Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Script Ephemera Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1921-2000
Creator: Script Ephemera
Extent: 2.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0852
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: The core of this collection is made up of scripts submitted for consideration for Best Screenplay in 2000. Other scripts have been added, and will continue to be added as they are received. Other materials, such as publicity kits and "the making of books" are also included here.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The core of this collection was given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Nicholas Meyer.

Preferred Citation: Script Ephemera Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

The core of this collection is made up of scripts submitted for consideration for Best Screenplay in 2000. Other scripts have been added, and will continue to be added as they are received. Other materials, such as publicity kits and "the making of books" are also included here.
TV and Film Archives at the University of Iowa

Browse by Series:
Series 1: SCRIPTS
Series 2: PUBLICITY KITS
Series 3: MAKING OF … BOOKS

  • Series 1: SCRIPTS
  • Box 1:
  • All the Pretty Horses. Ted Tally
    2 copies
  • Almost Famous. Cameron Crowe
  • American Beauty. Alan Ball
  • Analyze This. Kenneth Lonergan. Revised by Phoef Sutton; Peter Tolan; George Gallo; Harold Ramis; Mort Nathan & Barry Fanaro and Harold Ramis; Harold Ramis; Peter Tolan; Peter Tolan and Harold Ramis; current revisions by Harold Ramis
  • Before Night Falls. Cunningham O'Keefe, Lazaro Gomez Carriles, and Julian Schnabel
  • Being John Malkovich. Charlie Kaufman
  • Boys Don't Cry. Kimberly Peirce, Andy Bienen
  • Chicken Run. Kirkpatrick. Original story by Peter Lord and Nick Park
  • Chocolat. Robert Nelson Jacobs
    2 copies
  • The Cider House Rules. John Irving
  • The Contender. Rod Lurie
  • Dancer in the Dark. Lars von Trier
  • Eyes Wide Shut. Stanley Kubrick and Frederic Raphael
  • Finding Forrester. Mike Rich
  • The Forgotten. Scot Abbot
  • The Gift. Billy Bob Thornton & Tom Epperson
  • Gladiator. Story by David Franzoni. Written by David Franzoni, John Logan, and Bill Nicholson
  • The Green Mile. Frank Darabone. From the serial novel by Stephen King
  • The Human Stain. Nicholas Meyer. Based on the book by Philip Roth
  • Life is Beautiful. Vincenzo Cerami and Roberto Benigni
  • Nurse Betty. John C. Richards and James Flamberg. Story by John C. Richards
  • The Postman/Il Postino. Anna Pavignano, Michael Radford, Furio Scarpelli, Giacomo Scarpelli, Massimo Triosi
  • Requiem for a Dream. Darren Aronofsky. Based on the book by Hubert Selby, Jr.
  • Rolling Thunder. Tony Mark and R.J. Joseph
  • Sense and Sensibility. Emma Thompson. Based on the novel by Jane Austen
  • State and Main. David Mamet
  • Box 2:
  • Titus. By Julie Traynor. Adapted from Titus Andronicus by William Shakespeare
  • Topsy-Turvy. Mike Leigh
  • Traffic. Stephen Gaghan
  • The Virgin Suicides. Screenplay by Sofia Coppola. Based on the novel by Jeffrey Eugenides. (Based on material previously produced or published)
  • Wonder Boys. Steve Kloves. Based upon the novel by Michael Chabon
  • You Can Count on Me. Kenneth Lonergan
  • Series 2: PUBLICITY KITS
  • Box 2:
  • 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea
  • Batman and Robin
  • Booty Call
  • Buddy: A True Story
  • A Preview by Twentieth Century Fox. Releases: The Edge, Soul Food, A Life Less Ordinary, Anastasia, Alien Resurrection, Home Alone 3, Great Expectations Fall/Holiday - 1997
  • Free Willy 3: The Rescue
  • A Life Less Ordinary
  • Masterminds
  • My Best Friend's Wedding
  • Return of the Jedi
  • Soul Food
  • Speed 2: Cruise Control
  • Series 3: MAKING OF … BOOKS
  • Box 2:
  • The Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse
  • Spartacus: The Illlustrated Story of the Motion Picture Production
  • The Story of the Making of Ben Hur
  • The Tale of South Pacific