Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Marion Meade Woody Allen Research Files

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1935-2000
Creator: Meade, Marion
Extent: 10.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0861
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Research material for The Unruly Life of Woody Allen. Comprised of interviews by letter and on tape, journal articles, research files, notes, films, photographs, manuscript copies, and copies of the completed book in various editions.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Box 3; Audio cassettes, Boxes 2, 5; Newsreels, Box 5; Diskettes, Box 5

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were donated to Special Collections by Marion Meade in 2006.

Preferred Citation: Marion Meade Woody Allen Research Files, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Marion Meade's previous biography subjects include Eleanor of Acquitane, Madame Blavatsky, Victoria Woodhull, Dorothy Parker, and Buster Keaton. (The Special Collections Department also has the research files for Buster Keaton: Cut to the Chase.) Meade studied at Northwestern University and holds a Master's degree from the Columbia Graduate School of Journalism. She has contributed articles to The New York Times and The Village Voice, in addition to writing two novels. She lives in New York City.

Files created by Marion Meade in writing The Unruly Life of Woody Allen (New York: Scribner, 2000), this collection includes transcripts of interviews; tapes of interviews; correspondence with people in Allen's life and people at Scribner's preparing the book; chapter notes; a copy-edited manuscript of the book; and various other files relating to the creation of the book. For the most part, these folders have been left in the order in which Meade delivered them to us and with the labels she created.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: THE FILMS OF WOODY ALLEN
Series 2: THE LIFE OF WOODY ALLEN
Series 3: INTERVIEWS
Series 4: SUBJECT FOLDERS
Series 5: AUTHOR CORRESPONDENCE
Series 6: RESEARCH FILES
Series 7: VIDEOS AND BOOKS
Series 8: MIA FARROW
Series 9: SCRIBNER EDITORIAL AND PRODUCTION FILES
Series 10: POST PUBLICATION FILES

