Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Sandy Ballasch Library Postcards Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1913-1947
Creator: Ballasch, Sandy
Extent: .25 .
Collection Number: MSC0854
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Postcards, mostly from the midwest, showing libraries, many of them Carnegie Libraries.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was given to the University of Iowa Libraries in 2007 by Sandra Ballasch.

Preferred Citation: Sandy Ballasch Collection of Library Postcards, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

A collection of 45 postcards showing libraries, mostly in the midwest, with the majority being from Nebraska, Kansas, and Illinois, though there are some from Pennsylvania, California, and Washington State. Many of them are Carnegie Libraries. Some of the cards have been written on and sent through the mail; most of them are blank. They date mostly from the nineteen-teens, clustering around 1914-1916, though there is one from 1947.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Library postcards

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Dates:
20th century

Topics:
Carnegie libraries
Libraries

Geographic Names:
United States -- Midwest

Genre/Form of Materials:
Photographic postcards
Pictorial works
Picture postcards