Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Earl F. Rose Papers on the Assassination of John F. Kennedy

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1963-2006
Creator: Rose, Earl F. (1926-2012)
Extent: 12.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0860
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Medical Examiner of Dallas County at the time of the assassination of President Kennedy, Rose performed the autopsies on Lee Harvey Oswald and Jack Ruby. The reports and projector slides for these autopsies are here, as well as pathology slides for Ruby. Rose also kept clippings files on items related to the assassination, including a series on conspiracy theories. Clippings for other events of the latter half of the twentieth century such as Watergate and the Clinton impeachment are included here as well, as are photocopies of death certificates for some famous and infamous people, such as Nicole Brown Simpson and Bonnie Parker. Correspondence and personal papers form a portion of this collection, as well as a manuscript version of Dallas: My View of History, Rose's memoir of his time in Dallas.

Alternate Extent Statement: Slides, numerous; Floppy disks, Boxes 1, 6; Movie, Box 6; VHS tapes, Box 7.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was given to the University of Iowa Libraries in 2005.

Preferred Citation: Earl F. Rose Papers on the Assassination of John F. Kennedy, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Excerpt from My Ana, Rose's memoir:

I was born [on September 23, 1926] and raised during the depression years on a ranch on the Cheyenne Sioux Reservation in Western South Dakota. I went to one room country grade schools, then the the nearest high school twenty-six miles away. [In Eagle Butte.] I dropped out of high school in the spring of 1944 to join the Navy where I served in the South Pacific on the submarine Sea Devil (SS400). When World War II ended we patrolled the China and Yellow Seas, and moored in Shanghai and Tsingstao, China, as a 'military presence.' Following discharge from the United States Navy in 1946, I attended Yankton College, the University of South Dakota, then the University of Nebraska for Medical School where I graduated in 1953.

I interned in Denver, was in general practice in Lemmon, South Dakota, took specialty training in pathology at Baylor University in Texas and in St. Louis with the Daughters of Charity of St Vincent DePaul. I then sub-specialized in forensic pathology at the Medical College of Virginia, and later earned a law degree from Southern Methodist University, Dallas, Texas. Forensic pathology is the investigation of deaths occurring under suspicious or violent circumstances -- a challenging and interesting field. I worked as a forensic pathologist in Virginia and was the medical examiner for the city and county of Dallas, Texas, at the time of the assassination of President Kennedy. We moved to Iowa City, Iowa, in 1968 to join the faculty of the University of Iowa.

Marilyn Preheim and I were married in the Mennonite Church in 1951. This gathering of believers has been a source of delightful paragraphs and serious stimulating thought. I have been 'forty years a visitor' to their gatherings. Marilyn has continued as my friend, critic, partner, inspiration, and spouse, and in addition, is the mother of our six talented and accomplished children -- Elise, Cecile, Forrest, Karen, Miriam, and Carol.

Rose has written one book

Law in Medical Practice; Sourcebook of Medical Jurisprudence

Law Library KF2905.Z9 R65

and contributed to another

Use of experts : the Forensic Pathologist ; Trial Demonstration : Examination of Expert Witnesses / Earl F. Rose ; Direct examination [by] Lawrence F. Scalise ; Cross examination [by] James P. Hayes.

Law Library KFI4780.5.

This collection consists of information on events of the latter half of the twentieth century, most especially the assassination of John F. Kennedy. As the medical examiner who conducted the autopsies of Lee Harvey Oswald and Jack Ruby, Rose has a unique perspective on these events. One third of the collection consists of media coverage of the events, consisting of magazines, newspapers, and video cassettes. The remainder are personal papers of Mr. Rose, and here there are published articles (by other people than Rose, though he was interviewed for the Journal of the American Medical Society). He has gathered information on figures in the assassination and also those of other people, such as Sheriff Bill Decker. He apparently served as an advisor to the House Select Committee on Assassinations, and here are brought together materials to be submitted with that report. Rose has also written his recollections of events in Dallas, called Dallas: My View of History, for which there are manuscripts in this collection. Rose's correspondence and other miscellany round out the material. The folders in the collection were rearranged from the order in which we received them, but the content of the folders was not reviewed.
Retired Dallas Police Chief Jesse Curry Reveals His Personal JFK Assassination Files

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Sub-Series: Articles
  • Box 1:
  • General articles, mostly about the Kennedy assassination
  • "The Exiles " About Jack and Jackie Kennedy ()
    From The New Yorker?