  • Series 1: THE FILMS OF WOODY ALLEN
  • Box 1:
  • Film critic interviews. Transcripts/logs of author's taped personal interviews with John Simmon, Roger Ebert, Stanley Kauffmann, et al.
  • Clippings, notes, and miscellaneous other materials for each of Allen's films, filed chronologically
  • Pussycat/Tiger Lily
  • Check it out
  • Take the Money and Run
  • Bananas
  • Play it Again Sam
  • Everything You Always Wanted to Know
  • Sleeper
  • Love and Death
  • Annie Hall
  • Interiors
  • Manhattan
  • Stardust Memories
  • Midsummer Night's Sex Comedy
  • Zelig
  • Purple Rose of Cairo
  • Hannah and Her Sisters
  • Radio Days and September
  • Another Woman
  • Broadway Danny Rose
  • New York Stories and Crimes and Misdemeanors
  • Alice
  • Shadows and Fog
  • Husbands and Wives
  • Manhattan Murder
  • Bullets Over Broadway
  • Mighty Aphrodite
  • Everyone Says I Love You
  • Deconstructing Harry
  • Celebrity and Antz
  • Wild Man Blues (A film about Allen by Barbara Kopple)
  • Series 2: THE LIFE OF WOODY ALLEN
  • Box 1:
  • “Woody Allen Timeline”—
    blue notebook chronicling subject’s life events, beginning with family history pre-1935 to 2000.
  • Chronological folders, 1935 (birth) to 2000 (book publication date). Years 1935 -- 1979 in Box 1
    Some years include copies of correspondence
  • Woody to Alvah Bessie (blacklisted screenwriter) - 1963
  • Woody to Rogers Whittaker, New Yorker magazine editor - 1964
  • Woody –Groucho Marx  correspondence; Margo Howard (see also interview in  “Women/Louise Lasser” folder) - 1967
  • Woody Allen to Roger Angell (New Yorker magazine editor) - 1971
  •  Woody to Reginald Rose (television writer, producer) - 1973
  • Correspondence for Bob Hope interview, arranged and conducted by Sue Terry - 1979
  • Woody and Mia Farrow to Vladimir and Wanda  Horowitz - 1986
  • Series 3: INTERVIEWS
  • Box 2:
  • Chronological folders - 1980-2000
  • Clippings of Woody Allen published interviews, by decade
  • 1960s
  • 1970s
  • 1980s
  • 1990s
  • Marion Meade personal interviews
    For a list of people Meade interviewed, see interviews for Woody Allen Biography
  • “Interview Log”
    orange notebook, listing names of interviewees and dates of interviews
  • Two boxes of audio cassette tapes
  • Box 3:
  • Celebrity Address List
  • Author correspondence with interviewees
  • Transcrips, logs, notes.
    Certain transcripts, however, are filed seperately under subjects.
  •  “Tamiment Playhouse”
    folder includes interview transcripts for Mary Rodgers (composer), Jane Connell (actress)
  • “Childhood/ Brooklyn” 
    includes correspondence and interview logs for Allen’s boyhood friends.
  • Geanealogy
  • Series 4: SUBJECT FOLDERS
  • Box 3:
  • Tamiment Playhouse
  • Residences, childhood to 2000, including some photos. 2 folders
  • Comedy
  • Theater/TV 
    including  extensive material on Allen’s stage play Central Park West (1995),  and correspondence/interview with director Michael Blakemore
  • Literary
    His humorous  writings, mostly pertaining to his work for The New Yorker and including correspondence with editor Roger Angell
  • Making films
  • New York filming
  • Other filmmakers
  • Music
     information on his career as clarinetist
  • Clippings
  • Odds and Ends about Woody Allen
  • Women -- wives Harlene Rosen and Louise Lasser, Diane Keaton, Soon-Yi Previn
  • Bobby Zarem (publicist) and Elaine Kaufman (restaurateur) 
    individuals in Allen's inner circle
  • Sports
  • Allen Film Company business files, with transcripts of interviews with executives at various production companies, such as Orion, Tristar, etc.
  • "Rosebud "
    author analysis of subject
  • Jean Doumanian
    Allen’s closest friend, producer
  • Box 4:
  • Woody and Blacks
  • Woody’s Judaism
  • "Sixty Minutes” CBS-TV program, including author interview, etc. with Steve Kroft
  • Woody’s Writers
  • Allen character, personality, psychology
  • Brooklyn -- including interviews with boyhood friends Jack Victor, Jack Freed, Elliott Mills, Alan Lapidus, et al.
  • Family
  • Woody and Women
  • Series 5: AUTHOR CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 4:
  • Interview request letters, some with clippings and research material attached
  • Accordion folder containing written responses from those who received interview requests. Including, for example, Swedish actor Max von Sydow and American actor Tony Roberts.
  • Folder labeled Mel Brooks, Pat Boone, Lee Israel. Includes letter from biographer Lee Israel.
  • Blue Folder and Yellow Folder labeled “Inner Circle”
    contains author correspondence with Woody Allen; his producer, Jean Doumanian; his former assistant, Jane Martin; his friend, Marshall Brickman.
  • New York Times Book Review: responses to published author’s query
  • Series 6: RESEARCH FILES
  • Box 4:
  • Acknowledgements
  • Author’s working notebooks
  • Books and articles to get
  • Box 5:
  • Filmography
  • Newsreels
  • Notes, schedules, lists, memos
  • Photocopied book -- Diane Jacobs’s But We Need the Eggs: The Magic of  Woody Allen (New York: St. Martin’s Press, c1982).  With highlighting and notes by Meade
  • Research operations (A file on the art of biography)
  • Research files. Diskettes
  • Copy edited manuscript
  • Series 7: VIDEOS AND BOOKS
  • Box 5:
  • Books: Copies of The Unruly Life of Woody Allen,  US (Scribner, 2000); UK (Weidenfeld & Nicolson); paperback (Cooper Square Pr.); audio  (Blackstone) editions; German edition; French edition
  • Box 6:
  • TV interviews with Mia Farrow
  • "Love and Betrayal: The Mia Farrow Story” (Fox Tuesday Night Movie, 1995)
  • CBS-TV “Sixty Minutes” interview with Allen, November 22 - 1992
  • Copies of selected Woody Allen films
  • Series 8: MIA FARROW
  • Box 6:
  • Mia Farrow biographical material
  • Notes, interviews, memos, clippings.
    3 folders
  • Farrow family
  • Kristi (Groteke) (Mia biographer) and mini series
  • Previn
  • What Falls Away (Mia's autobiography)
  • Legal.
    3 folders
  • Box 7:
  • Allen v. Farrow custody  proceeding, 1993. 2 folders
  • Series 9: SCRIBNER EDITORIAL AND PRODUCTION FILES
  • Box 7:
  • Original book proposal -- including memos on publishers who turned down the idea
  • Correspondence with editor Jane Rosenman
  • Home office wall art       
  • Working Chapter Files
    (may be slightly different than chapters in published book) -- includes background clippings,  author’s notes and memos, notes to author from various biographers (Carl Rollyson, Amanda Vaill, Ben Yagoda, et al).
  • Production files
  • Permissions -- text
  • Series 10: POST PUBLICATION FILES
  • Box 7:
  • Book publicity, including, meetings, tapings, appearances
  • Publicity schedules
  • Publicity speeches
  • Book party
  • Comps
  • Reviews
  • Readers' letters
  • Clippings - 2000-2006