Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Collins Radio Company Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1924-1980
Creator: Collins Radio Company (-1909)
Extent: 34.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0814
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Corporate and product records of a Cedar Rapids-based communications and aerospace company. Records include correspondence, administrative records, product files, advertising, research materials, photographs, and blueprints.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Collins Radio Company Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Arthur Andrews Collins was born on September 9, 1909 in Kingfisher, Oklahoma, the only child of businessman Merle H. Collins and his wife Faith. In 1916 Merle moved his family to Cedar Rapids, Iowa, where he became involved in the ever-expanding world of agribusiness. He founded the Collins Mortgage Company in the year of his arrival in Iowa, a firm specializing in providing farm loans. In 1928 he formed the Collins Farms Company, a new venture involving the purchase and combination of farm lands as sites for new agricultural techniques. Both companies went under in 1934.

Young Arthur Collins developed an early interest in radio and associated technologies. He built his own transmitters and crystal sets, was an enthusiastic ham operator, and attained a radio license from the Federal Radio Commission in 1923 at the age of 14. Collins first achieved a measure of fame in the summer of 1925, when, using a ham radio that he built himself, he achieved continued communication with the U.S. Navy scientific expedition to Greenland, led by Captain Donald MacMillan. Because of atmospheric problems, the U.S. Naval radio station in Washington, D.C. had been unable to consistently receive messages from the expedition. However, Collins utilized shorter wavelengths to maintain constant contact with the expedition's radio operator and fellow amateur radio enthusiast John Reinartz. For a period of 22 days Collins was the only person in the world to be in regular communication with the expedition and for that period Cedar Rapids became therefore the exclusive center of information from the explorers. Each day Collins would take down the messages emitting from the Arctic, and then ride his bicycle down to the local Western Union office and send those messages on to Washington.

In 1926 Collins enrolled at Coe College in Cedar Rapids, and the next year he transferred to Amherst College in Massachusetts. After a year there he returned to Iowa, more interested in pursuing his own scientific studies than in continuing with formal education. (Nonetheless, he did take several courses in electrical engineering at the University of Iowa.) Although Collins did do some work for his father's companies, he preferred for the most part to work and develop his talents independently, and in 1931 he formed his own company devoted to radio production, Arthur Collins, Radio Laboratories, Inc. (Collins Radio Company, by December 1932).

Originally the small company, which produced 4 basic models of radio transmitters, was headquartered and run out of the basement of Collins' family home. In 1933 the company moved to more official quarters on First Avenue in Cedar Rapids, and on September 22, 1933 CRC was officially charted as a corporation under the laws of the state of Delaware (re-incorporated as an Iowa company on May 13, 1937).

The company first achieved nationwide fame and recognition due to another scientific expedition, this time that of Admiral Richard Byrd's 1933-1934 trip to the Antarctic. Byrd, a member of the 1925 MacMillan expedition, was impressed with Collins' technological wizardry and employed him to produce and supply the entirety of the Antarctic expedition's radio equipment. The equipment enjoyed great success; it was using CRC radios that Byrd made the first formal radio broadcast from Antarctica on February 3, 1934. Word of Collins' success spread rapidly and the young company quickly increased the sales of its transmitters and receivers.

The company grew through the 1930s, and gradually broadened its product line. One of CRC's more significant products included the Autotune, a device allowing for quick and easy switching between radio frequencies by airplane pilots. The Autotune not only introduced a easy method of cockpit radio control but also launched CRC into the world of avonics equipment production. Although CRC continued to produce new generations of radio equipment (including, starting in 1958, the S Line of equipment that was designed to function as an integrated system rather than as individual products), it became a major leader in aerospace technology. Collins communications technology was used for civilian and defense operations, as well as the American Gemini, Mercury, Apollo and Skylab space programs.

CRC quickly outgrew its original headquarters in Cedar Rapids, and expanded operations. By 1943 defense contracts obliged the company to lease space in over 20 buildings across the city. (After the war CRC consolidated its operations into a smaller number of Cedar Rapids locations.) In 1946 CRC opened a sales office in Los Angeles - this office was moved to Burbank in 1949 and became the center of the company's growing Western Division. In 1951 CRC established a new plant near Dallas, Texas, and an Information Science Center designed for research into new data communcations equipment was built in Newport Beach, CA in 1961. (CRC West Coast operations ere moved here from Burbank that same year.) International subsidiaries were founded in Mexico, England and Canada.

Despite the company's success throughout the World War II and postwar decades, it faced major problems starting in the 1960s. The de-escalation of the Vietnam War meant the end of many defense contracts for the company, and the gradual slowdown of the American space program created a reduced market for many types of space and avionics technologies. Furthermore, Collins had invested a significant portion of his company's time and resources in the C-System, a completely integrated communication, computation and control system that would combine all major functions of an enterprise into a single workable system. However, despite the massive investment in the C-System, sales of components and equipment were tepid, and by the end of the 1960s CRC was rapidly losing money.

In 1971 North American Rockwell began investing heavily in CRC, enough to achieve a controlling interest. Increased financial losses in fiscal years 1971-1972 convinced Rockwell to shake up existing CRC management. In November 1971, the Rockwell-controlled board of directors removed Collins as president and board chairman of his own company. On December 7, Collins officially resigned from the company he had founded 40 years before, and created a new firm, Arthur A. Collins, Inc. The new company was designed to develop systems, concepts, design strategies, basic design plans, and innovative ideas in the field of large scale systems, including telecommunications, navigation, and control. However, though the new company patented a few products, sales were virtually nonexistent and the company rapidly lost money. A.A. Collins, Inc. had shrunk to almost nothing when Collins died on February 25, 1987 following hospitalization for a stroke.

