Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Vernon A. Stone Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1967-2004
Creator: Stone, Vernon A. (1929-2005)
Extent: 42.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0826
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Journalism professor at the University of Missouri who did a great many research projects on commission from RTNDA. Includes his research notes and data, writings, lecture notes and class materials. The collection includes a great many clippings on a variety of topics having to do with broadcast journalism.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Boxes 8, 9, 10, 14, 15, 24, 27

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by Stone's son, Adam, in 2008.

Preferred Citation: Vernon A. Stone Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Vernon Arthur Stone was born on October 21,1929 in Bowling Green, Kentucky, to Hughie and Mabel Stone. He received his BA in English at Western Kentucky University in 1951; his MA at the University of Iowa in journalism in 1953; and his Ph.D. at University of Wisconsin, Madison in mass communication in 1966. From 1966-1974 he served on the faculty of the University of Wisconsin at Madison before moving to the University of Georgia in 1974. In 1978 he moved to Southern Illinois University, Carbondale, where he served as Director of the School of Journalism; and in 1986 he took his last posting at University of Missouri at Columbia, as a research professor at the School of Journalism. He retired with the rank of Emeritus Professor in 1992. He was one of the leading scholars in the field of broadcast journalism.
 
Stone's knowledge of the profession was broad as well as deep, as he worked as a newsman, announcer, and managing news editor in radio, and a newsman and television news coordinator at television stations before embarking on his teaching career. In addition to his teaching duties, Professor Stone served as research director for the Radio and Television News Directors Association (RTNDA) for 22 years, in which position he collected data on many topics of interest to newspeople. This included statistics on women and minorities in television and radio news, stress among newspeople, the effects of electronic news gathering (ENG) among many, many others. He was honored for this work with a Distinguished Service Award from RTNDA. He wrote three books, the last one being Let's Talk Pay in Television and Radio News published in 1993, as well as many essays and articles. He also served on many committees, both at the universities where he worked and in professional organizations, such as the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC).
 
Stone had a gruff manner but it was obvious that he was dedicated to his profession and to his students. He loved jazz and travelled the Midwest to attend concerts. Stone was a hiker and was often seen on the hiking trails around Columbia. He married Saribenne Thomas on June 11, 1966. They had two children, Adam and Hallie. The marriage ended in divorce, and he never remarried.
 
Stone died in Columbia at the age of 75 on June 15, 2005.

This collection is divided into 11 series.

Series I, the Clippings series, contains a rich collection of newspaper and magazine clippings covering a broad range of subjects of interest to researchers, especially covering broadcast media during the period of the 1960s to the early 2000s, including television and radio news reporting in combination with other topics, particularly anchor persons and women and minorities in broadcasting, but also including topics such as coverage of Viet Nam and Watergate and the beginning of the internet and electronic news gathering. Stone also collected clippings for use in his classes; where there is a significant number of these they have been moved into the clippings series, but the clippings essential to teaching the class were left with the teaching materials.

Series II, Correspondence, is broken down by format, with traditional forms (letters, cards) being arranged alphabetically by author. His web responses reside in a separate subseries, since this is the way that Stone had them organized. A third subseries is correspondence having to do with his "Careers" brochure.

Series III, Miscellaneous, contains the few items which don't fit anywhere else.

Series IV: Professor Stone created many handwritten and typed notes, sometimes in combination with photocopies and clippings, which he presumably used for his classes. However, since the class for which they were intended sometimes is not indicated and in many cases were used in multiple classes, they are brought together into a series called Notes, which makes up Series IV.

Series V:Stone's professional activities, including his consulting work and university appointments are collected in Series V, Professional Materials.

Series VI: Stone was active in many professional organizations, and his records of this activity (with the exception of RTNDA and RTNDF, which have their own series) make up Series VI.

Series VII, RTNDA, is make up of committee work and research that he undertook on behalf of RTNDA, such as the evaluations of their annual meetings.

Series VIII: The Research series, Series VIII, is made of up two streams: literature gathered by Stone, arranged alphabetically by topic and often accompanied by Stone's notes; and summaries of raw data collected by Stone, often accompanied by articles on the topic and sometimes by correspondence when the respondents felt the need to elaborate on the surveys sent them. These two streams make up a single series. A third stream, a sampling of the surveys themselves, make up a separate subseries in the Research series.

Series IX: Stone served for a time as editor of Static, and a series of these journals make up Series IX.

Series X: Stone taught for many years and kept copious notes for each of his classes, sometimes including clippings and articles in his files along with handouts and assignments. These are arranged alphabetically by the name of the course, since he taught similar courses at four universities. These materials are brought together in the Teaching Materials series, Series X.

Series XI , the Writings series, includes articles written by Stone, either by himself or with others. These include manuscripts and/or finished articles. It also sometimes includes print-outs from his web page. When notes, clippings, or other research was kept by Stone in a file with the finished article, they were not removed to the other series but kept with the article. Correspondence about the piece of writing is also kept with the piece. A curiosity in the writing series is a song written based on Stone's research on women in newsrooms, represented here by an audio cassette recording.

Stone had a habit of writing information on the covers of his folders. Where this information was deemed important we have kept the original folder. When these were too shabby, the materials were enclosed in new folders with the cover of the original folder included as part of the material within the new folder.

The watchword for using this collection is interrelation. Clippings are found throughout the collection, in the clippings files, the notes files, the research files, and the writings files. In order to perform an exhaustive search on a topic, all of these series should be consulted.

Stone was an avid researcher who collected extensively in the area of media, and this collection represents a rich source of research brought together on many topics. The clippings especially represent a collocation of materials useful to the researcher interested in broadcast media in the last half of the twentieth century.
See the Records of the Radio-Television News Directors Association

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CLIPPINGS
Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 3: MISCELLANEOUS
Series 4: NOTES
Series 5: PROFESSIONAL MATERIALS
Series 6: PROFESSIONAL ORGANIZATIONS
Series 7: RTNDA
Series 8: RESEARCH
Series 9: STATIC NEWSLETTER
Series 10: TEACHING MATERIALS
Series 11: WRITINGS, 1963-1997

