Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Pedro Lastra Collection of Letters from South American Writers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1954-2002
Creator: Lastra, Pedro (1932-)
Extent: 1.75 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0844
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Chilean essayist and poet. This collection contains over 900 letters to Lastra written by renowned South American writers.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Acquired by the University of Iowa Libraries, 2006.

Preferred Citation: Pedro Lastra Collection of Letters from South American Writers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Pedro Lastra was born in Chile in 1932. Poet and essayist, Lastra graduated from the University of Chile. Between 1966 and 1973 he served as the literary advisor to the University Press in Chile, where he founded and directed the Letras de America collection. From 1972 until 1994, Lastra was a professor in the Department of Hispanic Languages and Literature at the State University of New York, Stony Brook, where he is now Professor Emeritus. In addition to being a corresponding member of the Academia Chilena de la Lengua, Lastra is also an honorary professor at the University of San Marcos (Lima, Peru) and the University of San Andres (La Paz, Bolivia).
 
Some of his works of poetry include Traslado a la manana (1959), Yeramos inmortales (1969, 1974), Cuarderno de la doble vida (1984), Diario de viaje y otros poemas (1998), Cancion del pasjero (2001), and Palabras de amor (2002). Lastra has published many articles and he is also the author of several books: Conversaciones con Enrique Lihn (1980, 1990), Relecturas hispanoamericanas (1987), Invitacion a la lectura (2001), and Leido y anotado: Letras chilenas e hispanoamercianas (2002).

The Pedro Lastra collection of letters from South American writers contains letters to Pedro Lastra written by many renowned contemporary Spanish-speaking literary figures. The collection dates from 1954 to 2002 and contains over 900 letters. All of the correspondence is in Spanish and arranged alphabetically by correspondent.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: LETTERS