Collins married Margaret (Peg) Van Dyke, also of Cedar Rapids, on January 4, 1930. They had two children, Susan and Michael. Peg died of a cerebral hemorrhage in December 1955. On June 10, 1957 Collins married again, to Mary Margaret Meis. The couple produced two sons, Alan and David.

Following Collins' ouster from CRC, the company made a major recovery effort, turning away from its immense committment to the C-System, introducing strict fiscal controls, restructuring the company's management and divisional organization, and continuing the development of overseas markets. By the first half of 1973 the company was making noticeable financial improvements (from a $17 million loss in 1972 to a $3 million profit in 1973). In the midst of this newfound success, North American Rockwell (renamed Rockwell International in Feburary 1973) moved to formally merge itself with CRC. The merger was approved on November 2, 1973, which meant the effective end of Collins Radio Company as an independent enterprise. However, Collins' name on the company he founded still survives with the existence of Rockwell Collins, Inc., the former Rockwell avionics division which was spun off its parent company in 2001. Rockwell Collins continues to be headquarted in Cedar Rapids, and is a leading producer of avionics technologies.

This collection consists of corporate records from Collins Radio Company, a communications and aerospace company based in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. Records include correspondence, company memoranda, publications, research files, product information and advertising, customer information, subject files, photographs and blueprints.

The collection is divided into several series. Some topics and activities may be documented across multiple series (for example, both Administrative Files and Subject Files may have records relating to the same topic).

Series 1. Administrative Files: Files relating to the administration and operations of the Collins Radio Company. Includes correspondence, memoranda, administrative documentation, and other organizational materials.

Series 2. C-System Files: Files relating to the development of the Collins C-System. The C-System was a major concept developed by CRC starting in the mid-1960s, designed to integrate computers and communications techniques into a single system capable of accomplishing all the major activities of a particular organization or enterprise. Includes background research documentation, component and system manuals and descriptions, and working papers.

Series 3. Customer Files: Files relating to specific customers of CRC. Includes correspondence.

Series 4. Product Files: Files relating to various products created by CRC during its corporate existence. Includes advertisements, instruction manuals, and product descriptions.

Series 5. Publications: Various publications of CRC.

Series 6. Research Files: Files relating to various research endeavors carried out by CRC on a number of different subjects relating to communications and aerospace technology. Includes data, notes and research papers.

Series 7. Subject Files: Files relating to various subjects involving CRC. Includes correspondence, corporate documentation, and documentation from Arthur A. Collins and his father Merle H. Collins.

Series 8. Visual Materials: Includes photographs of various subjects, and blueprints and schematics of some CRC products and components.
COLLINS MORTGAGE AND FARMS COMPANIES. Records of the Collins Mortgage and Farms Companies, 1901-1945. 11.9 ft.

Records of a Cedar Rapids-based mortgage company and company devoted to innovative utilization of farmland. Records include correspondence, financial records, legal files, property descriptions, and tax files. MsC0317.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: ADMINISTRATIVE FILES
Series 2: C-SYSTEM FILES
Series 3: CUSTOMER FILES
Series 4: PRODUCT FILES
Series 5: PUBLICATIONS
Series 6: RESEARCH FILES
Series 7: SUBJECT FILES
Series 8: VISUAL MATERIALS (PHOTOGRAPHS AND BLUEPRINTS)