  • Series 1: CLIPPINGS
  • Box 1:
  • 1973 POW Coverage and "Sticks and Bones" Clips
  • ABC, CBS, NBC Network Ops - Personnel, etc.
  • Accuracy in Reporting Research
  • Agnew's Criticism
  • Agnew Speech Text
  • All News Radio
  • Annual Round-ups of News in Journalism
  • Attributions and Quotes
  • Background and Trends
  • Ball State Info
  • Bias
  • Broadcast News and the Courtroom
  • Courtroom TV: Hoyt Papers
  • Judicial System Reporting
  • Pre-Trial Coverage
  • RTV Courtroom Coverage
  • RTV in Courtrooms: Key Clips
  • RTV in Courtrooms: Research
  • Trial Coverage: WHA-TV Case
  • Business Reporting
  • CBS News Washington Bureau: Riots Coverage, Fast Journalism, etc.
  • CIA News Media Connections
  • C-Span
  • Cable News
  • Cable Teaming
  • Christine Craft Case
  • Consultants
  • Crisis and Disaster Reporting
  • Cutbacks
  • Deregulation
  • Deceptions and Hoaxes in Reporting
  • Distinguished Broadcast Journalism Educator: News Items and Releases - 1998
  • Documentaries
  • Box 2:
  • Editorials RTV
  • Education and Careers
  • Ethics and Taste
  • Event Orientation (Reporting) Research
  • Fairness Doctrine
  • 315 Distinctions
  • Highlights
  • Federal Government and Broadcast News
  • General
  • LBJ Administration
  • Nixon Administration
  • Ford Administration
  • Carter Administration
  • "The First 50 Years" RT History 1931-1981 Broadcasting Magazine
  • FOX
  • Government and Broadcasting
  • George H.W. Bush Administration
  • Reagan Administration
  • "Happy" News
  • Helicopter Reporting
  • Hired Experts
  • Hiring of Graduates
  • Independent TV
  • Internships
  • Interviewing
  • Interviews
  • Investigative Reporting
  • "Hunger in America"
  • Illinois Power and "60 Minutes"
  • Karen Silkwood and Rolling Stone
  • Iran Hostages Coverage
  • Job Compression
  • Journalistic Ethics
  • Robert F. Kennedy Assassination - 1968
  • Lefever Study of CBS News Bias
  • "Liberal Bias" Study
  • Local Anchors and Reporters
  • Individuals
  • Issues
  • Local News Programming
  • Local Radio News
  • Local TV News
  • Magazine Programs
  • Media Preferences: Roper Reports
  • Box 3:
  • Media Preferences and Use: Other Studies
  • MF (Male/Female?) Anchors
  • Minority RTV Ownership
  • Miscellaneous
  • Mizzou Weekly
  • Martin Luther King Assassination - 1968
  • Network News
  • Financial and Corporate
  • Programs
  • Reporters and Anchors
  • News Analysis
  • News and Advertising
  • News Directors and Financial Managers
  • News Finances
  • News vs. Entertainment
  • News vs. Showbiz
  • Newsfilm Scripting
  • On-Air Women: Looks
  • Opponents of Change to Reduce Sex Bias
  • Orderly Procedures and Pooling
  • Political Correctness
  • Political Campaigns
  • Political Conventions
  • Political Conventions and Chicago - 1968
  • Political Debates TV
  • Politics: Election Night and TV Projections
  • Print Sources in Broadcasting
  • Public Affairs
  • Public Relations Influence on Reporting
  • Radio
  • Radio News
  • Ratings Services
  • Regulations
  • BCT Ownership
  • Black License Challenge
  • Box 4:
  • Regulations (cont.)
  • FCC
  • FCC Renewal Policies
  • Fairness, Bias and Objectivity
  • Fairness Doctrine
  • Free Press Comments
  • License Challenges
  • Section 315 of the Communication Act
  • WBLT (TV) License
  • Reporter Professionalism
  • Reporter Relations With Sources
  • Reporters' Appearance
  • Reporters "Getting" Sources: Eagleton, Nixon, Lance, etc.
  • Reporting
  • Efron's The News Twisters Bias
  • Minorities
    Covering riots, notes, clippings, how minorities are presented on TV.
  • Other Wars
  • Riots and Disorders
  • Special Events
  • Staging TVR
  • Vietnam
  • Reports on Journalism Education
  • Reuters and McVeigh - 2001
  • Role RTV News
  • Trends - 2000
  • Criticism
  • Effects Upon Events
  • News History
  • Professional Standards and Code of Ethics
  • Women: Legal Action, Regulations, etc.
  • Miscellaneous Reporting: Scandals and Crises
  • Daniel Schorr Case: News Leaks, TV Reporting, etc.
  • Box 5:
  • Satellite News Gathering (SNG)
  • Selling of the Pentagon, CBS - 1971
    Includes CBS memo on the story
  • Sex Bias in Portrayal
  • Simulation
  • Specialized Reporting
  • Staff Management
  • Subpoenas, TV Outtakes, Legal Issues, etc.
  • Ted Turner's Cable Network/CNN
  • Technology
  • Technology, Newsroom Computers, Managing Technology
  • Terminology, Political Correctness, and Writing
  • Television Information Office (TIO)
  • TV Anchor Women
  • TV News Reporting Tabloid Crime
  • Television and Radio Network Broadcasters
  • David Brinkley
  • Tom Brokaw
  • John Chancellor
  • Connie Chung
  • Sylvia Chase
  • Walter Cronkite
  • Sam Donaldson
  • Linda Ellerbee
  • Karen Foss
  • Pauline Frederrick
  • Paul Harvey
  • Peter Jennings
  • Bernard and Marvin Kalb
  • Larry King
  • Ted Koppel
  • Charles Kuralt
  • Catherine Mackin
  • Bill Moyers
  • Roger Mudd
  • Edwin Newman
  • Deborah Norville
  • Charles Osgood
  • Jane Pauley
  • Dan Rather
  • Harry Reasoner
  • Marlene Sanders
  • Jessica Savich
  • Diane Sawyer
  • Bob Schieffer
  • Daniel Schorr
  • Eric Sevareid
  • Bernard Shaw
  • Lynn Sherr
  • Howard K. Smith
  • Tom Snyder
  • Lesley Stahl
  • Mike Wallace
  • Old Times
  • General
  • TVR Nixon Administration and License Challenges
  • TVR Checkbook Journalism
  • TVR Conflicts witbh Police, Police Posing as Reporters
  • TVR and Campus Dissent Coverage, Effects on Events
  • TVR Reporting
  • Newsperson Involvement in the News
  • Overseas News
  • Secoond-Hand Reporting
  • Staging: WBBM Pot Party
  • "Using" the Media
  • Box 6:
  • TVR Reporting (cont.)
  • Weather Crises, etc.
  • RTV Effects on Events: Riots and Disorders
  • Terrorism and Hostage Coverage
  • Unionization
  • Using the English Language
  • "Vietnam 10 Years Later"
  • Vietnam in the News
  • Vietnam Coverage: Issues
  • What's News?
  • Women Anchors and Reporters
  • Women: Effect on Home Life
  • Women Sportscasters
  • Women in TVR News: Sally Quinn
  • Women in TVR News: Walters
  • Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 6:
  • A-U Correspondence
  • Box 7:
  • V-Z Correspondence
  • Correspondence about "Careers" Booklets
  • Web Responses - 1995-2005
  • Series 3: MISCELLANEOUS
  • Box 7:
  • Fine Line, Vol. 2: No. 5, 7-8, Vol. 3: No. 1-10
  • The Internet
  • Howard Rusk Long Lecture
  • The Jim Wollert Memorial Scholarship
  • Miscellaneous Journalism Publications
  • Shoptalk
  • Series 4: NOTES
  • Box 7:
  • Actualities
  • Attitudes Toward TV Newswomen
  • Box 8:
  • Broadcast News Writing
