Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the World's Fair Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1893-2005
Creator: World's Fair
Extent: 3.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0840
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Printed matter from World's Fairs and Expositions. Includes postcards, photographs, printed matter.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Boxes 6, 8.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by the Haviland Collectors Internationale Foundation, to which it was given by Paul Robertson. Most of the materials in the 1933 Chicago Century of Progress Exposition were donated by Signe Chrisinger in 2004.

Preferred Citation: World's Fair Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

This collection consists of printed matter relating to World's Fairs and Expositions, starting with the The Great Exhibition in London in 1851. Though the bulk of the collection is made up of postcards, there are newspapers published at World's Fairs, advertising, travel information, and other materials, including a personal scrapbook of travel to the 1967 Montreal Expo. Some of the materials are originals from the exhibitions and some are materials about the expositions.
There are materials on the Columbian Exposition in Chicago in 1892 in the Springer Collection, MsC 202.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: POSTCARDS
Series 2: PRINT MATERIALS
Series 3: MATERIALS ABOUT WORLD'S FAIRS IN GENERAL
Series 4:

  • Series 1: POSTCARDS
  • Box 1: Index box of postcards - 1851-1905
  • Box 2: Index box of postcards - 1906-1915
  • Box 3: Index box of postcards - 1915-1934
  • Box 4: Index box of postcards - 1935-1940
  • Box 5: Index box of postcards - 1939-1988
  • Box 6:
  • Fletcher, F.A. and A. D. Brooks. British Exhibitions and Their Postcards, Part 1 - 1900-1915
  • Glimpses of the Louisiana Purchase Exposition and the City of St. Louis
  • Herinnering aan Amsterdam - 1883
  • Jackson's Famous Photographs of the Louisiana Purchase Exposition, St. Louis - 1904
  • Photo-Gravures of the Cotton-States Exposition, Atlanta
  • Series 2: PRINT MATERIALS
  • Sub-Series: The Great Exhibition, London, 1851
  • Box 7:
  • de Mare, Eric. London 1851: The Year of the Great Exhibition. London: The Folio Society - 1972
  • "The Great Exhibition." The World of Antiquest and Fine Arts, p. 29, June - 1990
  • Sub-Series: World's Columbian Exposition, Chicago - 1893
  • Box 7:
  • American Collector, October - 1938
    In Oversized Box 1
  • Campbell's Printing Press & Mfg. Co.
    An item printed at the Fair on a press 151 years old
  • The Chicago Tribune Art Supplements
    In Two Parts. Part Two
  • The Dream City
    In Oversized Box 1
  • Halligan's Illustrated World's Fair: A Pictorial and Literary History of the World's Columbian Exposition
    Part 29. In Oversized Box 1
  • The Youth's Companion
    In Oversized Box 1
  • Extra Number, May 4 - 1893
    World's Fair Number
  • Vol.66:No.26 June 29 - 1893
    4th of July Number
  • Sub-Series: Midwinter International Exposition, San Francisco, 1894
  • Box 7:
  • Art Views. California Educational Supplement Series, No.2 May 14 - 1894
    In Oversized Box 1
  • Engravings from the San Francisco Examiner Art Supplement
  • Vol. 1:No.1 November 9 - 1893
  • Vol. 1:No.3 November 23 - 1893
  • Official Catalogue, Fine Arts
  • Sub-Series: Cotton States and International Exposition, Atlanta, 1895
  • Box 7:
  • Interior of the Art Building
    Photocopy
  • Sub-Series: Tennessee Centennial Exposition, 1897
  • Box 7:
  • Scribners, September - 1897
    Photocopy of footnotes
  • Tennessee Centennial Exposition
    Fine art catalog, souvenir edition
  • Sub-Series: Paris Exposition - 1900
  • Box 7:
  • Glassine envelope
  • Sub-Series: Pan-American Exposition, Buffalo, 1901