  • Series 1: ADMINISTRATIVE FILES
  • Box 1:
  • Accounting Procedures - 1944
  • Adress Book (AAC)
    Undated
  • Administrative Communication System - 1965
  • ADS Master Archive Update Specification - 1964
  • Advertising: Correspondence - 1933
  • Advertising: Correspondence - 1934-1935
  • Alien Motor Company - 1934
  • Alpha Corporation (CRC Subsidiary) - 1959-1960
  • Alpha Corporation (CRC Subsidiary) - 1961-1963
  • American Bank Note Company - 1932-1935
    Engravings and Letterheads
  • American Express Company - 1932-1934
  • American Radio Relay League (QST), January-June - 1933
  • American Radio Relay League (QST), July - 1933-1934
  • American Radio Relay League (QST) - 1932-1933
    AAC's Membership Certificates
  • American Radio Relay League (QST) - 1932
    Invoices
  • Arthur Andersen and Co. - 1936
  • Assorted Materials - 1946-1973
    Undated
  • Barkley, W.J. (CRC Vice-President) - 1936-1944
  • Barkley, W.J. (CRC Vice-President) - 1947-1958
  • Blue System Directory (Private voice-data-radio service) - 1966
  • Board of Directors - 1944-1954
  • Board of Directors Meeting Minutes - 1966
  • Boegle, Charles - 1932-1933
  • Brady, John B. (CRC Attorney) - 1932-1934,1939
    3 folders
  • Buildings: Additions and Alterations to CRC - 1941-1942
  • C Avenue Property (Broderick Property) - 1958-1959
  • Calder's Van and Storage Co. - 1934
  • Carson, George S. - 1931-1932
  • Cash Drawer Slips - 1933
  • Cash Sales - 1939-1941
    3 folders
  • Cash Sale Receipts - 1932-1934
  • Centralized Communications and Data Processing Cost Study - 1960
  • Collins Radio Company of Canada - 1957-1962
  • Collins Radio Company of England - 1954-1966
  • Collins Standard for Writers and Editors - 1969
  • Communications and Data Systems Division: Correspondence and Memos, September - 19,601,963
  • Box 2:
  • Communications and Data Systems Division: Correspondence and Memos, October - 1963-1964
  • Communications and Data Systems Division: Correspondence and Memos - 1965-1970
  • Company Correspondence - 1934-1937
  • Company Correspondence - 1958-1963
    9 folders
  • Company Correspondence - 1972-1973
  • Company Sponsored Program: Descriptions for FY - 19,721,971
  • Computer Usage Graphs for CRC, February-May - 1963
  • Doelz, M.L. (Director of Engineering, Western Division) - 1954
  • Employment Applications and Correspondence - 1933-1963
    5 folders
  • Employee Records - 1940-1941
    A-H
  • Employee Records - 1940-1941
    S-Z
  • Equipment Memos and Reports - 1959-1963
    2 folders
  • Box 3:
  • Equipment Memos and Reports - 1964-1965
  • Explosives Licenses - 1942-1944
  • Female Employees, Earning of - 1941
  • Financial Review - 1970
  • Financial Statements - 1971
  • Financing and Pricing Decision Tables - 1971
  • First Aid Reports - 1943-1946
  • First Avenue Property Rental (Schoonover Property) - 1933-1942
    2 folders
  • Fuel Refunds - 1937-1939
  • Graphics Identification Guidebook - 1962
  • Harkness, Roy P. (Sales) August-1932 - 1933
    2 folders
  • Insurance Claims - 1944
  • Iowa Electric Power and Light Co.: Bills and Documentation - 1933-1934
  • Kahn, Morton B.: Correspondence - 1933-1934
  • Kahn, Morton B.: Documentation - 1933
  • Laboratory Expenses - 1932
  • Letters to Stockholders - 1945-1955
  • Mailing List File - 1939?
  • Maritime Marketing Plan - 1968
  • Memoranda File, June-1934, December- 1945
    13 folders
  • Box 4:
  • Memoranda File - 1946-1964
    3 folders
  • Memos re: Objectives and Reorganization of CDS - 1962
  • Miller, Claire R. (Sales: Mexico and South America) - 1932-1934
    4 folders
  • Miscellaneous Employees - 1938-1941
    12 folders
  • Eugene Munsell and Co. - 1932
  • New Office and Factory Building: Bids and Offers - 1940
  • New York Life Insurance Co. - 1943
  • News Releases and Messages - 1962,1972-1973
  • Norman Baker Enterprises - 1932
  • Box 5:
  • Northern Trust Company - 1933-1944
    2 folders
  • Office and Factory Expenses - 1932-1934
    2 folders
  • Office Salaries - 1943-1944
  • Organizational Changes - 1971-1972
  • Organizational Charts - 1942-1943
  • Paid Bills: Arthur A. Collins - 1945-1949
    4 folders
  • Patents - 1932,1934,1944-1969
    4 folders
  • Patent Activities Resumes - 1964-1968,1970
  • Pioneer Litho. Co. - 1934
  • Plant Survey Report - 1942
  • President's Annual Letters - 1962-1968, 1971-1972
  • Production Orders - 1939-1940
  • Program Manager's Handbook - 1964
  • Railway Express Company - 19,341,940
    2 folders
  • Rearwin Airplane Contract - 1936-1939
  • Reliable Transit Co.:Freight Bills - 1934
  • Research Division - 1960-1963
  • Retirement Plan Booklet - 1962
  • Rockwell Purchases of CRC - 1973
  • Sales Activity - 1971