  • CATV
  • Consultants
  • Courtroom Coverage
  • Documentaries
  • Freedom of Information
  • Government and Broadcast News
  • Pre-Trial Coverage
  • "The Selling of the Pentagon" and Subpoenas
  • Sensationalism
  • Stringers
  • Still Pictures
  • Standuppers and Voicers
  • Talking Heads, Sound
  • Television Personnel Chart
  • To Do or Not to Do News
  • Videotapes
  • WTWJ Milwaukee
  • Wire Services
  • Series 5: PROFESSIONAL MATERIALS
  • Box 8:
  • Awards
  • AEJMC Distinguished Broadcast Journalism Educator - 1998
  • RTNDA Distinguished Service Award - 1988
  • Biographical
  • Clippings
  • Miscellaneous
  • Ph. D.
  • Photographs with B. Dell
  • Vita
  • Consulting, Editing, and Other Work
  • Better Television for Madison
  • Distinguished Broadcast Journalism Educator: Announcement - 2004
  • Distinguished Broadcast Journalism Educator: Award Nominator and Presenter - 1987
  • Distinguished Broadcast Journalism Educator: Recipient - 1998
  • Evaluation of Graduate Program, University of Alabama
  • Federal Communications Commision: Equal Employment Opportunity in the Broadcast and Cable Industries - 1989
    Stone was a panelist.
  • Jackson State University Advosiry Committee for the Proposed Telecommunications Center
  • Journal of Broadcasting
    Reviewing.
  • Journalism Monographs
    Reviewing.
  • Journalism Quarterly
    Editorial work.
  • Mass Communication Review
    Manuscript reader.
  • Miscellaneous
  • Southern Illinois School Press Association, Official Greeting - 1978-1985
  • Stevens Point Clinic
  • UPI Workshops - 1967-1968
  • University of Georgia Press
  • WBA Committee on State-Wide Internships in Radio/TV
  • University Appointments: University of Wisconsin - 1965-1975
  • Accreditation Details - 1974
  • Graduate School Research Proposal
  • Clippings - 1986-1992
  • Courses
  • Executive Committee, Journalism
  • Journalism Newsletters - 1967-1985
  • Journalism Publications
  • Mass Communication Survey Research Center
  • Salary and Promotions
  • Staff - 1972-1974
  • Box 9:
  • University Appointments: University of Wisconsin (cont.) - 1965-1975
  • University of Wisconsin Publications
  • Wisconsin Association for Better Broadcasts
  • University Appointments: University of Georgia - 1975-1978
  • Area Promotions Committee - 1975-1976
  • Chemistry Graduate Program Internal Review - 1977
  • Faculty - 1975-1978
  • Graduate Studies
  • Lawsuit
  • Provost
  • Staff Positions
  • Stone's Problems with the University
  • Survey Research Center Committee
  • Transition from University of Wisconsin to University of Georgia
  • University of Georgia Press Editorial Board - 1976-1978
  • University Appointments: Southern Illinois University - 1978-1986
  • Appointment
  • Calendar
  • Clippings
  • Director Evaluation
  • Du Quoin Marketing Project
  • Faculty
  • Gardner, John and the Southern Illinoisan
  • Graduate Students
  • Photographs
  • Presentation, Journalism Week
  • Publications
  • Reaccreditation Details
  • Resignation as Director
  • Self-Study
  • Social
  • Stone News Stories
  • University Appointments: University of Missouri at Columbia - 1987-1992
  • Appointment
  • Dean Search - 1988
  • Miscellaneous
  • Promotions and Tenure Committee
  • Retirement
  • University of Missouri News Bureau
  • Warner, Charles
  • Series 6: PROFESSIONAL ORGANIZATIONS
  • Box 9:
  • American Association of Schools and Departments of Journalism - 1980-1981
  • American Association of Schools and Departments of Journalism - 1981-1982
  • American Newspaper Publishers Association - 1979, 1981, 1982, 1983
  • American Society of Journalism School Administrators - 1981-1982
  • Association of Educators in Journalism and Mass Communications
  • AEJ and AEJMC
  • Accreditations
  • Ad Hoc Committee on the Status of Women in Journalism Education
  • Advisory Board
  • Conventions - 1966-1970
  • Box 10:
  • AEJ and AEJMC (cont.)
  • Conventions - 1971-1993, 1998
  • Mass Communications and Society Division: Paper Judging - 1990-1991
  • Minorities Division: Paper Judging
  • Miscellaneous AEJMC Correspondence
  • News and the Military Panel - 1971
  • AEJMC Newsletter
  • AEJ Committee on Nominations - 1976-1977, 1985-1991
  • Packwood Committee
    Includes photographs.
  • Radio and Television Division: Annual Report - 1972
  • Radio and Television Division: Convention - 1973
  • Radio and Television Division: Directory
  • Radio and Television Division: General, Including Paper Judging - 1974-1975
  • Box 11:
  • AEJ and AEJMC (cont.)
  • Radio and Television Division: General, Including Paper Judging - 1976-1989
  • Radio and Television Division: Officers - 1973-1974
  • Radio and Television Division: Research Sessions - 1968, 1984, 1988
  • Radio and Television Division: Static Correspondence
  • Radio and Television Division: Teaching Standards
  • Resolutions Committee
  • Theory and Method Division: Paper Judging - 1989-1990
  • Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Commmunication - 1984-1986
  • Broadcast Education Association - 1994-1998
  • Inland Daily Press Association
  • Convention - 1982
  • Education Committee - 1980-1981
  • Human Resources Committee - 1983
  • News Committee - 1983-1984
  • Series 7: RTNDA
  • Box 11:
  • RTNDA - 1964-1965
  • RTNDA - 1966
  • RTNDA - 1968
  • RTNDA - 1969
  • RTNDA, Boston - 1971
  • RTNDA - 1972-1974
  • Research and Publication Committee - 1972-1973
  • Research Committee RT - 1972
  • RTNDA - 1972
  • RTNDA Publication Committee - 1972
  • RTNDA Research Committee and Publication - 1973-1974
  • RTNDA Regional Writing Panel, WITI-TV - 1973
  • RTNDA - 1973
  • RTNDA Research Committee - 1974-1975
  • RTNDA - 1974
  • RTNDA Conference Evaluations - 1975-1986
  • RTNDA Research Committee - 1975-1976
  • RTNDA - 1975
  • RTNDA Conference Evaluations - 1975
  • RTNDA Research Committee - 1976-1977
  • RTNDA - 1976
  • RTNDA Conference Evaluations - 1976
  • RTNDA Survey - 1976
  • RTNDA Research Committee - 1977-1978
  • RTNDA - 1977
  • RTNDA Conference Evaluations - 1977
  • RTNDA Research Committee - 1978-1979
  • RTNDA Conference Atlanta - 1978
  • RTNDA Conference Evaluation - 1978
  • RTNDA Regional Georgia State - 1978
  • RTNDA Research Committee - 1979-1980
  • RTNDA - 1979
  • RTNDA Conference and Evaluations - 1979
  • RTNDA Survey - 1979
  • RTNDA Research Survey Materials - 1979
  • RTNDA Research Committee - 1980-1981
  • RTNDA - 1980
  • RTNDA Survey - 1980
  • RTNDA Conference Evaluations - 1980
  • RTNDA - 1981-1982
  • RTNDA Research Committee - 1981-1982
  • Box 12:
  • RTNDA - 1981