  • JAMA Interview
    Includes transcript of interview and floppy disk with Microsoft Word and Word Perfect copies of the interview and a copy of the original article
  • Sub-Series: Booklets
  • Box 1:
  • Destiny in Dallas
  • Four Dark Days
  • Kennedy
  • JFK For a New Generation
  • Observations Based on a Review of the Autopsy Photographs, X-rays, and Related Materials of the Late President John F Kennedy
  • Retired Dallas Police Chief Jesse Curry Reveals His Personal JFK Assassination Files
  • Sub-Series: Certificates
    See Oversized Box 1
  • Sub-Series: Clippings
  • Sub-Series: Connally, Waco, Branch Davidian
  • Sub-Series: Conspiracy Theories
  • Box 1:
  • Aguilar, Gary L , manuscript and correspondence
  • CIA
  • Clippings
  • Douglass, James, manuscript and correspondence
  • General correspondence
  • JAMA interview
  • Manchester and Johnson
  • Miscellaneous theories 2 folders
  • Russell, Robert, manuscript and correspondence 2 folders
  • Warren commission
  • Sub-Series: General correspondence
    3 folders
  • Sub-Series: Cuba
  • Sub-Series: Dallas County Commissioner's Court
  • Sub-Series: Dallas County Medical Examiner's Office materials
  • Sub-Series: Dark Humor
  • Sub-Series: Death certificates, Nicole Brown Simpson, Ronald Goldman, John Dillinger, and Bonnie Parker
  • Sub-Series: Documents
    In Oversized Box 1
  • Box 2:
  • Declaration of Independence
  • The Constitution
  • The Bill of Rights
  • The Capitol
  • Sub-Series: FBI files on Rose
  • Sub-Series: Files on figures in the JFK assassination
  • Box 2:
  • Charles Crenshaw
  • William Manchester The Death of a President
    Photocopies of pages mentioning Rose
  • Lee Harvey Oswald: Articles
  • Lee Harvey Oswald: Autopsy: Photographs
    Polaroids, including the backing for some photos that aren't here
  • Lee Harvey Oswald: Autopsy: Projector slides from the autopsy
  • Lee Harvey Oswald: Autopsy: Scalpel blades from the autopsy
  • Lee Harvey Oswald: Autopsy: Various papers
    Including a copy of the order at Miller Funeral Home, death certificate, authorized permit for an autopsy, autopsy report including photographs; toxicology report and blood alcohol report, mug shot, photographs of the funeral with Oswald's wife, mother, brother, and two children (the only people who attended the funeral), photographs of the exhumation and the report from that exhumation by the Wilbert Vault Company
  • Lee Harvey Oswald: Clippings
  • Lee Harvey Oswald: Correspondence
  • Jack Ruby: Articles
  • Jack Ruby: Autopsy report, including a lock of Ruby's hair
  • Jack Ruby: Pathology slides from the autopsy
  • Jack Ruby: Projector slides from the autopsy
  • Jack Ruby: Clippings
  • Jack Ruby: Correspondence about Ruby
  • Jack Ruby: Test fire bullet from the gun that killed Lee Harvey Oswald
  • Jack Ruby: Death certificate Photocopy
  • Jack Ruby: Toe tag
  • Jack Ruby: Photo of Ruby's grave marker Photocopy
  • Officer J D Tippit
  • Ted and Robert Kennedy
  • Sub-Series: Jim Garrison
    New Orleans DA
  • Sub-Series: Handwritten personal notes on the autopsies and clothing of JFK and Connolly
    "Physical Aspects of the Missile " Materials of President Kennedy's adrenals, Dr Wecth In several different hands, one of which is presumably Roses Made in 1977 2 folders
  • Sub-Series: House Select Committee on Assassinations
  • Box 3:
  • House Select Committee on Assassinations: Table of Contents
  • House Select Committee on Assassinations: Autopsy sketches, C Wecht, 2 head gunshot wounds, x-ray reports, photo authenticate and enhancement documents, article on "magic bullet," letters
  • House Select Committee on Assassinations: Forensic pathology reports and draft reports
  • House Select Committee on Assassinations: Final report: Folder 1 Index, people, correspondence
  • House Select Committee on Assassinations: Final report: Folder 2 Articles, autopsy reports, Connally medical reports
  • House Select Committee on Assassinations: Final report: Folder 3: Interviews with doctors
  • Box 4:
  • House Select Committee on Assassinations: Investigation of the Assassination of President John F Kennedy Appendix to Hearings Before the Select Committee on Assassinations of the U S House of Representatives, Ninety-Fifth Congress, Second Session Volume VII: Medical and Firearms Evidence