  • Sales Address/Telephone Directory - 1966
  • Schoonover, George L./Rent on CRC Building - 1933-1934
  • Security Clearances/Classified Material Destruction - 1960-1964
  • Semiconductor Facility Phase 1A Plan/Status Report - 1967
  • Box 6:
  • Shipping Schedules - 1940
  • Solicitation Letters - 19,321,934
  • Solicitation Letters (Canneries) - 1934
  • Stock Options - 1956
  • Stockholders' Meetings - 1971
  • Telegraph and Telephone Expenses - 1934
  • Telephone Directories - 1968,1971,1974-1975
  • Telfer, J.G. (Sales) - 1934
  • Texas Division - 1958-1965
  • Thailand Government, CRC contact with - 1962
  • Torch Press - 1932-1934
  • Translations - 1933-1934
  • Translation Service (Frances Lopez Morillas)
  • Travel Expenses - 1934
  • Tuning in (Employee Orientation Guide) - 1962
  • Underwood Elliot Fisher Co. - 1933-1935
  • Venture Planning Analysis Program (VPA70) - 1970-1971
  • Visotors Permits (Wartime) - 1941-1944
  • Western Division (CRC) - 1944-1953
  • Western Division: Information Service Center - 1958-1964
  • Series 2: C-SYSTEM FILES
  • Box 7:
  • Advertisements
  • Analysis of Time-Shared Communications Networks (Working Paper) - 1970
  • Automatic Test Language (Reference Manual) - 1971
  • Background Research: Books 1-7, Articles 1-84
    7 folders
  • Background Research: Books 9-14, Articles 101-160
    6 folders
  • Box 8:
  • Background Research: Books 15-18, Articles 161-183
  • Background Research: Network Reliability
    4 folders
  • Basic Multiplex Service Program (Working Paper)
  • C-8500 System - 1969
  • C-8561A-2 Programming Reference Manual - 1970
  • C-System A and B Channels/M Channel (Instruction Book) - 1970
  • C-System Alarms - 1971
  • C-System Basic FORTRAN (Programming Manual) - 1971
  • C-System Center (Operators Manual) - 1971
  • C-System Configurator Data Sheets - 1970
  • C-System Data Bank (Working Paper) - 1972
  • C-System Disc Utilization for Assembly and Execution - 1971
  • C-System General Description - 1970
  • C-System Informational Booklet - 1970
  • C-System Master Design Description Volumes 1-2 - 1969
  • Box 9:
  • C-System Master Design Description Volumes 3-6
    4 folders
  • C-System Master Design Description Volumes 8-14
    7 folders
  • Box 10:
  • C-System Master Design Description Volumes 15-25
    12 folders
  • Box 11:
  • C-System Master Design Description Volumes 26-33
    9 folders
  • C-System Master Design Description Volumes 35-36
    2 folders
  • C-System Operating System Diagnostic (Working Paper) - 1971
  • C-System Principles of Operation Volume 1 - 1970
  • Box 12:
  • C-System Principles of Operation Volume 3 - 1971
  • C-System Process Automation - 1969
  • C-System Programming Languages - 1970-1971
    2 folders
  • C-System Switching (Working Paper) - 1970
  • CCMX Message Switching Initializing Program (Working Paper) - 1971
  • CCMX Switching System Recovery Program (Working Paper) - 1971
  • Communication Application System Functional Description - 1972
  • Communication/Computer System Study for Office of Telecommunications Policy - 1972
  • Communication Networks: Internal Notes and Working Papers - 1970
  • Communications Operating System (Functional Specification) - undated
  • Communications Service on the TDM Loop (Working Paper) - 1968
  • Control Program Language (Programming Manual) - 1970
  • Control Programs - 1970
  • Data Communications System - 1970
  • Data Collection Terminal - 1971
  • Design Specifications - 1971
  • Digital Switching Network Design (Working Paper) - 1974
  • Direct Switching Network (Working Paper) - 1970-1971
  • Equipment Configurations - 1970
  • Extensions to CP Service for System Logging and Recovery
  • Generalized File Maintenance Service (Programming Manual) - 1971
  • Intercenter Communications Description Specifications (Working Paper) - 1968
  • Introduction to the C-System - 1973
  • Job Description Programming Coding Instructions - 1971
  • Macro Assembly System, Level 4 (Programming Manual) - 1971
  • Macro Assembly System, Level 5 (Programming Manual) - 19,701,972
  • Box 13:
  • Macro Definition Language (Programming Manual) - 1970
  • Manual of Techniques for Traffic Analyses
    Undated
  • Manual of Techniques for Traffic Analyses (1st draft) - 1971
  • Master Plan for a General Purpose Switched Communication Network - 1971
  • Box 14:
  • Master Plan for a General Purpose Switched Communications Network (Working Paper) - 1971
  • Miscellaneous - 1964, 1969
    Undated
  • MOS/LSI Arrays Design and Processing Services - 1970
  • Operating System Software - 1970-1971
  • Selected Communication System Design (Working Paper) - 1971
  • A Single System for Communication Computation Control - 1965
  • Total Company Control System,
