Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the E. F. Higgins III Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1977-2003
Creator: Higgins, E. F., III (1949-)
Extent: 3.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0855
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: An Alternative Traditions in Contemporary Art Collection

Alternate Extent Statement: Ephemera throughout.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Ths collection was given to the University of Iowa Libraries in 2006 by Marian, Patti, and Ginny Higgins in annual increments. The finding aid was posted to the Internet January 2007.

Preferred Citation: E. F. Higgins III Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

E.F. Higgins III (b. 1949) is a New York based stamp/mail artist. He became involved in mail art in c.1975 around the same time that he was creating his first Doo Da postage stamps.

This collection contains mail art, stamp art, painting, clothing, documentary video recordings,various publications, posters and correspondence.
An Alternative Traditions in the Contemporary Arts Collection. Higgins maintains an active web site at http://doodapost.com/.

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
Twentieth Century Avant-Garde Art
Alternative Traditions in the Contemporary Arts (ATCA)