  • Sub-Series: Iowa
  • Sub-Series: J Edgar Hoover and the FBI
  • Sub-Series: JFK
  • Sub-Series: Lady Bird Johnson
  • Sub-Series: Martin Luther King
  • Sub-Series: Medical Examiner system
    Laws, requests
  • Sub-Series: Medico-legal cases to write up
  • Sub-Series: Miscellaneous
  • Sub-Series: Newspapers and Magazines
  • Box 4:
  • Flushing Journal - 1844 November 23
    In Oversized Box 1
  • Daily Argus-Leader - 1938 March 17
    Promoter Feels That Schmeling May Not Return. Oversized Box 1
  • Daily Argus-Leader - 1938 March 17
    Hull Urges Peace through Preparedness; Hitler Will Outline His Future Policies. Oversized Box 1
  • The Rock Island Argus - 1939 December 14
    Crippled Nazi Battleship Rushes Repairs to Renew; 14-Hour Fight (Graf Spee). Oversized Box 1
  • Moline Daily Dispatch - 1940 May 10
    Hitler Strikes Again; Dictator of Reich Invades Belgium, Netherlands; Churchill Becomes New British Prime Minister. Oversized Box 1
  • Moline Daily Dispatch - 1940 May 20
    Nazis Seize St. Quentin; Lindbergh Raps War Mongers in U.S. in Address. In Oversized Box 1
  • The Virginian Pilot - 1962 March 8
    Storm Pounds Coast Into Ruins. Oversized Box 1
  • Norfolk Ledger Star - 1962 October 23
    Warships Clamp Blockade on Cuba; Step Toward Nuclear War, Says Soviet. Oversized Box 1
  • The Virginian Pilot - 1963 March 31
    A Death Case solved by Medical Examiner. Oversized Box 1
  • Dallas Times Herald - 1963 June 25
    County Gets Medical Chief (EFR coming from Virginia to Dallas). Oversized Box 1
  • Dallas Times Herald - 1963 August 27
    Autopsy Reports Open to Defense (new policy of open records). Oversized Box 1
  • Dallas Times Herald - 1963 November 22
    PRESIDENT DEAD Connally Also Hit by Sniper (2 copies). Oversized Box 1
  • Dallas Morning News - 1963 November 22
    "Storm of Political Controversy Swirls Around Kennedy Visit; Split State Party Continues Feuds" Oversized Box 1
  • Dallas Times Herald - 1963 November 22
    LBJ ASKS DIVINE HELP; Murder Charge Lodged (Lee H. Oswald) Oversized Box 1
  • Dallas Morning News - 1963 November 22
    "KENNEDY SLAIN ON DALLAS STREET; Pro Communist Charged with Act" Oversized Box 1
  • Daily Argus-Leader - 1963 November 22
    Kennedy Is Assassinated. Oversized Box 1
  • Houston Post - 1963 November 22
    In Oversized folder #1, map case 12, drawer 2
  • News Texan - 1963 November 22
    JFK DEAD, Sniper Suspect Grilled. Oversized Box 1
  • Dallas Times Herald - 1963 November 24
    Oswald Linked to Mail-Order Rifle. Oversized Box 1
  • Dallas Morning News - 1963November 24
    "LBJ Takes Over Government Reins; Tass Charge Try to Implicate Red Party" Oversized Box 1
  • Daily Argus-Leader - 1963 November 24
    Dreary Washington Honors Dead Chief. Oversized Box 1
  • Dallas Times Herald - 1963 November 25
    Mourning Nation Bids Chief Farewell (2 copies); Tip to FBI Warned of Oswald Death (large photo of Oswald being shot). Oversized Box 2
  • Dallas Morning News - 1963 November 25
    "Club Owner Kills Oswald" Oversized Box 2
  • Dallas Times Herald - 1963 November 26
    "Club Owner Kills Oswald" Oversized Box 2
  • Times-Democrat - 1963 November 26
    Chaotic Moments in Dallas; Body is Wrested From Authorities. Oversized Box 2
  • Sioux Falls Argus-Leader - 1963 November 26
    Kennedy Rests With Heroes; Suspected Assassin Slain by Gunman in Dallas Jail. Oversized Box 2
  • Dallas Times Herald - 1963 Nnovember 27
    LBJ Asks Fast Congress Action (Civil Rights & Tax bills) $25,000 given Tippit by Zapruder, money he received for film. Oversized Box 2
  • Dallas Morning News - 1963 November 28
    "Johnson Asks Congress To Do Job for Kennedy; Connally Describes Slaying" Oversized Box 2
  • Dallas Times Herald - 1963 November 29
    Johnson to Name Probe Panel. Oversized Box 2
  • Dallas Morning News - 1963 November 28
    Venezuelan Airliner Hijacked by Terrorists; Asks for Prayers "Must Move On,' LBJ Tells Nation; Mrs. Oswald Tells of FBI Quizzing Son. Oversized Box 2
  • Life - 1963 November 29