  • Utility Display System - 1971
  • Utility Load System - 1971
  • Series 3: CUSTOMER FILES
  • Box 15:
  • American Airlines - 1964
  • Aviation Program, various customers
    Undated
  • Delta Air Lines - 1962-1964
  • Electric Speciality Co. - 1934
  • Ingersoll, W.P.: Correspondence - 1932-1933
  • Ingersoll, W.P.: Invoices - 1932-1933
  • Laguna Sugar Corporation - 1932-1933
  • Levi, Roberto (Sindicato de Farmacias y Droguerias del Ecuador): Correspondence - 1932-1933
  • Levi, Roberto (Sindicato de Farmacias y Droguerias del Ecuador): Invoices - 1933
  • London Center - 1963
  • McKee, W.J. - 1932-1933
    2 folders
  • Metropolitan Radio Company - 1933-1934
  • Metropolitan Radio Company: Invoices - 1933
  • Mexico: Secretaria de Guerra y Marina - 1934
  • Missouri State Highway Patrol - 1936-1938
    9 folders
  • New York Central Railroad - 1963-1964
  • Pan American Airlines - 1964
  • Police Departments (Assorted) - 1932
  • Radio Station WHO (Central Broadcasting Co.) - 1938-1942
  • Rivas, Pablo L.: Correspondence - 1932-1933
  • Rivas, Pablo L.: Invoices - 1932-1933
  • Spokane Radio Company: Correspondence - 1933
    2 folders
  • Spokane Radio Company: Invoices - 1933
  • Spokane Radio Company: Purchase Orders - 1933
  • Spokane Radio Company: Vouchers and Bills of Lading - 1933-1935
  • Box 16:
  • Strategic Air Command ("Short Order" System) - 1960
    2 folders
  • John S. Swift Co.: Correspondence - 1932-1933
  • John S. Swift Co.: Invoices - 1932
  • Thompson, Edward L.: Correspondence - 1932-1934
  • Thompson, Edward L.: Invoices - 1933
  • Box 17:
  • Thorne, Frank D.: Correspondence - 1932-1934
  • Thorne, Frank D.: Invoices - 1932-1933
  • United Air Lines - 1964
  • U.S. Air Force - 1958
  • U.S. Coast Guard - 1940
  • U.S. Department of Commerce - 1933
  • U.S. Department of the Interior - 1933
  • U.S. Department of the Navy - 1933, 1937, 1939, 1942-1943
  • U.S. Marine Corps: Correspondence - 1932-1933
  • U.S. Marine Corps: Invoices -  1932-1933
  • U.S. Signal Corps - 1933-1934, 1939-1943
    2 folders
  • Series 4: PRODUCT FILES
  • Box 18:
  • Adaptive Processing System
  • ADL (Avionics Data Link) Program
  • Advertisements, General
  • AINS-70 Navigation System
  • Airborne Antennas
  • AL-101 Radio Altimeter System
  • ALT-50 Radio Altimeter
  • All-Weather Flight System
  • Amateur Equipment
  • AN/APN-158A Airborne Weather Radar
  • AN/ARC-58 HF Communication System
  • AN/ARC-109 UHF Radion Transmitter
  • AN-ASM 198 Test Set
  • AN/URC 80[V]1/[V]2 Radio Set
  • ANS-31/TT1 Area Navigation System/Touch Tuning System
  • Antennas - 1957
  • Antenna 37-3602
  • Antenna Coupler CU-722 (XW-1/GR)
  • Antenna Position Programmer, Tracking Data Systems and Timing Systems
  • AP-104/FD-109 Flight Control System
  • AP-106/AP-107 Autopilot
  • Apollo Data Handling and Tracking Subsystem
  • Apollo/Range Instrumented Aircraft System - Spacecraft Comm. Subsystem
  • ARC-159(V)1 Radio Set
  • AST-101 Communications System
  • ATC/NAV Flight Control System
  • Automatic Line Flattener 180 Z-1/2
  • Automatic Tape Control
  • Automatic Test Equipment
  • Aviation Products
  • Avionics Literature
  • Avionics Management System
  • Bizmath: An Approach to the Algebraic Expression of Data Processing Problems
  • Broadcast Equipment
  • C-8046 Magnetic Tape Unit
  • C-8500 Computer System Configurator
  • C-8833 B-1 Data Terminal
  • C-9815/C-9816/C-9817/C-9818/ARC 159[V] Radio Set Control
  • Box 19:
  • CA-101 Coaxial Transmission System
  • CAPS (Collins Adaptive Processing System)
  • COGENT System for Programming C-8401 CD System
  • Collins Avionics, Airplanes Equipped with
  • Collins Convair N618T
  • Collins Data Central
  • Convertor/Oscillator CU-786/TRC-75
  • CRCU-1108/CLIS01 Collins Library Index System
  • Data Modems
  • DCPS Schedule, including Multiprogramming Applied to a System
  • DF-203 Automatic Direction Filter
  • DF-206 Automatic Direction Finder System
  • Display Activities
  • DME-40 Distance Measuring Equipment
  • Doppler Radar Navigation System DN-101/Doppler Radar Computer System NC-103
  • DPI-101D/102D Digital Product Inspection Systems
  • Equipment Computer System SED Language
  • FCS-105 Flight Control System
  • FD-108 Integrated Flight System
  • FDS-112A Flight Director System
  • Filters, various
  • General Purpose HF Receivers
  • General Product Catalog - 1960
  • General Utilities
  • Hybrid Microcircuit Applications
  • Hybrid Thin Film Circuits
  • INS-61B Inertial Navigation System
  • Kineplex Data System
  • KWM-1 Amateur Transceiver
  • KWS-1 Amateur Transmitter
  • LAB12 Collins Home Microwave System
  • Microwave Video Relay Radio System
  • MR-201 VHF-FM Maritime Transceiver
