Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Phillip Margolin Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1978-2007
Creator: Margolin, Phillip
Extent: 16.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0832
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: American and foreign editions, manuscript materials, publicity materials, periodical appearances, and clippings for this lawyer-author of legal thrillers.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Phillip Margolin Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Phillip Margolin was born and educated in New York. He received a B.A. at the American University in Washington, D.C. in 1965 and a law degree from New York University School of Law in 1970. He spent 1965 to1967 in the Peace Corps in Liberia. He practiced criminal law in Portland, Oregon, until 1996,trying cases in circuit court, appeals court, and the United State Supreme Court. In 1996, he became a full-time writer, writing thriller novels and short stories. His books have appeared on the best seller list many times. Awards include an Edgar nomination for Heartstone. The Last Innocent Man was made into an HBO special.

The collection consists mainly of American and foreign language editions of Margolin's works. For some of the works, there are other materials, such as manuscripts and publicity materials. All materials relating to a title are drawn together in this collection. For example, manuscript materials, foreign language editions, manuscript for audio presentation, an audio tape, and promotional materials are here for Gone, But Not Forgotten, and these will all be found in the collection under the title. The novels are arranged by their publication date in order to allow for expected expansion with further gifts. .
Phillip Margolin's web site

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Novelists, Story Writers, & Poets