    Venezuelan Airliner Hijacked by Terrorists; Asks for Prayers "Must Move On,' LBJ Tells Nation; Mrs. Oswald Tells of FBI Quizzing Son. Oversized Box 2
  • Dallas Morning News - 1963 November 30
    Headed by Warren, President Names Board to Probe JFK's Slaying; Mrs. Tippit Says Thanks to Nation. Oversized Box 2
  • The Carolina Israelite - 1963 November-December
    [editorial & discussions]. Oversized Box 2
  • Dallas Times Herald - 1963 December 1
    Soviets Give US File on Oswald. Oversized Box 2
  • Dallas Morning News - 1963 December 1
    A Mews, man Looks at the World's Week [A Struggle Back to Normal]; Flowers Wilt Where Shots Once Echoed; (Title Cards Reflect Heart of Dallas). Oversized Box 2
  • Newsweek - 1963 December 1
    "John Fitzgerald Kennedy 1917-1963"
  • Look - 1963 December 3
    "John Fitzgerald Kennedy 1917-1963"
  • The Lemon South Dakota Tribune - 1963 December 3
    Yes, It Is Our Dr. Earl Rose. Oversized Box 2
  • Life - 1963 December 6
    " Mrs. Kennedy, Caroline & John Jr. Wait to Join Procession to Capitol"
  • The Mennonite - 1963 December 17
    " Mrs. Kennedy, Caroline & John Jr. Wait to Join Procession to Capitol"
  • Look - 1963 December 31
    " Mrs. Kennedy, Caroline & John Jr. Wait to Join Procession to Capitol"
  • Newsweek - 1964 January 1
    "Jacqueline Kennedy : Looking Ahead"
  • Dallas Times Herald - 1964 January 25
    Memorable Rites Set for Churchill. Oversized Box 2
  • Dallas Morning News - 1964 January 25
    Winston Churchill, Britain's Leader During Her Finest Hour, Dies at 90. Oversized Box 2
  • Dallas Times Herald - 1964 February 1
    Profile of a President. Oversized Box 2
  • Dallas Times Herald - 1964 February 19
    All on Jury Panel Who Saw Slaying Facing Subpoenas (Ruby trial); Nixon to Enter GOP Race If Primary Vote Favorable. Oversized Box 2
  • Dallas Morning News - 1964 February 19
    DA Wins Victories in Ruby Trial. Oversized Box 2
  • Dallas Times Herald - 1964 February 20
    Ruby Team Uses Fifth Special 'No;'; Ruby Trial: Dallas Irony. Oversized Box 2
  • Dallas Times Herald - 1965 February 22
    Ruby Team Uses Fifth Special 'No;'; Ruby Trial: Dallas Irony. Oversized Box 2
  • Dallas Morning News - 1964 February 22
    governor Connally May Call Redistricting Session; LBJ Urges 'Passion for Peace' ' There is No Panic on Our Agenda' Oversized Box 2
  • Dallas Times Herald - 1964 March 1
    Eleventh Ruby Trial Juror Qualifies; Judge Wilson Replaces Ill Judge Brown, Warns Lawyers. Oversized Box 2
  • Dallas Times Herald - 1964 March 4
    First Witness Call Ruby Volatile As Prosecutor Starts Building Case. Oversized Box 2
  • Dallas Morning News - 1964 March 4
    Viet Nam Can Be Won, Rusk Tells Committee; Judge Cracks Down; Ruby Jury Now Full. Oversized Box 2
  • Dallas Times Herald - 1964 March 5
    Detective Quotes Ruby: 'I Intended To Shoot Him 3 Times'; Defense Counsel - Taste for Color [ Melvin Belli]; Prosecutor Wade In a Texas Charm. Oversized Box 2
  • Dallas Morning News - 1964 March 5
    Ruby Shot Then Muttered He Hoped Oswald Died. Oversized Box 2
  • Dallas Times Herald - 1964 March 6
    Thought About Killing, Officer Quotes Ruby; Defendant Cites Oswald's Sneer. Oversized Box 2
  • Dallas Morning News - 1964 March 6
    Police Quote Ruby as Saying 'Somebody Had to Do It' Oversized Box 2
  • Dallas Times Herald - 1964 March 7
    Detectives Seize 5th Jail Escapee; 2 More Still Free; Lawyers Ready to Defend Ruby. Oversized Box 3
  • Dallas Morning News - 1964 March 7
    7 Break Out of County Jail, Creating Havoc Outside Ruby Trial. Oversized Box 3
  • Dallas Times Herald - 1964 March 8
    Psychiatry To Be Big Cog in Belli's Defense of Ruby; LBJ Says Tax Slash Already Adding Jobs; Dragnet out for Last 2 of Escapees; LBJ Reserving Choice of Veep; A Visit With Marina (wife of Lee Harvey Oswald). Oversized Box 3.
  • Dallas Morning News - 1964 March 8
    Psychiatry To Be Big Cog in Belli's Defense of Ruby; LBJ Says Tax Slash Already Adding Jobs; Dragnet out for Last 2 of Escapees; LBJ Reserving Choice of Veep; A Visit With Marina (wife of Lee Harvey Oswald). Oversized Box 3.
  • Dallas Times Herald - 1964 March 9
    Pal Recalls Ruby Rages. Oversized Box 3.