  • MS-228 2Ghz Microwave Equipment
  • Multilayer Circuits
  • Multilayer Circuit System
  • Multilayer Interconnect System
  • Box 20:
  • MVR-() Microwave Video Radio
  • MW-318/MS-218 Radio Relays
  • MX-108 Multiplex Systems
  • MX-128 Low Density FDM Multiplex
  • NCS-31 Navigation and Control System
  • PN-101 Pictorial Navigation System
  • Preliminary Software System Specifications
  • Project Op-Code
  • RADC Stepping Receiver System Program
  • Radio Recieving Set AN/FRR-53 (XW-1)
  • Radio Set GRC-171
  • Remote Controlled 651S-1
  • Specifications and Bulletins: 17 Series, Speech Equipment
  • Box 21:
  • Specifications and Bulletins: Series 18- Series 31
  • Specifications: Series 32-150 and Miscellaneous
  • Specifications and Bulletins: Transmitter Equipment
  • Speech Equipment
  • SSB Equipment
  • TMX-202 Data Modem
  • Toroids, various
  • Transmitters, various
  • U-1000 Series UHF Equipment
  • U-1401 UHF AM/FM/FSK Transceiver
  • UHF Capabilities
  • UHF Satellite Communication Systems
  • United Air Lines Electronic Message Switching System
  • Unified Telecommunications System
  • Vernier Tuning Knob
  • VHF-20 Communications Transceiver
  • WXR-80 Lightweight Weather Radar
  • Zero Reader
  • 1.5 MBIT Prototype Communications Controller Version 2
  • 8-Level Teletype System
  • 18 Series Equipment
  • 23 Series Equipment
  • Box 22:
  • 37 R-4 VHF Communications Antenna
  • 40 S-1 Frequency Standard
  • 51 N-3 Codon Receiver
  • 51 RV-2B Navigation Receivers
  • 75 A-4 Amateur Receiver
  • 75 S-1 Receiver
  • 231 Series Multifrequency Transmitters
  • 310 V-1 Exciter
  • 310 Y, 651H, 671T and 718T HF Groups
  • 313 J-2 Dial Pulse Control
  • 313 K-2 Allotter Preset
  • 313 L-1 Frequency Register
  • 329 P-1D Peripheral Command Indicator
  • 331 H-3G Course Selector-Indicator
  • 476 D-1 Distortion Analyzer Monitor
  • 478 M-3 Amplitude Distribution Analyzer
  • 490 B-4 Antenna Coupler Group
  • 490 T-1/1A Antenna Coupler
  • 490 T-2/2A Antenna Coupler
  • 514 A-3/4/5 Radio Set Control
  • 548 T-1 Linear Power Amplifier
  • 618 M-2 Test Equipment
  • 618 M-2B/D VHF Transceiver
  • 618 M-2B/2D Transceiver
  • 618 S Transceiver
  • 618 T Airborne SSB Transceivers
    2 folders
  • 621 A-6 ATC Transponder
  • 628 T-1 HF Receiver-Transmitter, 999 W-1/1A Receiver-Xmtr Adapter, and 992 C-1 Mounting Base
  • 639 G-1A Power Supply
  • 651 S-1 HF Receiver
  • Box 23:
  • 651 S-1/1A General Purpose HF Receiver
    5 folders
  • 671 U-4/4A/4B Receiver-Exciter
  • 718 U() Lightweight HF Transceiver
  • 718 U-1(AN/TRC-169) Lightweight HF Portable Transceiver
  • 718 U-3/U-4 Airborne Transceiver
  • 718 U-4/4A Lightweight HF Airborne Transceiver
  • 718 U-4A/4AN HF Transceiver
  • 718 U-5/U-6 Pressurized HF Airborne Transceiver
  • 789 R-1 IF Translator
  • 789 T-1 IF Translator
  • 860 E-3 Distance Measuring Equipment
  • 879 R-2 Data System: Bench Maintenance Equipment
  • 914 J-3 Exciter Control
  • 9200 Data File
  • Series 5: PUBLICATIONS
  • Box 24:
  • Aircraft Radio Instruction Book (Microfilm reel), n.d.
    Undated
  • Annual Reports for Fiscal Years - 1945, 1968-1973
  • Collins Carrier #2(6), August - 1956
  • Collins Column#27-May 1945, #33-December 1945, #38-39 -May-June 1946
  • Collins Column, January, December - 1934, 1935
  • Collins Signal, (Summer 1952, Summer 1954-Fall 1954, Summer 1956, Winter 1957)
  • Collins Signal, (Summer 1961- Fall 1961, Fall 1962, Fall 1965, Fall 1967, Spring 1968)
  • Contact #14, (February 1962), #20 (August 1963), #33-34 (March-September 1968)
  • Dallas Circuit #2(4), April - 1974
  • Pulse #8 (8), September - 1968
  • Space Research as Advanced by Collins Radio Company
    Undated
  • "A Study of Flight Control" (AAC) - 1948
  • Worldwide Product Support - 1968
  • Series 6: RESEARCH FILES
  • Box 25:
  • ADF Development - 1947
  • Aerodynamic Forces Acting on Antenna: Data
    Undated
  • Air Traffic Control - 1969, 1971
  • Aircraft Guidance from Perturbed Radio Signal - 1949
  • AN/VRC-24 Research Status Report - 1954
  • Analysis of Time-Shared Communication Networks - 1970
  • Anti-Noise Measures in Radio Reception - 1946
  • The Application of Computer Controlled PCM Switching to Automatic Call Distribution
    Undated
  • Application of Special-Purpose Techniques to Real-Time Computation
    Undated
  • An Architectural Study of Signal Processing Systems and Switched Networks (vol. 1) - 1977
  • Array Processor Graphics - 1978-1979
  • Assorted Programs: Reports
    Undated
  • Automatic Process Division Research Status Reports, - 1969-1971
  • Background Research: Encryption
    3 folders
  • Background Research: Time and Frequency Dissemination - Bibliography and Article
    Undated