  • RTNDA Survey - 1981
  • RTNDA Conference Evaluation - 1981
  • RTNDA - 1982-1983
  • RTNDA Research Committee - 1982-1983
  • RTNDA Conference Evaluation - 1982
  • RTNDA Survey - 1982
  • RTNDA - 1983-1984
  • RTNDA Research Committee - 1983-1984
  • RTNDA Conference Evaluation - 1983
  • RTNDA Survey - 1983
  • RTNDA Magid Study - 1984
  • RTNDA Survey - 1984
  • RTNDA Conference Evaluation, San Antonio - 1984
  • RTNDA - 1985-1986
  • RTNDA Research - 1985-1986
  • RTNDA - 1985
  • RTNDA Conference Evaluation - 1985
  • RTNDA Research Committee - 1985
  • RTNDA Survey - 1985
  • RTNDA Conference Evaluation - 1986
  • Research Requests - 1986
  • RTNDA Survey - 1986
  • RTNDA Research Story Clippings - 1986
  • RTNDA Member Survey - 1986-1987
  • RTNDA Research - 1986-1987
  • RTNDA Education Liaison - 1986-1987
  • RTNDA Membership Survey Stone-Nash - 1987
  • RTNDA Research - 1987-1988
  • Research Requests - 1987-1988
  • RTNDA Education Liaison - 1987-1988
  • RTNDA Conference Evaluation - 1987
  • RTNDA Conference - 1987
  • RTNDA Survey - 1987
  • RTNDA Research Story Clippings - 1987
  • RTNDA Research - 1988-1989
  • RTNDA Equal Opportunities Committee - 1988-1990
  • RTNDA Conference, Las Vegas - 1988
  • RTNDA Survey - 1988
  • RTNDA Education Liaison - 1989-1990
  • RTNDA Research - 1989-1990
  • RTNDA Conference, Kansas City - 1989
  • RTNDA Survey - 1989
  • RTNDA Historical Committee - 1989
  • RTNDA Education Liaison - 1990-1992
  • RTNDA Research - 1990-1991
  • RTNDA Publication Committee - 1990-1991
  • RTNDA Convention, San Jose - 1990
  • RTNDA Conference Evaluation - 1990
  • RTNDA Survey - 1990
  • Box 13:
  • Research Requests - 1990
  • RTNDA Research - 1991-1992
  • Research Requests - 1991
  • RTNDA Research Report - 1991
  • RTNDA Convention, Denver - 1991
  • Jane Pauley Speech - 1991
  • RTNDA Convention Evaluation - 1991
  • RTNDA Survey - 1991
  • RTNDA Research - 1992-1993
  • RTNDA Convention, San Antonio - 1992
  • RTNDA Convention Evaluations, San Antonio - 1992
  • RTNDA Survey - 1992
  • Research Requests - 1992
  • RTNDA, Miami Beach - 1992
  • RTNDA Research - 1993-1994
  • RTNDA Conference Evaluations, Miami - 1993
  • RTNDA Survey - 1992
  • RTNDA Research - 1994-1995
  • RTNDA Convention, Los Angeles - 1994
  • Unity Panel - 1994
  • RTNDA - 1995-1996
  • RTNDA Fiscal - 1995-1996
  • RTNDA Conference, New Orleans - 1995
  • RTNDA - 1996-1997
  • RTNDA Fiscal - 1996-1997
  • RTNDA - 1997-1998
  • RTNDA Fiscal - 1997-1998
  • RTNDA Fiscal - 1998-1999
  • RTNDA - 1998-1999
  • RTNDA Long Range Planning - 1998-1999
  • RTNDA - 1999-2000
  • RTNDA Conventions Ranked by Popularity - 1995
  • RTNDA Code of Ethics
  • Correspondence with RTNDA Regarding Royalties from the "Careers" Books
  • Radio and Television News Directors Foundation
  • RTNDF - 1973-1976
  • RTNDF - 1979
  • RTNDF - 1979, 1981-1982
  • RTNDF - 1982-1983
  • RTNDF - 1983-1984
  • RTNDF - 1985
  • RTNDF - 1985-1986
  • RTNDF - 1986-1987
  • RTNDF - 1987-1988
  • RTNDF - 1990s
  • Series 8: RESEARCH
  • Box 13:
  • Advertiser Influence
  • Age and Gender Gap
  • Age Careers PEOPLE
  • Age Discrimination
  • "All News" Ops
  • Allan Jackson on Writing
  • American Bar Association Courtroom TV Research - 1982
  • American Indians and Native American Press Association
  • Anchors
    Correspondences, observed trends in news anchors.
  • Anticipated Interaction Study
  • Area of Dominant Influence (ADI) 1-10 Networks - 1989
  • Asian American Data
  • Assignment Editors
  • Attraction Information
  • Authoritarianism
  • Box 14:
  • Becker, Lee. Research on Race and Gender in Journalism
  • Becker, Lee. Survey of Graduates - 2001-2002
  • Behind the Scenes: Photographers, Producers, Assistant Editor
  • Best Universities for TV and Radio - 1994
    Surveyed info 1970s-1990s.
  • Black, Hispanic, etc.
  • Black Journalists
  • Black Radio Stations
  • Broadcast Newswomen
  • Canadian Newswomen Survey - 1974-1975
  • Career Barriers, Dropping Out, Minorities
  • Career Barriers, Dropping Out, Women
  • Careers Booklets
  • Career Change
  • Careers: Letters
  • Careers: Methods, Materials
  • Careers Questionaire
  • Careers Survey and Method
  • Code Sheets - 1972-1983
  • Code Sheets - 1984-1992
  • Communication of Health Information
  • Diversity in the Newsroom
  • Dropping Out
    Stats on journalists considering "dropping out" of the field.
  • Electronic News Gathering
  • Emploment, Careers, Salaries, Marriage, Education, Reporters, Anchors, Health - 1990-2001
  • Energy Budget
  • F Scale Data
  • Finances, Profits
  • Free Press: Fair Trial Study
  • Freedom Forum Radio Survey Method
  • Future Trends in Broadcast Journalism, RTNDA Job Study - 1984
  • General Managers Survey - 1981
  • Harvey's Conceptual Systems Test
  • Health Problems
  • Hiring Studies
  • Hispanics
  • Hispanics in the News Media
  • Interpretation Data for Various Surveys
  • Language of Sex Bias
  • MCL Study, Females Only
  • MCL Study, Males Only
  • Market Size
  • Managerial
    People chapter.
  • Males and Females in Television
  • Male and Female News Directors
  • Box 15:
  • Male-Female Newsroom Managers
  • Male-Female Pay Gaps
  • Male-Female Salaries
  • Male-Female TV Anchors
  • Minorities and Women
  • Minorities in Broadcast News
  • Minorities in Newsrooms
  • Minority News Directors
  • Minorities in Radio and TV News
  • Moving Among Jobs
  • Myths and Trends
  • National Association of Broadcasters Minority News Directors Study - 1973
  • National Association of Broadcasters Research Study Budget - 1975
  • New York Times Study - 1966
  • News Directors of TV and Radio - 1994
  • News Releases - 2000-2002
  • News Releases University of Missouri
    Digital printouts.
  • Newscast Content
  • Newsfilm and ENG
  • Newswomen News Directors Questionaire - 1973
  • Newswomen Questionaires - 1973
  • Newswomen Notes
  • No Local News Operations Survey - 1990
  • "Obstacles to Career Progress by Minorities and Women in Broadcast News," Gannett Foundation Grant - 1989-1993
  • On the Air: Reporters, News Anchors, Weatherpersons, Sports People Charts
    Career desires and expectations.
  • Other "Minorities"
    Disabilities and age.
  • Over-Surveyed!
  • Paid Versus Unpaid Internships
  • Pauley Report on Mass Communication Education Programs
  • Pay
  • People Tables
  • Personal Lives
    People Chapter 9
  • Pease, Ted and J. Frazier Smith. The Newsroom Barometer: Newspaper Career, Racial Diversity - 1991-1992
  • Photographers
  • Positions (Who Does What)
  • Producers
  • Professional Ethics
