Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Crawford and Eastwood Families Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1910-2004
Creator: Crawford and Eastwood Families
Extent: 7.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0836
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Correspondence, photographs, clippings, and genealogical records of these families, including materials relating to operating a farm near Prescott, Kansas; letters home from a worker on the Chautauqua circuit; and letters home from a professor of music.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs Box 3

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by David Crawford in 2005, with the exception of the two folders of transcribed Eastwood letters in Box 2: those were the earlier gift of ZoeAnn Holmes.

Preferred Citation: Crawford and Eastwood Families Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

The Crawford and Eastwood families settled in Kansas, Nebraska, Oklahoma, and Texas in the latter half of the nineteenth century. James Abram Eastwood traveled on the Chautauqua Circuit and was away from home quite often. He kept in touch with the family by sending an almost constant flow of letters. He had five children, one of whom, Sarah Anna Mary, married Eugene Crawford. This couple farmed near Prescott, Kansas and kept extensive records of their business. Their son David became a music professor and wrote home often. These letters comprise the larger part of this collection.

In the interest of rapid accessibility, the letters were not sorted by writer or date, but foldered as they were sent to us, roughly broken out into Crawford family correspondence, Eastwood family correspondence, and Eastwood/Crawford correspondence. The items obtained from David Crawford are originals; the two folders of materials from the Eastwood family are typewritten transcriptions of letters in the possession of various family members, with the bulk of them being from the David Crawford collection. Clippings are gathered into one folder in addition to one homemade scrapbook. Farm records of the Eugene Crawford farm are kept in ledgers in a nearly unbroken stream from 1942 to 1980.

A folder is also included of letters from Beverly Boyd to Anna Mary Crawford regarding the canonization of Phillipine Duchesne, with photographs of stained glass windows devoted to Sister Phillipine.
Redpath Lyceum Bureau

The Papers of Denton Crowl

Marion Ballou Fisk Papers

Records of the Krantz Family Concert Company

Rosa Kohler/Radcliffe Chautauqua Papers

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Autograph Albums
  • Hattie HeraldĀ 
  • Sue Herald
  • Baby Book
  • Anna Mary Eastwood Crawford - also a school note book
  • David Eugene Crawford
  • Clippings
  • 1 folder in Oversized Box 5 - one scrapbook
  • Correspondence
  • Boyd, Beverly - Concerning the canonization of Phillipine Dechesne
  • Crawford family - 11 folders. 1 folder in Oversized Box 5
  • Eastwood family - 7 folders
  • 5 folders
  • Box 2:
  • Correspondence - continued
  • Eastwood family - continued
  • 2 folders
  • Crawford-Eastwood family - 6 folders
  • Eastwood family - 2 folders of typewritten transcripts
  • Death of Eugene Crawford
  • Diaries
  • 1945-1951. Unknown writer - sporadic entries written in a 1934 diary
  • Inscribed to Ann from Jan - 1989
  • Diploma and Yearbook (The Hatchet) of Ruth Herald
  • The Farm Problem - MA Thesis by Anna Mary Eastwood Crawford - 1964
  • Farm records: Gene and Anna Mary Eastwood Crawford
  • 38 ledger books: 1942-1957, 1959-1962, 1964-1980, 1954-1956
  • Box 3:
  • Farm records: Gene and Anna Mary Eastwood Crawford - continued
  • 1957, 1959-1962, 1964-1980; 1981 also contains 1991
  • Genealogical Materials - 6 folders; 1 folder in Oversized Box 5
  • Legal documents - in Oversized Box 5
  • Memorial Book
  • R. L. Herald - includes photographs and negatives
  • Hattie Herald Crawford
  • Box 4:
  • Miscellaneous documents - 2 folders; one in Oversized Box 1
  • Photographs - 2 folders
  • School documents - Anna Mary Eastwood Crawford
  • Scrapbook: Vernon Crawford - "For shelling, 1915"
  • Clippings of poems and short items
  • Typewritten and holographic entries
  • Talks and papers by Anna Mary Eastwood Crawford
  • Teaching credentials - Anna Mary Eastwood Crawford