  • Series 1: LETTERS
  • Box 1:
  • Agosti, Hector P. (Argentina) - 1965-1970
    10 plus 1 signed namecard
  • Ainsa, Fernando (Uruguay) - 1980
    1 letter
  • Allende, Isabel (Chile) - 1983
    1 letter
  • Anderson Imbert, Enrique (Argentina) - 1960-1965
    4 letters
  • Ara, Guillermo (Argentina) - 1965
    1 letter
  • Asiain, Aurelio (Mexico) - 1997
    1 letter
  • Bartolome, Efrain (Mexico) - 2001
    1 letter
  • Barrenechea, Ana Marie (Argentine) - 1979-1983
    3 letters
  • Belli, Carlos German (Peru) - 1967-1988
    59 plus 2 signed namecards
  • Belli, Carlos German (Peru) - 1989-2005
    46 letters
  • Benedetti, Mario (Uruguay) - 1963-1970
    7 letters
  • Bonnett, Piedad (Colombia) - 1997-2001
    6 letters
  • Bueno, Salvador (Cuba) - 1961-1968
    6 letters
  • Cano, Jose Luis (Spain) - 1978
    1 letter
  • Carballo, Emmanuel (Mexico) - 1966-1969
    3 letters
  • Cardenal, Ernesto (Nicaragua) - 1970-1975
    5 letters
  • Carnero, Guillermo (Spain) - 1990
    2 letters
  • Carpentier, Alejo (Cuba) - 1972-1973
    2 letters
  • Castanon, Adolfo (Mexico) - 1998
    1 letter
  • Castellet, Jose Maria (Spain) - 1973
    1 letter
  • Castillo, Abelardo (Argentine) - 1971-1972
    2 letters
  • Castillo Zapata, Rafael (Venezuela) - 1991
    1 letter
  • Cobo Borda, Juan Gustavo (Colombia) - 1983
    1 letter
  • Cornejo Polar, Jorge (Peru) - 1997
    1 letter
  • Cortazar, Julio (Argentina) - 1981-1982
    3 letters
  • Cuadra, Pablo Antonio (Nicaragua) - 1977-1997
    2 letters
  • Deustua, Raul (Peru) - 1999
    2 letters
  • Devoto, Daniel (Argentina) - 2000-2001
    2 letters
  • Eielson, Jorge Eduardo (Peru) - 2000
    1 letter
  • Esacajadillo, Tomas G. (Peru) - 1977-1986
    3 letters
  • Escobar, Alberto (Peru) - 1965-1999
    64 letters
  • Fernandez Retamer, Roberto (Cuba) - 1968-1999
    17 letters
  • Fabbiani Ruiz, Jose (Venezuela) - 1966
    1 letter
  • Ferrari, Americo (Peru) - 1981-2002
    13 letters
  • Flores, Angel (Puerto Rico) - 1979-1986
    5 letters
  • Flores Galindo, Alberto (Peru) - 1989
    1 letter
  • Fornet, Ambrosio (Cuba) - 1966-1991
    3 letters
  • Fuentes, Carlos (Mexico) - 1980
    1 letter
  • Gerbasi, Vicente (Venezuela) - 1980-1981
    2 letters
  • Gelman, Juan (Argentina) - 1976-1996
    3 letters
  • Garcia Marquez, Gabriel (Colombia) - 1967
    4 letters
  • Goldemberg, Isaac (Peru) - 1985
    1 letter
  • Gonzalez Echevarria, Roberto (Cuba) - 1999
    1 letter
  • Grases, Pedro (Spain) - 1975
    1 letter
  • Box 2:
  • Gollon, Ricardo (Spain) - 1975-1990
    27 letters
  • Gutierrez Girardot, Rafael (Colombia) - 1971-1998
    5 letters
  • Hahn, Oscar (Chile) - 1965-1992
    69 plus 3 undated notes
  • Harss, Luis (Argentine) - 1979-1981
    5 letters
  • Horanyi, Matins (Hungary) - 1981
    1 letter
  • Jesualdo [Sosa] (Uruguay) - 1954-1956
    2 letters
  • Jitrik, Noe (Argentina) - 1962-2000
    4 letters
  • Kamenszain, Tamara (Argentina) - 1975
    2 letters
  • Labrador Ruiz, Enrique (Cuba) - 1962-1980
    5 letters
  • Lafforgue, Jorge (Argentina) - 1967
    1 letter
  • Lentini, Javier (Spain) - 1992
    1 letter
  • Lezama Lima, Jose (Cuba) - 1969
    1 letter
  • Libertella, Hector (Argentine) - 1975-1991
    11 letters
  • Lopez Degregori, Carlos (Peru) - 1994
    1 letter
  • Lopez Nieves, Luis (Puerto Rico) - 1989-1996
    2 letters
  • Lopez Ortega, Antonio (Venezuela) - 1990-1996
    7 letters
  • Martinez Moreno, Carlos (Uruguay) - 1961
    1 letter
  • Martinez-Bonati, Felix (Chile) - 1975-2002
    7 letters
  • Mezzotti, Jose Antonio (Peru) - 1993-2002
    4 letters