  • Dallas Times Herald - 1964 March 10
    Seizure Disorder' Laid to Ruby; A Subpoena for Mrs. Oswald [mother of Lee Harvey Oswald]. Oversized Box 3
  • Dallas Morning News - 1964 March 10
    Damage to Brain of Ruby Claimed by Psychologist. Oversized Box 3
  • Dallas Times Herald - 1964 March 11
    Team Suddenly Rests Case. Oversized Box 3
  • Dallas Morning News - 1964 March 11
    Doctor Says Ruby Insane. Oversized Box 3
  • Dallas Times Herald - 1964 March 12
    Rabbi, Doctor Doubt Ruby Was Lucid; Teamsters President James Hoffa Professes Innocence. Fined. Oversized Box 3
  • Dallas Times Herald - 1964 March 13
    Final Charges Set In Ruby Trial. Oversized Box 3
  • Dallas Morning News - 1964 March 13
    Ruby Murder Case May Go to Jury Today. Oversized Box 3
  • Dallas Times Herald - 1964 March 14
    Jury Finds Ruby Guilty, Assesses Death Penalty. Oversized Box 3
  • Dallas Morning News - 1964 March 14
    Judge Puts Ruby's Fate Into Hands of Jurors. Oversized Box 3
  • Dallas Times Herald - 1964 March 15
    Furious Belli Screams He'll Appeal After Jury Decides Ruby Must Die. Claims 30 Reversible Errors by Judge Brown. Oversized Box 3
  • Dallas Morning News - 1964 March 15
    Ruby Draws Death Penalty; Belli Flays Jury's Verdict. Oversized Box 3
  • Dallas Times Herald - 1964 March 16
    LBJ Asks $962.5 Million to Wage War on Poverty; Belli Busy Preparing for Appeal, Still Embittered. Oversized Box 3
  • Dallas Times Herald - 1964 April 6
    Gen. MacArthur's Body Lies in GI-Issue Coffin. Oversized Box 3
  • Dallas Morning News - 1964 April 6
    Gen. MacArthur Dies; Soldier of Three Wars. Oversized Box 3
  • Official Detective - 1964 May 1
    Sometimes the Dead Can Talk. [Dallas PD, with photos of Capt. Fritz, etc]
  • Dallas Morning News - 1964 June 27
    Ruby Pictures Self to Warren as 'Sacrifice'; Secret Diary -- Oswald's Thoughts Bared. Oversized Box 3
  • Life - 1964 July 17
    Oswald's Full Russian Diary
  • Life - 1964 August 4
    The Complex and Extraordinary Man Who is the President
  • Life - 1964 August 21
    At Vietnam Border General Khanh Eyes the Enemy
  • The National Enquirer - 1954 (1964?) August 30
    Oswald's Corpse, [morgue photos]. Oversized Box 3
  • Dallas Times Herald - 1964 September 28
    Oswald Lone Kennedy Assassin, Probers Decide (Warren Comm) Oversized Box 3
  • Dallas Morning News - 1964 September 28
    Oswald Termed Sole Kennedy Slayer. Oversized Box 3
  • Life - 1964 October 2
    The Warren Report: How the Commission Pieced Together the Evidence. Told By One of its Members
  • Newsweek - 1964 October 5
    The Assassination: The Warren Commission Report
  • Dallas Morning News - 1964 November 1
    A Report: The John Birch Society. Oversized Box 3
  • Newsweek - 1964 December 7
    J. Edgar Hoover and the FBI
  • Life - 1964 December 25
    The Bible
  • Life - 1965 January 28
    Inaugural Spectacle
  • Dallas Times Herald - 1965 June 8
    US Ready to Hurl Troops Into War; Viet Nam Combat Okayed. Oversized Box 4
  • Dallas Morning News - 1965 June 14
    Jack Ruby Found Sane During Brief Hearing; Jury Returns Verdict After 11 Minutes. Oversized Box 4
  • Life - 1965 July 16
    A Thousand Days" by Arthur M. Schlesinger, Jr.
  • Life - 1966 August 13
    The Texas Sniper
  • Dallas Times Herald - 1966 October 5
    Ruby's Conviction Reversed; Death for Ruby Air, Wade Says. Oversized Box 4
  • Dallas Morning News - 1966 October 5
    High Court Reverses Jack Ruby Conviction (Texas Court of Criminal Appeals is the high criminal Court in Texas). Oversized Box 4
  • U S News & World Reports - 1966 October 10
    Truth About Kennedy Assassination: Questions Raised and Answered
  • U S News & World Reports - 1966 November 14
    Fateful Two Hours Without A President: Story of What Happened Before & After Assassination
  • Life - 1966 November 25
    Did Oswald Act Alone? A Matter of Reasonable Doubt. Amid controversy over the Warren Report, Governor Connally examines the Kennedy assassination film frame by frame.
  • Dallas Times Herald - 1966 December 10
    Ruby Tests Reveal 'Serious Condition' Oversized Box 4
  • Dallas Times Herald - 1966 December 11
    Jack Ruby's Illness Cancer, Doctors Say. Oversized Box 4.
  • Dallas Times Herald - 1967 January 3
    RUBY IS DEAD. Oversized Box 4
  • Dallas Times Herald - 1967 January 4
    Jack Ruby’s body Flown to Chicago for Interment. Oversized Box 4
  • Dallas Morning News - 1967 January 4
    Death of Ruby Closes Assassination Triangle. Oversized Box 4.
  • Jasper Free Enterprise - 1967 January 4
    Tonahill Condemns Treatment of Ruby. Oversized Box 4
  • Look - 1967 January 24, February 7 and 21, March 7
    Death of a President by Wm. Manchester. This was the "acclaimed" publication
  • Box 5:
  • The Saturday Evening Post - 1967 January 14
    The Kennedy Assassination.
  • Cosmopolitan - 1967 January 1
    Strange Deaths of JFK Assassination Figures. (Jim Koethe, Bill Hunter, Tom Howard, Earlene Roberts, Nancy Jane Mooney, Hank Killam, William Whaley, Edward Benavides, Dorothy Kilgallen, Lee Brown, Patrolman Tippit of the Dallas PD)
  • Look - 1967 February 7
    The Day JFK Died
  • Look - 1967 February 21
    Flight From Dallas -- The abrasive relationship between Kennedy & Johnson partisans during the flight.
