Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Lil Picard Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1899-1994
Creator: Picard, Lil
Extent: 89.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0817
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Correspondence and related files of an artist, art journalist, and collector. Picard was born in Germany but migrated to New York City with her second husband in 1936. Exhibiting her own work, her writing about New York City art, and her extensive collecting made her a central figure in New York art until very near the end of her life.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs throughout the collection; also included are reel-to-reel tapes, audio cassettes, DVDs, 16mm. film, ephemera, and slides.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Lil Picard bequeathed her entire estate to the University of Iowa.

Preferred Citation: Lil Picard Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

The biographical/scope and content note is an edited version of the June 1997 text Jean-Noel Herlin prepared as an introduction to his appraisal of the Picard estate. The appraisal inventory is also the base of this finding aid, although the parts of it (and the collection itself) have been reorganized to collapse numerous addenda into appropriate series.

Ms. Picard bequeathed her entire estate to the University of Iowa, and it was transfered to the University under terms of an agreement with her executors. Two paragraphs of that agreement read:
 
"The University of Iowa agrees to make every reasonable effort to preserve and conserve Lil Picard's artworks, papers, writings and other materials ("Works"), and to retain and create records for all Works of historical or artistic interest and importance. The University shall have the right to use any and all of these Works as it deems appropriate, including but not limited to, as part of its historic collections, in exhibitions and for the purpose of study and research by students, faculty and others."
 
"The University shall have the right to reproduce, publish and make available for publication by others her writings, her art and other creative work. The gift includes the copyrights to all of Lil Picard's own creative works and any interests and rights she may have had in the creative work of others which she owned.
Portions of the Picard Papers are closely related to materials represented in the Alternative Traditions in the Contemporary Arts collections.

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
Twentieth Century Avant-Garde Art
Alternative Traditions in the Contemporary Arts (ATCA)