Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Liddel-Westefeld Congressional Candidate Oral History Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1978-2004
Creator: Liddel-Westefeld, Chris
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0864
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Interviews with eleven candidates who ran unsuccessfuly for Congress, conducted by an undergraduate history major at the University of Iowa in Spring 2007. Includes audiocassette tapes and transcriptions of the interviews.

Alternate Extent Statement: Audio cassettes for some of the interviews

Access: This collection is open for research. The Blouin interview is under seal until April 27, 2014 .

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Gift of Chris Liddell-Westefeld, 2007.

Preferred Citation: Liddel-Westefeld Congressional Candidate Oral History Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

In Spring 2007, Chris Liddell-Westefeld, an undergraduate History student at the University of Iowa, interviewed eleven Iowans who had run, unsuccessfully, for U.S. Congressional seats, focusing on the reasons they had in standing for election and on their campaigns. This project was part of an independent study project overseen by Professor Shelton Stromquist. Liddell-Westefeld obtained releases from each interviewee and transcribed the interviews. The first ten transcripts and release forms are in the first series of folders; the cassette tape recordings in the second series.

One interview, with Michael Blouin, candidate for Governor of Iowa in 2006, is restricted for seven years from the date of recording: it was not transcribed and is not available without Blouin's written permission until April 27, 2014.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: INTERVIEWS

  • Series 1: INTERVIEWS
  • Box 1:
  • Elaine Baxter. Challenged Representative Jim Lightfoot in 1992 and 1994
  • Rick Dickinson. Ran for open House seat in 2006; defeated in the primary election by Bruce Braley
  • Jean Lloyd-Jones. Challenged Senator Chuck Grassley in 1992
  • Dick Myers. Challenged Representative Jim Leach in 1978
  • David Osterberg. Challenged Senator Chuck Grassley in 1998
  • Bob Rush. Challenged Representative Jim Leach in 1996 and 1998
  • Art Small. Challenged Senator Chuck Grassley in 2004
  • Steve Sovern. Challenged Representative Tom Tauke in 1980. Ran for open House seat in 1990; defeated in primary election by Eric Tabor
  • Eric Tabor. Challenged Representative Tom Tauke in 1986 and 1988. Ran for open House seat in 1990; defeated in general election by Jim Nussle
  • Rob Tully. Challenged Representative Jim Nussle in 1998
  • Cassette recording of interviews with Baxter; Dickinson; Lloyd-Jones; Myers
  • Cassette recording of interviews with Osterberg; Rush; Small
  • Cassette recording of interviews with Sovern (2 tapes); Tabor; Tully
  • Michael Blouin (challenged Chet Culver and others for Governor in 2006; lost in primary). This interview was not transcribed, and the recording is restricted until April 27, 2014

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.