  • Look - 1967 March 7
    The Dramatic Conclusion of The Death of a President. Williamm Manchester
  • Look - 1967 April 4
    William Manchester Writes the True Story of the Stormy Clash Involving the Kennedys and His Book
  • Dallas Times Herald - 1967 June 25
    The Lingering Shadow  . . . Warren Report . . . Doubts Dispelled
  • Esquire - 1967 June 1
    The Manchester Papers and The Disposal of Jack Ruby
  • Esquire - 1967 August 1
    The Dark Side of LBJ and If They've Found Another Assassin, Let Them Name Names and Produce Their Evidence.
  • Life - 1967 November 24
    Why Kennedy Went to Texas by Governor Connally
  • The Post Tribune - 1968 February 17
    (Dallas Black Newspaper). Souvenir edition. Oversized Box 4
  • Dallas Times Herald - 1968 February 27
    LBJ Pays surprise Visit to Dallas. Oversized Box 4
  • Dallas Morning News - 1968 February 28
    Persevere We Must' No Retreat in Vietnam, LBJ Pledges in Talk. Oversized Box 4
  • Dallas Times Herald - 1968 March 10
    Weary President Johnson Often a Man Alone; 200,000 More GIs to Go? Oversized Box 4
  • Iowa City Press Citizen - 1968 March 28
    Dwight D. Eisenhower Dead
  • Dallas Morning News - 1968 April
    LBJ Won't Seek Second Term; Cutback Ordered in N. Vietnam Bombing; Hanoi Asked to join in Peace Moves. Oversized Box 4
  • Dallas Times Herald - 1968 April 5
    Assassin Hunt Narrows, Clark Hopes for King Slayer Early Arrest. Oversized Box 4
  • Dallas Morning News - 1968 April 5
    Assassin's Bullet Kills Dr. King. Oversized Box 4
  • Dallas Morning News - 1968 April 24
    Probers Sift Plane Debris for Clues (Ardmore, Oklahoma Am. Flyers) (Reed Pigman of IA 63 year old pilot with diabetes and heart disease that he concealed on physical examination). Oversized Box 4
  • Dallas Times Herald - 1968 May 4
    Experts Probe Crash Wreckage of Texas' Worst Air Disaster. Oversized Box 4
  • Dallas Morning News - 1968 May 4
    484 Killed in Crash Near Corsicana. Oversized Box 4
  • Richardson Daily News - 1968 May 16
    Collegians vote for RFK, Nixon. Oversized Box 4
  • Newsweek - 1968 June 17
    Robert F. Kennedy 1925-1968
  • Life - 1968 July 5
    The Presidency
  • Iowa City Press Citizen - 1968 November 6
    Nixon Wins; It's Ray in Iowa; Doderer, Mezvinsky, Johnson Win; Hughes Edges Stanley for Senate. Oversized Box 4
  • Daily Iowan - 1968 November 6
    Too Close to Pick a Winner
  • Daily Iowan - 1968 November 7
    Nixon Promises Unity; Hughes Survives Republican Tide. Oversized Box 4
  • Des Moines Register - 1969 June 20
    Poised for Moon Landing; Nixon Trip: Search for A New Policy; Ted [Kennedy] in Second Close Brush with Death [Car Off Bridge, Secretary Drowns. Oversized Box 4
  • Life - 1969 July 4
    Off to the Moon
  • Iowa City Press Citizen - 1969 July 19
    Astronauts Make First Sighting of the 'Target'; Man Reaches Out -- To Contaminate the Moon. Oversized Box 4
  • Newsweek - 1969 July 28
    Mission to the Moon (2 men put on moon) and A Tragic Turn for Teddy Kennedy
  • Life - 1969 August 8
    On the Moon
  • Newsweek - 1969 August 11
    Moonwalk in Color
  • Life - 1969 December 12
    Apollo 12 On the Moon
  • Newsweek - 1969 December 29
    Good-by to the 60’s
  • Newsweek - 1970 March 30
    The Day the Mail Stopped [postal union strike]
  • The Saigon Post - 1970 July 6 and 8
    Oversized Box 4
  • Resident and Staff - 1972 May 1
    Observations and Related Materials of the Late President John F. Kennedy Based on a Review of the Autopsy Photographs, X-Rays
  • Life - 1972 November 17
    The Big Win -- What Will Nixon Do With It
  • Life - 1972 December 29
    Life's Last Issue (no cover with this)
  • Newsweek - 1973 June 2
    The Accuser: John Dean
  • Iowa City Press Citizen - 1973 October 10
    Agnew Resigns, Fined. Oversized Box 4
  • Iowa City Press Citizen - 1973 October 11
    Connally Draws Opposition for Agnew Post; UI Officials Seek End to Regents' Rules of Conduct. Oversized Box 4
  • Daily Iowan - 1973 October 11
    Agnew Resigns; fined $10,000; Israelis Push to Retake Suez Canal. Oversized Box 4
  • Des Moines Register - 1973 October 11
    Agnew Resigns His Post; Tell Evidence Against Him. Oversized Box 4
  • Des Moines Register - 1973 October 13
    Ford is Nixon's V-P Choice. Oversized Box 4
  • Des Moines Register - 1973 October 21
    Cox Fired, Richardson Quits. Oversized Box 4
  • Newsweek - 1973 October 22
    After Agnew
  • Iowa City Press Citizen - 1973 October 23
    Nixon To Turn Tapes Over to Federal judge. Oversized Box 4
  • Des Moines Register - 1973 October 24
    Nixon Gives Up Tapes. Oversized Box 4
  • Des Moines Register - 1973 October 27
    Nixon To Fill Cox's Post. Oversized Box 4
  • Newsweek - 1973 October 29
    The [Nixon White House] Tapes Crisis (Archibald Cox)
  • Newsweek - 1973 November 15
    Can He [Nixon] Survive?
