Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Paul Clifford Pickett Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1967
Creator: Pickett, Paul Clifford (1913-1994)
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0821
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Paul Pickett's notes on John Ward Studebaker.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were given to the Special Collections Department in 1997 by Margaret Pickett, wife of Paul Pickett.

Preferred Citation: Paul Clifford Pickett Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Paul Clifford Pickett was born February 27, 1913, in Ottumwa, Iowa. He married Margaret on August 8, 1940, and they had four children: Frank, Clyde, Louise, and Elaine. Paul Pickett died in 1994.

Collection consists of 4 x 6-inch note cards created by Paul Pickett while writing his 1967 dissertation about John Ward Studebaker. Studebaker was born in McGregor, Iowa, in 1887. He was appointed by President Franklin D. Roosevelt as Commissioner of Education in 1934, and served until 1948, during a period of great economic change and war. Among his many contributions, Studebaker recognized the educational importance of broadcast radio, worked to improve rural libraries, and promoted youth work training programs, which later became war training programs. He helped develop the G.I. Bill of Rights, allowing for educational assistance to veterans of war.
Pickett, Paul Clifford. "Contributions of John Ward Studebaker to American education." Ph.D. dissertation, University of Iowa, 1967. 221 pp.

Books authored by John Ward Studebaker are housed in the Iowa Authors Collection, and in University Archives, within the Department of Special Collections.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: SUBJECT FILES

  • Series 1: SUBJECT FILES
  • Box 1:
  • Annual Reports by Studebaker - 1935-1936
  • Appointment as Commissioner of Education in 1934
  • Archives of Franklin D. Roosevelt Memorial Library
  • Camps and schools for children
  • Civilian Conservation Corps
  • Depression and New Deal
  • Des Moines, correspondence between Studebaker and Percy Hoak, Des Moines school board candidate - 1935
  • Development and Office of Education
  • Forums
  • Fraser, Hugh Russell, resignation - 1943
  • Handicapped, educational opportunities for disabled children
  • Interviews conducted by Paul Pickett
  • Junior Red Cross
  • Life Adjustment, chapter about vocational education in Solient Dates in American Education: 1635-1964
  • National Education Association - 1935
  • National Youth Administration, established in 1935 as part of the New Deal
  • Personal, biographical
  • Progressive Education, Des Moines schools and the Eight-year Study of cirriculum - 1933
  • Radio
  • Reorganization of Office of Education, annual reports - 1943-1948
  • Resignation
  • Roosevelts, Studebaker's proposed use of cartoon characters to convey current issues in education - 1935
  • Summary -- JWS com., Studebaker's recommendations
  • Swedish circles, school schedule for Danish farmers and fishermen resulted in study circle - 1907
  • Truman, Harry S., correspondence
  • War
  • Writings by Studebaker
  • Zeal for democracy in Studebaker's work

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Pickett, Paul Clifford
Studebaker, John Ward, 1887-1989

Dates:
20th century

Topics:
Education and state
Education

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Research notes