  • Box 7:
  • Catalogue for the Exhibition of Fine Arts
  • The Delineator, Vol. LVII:No.2 August - 1901
  • The Latest and Best Views of the Pan-American Exposition
  • The Youth's Companion. In Oversized Box 1
  • Vol.75:No.20. Pan-American Number
  • The World's Work. Pan-American Exposition Number
  • Sub-Series: The Lewis and Clark Centennial Exposition, Portland, 1903
  • Box 7:
  • Official Catalogue for the Department of Fine Arts
  • Sub-Series: The Universal Exposition, St. Louis, 1904
  • Box 7:
  • The Forest City
    In Oversized Box 1
  • Vol.1:No.1 April 14 - 1904
  • Vol.1:No.4 May 5 - 1904
  • Vol.1:No. 5 May 12 - 1904
  • Josiah Allen's Wife (Marietta Holley). Samantha at the St. Louis Exposition. New York: G. W. Dillingham - 1904
  • Universal Exposition
  • Witherspoon, Margaret Johanson. Remembering the St. Louis World's Fair. St. Louis, Comfort Publishing - 1973
  • Sub-Series: Alaska, Yukon, Pacific Exposition, Seattle, 1909
  • Box 7:
  • Catalogue, Department of Fine Arts
  • The Travel Magazine, March - 1909
  • Sub-Series:
  • Box 7:
  • Catalog of Paintings, Gallery of Fine Arts
  • Illustrated Catalogue, Official Art Exhibition of the California Pacific International Exposition May 29-November 11 - 1935
    The Palace of Fine Arts, Balboa Park, San Diego,California
  • Official Views
  • Prosperity, Opportunity: Imperial Valley Day at Panama California International Exposition
  • Smythe, Bensel. "The San Diego Fair." The American Review of Reviews, May - 1915
  • Sub-Series: Panama Pacific International Exposition, San Fancisco, 1915
  • Box 7:
  • Gems of the Jewel City: 140
    Illustrations of the Panama Pacific Exposition
  • James, Juliet. Palaces and Courts of the Exposition. San Francisco: California Book Company - 1915
  • Knight, Sara Pattershall. Remains to Be Seen. Prepared to accompany an exhibition from the Panama Pacific International Exposition shown at the Lowie Museum of Anthropology, University of California at Berkeley, October-December - 1892-1893
  • Newhall, Ruth. San Francisco's Enchanted Palace. Berkeley, California: Howell-North Books - 1967
  • Official Souvenir Portfolio. Home and Library Illustrated Edition. Vol.1:No.3 May 30 - 1914
    In Oversized Box 1
  • Sub-Series: Empire Exhibition, Wembley, 1924
  • Box 7:
  • The Illustrated London News, Wembley Empire Exhibition Number. Vol.74:No. 1935 May 24 - 1924
    In Oversized Box 1
  • Sub-Series: A Century of Progress, Chicago, 1933-1934
  • Box 7:
  • The Chinese Lama Temple: Patala of Jehol
  • Official World's Fair in Pictures
  • The Story of Old Fort Dearborn and its connection with A Century of Progress
  • The White Indian Boy: A Tale of William Wells - Pioneer, Warrior and Border Scout
  • The Signe Chrisinger Collection on the Century of Progress Exposition
  • 100 Years of Progress in Modern Railroading
  • Admission ticket to Fort Dearborn
  • The Air Conditioned Train
  • The Burlington Zephyrs
  • The Burlington Route. Train schedule
  • A Century of Progress Exposition, Chicago - 1933
  • Even Lefty Grove's Fast Ball Bounced Back From a Piece of Safety Glass
  • Go Tell
  • How Firestone Gum-Dipped Tires Are Made
  • [Untitled] Illinois Central System
  • The Making of a Motor Car
  • Nash Standard Eight Series Big Six Series - 1933
  • Only a Few Dollars More Than the Lowest Priced Cars
  • Stainless Steel and Their Uses
  • Things You Don't Want to Forget About Chrysler
  • The Travel Bureau and the Relaxation Cars of the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad
  • Sub-Series: Brussels, 1935
  • Box 7:
  • L'Illustration. Exposition de Buxelles
    In Oversized Box 1
  • Sub-Series: Great Lakes Exposition, Cleveland, 1936-1937
  • Box 7:
  • The Twentieth Anniversary Exhibition. The Official Art Exhibit of the Great Lakes Exposition.