  • Public Health Survey - 1969
  • Racial Discrimination - 2000
  • Radio and Television Data Tables - 1972
  • Radio and Television News Directors
  • Radio and Television Demographic Comparisons - 1993
  • Radio Career Obstacles
  • Radio Career Change
  • Radio Career Goals
  • Radio Careers Respondents Summary - 1992
  • Radio Job Moves
  • Radio Job Satisfaction - 2000
  • Radio Journalism Careers and Education - 2001
  • Radio News at Midcentury
    Includes a copy of "Iowa Radio in 1952" and "Local Radio in World War II: One Reporter's Experience"
  • Radio News Careers Tally Sheets - 1991
  • Radio News Marital Problems
  • Radio News People - 2000
  • Radio Personnel Health - 2000
  • Radio Staffs Careers, Gannett - 1991
  • Box 16:
  • Radio/Television News Directors Salaries
  • Regression
  • Regression and Gaps
  • Religious Preference Study
  • Reporters
  • Research Grant - 1966-1967
  • Research Method
  • Research Requests - 1989
  • Research Requests - 1993
  • Research Requests - 1994
  • Research Requests - 1995-
  • Reverse Discrimination
  • Roper Study Career Prep - 1987
    Pay - Interns (Electronic Media Career Preparation Study)
  • Salary Satisfaction
  • Sex Bias
  • Sex Bias Guidelines
  • Sex Bias Language
  • Single in TV News
  • Source Content Orientation
  • Source Study Materials
  • Sports and Weathercasters
  • Staff Size
  • Survey Data - 1972-1994
    Floppy disks
  • Survey Questionaires
  • TV and Radio Data
  • TV and Radio Careers
  • Data Files
  • Questionaire
  • White-Minority Tables
  • TV Careers
  • Respondents Summary - 1991-1992
  • TV Career Change
  • TV Career Goals
  • Comments by Respondents
  • Discrimination - 2000
  • Education
  • Female News Directors
  • Male-Female Producers
  • Male-Female Reporters
  • Obstacles
  • Who Does What in TV
  • TV Personnel Health
  • TV Job Moves
  • TV Job Satisfaction - 2000
  • Box 17:
  • TV News Marital Problems
  • TV Newswoman Attitudes Questionaires and Code Sheets
  • TV People
  • TV Sports
  • TV Staffs Careers - 1990-1991
  • Television and Economics
  • Television and Radio Data - 1976
  • Unions
  • Who Does What in Radio News
  • Winners and Losers in Pay by Position
  • Women as Managers
  • Women in Broadcast News
  • Women in Broadcast News and Management
  • Women in RTNDA Newsrooms Survey - 1972
  • Women in Radio and TV - 1960s-1970s
  • Research: Surveys
  • Adult Attitudes to TV Newswomen - 1972
  • Children's Attitudes to TV Newswomen
  • Director Survey - 1972
  • Director Race Survey
  • Female Directors - 1975-1976
  • Gender Survey
  • Head of Newscast - 1982
  • Head of Station Survey - 1962
  • Male/Female Newsroom Manager Survey
  • Male/Femal Newsroom Code Sheets
  • Minority News Staff Survey
  • News Directors Survey - 1973
  • Box 18:
  • Research: Surveys (cont.)
  • Mixed Media Newswomen Survey - 1973
  • News Directors Surveys
  • News Directors With Consultants
  • Professors Attitudes to TV Newswomen
  • Radio Directors Survey
  • Radio Directors Survey: Minorities
  • Radio News Careers, First Mailing
  • Radio News Careers, Second Mailing
  • Box 19:
  • Research: Surveys (cont.)
  • Radio News Directors: Minorities
  • TV Directors Survey
  • TV News Careers, First Mailing
  • TV News Careers, Second Mailing
  • Box 20:
  • Research: Surveys (cont.)
  • TV News Careers, Second Mailing (cont.)
  • Series 9: STATIC NEWSLETTER
  • Box 20:
  • Static Newsletter - 1960-2000
  • - 1960-1962
  • - 1962
  • - 1963-1964
  • - 1965-1968
  • - 1971-1979
  • - 1980-1989
  • - 1990-1999
  • - 2000
  • Series 10: TEACHING MATERIALS
  • Box 20:
  • Courses
  • Courses Taught by Stone
  • Syllabi of courses offered by the Journalism Department at University of Wisconsin - Madison - 1967-1968
  • Box 21:
  • Courses (cont.)
  • Stone's Teaching Evaluations
  • Army Advanced Public Relations Course
    Teaching materials and notes.
  • Documentary and Public Affairs Broadcasting (J354) - 1966-1972
    Teaching materials and notes.
  • High School Workshop - 1963
  • Mass Communication Research (J506) - 1986
    Teaching materials and notes.
  • Mass Media Problems and Issues (J661)
  • Media Research Methods (J912) - 1974
    Teaching materials and notes.
  • News Writing (J203) - 1965, 1966, 1969
    Exams and sample assignments.
  • News Writing and Reporting (J205, J260)
    Assignments, Cronkite speech, guidelines in criminal cases, miscellaneous materials, syllabus.
  • Problems in Mass Communication: Topics in News-Editiorial (Reporting) (J814-B) - 1978
    Teaching materials and notes.
  • Proseminar in Mass Communications (J701, J800) - 1973, 1975
    Individual difference, research proposals, survey research.
  • Box 22:
  • Courses (cont.)
  • Proseminar in Mass Communications (J701, J800) (cont.) - 1976-1977
  • Proseminar in News Writing (J459) - 1984-1985
  • Public Opinion Reporting (J440, J640) - 1975-1977
    Preparing surveys, interviewing, writing survey stories, presidential preference survey, bus survey.
  • Publicity Clinic (University of Wisconsin Extenion Division) - 1966
  • Radio and Television News - 1964
  • Readings and Research in Broadcast News Reporting: Problems and Issues (J830) - 1977
    Teaching materials and notes.
  • Readings: Seminar -- Research on Communication Processes: Individual Differences in Attitude Change (J901) - 1968
    Teaching materials and notes.
  • Readings: Sex Bias in Media (J490) - 1979, 1981
    Teaching materials and notes.
  • Reporting (J204) - 1966-1971
    Information interviewing, presidential poll, moratorium, TV newswomen.
  • Seminar in Broadcast News Research (J951) - 1970, 1973, 1974
  • Seminar in Communication Research (J810) - 1974-1975
  • Seminar in Radio and Television News (J359, J459, J470) - 1987-1992
    Consultants, show business, magaing ratings, education and careers, ethics and taste, local operations and trends, managing personnel, network news, news as show biz, news directors as financial managers, regulations and fairness doctrine, technology, what's news?, coursepacks.
  • Box 23:
  • Courses (cont.)
  • Statistics and Data Handling (J500) - 1966-1973
    Teaching notes.
  • TV and Radio News [Preparation], Radio and Television News (J351) - 1963-1974
    Broadcast news writing: handouts, notes and reprints. Highlights of Estes Decision, labs.
  • Television News Repoting and Analysis - 1973
  • Topics: Research on Broadcasting News/Seminar in Radio-TV News/Seminar in Communication: Research on Broadcast News (J430, J433) - 1990, 1992
    Content analysis, teaching notes and materials, variables, models and theory.
