Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the George J. Schaller Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1871-1964
Creator: Schaller, George J. (1873-1964)
Extent: .25 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0833
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Banker and businessman. Legal, personal, and business papers, as well as correspondence and photographs.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Box 1

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were collected by George Sheets for the University of Iowa during the late 1950s.

Preferred Citation: George J. Schaller Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Born December 24, 1873 on a farm in Sac County, Iowa, George J. Schaller was the son of Fred Schaller and Catherine (MIller) Schaller. The family moved to Storm Lake, Iowa, in 1882 where George's father entered the general merchandise business. George attended public school and worked for his father counting eggs, weighing butter, and helping customers. In 1892 George enrolled at Buena Vista College in Storm Lake, but after three weeks he took a position as a bookkeeper for a local bank and thus began his career in banking. By 1897 George was appointed Deputy Clerk of the District Court of Buena Vista County and in 1899 George went into partnership with his father on a land and loan business.
 
George started his own family in 1900, marrying Eloise Warren of Rock Valley, Iowa, with whom he had four children: Catherine, Harry, Earl, and Edward. In 1901 George and his father opened, as co-partners, the Citizen's Bank in Storm Lake; George became President in 1922 after the death of his father. From 1927 through 1928 George was President of the Iowa Bankers Association. Despite hard times after the stock market crash in 1929, George was able to keep the Citizen's Bank active and in 1934 he was elected Governor (later President) of the Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago. Upon his retirement in 1941, George returned to Storm Lake and and the Citizen's Bank as Chairman of the Board of Directors. George J. Schaller died in 1964.

This collection consists of biographical materials for George Schaller; legal, business, and personal papers; correspondence; and photographs.
George M. Sheets Collection. This collection contains an unpublished article by Sheets titled "George S.Schaller, Big Country Banker."

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Biographical material
  • "A Short Review of a Few Recollections Two and One-half Generations After the Beginning of This Story -- For My Grandchildren," dictated by George J. Schaller
    Typescript. 12 pages with note acknowledging his wife.
  • Resume, September 1 - 1954
    Typescript. 2 pages
  • Addresses and banking materials
  • Letter from Frank Warner, secretary, addressed to GJS as Chairman, with regard to legislative matters of concern to the Iowa Bankers Association, March 15 - 1927
    Ditto. 1 page
  • Iowa Bankers Association annual meeting program, Storm Lake, Iowa (Group Two), May 21 - 1928
  • Iowa Bankers Association annual meeting program, Sioux City, Iowa (Group One), May 22 - 1928
  • Iowa Bankers Association annual meeting program, Greene, Iowa (Group Three), May 23 - 1928
  • Iowa Bankers Association annual meeting program, Cedar Rapids, Iowa (42nd Annual Convention), June 18, 19, 20 - 1928
  • Iowa Bankers Association annual meeting program, "Program in Brief". Cedar Rapids, Iowa (42nd Annual Convention), June 18, 19, 20 - 1928
  • "Address of George J. Schaller, President of the Iowa Bankers Association, as Given before the 42nd Annual Convention," June 19 - 1928
    Ditto. 7 pages (2 copies)
  • "Address of Geo. J. Schaller, President, Citizens First National Bank, ... Iowa Bankers Association," June 25 - 1929
    Ditto. 4 pages
  • Federal Reserve Board Certificate to serve simultaneously as director and officer of the Citizens First National Bank and director of the Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago, November 24 - 1933
    Printed document. 1 page
  • Business papers
  • Land deed to Joseph Rosenbaum of Bremer County, Iowa, dated July 1 - 1873
    signed by Ulysses S. Grant as President of the United States
  • Treasurer's Office, Sac County, tax receipts issued to Fred Schaller - 1871-1880
    9 pages. Photocopies replacing originals
  • "Sale on old farm February 14" - 1882
    3 ledger-ruled sheets with names and amounts entered in pencil and ink on 5 pages. Photocopies replacing originals
  • ALS Fred Schaller to ?, October 29 - 1900
    2 pages. In German?
  • Memorandum of Partnership between Fred Schaller and George Schaller, June 30 - 1909
    1 page. Photocopy replacing original
  • Newspaper clippings related to GLS's election as president of the Iowa Banker Association and Association activities - 1927-1928
    majority are dated May 1928
  • Newspaper clippings: Archival photocopies of folder 4
  • Newspaper clippings - 1928-1933
    majority are dated May 1928
  • Newspaper clippings: Archival photocopies of folder 6
  • Photographs
  • GJS, circa - 1935-1939
    (reproduced above)
  • Pest house, smallpox epidemic, Storm Lake, Iowa - 1899
  • Postcard, Citizen's First National Bank, Storm Lake, Iowa, undated

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Schaller, George J., 1873-1964

Topics:
Banks and banking

Occupations:
Bankers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Photographs
Archives
Business records
Clippings (Information artifacts)
Sources
Correspondence