  • Sub-Series: Empire Exhibition, Scotland, 1938
  • Box 7:
  • The Illustrated London News, Vol.102:No. 1938 May 7 - 1938
    In Oversized Box 1
  • Sub-Series: Golden Gate International Exposition, San Francisco, 1939-1940
  • Box 7:
  • The American Photo-Engraver, Vol. XXX:No.8 August - 1938
  • Art. Official Catalog
  • "The Chapter in Your Life Entitled San Francisco 1939." Highway Traveler, February-March - 1939
  • Box 8:
  • Contemporary Art. Official Catalog, Department of Fine Arts, Division of Contemporary Painting and Sculpture
  • Decorative Arts. Official Catalog, Department of Fine Arts, Division of Decorative Arts
  • Golden Gate International Exposition Edition. The San Francisco Examiner, February 15 - 1939
  • Golden Gate International Exposition on San Francisco Bay - 1939
    In Oversized Box 1
  • Grand Cherry Show Takarazuka Girls on the Invitation of the Golden Gate International Exposition
  • Magic in the Night. Official souvenir
  • Masterworks of FIve Centuries. Official Catalog, Department of Fine Arts, Division of European Art
  • Pacific Cultures. Official Catalog, Department of Fine Arts, Division of Pacific Cultures
  • Pageant of the Pacific. Official Souvenir
    In Oversized Box 1
  • Photographs
  • Pictorial California and the Pacific
    In Oversized Box 1
  • Treasure Island Gold Book Pictorial
  • "A World of Color - The Exposition." Motor Land, February - 1939
  • Sub-Series: New York, 1939-1940
  • Box 8:
  • Masterpieces of Art
  • Official Catalogue, Illustrated
  • European Paintings and Sculpture from 1300-1800. May to October - 1939
  • European and American Paintings 1500-1900. May to October - 1940
  • Official Souvenir Guide and Picture Book
  • New York World's Fair Bulletin
  • New York World's Fair Views
  • Sub-Series: Science Exhibition, South Kensington, 1951
  • Box 8:
  • Punch, June 6 - 1951
  • Sub-Series: Festival of Britain, London, 1958
  • Box 8:
  • The Illustrated London News, Vol. 128:No. 3342 May 12 - 1951
    In Oversized Box 1
  • Sub-Series: Brussels, 1958
  • Box 8:
  • American Art, Four Exhibitions
  • Holiday Abroad - 1958
  • Sub-Series: Seattle, 1962
  • Box 8:
  • Art Since 1950
  • Masterpieces of Art
  • Northwest Coast Indian Art
  • "World's Fair in Seattle: The Big Show Opens April 24." Sunset Magazine, April - 1962
  • Sub-Series: New York, 1964
  • Box 8:
  • Art in New York State
  • Sub-Series: Expo '67
  • Box 8:
  • Man and His World International Fine Arts Exhibition
  • Robertson family scrapbook
  • Sub-Series: Osaka, 1970
  • Box 8:
  • Clipping. Fine Arts Review. "Expo '70 Fine Arts Pavilion Testimony to Creativeness" - 1970
  • Sub-Series: Expo '74, Spokane
  • Box 8:
  • Expo '74. World's Fair, Spokane
  • Our Land, Our Sky, Our Water. An Exhibition of American and Canadian Art
  • Sculpture Guide
  • Sub-Series: Knoxville, 1982
  • Box 8:
  • Stamps
  • Sub-Series: World of Rivers, New Orleans, 1984
  • Box 8:
  • World's Fair, New Orleans
  • Sub-Series: Expo '92, Sevilla
  • Box 8:
  • Imagine It! Spain's Universal Exhibition, Seville - 1992
  • Series 3: MATERIALS ABOUT WORLD'S FAIRS IN GENERAL
  • Box 8:
  • Chicago and It's Two World's Fairs: A Permanent Album
  • Exposition Medals. From Johnson Johnson Antique Auction, Sunday, March 25 - 1982
  • Fair Sounds. A listing [by Paul Robertson?] of songs associated with various fairs. Holograph
  • Fair's Lures. Outstanding attractions of World's Fairs
    Holograph
  • The Highway Traveler, Exposition Number. Vol.VIII:No.3 June-July - 1936
  • Masterpieces of Art From the New York and San Francisco World's Fairs - 1939-1940
  • Miscellaneous
  • Poster stamps/postage stamps
  • San Diego Exposition - 1935
  • New York World's Fair - 1940
  • Lisbon London World Exposition - 1940
  • Printouts
  • Quiz PPIE [Panama Pacific International Exposition?] [by Paul Robertson?]. Holograph
  • Weylland, John Matthias. A Thought For the World: The Narrative of Christian Effort in Great Exhibitions. London: S.W. Partidge & Co., n.d.
  • "World's Fair Souvenirs: Mementos of Razzle-Dazzle Exhibitions." Encyclopedia of Collectibles. New York: Time, Inc., pp. 120-133 - 1979
    Photocopy
  • Series 4:
  • Box 9: OVERSIZED BOX
  • World's Columbian Exposition, Chicago. American Collector, October 1938.
  • World's Columbian Exposition, Chicago. The Dream City. - 1893
  • World's Columbian Exposition, Chicago. The Youth's Companion. - 1893
  • Midwinter International Exposition, San Francisco. Art Views. California Educational Supplement Series, No.2 May 14 - 1894
  • Pan-American Exposition, Buffalo. The Youth's Companion. - 1901
  • The Universal Exposition, St. Louis. The Forest City. - 1904
  • Panama Pacific International Exposition, San Francisco. Official Souvenir Portfolio. Home and Library Illustrated Edition. Vol.1:No.3 May 30 - 1914
  • The Illustrated London News, Wembley Empire Exhibition Number. Vol.74:No. 1935 May 24 - 1924
  • L'Illustration. Exposition de Buxelles. Brussels - 1935
  • Empire Exhibition, Scotland. The Illustrated London News, Vol.102:No. 1938 May 7 - 1938
  • Golden Gate International Exposition on San Francisco Bay - 1939
  • Pageant of the Pacific. Official Souvenir. San Francisco-Golden Gate International Exposition - 1939-1940
  • Pictorial California and the Pacific. San Francisco-Golden Gate International Exposition - 1939-1940

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.