  • Catalog of Suggested Products: Engineering and Research Division - 1954
  • Collins HF SSB Propagation Predictions, February - 1960
  • Collins Information Network Application Plan - 1970
  • Collins Marine Laboratory: Data Points #1 - 6963, February, November - 1960, 1961
    6 folders
  • Box 26:
  • Collins Marine Laboratory: Data Points #6964 - 9662, November, May - 1961, 1963
    2 folders
  • Common Language Channel Study
    Undated
  • Computation Sheets and Graphs - 1962
  • Computation Sheets
    2 folders, undated
  • Computer Evaluation Data Points
    Undated
  • Confidential Status Reports on Research Programs -  1954
    Undated
  • Cooling Systems - 1968, 1970
  • CRC Yacht Peregrine: Design Calculations - 1966-1968
  • "Cuthbert" Data
    Undated
  • Data: Mark V Model Evaluation - 1958
  • Data: 17 H-2
    Undated
  • Data and Voice Channeling - 1955
    Undated
  • Data on 0.1 Scale Model Wind Tunnel Tests, September - 1958
  • Data on 36-inch Open Throat Wind Tunnel Calibration, March - 1959
  • Data Points
    undated
  • Data Points #1 - 17: .4 Scale Model Test and Evaluations - 1958-1959 
    2 folders
  • Data Points #430 - 439: 1/10 Scale Evaluation
    undated
  • Data Points #3990 - 5201, December, June - 1930, 1961
  • Box 27:
  • Data Requirements Study (Alpha Corporation) - 1961
  • Data: X-99 Model Experimental Data (Notebook #1) - 1960-1961
  • Design Drawing Records for Experimental Boats, Hulls and Tow Tanks
    undated
  • Development of Acoustic Design Standards for Engineering Office Areas
    undated
  • Digital Bus Design - 1967
  • Direct Switching - 1970
  • Electrical and Mechanical Interface Check (Status Report #2) - 1964
  • Engineering Projects Listings (by AAC) - 1934
  • Experimental Data on Aerodyne Wind Tunnel Model (1/10 scale) - 1958 
    2 folders
  • Experimental Design and Test Data on Engines, Propellers and Delta Model - 1950, 1952
  • General Study of Control Theory as Applied to Collins Automatic Landing Program - 1951
  • Gyro and Autopilot - 1945-1950
  • Heterodyne Direction Finder: Theory and Preliminary Tests - 1939
  • HF Equipment "Process" - 1964-1965
  • High Frequency Propagation Tests through the North Auroral Zone: Proposal - 1957
  • Improvements in the Rotatable Loop Direction Finder for Navigation - 1945
  • Improving Software Design - 1971
  • Industry Surveys/Visits - 1976-1978
  • Joukowsky Section Profiles/Experimental Data on Propellers and Airfoils - 1954
  • Line Driver-Line Terminator Techniques Using Simple Modulation Methods - 1965
  • Logarithmically Periodic Antenna Designs - 1958
  • LONGBRAKE Linear Predictive Voice Processing Study: Proposal - 1972
  • Maximum Usable Frequencies Data - 1956-1957
  • Miscellaneous Notes and Papers - 1964, 1970-1971
  • Navigation Computer Design - 1949
  • A New Kind of Radio Propagation At Very High Frequencies - 1952
  • Notes on Experimentation on Flat Plate Models and Hydrofoils
    undated
  • Optimal Control of Flow Networks - 1970?
  • Osprey Roll Stability Data
    undated
  • Plated Wire Memories
    undated
  • Radio Experiments/Flight Log?
    undated
  • Box 28:
  • Research in the Design and Testing of Planing Boats - 1962
  • Research Status Reports - 1954
  • Selective Calling System: Background Papers, - 1968-1971
  • Selective Integration,
    undated
  • Separation of Dynamic and Static Forces: Notes
    undated
  • Separation Theory in Air Traffic Control System Design - 1969
  • Signal Systems Research - 1977-1978
  • Stability and Performance Checks (by AAC)
    undated
  • Box 29:
  • Summary of Aerodynamic Forces Acting on Antenna: 1.10 x Theoretical = Experimental , Mach 0.9 - 1957
  • Systems, various
    undated
  • Transmission Line Transient Analysis Program: Working Paper - 1974
  • Transversal Filters
    undated
  • Twelve Channel Kineplex Tests - 1956-1957
  • Use of Feedback to Control Network Traffic - 1971
  • Various - 1974-1980
  • Various Projects - 1963-1966
  • XN-10
    undated
  • 12x Remote Amplifier -  1936
  • 51 N-3 Receiver with Coherent Signal Sensing
  • Series 7: SUBJECT FILES
  • Box 30:
  • Accounting by Computer Techniques - 1962
  • Advertising Proofs (from American Radio Relay League) - 1932
  • Aerodyne - 1958
  • Aeronautical Radio, Inc (ARINC) - 1962-1964
  • AFCEA Conference - 1974
  • Aircraft: CRC Beechcraft C-47 - 1946-1949
  • Aircraft File - 1935-1964
    3 folders
  • Airplane Data - 1941-1943
  • Airplane Transmitters
    undated
  • Amateur Radio - 1954-1965, 1971
    2 folders
  • American Ordnance Association -  1953
  • Arctic Flight (AAC) -  1956
  • Armed Forces Communications and Electronics Association (AAC Speech) - 1974
  • Armstrong, Major Edwin H. - 1949, 1951
  • Armstrong Memorial Research Foundation - 1975