  • Subect Files and Notes for Teaching
  • Crisis Reporting
  • Editorials
  • Fairness, Bias, Objectivity
  • Fairness Doctrine and FCC Rules
  • The Federal Government and Broadcast News
  • Internships
  • Interviewing
  • Investigative Reporting
  • Legislative Coverage
  • Local Radio and TV News Operations
  • Madison Stations
  • Mark Knops Case, Madison
  • The Missourian
  • Network News
  • News Analysis
  • News and Profitability
  • News Operations
  • Newscast Example
  • Newscasting
  • Newsfilm Editing and Scripting
  • Newsfilm Photography
  • On-Air Performance
  • Orderly Procedures and Pooling
  • Political Reporting
  • Press Law
  • Public Broadcasting
  • Putting Together Newscasts
  • Radio and TV News Operations
  • Box 24:
  • Subect Files and Notes for Teaching (cont.)
  • Ratings and Show Biz
  • Ratings Services
  • Regulation
  • Reporting Viet Nam
  • The Role of TV and Radio News
  • Sex Bias Guidelines
  • Series 11: WRITINGS, 1963-1997
    Note: These files contain some combination of the research for the piece (often comprised of previous articles written by Stone); drafts for the piece, sometimes with a different name; and tear sheet or print-offs of the published piece. Writings by Stone unless otherwise noted.
  • Box 24:
  • "10 Years of RTNDA Conferences" - 1985
  • "An ABC News Analyst Tops Convention Ratings Again"
  • "Age, Experience and Job Tenure in Radio News" - 2000
  • "Attitudes Toward Television Newswomen." Stone, Jill Geisler and Barbara Dell (draft) - 1972
  • "Attitudes Toward Television Newswomen" - 1973
  • "Black Journalists Gain as News Directors, But Not in Work Force Shares" - 1991
  • "Black Radio" - 1988
  • "Black TV Newswomen Surveyed: Are They Happy In Their Work?" Nora D. Hall and Stone - 1980
  • "Blacks Want to Manage; Believe Chances are Slim." Stone and Robert Knight - 1989
  • Broadcast Journalism in a Changing Society
    Proposal for a textbook.
  • "Broadcast News Directors Active in J-School Classes." Stone and Hoyt
  • "Broadcast News Educators and the Profession" (draft) - 1969
  • "Broadcast News in Good Financial Health" - 1984
  • "Broadcast News Staff Sources and Turnover: Implications for Educators" - 1978
  • "Broadcast News Writings" - 1971
  • "Broadcast Trade Schools and News Training." Stone and Beckmann - 1973
  • "Broadcast Trade Schools Found Weak in Journalism Training." Stone and Curtis Beckmann - 1974
  • "Broadcasting Market Flooded by Non-News Radio-TV majors"
  • "Broadcast's Enrollment Glut" - 1987
  • “Career-Related Characteristics of Male and Female News Directors.” Burks and Stone - 1993
  • "Careers in Broadcast News" - 1972
  • "Careers in Broadcast News" - 1979
    Includes photographs.
  • "Careers in Broadcast News" - 1981
  • "Careers in Broadcast News" - 1984
    Photographs only.
  • "Careers in Broadcast News" - 1985
  • "Careers in Broadcast News" - 1987
  • "Careers in Broadcast News" - 1989
  • "Careers in Broadcast News" - 1993
    Correspondence and photographs only.
  • "Careers in Radio and Television News" - 2002
    Includes a marked-up copy of the 1993 edition.
  • "Careers in Television and Radio News" - 1995
    Stone's chapter in the book Radio and Television Career Directory, edited by Michael B. Huellmantel.
  • "The Changing Profiles of Broadcast News Directors" (draft) - 1986
  • "Changing Profiles of News Directors of Radio and TV Stations, 1972-1986" - 1987
  • The Changing Newsrooms of Television and Radio
    Proposal for a book.
  • "Changing With the Times" - 1994
  • "Classroom and Newsroom Contact: A Survey Report." Stone and Hoyt - 1976
  • "Cutbacks Ease for TV News, Not Radio" - 1994
  • "Cutbacks Let Up in TV, Ease Some in Radio" - [1994?]
  • "Cutbacks Strike Again" - 1993
  • Deregulation and Competition: Explaining the Absence of Local Broadcast News Operations." Stone and McKean - 1992
  • "Deregulation Felt Mainly in Large-Market Radio and Independent TV" - 1987
  • “Deregulation’s Impact” - 1993
  • "Differences at Work and at Home: Factors in Career Advancement by Male and Female News Directors." Kimberly K. Burks and Stone (draft) - 1991
  • "Directory of Women Radio and Television News Directors in the United States." Stone and Bill Baxter - 1975
  • "Diversity Stands Still in Radio News"
  • "Downsizing Myths: What the Numbers Really Show" - 1992
  • Box 25:
  • "ENG and Newsfilm Use Surveyed" - 1977
  • "ENG Growth Documented in 1979 RTNDA Survey" - 1980
  • "ENG Technical Operations Surveyed" - 1978
  • "Ed Bliss Has Top Session Again at Orlando Conference" - 1987
  • Editing and Scripting Television Newsfilm
  • "Educator's Association Names Grads Available for Broadcast News Jobs" - 1969
  • "Effect on Attitude Change of Likability and Self-Interest of Source" (draft) - 1967
  • "Effect of Conversion Upon Resistance to Persuasion" - 1964
    Revised and published in the Journal of Communication as "Primacy Effect in Decision-Making by Jurors."
  • "Effect of Likability and Relevance of Expertness." Stone and James A Hoyt
  • "The Emergence of Source-Message Orientation as a Communication Variable." Stone and Hoyt - 1974
  • "Entry-Level Pay: Is Oversupply an explanation for Low Wages?" Lee B. Becker, Stone, and Joseph D. Graf - 1994
  • "Family Benefits in TV and Radio." Stone and Burks - 1991
  • "Family Communication Patterns and Source-Message Orientation." Stone and Steven Chaffee - 1970
  • "Female News Directors are Younger, Lower Paid" - 1987
  • "Few Firings for Ethical Problems" - 1986
  • "Fewer Budget Cuts for TV News" - 1994
  • "Gender Gaps and Factors in Television News Salaries" - 2000
  • "Good News, Bad News" - 1993
  • "Here’s New Broadcast Talent" - 1971
  • “Here’s News Broadcast Talent” - 1972
  • "How Many Editorialize?" - 1983
  • "How News Directors Use Their Time" - 1990
  • "How RTNDA News Directors Use the Communicator" - 1987
  • "How To Become a News Director" - 1988
    Notes for a breakfast roundtable at the National Association for Black Journalists at their 13th Annual Convention.
  • "How To Move Into Management and Stay There" - 1988
  • "Individual Differences and Inoculation Against Persuasion" - 1969
  • "The Interactions of Individual Differences With Characteristics of the Communication Situation as a Factor in Attitude Change" - 1965
  • "Internships in TV and Radio News: Paid and Unpaid" - [1998?]
    Web piece collected as a chapter in Thirty Seconds to Air: A Field Reporter's Guide to Live Television Reporting.
  • "J-Grad Quality and Entry-Level Hiring Surveyed" - 1989