  • Mendiola, Víctor Manuel (Mexico) - 1995-1997
    3 letters
  • Maturo, Graciela (Argentine) - 1999-2000
    2 letters
  • Mejia Sanchez, Ernesto (Nicaragua) - 1978
    1 letter
  • Mendoza, Plinio Apuleyo (Colombia) - 1985
    1 letter
  • Meneses, Porfirio (Peru) - 1966
    1 letter
  • Monguio, Luis (Spain) - 1984-1991
    2 letters
  • Monsivais, Carlos (Mexico) - 1981
    1 letter
  • Montejo, Eugenio (Venezula) - 1984-2001
    47 letters
  • Mutis, Alvaro (Colombia) - 1984-1988
    2 letters
  • Oquendo, Abelardo (Peru) - 1963-2002
    10 letters
  • Ortega, Julio (Peru) - 1969-1988
    8 letters
  • Oviedo, Jose Miguel (Peru) - 1967-1997
    12 letters
  • Pacheco, Jose Emilio (Mexico) - 1979
    2 letters
  • Palau de Nemes, Graciela (Puerto Rico) - 1977
    1 letter
  • Paoli, Roberto (Italy) - 1989-1996
    3 letters
  • Parra, Nicanor (Chile) - 1969-1975
    2 letters
  • Paz, Octavio (Mexico) - 1996
    1 letter
  • Phillips, Allen W. (USA) - 1967-1968
    2 letters
  • Box 3:
  • Pineda Botero, Alvaro (Colombia) - 1986-1999
    21 letters
  • Portuondo, Jose Antonio (Cuba) - 1961
    1 letter
  • Quessep, Giovanni (Colombia) - 1998-2002
    5 letters
  • Quevedo, Alayda (and Edwin Madrid) (Ecuador) - 2002
    2 letters
  • Rama, Angel (Uruguay) - 1966-1983
    14 letters
  • Rael da Azua, Carlos (Uruguay) - 1966
    1 letter
  • Ribayro, Julio Ramon (Peru) - 1967
    5 letters
  • Rivera, Francisco (Venezuela) - 1986-1996
    6 letters
  • Rivera Martinez, Edgardo (Peru) - 1997
    1 letter
  • Roa Bastos, Augusto (Paraguay) - 1961-1985
    19 letters
  • Rodriguez, Julia Edgardo (Puerto Rico) - 1990-1994
    6 letters
  • Rodriguez Monagel, Emir (Uruguay) - 1966-1979
    5 letters
  • Rojas, Gonzalo (Chile) - 1961-1979
    56 letters
  • Rojas, Gonzalo (Chile) - 1980-1985
    34 letters
  • Rojas, Gonzalo (Chile) - 1986-1989
    33 letters
  • Rojas, Gonzalo (Chile) - 1990-2002
    29 letters
  • Box 4:
  • Romero, Armando (Colombia) - 1985-1998
    4 letters
  • Romero, Elvio (Paraguay) - 1972
    2 letters
  • Ruffinelli, Jorge (Uruguay) - 1969-1981
    7 letters
  • Sabato, Ernesto (Argentina) - 1960-1972
    13 letters
  • Sabato, Matilde (Argentina) - 1969-1971
    3 letters
  • Salazar Bondy, Sebastian (Peru) - 1964
    1 letter
  • Sambrano Urdaneta, Oscar (Venezuela) - 1984
    2 letters
  • Sanchez Pelaez, Juan (Venezuela) - 1997
    1 letter
  • Schulman, Ivan (USA) - 1994-1998
    3 letters
  • Schulman, Ivan (USA) - 1998
    2 letters
  • Silva-Santisteban, Ricardo (Peru) - 1998
    1 letter
  • Sobejano, Gonzalo (Spain) - 2001
    1 letter
  • Sologuren, Javier (Peru) - 1968-1993
    9 letters
  • Sucre, Guillermo (Venezuela) - 1985-1986
    5 letters
  • Suescun, Nicolas (Colombia) - 1969
    1 letter
  • Tauro, Alberto (Peru) - 1968
    1 letter
  • Traba, Marta (Argentina) - 1966-1969
    6 plus 2 signed notecards
  • Trigueros de Leon, Ricardo (El Salvador) - 1961-1963
    3 letters
  • Urzagasti, Jesus (Bolivia) - 1997
    2 letters
  • Vargas Llosa, Mario (Peru) - 1969-1994
    7 letters
  • Vera, Pedro Jorge (Ecuador - 1972-1983
    4 letters
  • Volkening, Ernesto A.C. (Colombia) - 1969
    2 letters
  • Westphalen, Emilio Adolfo (Peru) - 1970
    1 letter
  • Wiethuchter, Blanca (Bolivia) - 1999
    1 letter
  • Yurkevich, Saul (Argentina) - 1971-1985
    9 letters
  • Zeller, Ludwig (Chile) - 1994
    1 letter

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Lastra, Pedro

Topics:
Authors, Latin American
Latin American literature

Occupations:
Authors

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Sources
Correspondence