  • Des Moines Register - 1973 November 29
    Nixon Lawyer Admits Error With Tapes. Oversized Box 4
  • Newsweek - 1964 June 17
    The Jury Names Nixon
  • Newsweek - 1974 July 15
    Impeachment Men on the Spot: Rodino & Doar
  • Newsweek - 1974 July 22
    The Evidence: I want you all to stonewall it, let them plead to the Fifth Amendment, cover-up or anything else.
  • The Des Moines Register - 1974 July 25
    Nixon To Heed Court Order; Impeachment Debate Opens In House Unit. Oversized Box 4
  • The Des Moines Register - 1974 July 26
    Nixon's Economic Battle Plan; Impeach Unit Blasts Nixon Power Abuse. Oversized Box 4
  • Iowa City Press Citizen - 1974 July 26
    Compromise Worked Out On Surrendering Tapes. Oversized Box 4.
  • Des Moines Register - 1974 July 27
    Clash Over Impeach Details. Oversized Box 5
  • Des Moines Register - 1974 July 28
    Panel Votes To Impeach 27-11. Oversized Box 5
  • Des Moines Register - 1974 July 29
    Hint Nixon's Strategy to Keep Office. Oversized Box 5
  • Newsweek - 1974 July 29
    How Good A Case [against President Nixon]
  • Des Moines Register - 1974 July 30
    Second Impeach Charge Voted. Oversized Box 5
  • Des Moines Register - 1974 July 31
    Nixon Cited On Tapes Defiance. Oversized Box 5
  • Des Moines Register - 1974 August 1
    Guilty Plea In Connally Bribe Plot; Agnew Wins Permission From US to Own a Gun. Oversized Box 5
  • Des Moines Register - 1974 August 2
    Secret Donation to Mills Told; $100,000 Gift From Perot Executives. Oversized Box 5.
  • Iowa City Press Citizen - 1975 August 2
    One to Four Years for Dean. Oversized Box 5.
  • Des Moines Register - 1974 August 3
    GOP Move to Censure Nixon. Oversized Box 5
  • Des Moines Register - 1974 August 4
    GOP'S Griffin Warns Nixon. Oversized Box 5
  • Des Moines Register - 1974 August 5
    New Tape Blow to Nixon Seen. Oversized Box 5
  • Time - 1974 August 5
    Chairman Rodino: The vote to Impeach [Nixon]
  • U S News & World Reports - 1974 August 5
    Nixon: The Case For and Against
  • Des Moines Register - 1974 August 6
    Nixon: I Withheld Evidence [Releases Transcript Linking Him to Cover-up. Oversized Box 5
  • Des Moines Register - 1974 August 6
    Nixon: I Will Not Resign; Watergate At-a-Glance. Oversized Box 5
  • Des Moines Register - 1975 August 7
    Nixon Battles GOP Revolt. Oversized Box 5.
  • Iowa City Press Citizen - 1974 August 7
    Senators Send Message to President: Resign. Oversized Box 5
  • Des Moines Register - 1974 August 8
    Nation Awaits Nixon Decision. Oversized Box 5
  • Iowa City Press Citizen - 1974 August 8
    Nixon to Resign. Oversized Box 5
  • Des Moines Register - 1974 August 9
    NIXON RESIGNS. Oversized Box 5
  • Iowa City Press Citizen - 1974 August 9
    Gerald Ford Becomes President; Tearful Richard Nixon Performs Final Acts of Office. Oversized Box 5
  • Des Moines Register - 1974 August 11
    Ford Seeks Advice For V-P Choice. Oversized Box 5
  • The National Tattler - 1975 July 13
    CIA/FBI/Cuba conspiracy; Drain Sewer location of assassin. Oversized Box 5
  • Playboy - 1976 April 1
    Playboy's History of Assassination
  • Time - 1983 November 14
    JFK: How Good A President Was He?
  • Dallas Times Herald - 1983 November 20
    A Remembrance of Kennedy. Oversized Box 5
  • Newsweek - 1983 November 28
    What JFK Meant to Us. 30 Americans Reflect on The Man, The Myth and the Legacy.
  • Time - 1988 November 28
    JFK's Assassination: Who Was the Real Target?