  • "Journalism Labor Force Supply and Demand: Is Oversupply an explanation for Low Wages?" Stone, Lee B. Becker, Joseph D. Graf - 1996
  • “To Kill a Messenger: A Case of Congruity." Stone and Thomas Beell - 1975
  • "Latest RTNDA Survey Shows Big Pay Hikes for News Stars" - 1979
  • Lets Talk Pay
    Publicity, contract, reviews, correspondence.
  • "Likability and Relevance of Expertness of a Persuasive Communicator." Stone and James L. Hoyt - 1974
  • "The Likability and Self-Interest of the Source in Attitude change" - 1969
  • "Litigation Chill Surveyed" - 1985
  • "Little Change for Minorities and Women" - 1992
  • "Local News Operations: The Stone/Missouri Survey" - 1995
  • "Local Radio News Salaries" - 1995
  • "Local TV News Operations" - 1995
  • "Local TV News Salaries" - 1995
  • “Looking at ENG Gear" - 1980
  • Looking to 2000: Trends in Television News Operations
    Proposal for a book.
  • "Make the News Director a GM?" - 1982
  • "Male and Female NDs Look to the Future" - 1992
  • "Male and Female News Directors Compared" - 1985
  • "Many More Women News Directors" - 1980
  • "McGuire's Immunization Approach to Resistance in Persuasion" - 1964
  • "Members Use Survey to Evaluate RTNDA." Stone and Robert Nash - 1987
  • "Membership Rates RTNDA's Performance." Bos Johnson and Stone - 1978
  • "Milwaukee News Directors are Home-Grown" - 1988
  • "Minorities and Women in Broadcast News: Two National Surveys." Abigail Nash, Marilyn Jackson-Beeck, Leverne Regan and Vernon Stone - 1974
  • "Minorities and Women in Radio News" - 1997
  • "Minorities and Women in Radio News" - 2000
  • "Minorities and Women in Radio News" - 2001
  • "Minorities and Women in Television News" - 1995
  • "Minorities and Women in Television News" - 1997
  • "Minorities and Women in Television News" - 2000
  • "Minorities Gain in TV News, Lose in Radio" - 1989
  • "Minority Employment in Broadcast News 1976-1986" (draft) - 1987
  • "Minority Men Shoot ENG, Women Take Advancement Tracks" - 1972
  • "Minority Share of Work Force Grows for Third Year" - 1991
  • "Moderate Gains in News Salaries" - 1981
  • "More News in Morning Drive" - 1993
  • "More Women in News Broadcasting, According to RTNDA Survey." Stone and Barbara Dell - 1971
  • "More Women Reporting News on the Air" - 1977
  • Box 26:
  • "MU Researcher Finds Back Pain is Top Health Problem Among TV Photographers" - 2001
    Press release.
  • "NABJ Broadcasters Set Sights on Management." Stone and Knight - 1989
  • "NDs and GMs Define News 'Profitability'" - 1989
  • "NDs and GMs Describe Their Managerial 'Marriages'" - 1989
  • "Nashville Conference Rated a Winner" - 1985
  • "News Directors and Problems Surveyed" - 1977
  • "News Directors Aspire to Become GMs" - 1987
  • "News Directors Look Back at Their Education" - 1989
  • "News Directors Move for Professional Advancement" - 1988
  • "News Directors Profiled" - 1986
  • "News Directors Say Writing Helped Them Most" - 1987
  • "News in the 90's" - 1993
  • "News in the Zoo." Stone and Jack Hodgson - 1992
  • "News Keeps Making Money" - 1992
  • "The News Magazines and the 1960 Conventions." Bruce H. Westley, Charles F. Higbie, Timothy Burke, David J. Lippert, Leonard Maurer and Stone
  • "News Makes Money for Stations" - 1986
  • "News Makes Money in TV, Pays Way in Radio" - 1991
  • "News Makes Money or Pays Its Way" - 1989
  • "News Operations: A Major Survey of Their Costs" - 1973
  • "News Operations at U.S. Radio Stations"
  • "News Operations at Public Radio Stations Surveyed, Part I " and ". . . Part II" - 1988
  • "News Operations at U.S. TV Stations"
  • "News Operations Surveyed on Use of Consultants"
  • "News Pays its Way" - 1983
  • "News Pays Its way - Or More" - 1985
  • “News Salaries Stand Still” - 1992
  • "News Staff Size, Turnover and Sources Surveyed" - 1978
  • "News Staffs Change Little in Radio, Take Cuts in Major-Market TV" - 1988
  • "News Staffs Change Little in Size" - 1986
  • "News Staffs Grow in TV, Stay Same in Radio" - 1985
  • "News Staffs Trimmed in Major-Market Radio and Independent TV" - 1987
  • "News Staffs Unchanged in Radio, Smaller in TV" - 1989
  • "News Stays Profitable" - 1993
  • "News Work Force Holds Up in TV, Drops in Radio" - 1992
  • "Newsrooms Add Many Women, Few Minority Males" - 1979
  • "Newsrooms as Profit Centers" - 1990
  • "Newsrooms Remain Profit Centers" - 1988
  • "Newswomen Missing in Surveyland" - 1995
  • "Newswomen's Numbers Level Off, More Become News Directors" - 1984
  • "Not Much News for Women, Minorities" - 2002
  • "Pace of the NDs' 'Revolving Door' Seen Slackening" - 1980
  • "Paid and Unpaid Internships" - 1995
  • "Partnerships with Cable" - 1992
  • "Pay Gains Top Cost of Living" - 1994
  • "Paychecks and Market Baskets: Broadcast News Salaries and Inflation in the 1990s" - 2001
  • The People in Broadcast News
    Proposal for a book.
  • "Personal Problems of News Directors Surveyed" - 1986
  • "Personality Factors in Immunizing Against Source of Content of Persuasive Messages" - 1966
  • "Pipelines and Dead Ends: Jobs Held by Minorities and Women in Broadcast News" - 1988
  • "A Primacy Effect in Decision-Making by Jurors" - 1969
  • "Professors and the Profession: A Survey" Stone" (draft)
  • "Profile of a News Director" - 1972
  • "Profiles of Graduates Seeking Broadcast News Jobs 1965-1969" - 1969
  • "Programs on Higher Standards Get Top Marks in San Antonio" - 1992
  • "Public Radio's News Operations Show Little Change" - 1989
  • "Public Relations and Television News" - 1970
  • "RTNDA Codes of Ethics and Standards"
  • "RTNDA Research" - 1990
  • "RTNDA Research Compares Airtime by Daypart" - 1993
  • "RTNDA Surveys News Directors" - 1977
  • "Race, Gender and TV News Careers" - 2000
  • Race/Gender/Media
    Edited by Rebecca Lind. Correspondence, contract. Stone apparently contributed a chapter. Includes floppy disk.
  • "Radio and Television News Directors and Operations: an RTNDA Survey" - 1973
  • "Radio Staff Benefits Weaken Furhter" - 1995
  • "Radio NDs are Mostly Upbeat... But Not About Their Salaries" - 1990
  • "Radio News: An RTNDA Survey." Stone and James Hoyt - 1973
  • "Radio News Airtime Shows Small Gain" - 1995
  • "Radio News at Mid Century: Iowa Radio in 1952"
  • "Radio News Changes Are Positive, 2-1" - 1988
  • "Radio News Salaries" - 2001
  • "Radio News Survey Method" - 1996
  • "Radio on CATV" - 1984
  • "Radio Paces News Salary Gains" - 1987
  • "Radio Surveyed for News 'Banter'" - 1992
  • "Radio-Television News Directors and Operations" - 1973
  • "'Record-Smashing' Convention" - 1993
  • "Recorders, Cables are Weakest Links in TV Field Operations" - 1980
