives
Archives
Archives
Archives
Archives
Archives
Archives
Archives
Archives
Archives
Archives
Archives
Archives
Archives
Archives
Archives
Archives
Archives
Archives
Archives
Archives
Archives
Archives
Archives
Archives
Biographies
Clippings (Information artifacts)
Clippings (Information artifacts)
Clippings (Information artifacts)
Clippings (Information artifacts)
Clippings (Information artifacts)
Clippings (Information artifacts)
Correspondence
Diaries
Drafts (Documents)
Drafts (Documents)
Drafts (Documents)
First drafts
Galley proofs
Instructions (Document genre)
Layouts (Printer matter)
Manuscripts (Document genre)
Novels
Novels
Novels
Obituaries
Photographs
Photographs
Poems
Press releases
Printers' proofs
Promotional materials
Questionnaires
Research (Document genres)
Research (Document genres)
Short stories
Short stories
Short stories
Sound recordings
Sources
Speeches
Typescripts
Typescripts
Typescripts
Typescripts
Typescripts
Typescripts
Typescripts

Title:
Slumber song
Apple is eaten
Concerning Mary Ann
Holding up the hills
Pillars of space
Voices in the square
Doctor from Iowa
White men follow after

Browse:
English & American Literature
English & American Literature
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Writers Archive at Iowa
Writers Archive at Iowa
Prose Writers
Prose Writers
Prose Writers
Writers Archive at Iowa
Prose Writers
Prose Writers
Prose Writers
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Novelists, Story Writers, & Poets