  • JAMA - 1992 May 27
    JFK's Death, Part II - Dallas MDs Recall Their Memories
  • U S News & World Reports - 1992 August 17
    JFK The Untold Story of the Warren Commission
  • JAMA - 1992 October 7
    Letters; Closing the Case in JAMA on the John F. Kennedy Autopsy; JFK's Death, Part III  Dr. Finck Speaks Out: Two Bullets, From the Rear
  • Newsweek - 1993 September 6
    JFK: There Was a Cover-Up But Not of Who Killed Him
  • Newsweek - 1993 November 22
    The JFK Cover-Up: It's Not What You Think
  • ABA Journal - 1994 March 1
    Outgunning the Mob
  • Newsweek - 1994 Mary 30
    Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis 1929-1994
  • Texas Monthly - 1998 November 1
    The Assassination: The Top Conspiracy Theories; The Evidence; The Witnesses Today; Why We Still Care
  • The Cedar Rapids Gazette - 1998 November 22
    Iowa Today: November 22, 1963: Iowans recall day of sadness. Oversize 5
  • The Cedar Rapids Gazette - 1998 December 29
    CLINTON IMPEACHED. Oversize 5
  • The Columbia Daily - 1999 Feburary 12
    ACQUITTED. Oversize 5
  • The Cedar Rapids Gazette - 1999 February 13
    CLINTON ACQUITTED. Oversize 5
  • The Des Moines Register - 1999 February 13
    Clinton found not guilty, asks for reconciliation. Oversize 5
  • The Columbia Tribune - 1999 February 16
    Impeachment Academy Awards (major players sketched). Oversize 5
  • The Washington Post - 1999 Feburary 22
    The Runaway Impeachment Train That Ran Out of Steam. Oversize 5
  • Austin American-Statesman - 1999 March 28
    A Thousand Years. Oversize 5
  • Celebrity Focus - 2000 July 31
    JFK: America's Favorite Son Remembered.
  • Time - 2003 November 10
    J.F.K. The Unseen Photographs.
  • Houston Chronicle - 2003 November 16
    JFK. Oversized Box 5
  • Austin American-Statesman - 2003 November 16
    A Conspiracy Among Us. Oversized Box 5
  • Dallas Morning News - 2003 November 21
    A City Under the Spotlight. Oversized Box 5
  • Dallas Morning News - 2003 November 21
    Pain lingers for Tippit's widow. Oversized Box 5
  • USA Today - 2003 November 21
    11/22/63 A murder mystery, but no end. Oversized Box 5
  • Austin American-Statesman - 2003 November 22
    40 years ago, world lost a man, a dream. Oversized Box 5
  • Dallas Morning News - 2003 November 22
    Endless procession of images, sadness. Oversized Box 5
  • Houston Chronicle - 2003 November 22
    Forty years later, shooting still a mystery. Oversized Box 5
  • Dallas Morning News - 2003 November 24
    Thousands mark JFK assassination. Oversized Box 5
  • Dallas Morning News - 2003 November 23
    JFK: 40 Years After. Oversized Box 5
  • Freeman South Dakota Courier - 2008 Noveber 19
    45 Years Ago . . . Part 1. Oversized 5
  • Freeman South Dakota Courier - 2008 November 26
    46 Years Ago . . . Part 2. Oversized 5
  • Freeman South Dakota Courier - 2008 December 3
    47 Years Ago . . . Part 3. Oversized 5
  • Time - 2007 July 2
    What We Can Learn From JFK
  • Movieland and TV Times - Undated
    A tribute of Jacqueline Kennedy, Full-Length Biography
  • Sub-Series: Dr. Nichols of Kansas City suit to examine JFK materials, 1970. Dr Wecht, correspondence regarding Nichols and Wecht
  • Sub-Series: Oliver Stone JFK movie
  • Sub-Series: Other president's assassinations and illnesses
  • Sub-Series: Personal
  • Sub-Series: Earl Forrest Rose
  • Box 6:
  • Articles authored or co-authored by Rose: Dallas: My View of History: Manuscript
  • Articles authored or co-authored by Rose: Dallas: My View of History: Draft copy
  • Articles authored or co-authored by Rose: Dallas: My View of History: Bound manuscript
  • Articles authored or co-authored by Rose: Dallas: My View of History: Photograph from the Dallas News (enlarged)
  • Articles authored or co-authored by Rose: JAMA interview on floppy disk
  • Articles authored or co-authored by Rose: Law in Medical Practice: Sourcebook for Medical Jurisprudence
  • Articles authored or co-authored by Rose:My Ana. Miscellaneous writings of Earl Rose
  • Announcement of a memorial service. Iowa City Press Citizen, June 8, 2012. Rose died May 1, 2012
  • Sub-Series: Sheriff Bill Decker
  • Sub-Series: Videos
  • Box 7:
  • Videos: The Assassination of President Kennedy: 1. NBC Program - 33909
  • Videos: The Assassination of President Kennedy: 2. Iowa Public Television. NOVA - 34293
  • Videos: The Assassination of President Kennedy: Dr. Marie Thorpe, Toledo - 34304
  • Videos: Kennedy Assassination Related to Watergate - 34060
  • Videos: The Kennedys, parts 1 and 2
  • Videos: The Men Who Killed Kennedy, Investigative Reports, Parts 1 and 2 - 38517
  • Videos: Paul Groudy Claims PM on Oswald - 35735
  • Sub-Series: 2014 Addendum
  • Box 8: Glass slides
    A combination of photographs, x-ray, and pathology slides, these slides sometimes include the name of the patient, and access may be governed by HIPAA rules. Consultation with a staff member is required when requesting access to these slides.