  • "Regionals Hold Top Interest For RTNDA Radio Members." Lou Adler and Stone - 1983
  • Remarks by Vernon A. Stone, University of Missouri journalism professor and RTNDA research director, on the occasion of accepting the Radio-Television News Directors Association's John A. Hogan Distinguished Service Awards in Las Vegas on December 1 at the RTNDA International Conference
  • "Little Change for Minorities and Women" - 1992
  • resumetapebook
    Rose Tibayan.  Stone contributed a chapter, "Television and Radio News Careers"
  • "Rise in Black News Directors" - 1991
  • "Rotational Procedures" - 1964
  • "Salaries Change Little in 1984" - 1985
  • "Salaries Change Little in 1987" - 1988
  • "Salaries Go Up in TV, Take Setback in Radio News" - 1990
  • "Salaries Lag Cost of Living" - 1991
  • "Salaries Outpace Cost of Living" - 1989
  • "Salary Gains Range From Moderate to None" - 1986
  • "Salary Growth Slows for Top Paid Newspersons" - 1978
  • Box 27:
  • "Salary Survey Finds TV News Paying About Double Radio Pay" - 1980
  • "Salt Lake City Conference Gets High Marks" - 1986
  • "Sexual Harassment in Television Newsrooms." Sonya Forte Duhe and Stone - 1992
  • "Small Salary Gains Show for 1983" - 1984
  • A Solid Investment: Making Full Use of the Nation's Human Capital. Recommendations of the Federal Glass Ceiling Commission, Washington, D.C.  - 1995
    Pie charts with statistics gathered by Stone are used in this publication.
  • "Some Problem Areas of Interest and General Approaches Planned for Subsequent Research" - 1965
  • "Source Message Orientation and Attitude Change" - 1967
  • "Source-Message Orientation and Components of Source Credibility." M. Thomas Milbourn and Stone - 1972
  • "Source-Message Orientation and Expectation of Discussion with the Source." Stone and James Hoyt - 1971
  • "Source-Message Orientation as a Communication Variable." Vernon Stone and James Hoyt (draft) - 1970
  • "Source-Message Orientation, Source and Message Variables, and Attitude Change." Stone and James Hoyt (draft)
  • "Sources of Most News: Evidence and Inference" - 1969
  • "Speakers Top Denver Convention" - 1991
  • "Speakers, Workshops are Winners at Vegas" - 1989
  • "Sports Staffs and Salaries Surveyed" - 1991
  • Staff: Printouts of Stone's online articles having to do with staff
  • Age Experience and Turnover in TV News - 2001
  • Career Change from Radio News - 2001
  • Career Change from TV News - 2001
  • Career Goals in Radio News - 2001
  • Career Goals in Television News - 2001
  • Education of Radio Journalists - 2001
  • Education of TV Journalists - 2001
  • Gender Gaps and Factors in Radio News Salaries - 2001
  • Gender Gaps and Factors in Television News Salaries - 2001
  • Internship in TV and Radio News: Paid and Unpaid - 2001
  • Job Mobility in Radio News - 2001
  • Job Mobility in TV News - 2001
  • Job-Related Health Problems of Radio Newspeople - 2001
  • Job-Related Health Problem of Television Newspeople - 2001
  • Job Satisfaction in Radio News - 2001
  • Job Satisfaction in TV News - 2001
  • Marriage and Radio News - 2001
  • Marriage and Television News - 2001
  • News Directors Favor Hands-On Schools - 2001
  • Obstacles to Careers in Radio News - 2001
  • Obstacles to Careers in TV News - 2001
  • Race, Gender and Radio News Careers - 2001
  • Race, Gender and TV News Careers - 2001
  • Radio Newspeople - 2001
  • Single in Radio News - 2001
  • Single In Television News - 2001
  • Supply, Demand and Entry-Level Pay in Television and Radio News - 2001
  • TV and Radio News Careers: Pros and Cons
  • Television Newspeople - 2001
  • Television and Radio News Research - 2001
  • Television and Radio News Research - 2004
  • Television and Radio News Research - 2005
  • Who Does What in Radio News - 2001
  • Who Does What in TV News - 2001
  • "Staff Benefits at U.S. Radio Stations" - 1995
  • "Staff Benefits Vary Widely." Stone and John Quarderer - 1988
  • "Staff Gains Offset Cutbacks." - 1991
  • "Staff Turnover Slows" - 1984
  • "Staff Turnover Survey" - 1983
  • "The State of Local Radio News: A Survey Report" - 1994
  • "Stations Profit from News Operations" - 1987
  • "Status Quo" - 1994
  • "Stone on News Directors" - 1989
  • "Stone Profiles Teachers, Programs Providing Coming Newsroom Personnel" - 1969
  • "Supply, Demand, and Entry-Level Pay in Television and Radio News" - 2005
  • "Survey Compares Coverage by ENG and Newsfilm." Stone and DiCioccio - 1978
  • "A Survey of Electronic News Gathering and Television News Coverage." Stone and John DiCioccio - 1977
  • "Survey Finds Little Effect From Deregulation" - 1985
  • "A Survey of Minorities in Broadcast News." Stone and Tracy Regan - 1975
  • "Survey of News Directors' Contacts With Broadcast News Educators" - 1976
  • "A Survey of News Directors Who Are Women" - 1976
  • "Survey of Nonrespondents" - 1985
  • "A Survey of TV and Radio Station Managers' Evaluation of their News Directors" - 1981
  • "A Survey of Women in Broadcast News." Stone and Abigail Nash - 1975
  • "Survey Shows College Graduates Getting Jobs" - 1985
  • "Survey Shows Little Change for Minorities or Women" - 1985
  • "Survey Shows Mixed Salary Gains" - 1983
  • “Survey Shows TV News Staffs Expanding but Radio Newsrooms are Little Changed” - 1980
  • "Surveys Show Conflicting Results For Women in TV"
  • “Surveys Show Younger Women Becoming News Directors” - 1976
  • "TV and Radio News Jobs Keep Many Unmarried" - 2001
  • "TV and Radio News Staffs and Salaries Surveyed" - 1976
  • "TV Benefits Costs Shift to Staff"
  • "TV News Makes Money" - 1994
  • "TV News Pay Lags Cost of Living, Radio News Directors Gain" - 1993
  • "TV News Staffs Grow, Radio Uses More Part-Timers" - 1990
  • "TV News Survey Method" - 1996
  • "TV News Work Force Grows, Declines Continue in Radio" - 1993
  • "TV News Work Force Grows" - 1994
  • "TV News Writing"
  • "TV Newsroom Staff Cutbacks Strike Again" - 1993
  • "TV, Radio News Jobs Can be Harmful to Marriages" - 2000
  • "TV Weather Operations Surveyed" - 1991
  • "Television and Radio News Research" - 1995
  • "Television News Salaries" - 2001
  • "Television and Family Communication." Stone and Judith Walters - 1971
  • "Television and Newspaper Front Page coverage of a Major News Story," Russell Harney and Stone - 1969
  • "The Television News Director as an Administrator." Stone and Deborah Hayes
  • "Television News Needs, Finances and Staffing are Surveyed." Stone and Deborah Hays - 1975
  • Television Newsfilm Techniques
    Photographs.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.