  • Army-Navy Electronics Production Agency -  1942-1943
  • Army-Navy Production Award - 1942-1945
  • ARPA Satellite System - 1972-1973
    3 folders
  • Autotune (History of, by AAC)
    Undated
  • Batcher, Ralph R. (Radio Consultant) - 1934
  • Bass Camera Company - 1946-1947
  • Berkner, Lloyd V. - 1946-1949
  • Bell Speakerphone Systems - 1969
  • Berry, Alma K. - 1936-1940
  • Boats - 1958-1967
    3 folders
  • Box 31:
  • Boats: Sales Market - 1959-1960
  • Braniff Airways - 1944-1945
  • Broadcasting Magazine - 1932-1933
  • Broadcasting Stations, Solicitations of High Fidelity to, June-August  - 1934 
    6 folders
  • Butman, Carl H. (Radio Consultant) -  1933-1934
  • Canadian Companies - 1962-1964
  • Cedar Hill Antenna and Red Bird Receiver Sites: Photographic Report - 1952
  • Cedar Rapids Airport Commission - 1960
  • Cedar Rapids Municipal Airport -  1944-1952
  • Civil Aeronautics Commission -  1944-1946
  • Civilian Conservation Corps Bids - 1933-1934
  • Collins Canadian Plant -  1954
  • Coe College (Cedar Rapids) - 1945-1951
  • Collins, Arthur A.: Account Statements - 1948-1949
  • Collins, Arthur A.: Awards, Introductions of, etc: - 1954-1970
  • Collins, Arthur A.: Correspondence - 1936-1973
    15 folders, contains letter to AAC from Admiral Richard Byrd, May 10, 1936 (copy)
  • Collins, Arthur A.: Employee Information Statement (FBI) - 1940
  • Collins, Arthur A.: Membership and ID Cards - 1930, 1945-1956
  • Box 32:
  • Collins, Arthur A.: Notes on CRC Programs
  • Collins, Arthur A.: Personal Finances - 1940-1943
  • Collins, Arthur A.: Speeches and Drafts
    Undated
  • Collins, Merle H.: Correspondence - 1933-1940
    multiple folders - [contains letter to MHC from Herbert Hoover, September 3, 1934
  • Collins, Merle H.: Expenses and Miscellaneous - 1934
  • Collins CDP System (Communications and Data Processing) - 1961
  • Communications Awareness Co. - 1955-1961
  • Communications: Buy or Lease?
    Undated
  • Communications and Data Processing Center - 1959-1960
  • Communications and Data Systems Equipment Memos - 1960-1965
    4 folders
  • Box 32A:
  • Communications Demonstration and Display Area Planning for Cedar Rapids, Dallas and Burbank(Engineering Proposal) - 1959
  • "The Communications Program of Collins Radio Company" (Presentation by AAC)
    Undated
  • Continental Oil Co./Continental Pipe Line Co. - 1955-1956
  • Control Data Corp. - 1961-1962
  • Craft, L.M. - 1947-1953
  • Box 33:
  • CRC Yacht Operations Manual
    2 folders, undated
  • Dead Letter File (Canada) - 1933-1938
    2 folders
  • Dead Letter File (Hawaii) - 1933-1935
  • DeForest Audion (1906) (Memento?)
    Undated
  • Discussion Notes, Various Topics - 1979
  • Emergency Marine Sets - 1936
  • Engineering Department: Correspondence - 1948-1950
  • Engineering Laboratory Building -  1952-1954
  • Engineering and Research Memoranda - 1948-1952
  • Everitt, W.L. (Electrical Engineer) - 1940-1941
  • Experimental Licenses - 1938-1940
  • Exporting Information -  1939-1941
  • Exports: American Exporter - 1941
  • Facilities: Planning/Design/Construction - 1967
  • "Fair Stood The Met for France" (Essay by F.G. Griffiths)
    Undated
  • Far Eastern Trip: Strategic Air Command (AAC) - 1956
  • Federal Bureau of Investigation - 1940
  • Federal Commmunications Commission -  1932-1940, 1949
    6 folders
  • Federal Communications Commission: Licenses -  1976-1980
  • Federal Telephone and Radio Corporation -  1943
  • Finch Telecommunications, Inc. - 1940
  • Firestone Tire and Rubber Company - 1936
  • Foreign Markets, Changing Nature of - 1939
  • Frequency Modulation - 1939-1941
  • Froelich, Dr. J.E. - 1959
  • "Full Details of a Short Wave Transmitter" (AAC Article): Reprint -  1926
  • Furniture -  1942
  • Globe Wireless history article - 1983
  • Box 34:
  • Goddard, Dr. Robert - 1954-1969, 1973, 1975
  • Goddard Paper by Arvid E. Anderson: Correspondence - 1969-1983
    2 folders
  • Goddard Paper by Arvid E. Anderson: Drafts - 1976-1979
  • Goddard Paper by Arvid E. Anderson: Other Correspondence - 1973-1979
  • Goddard Papers - 1979
  • Government Agencies - 1956-1966
    3 folders, contains letter to AAC from General Curtis E. LeMay, July 9, 1958
  • Graybar Electric Company -  1935
  • Graduate Research Center of the Southwest -  1962-1964
  • Griswold, General Francis H. (SAC) - 1954-1964
    2 folders, contains letters to AAC from General Curtis E. LeMay, November 17, 1954 and June 16, 1956
  • Hanover Sales Corporation - 1938-1939
  • High Seas and Aircraft Frequencies
    Undated
  • "History of Collins Broadcast" - 1980
  • IBM - 1964-1965
  • Identifying Attractive Segments of the Telecommunications Study - 1971
  • Information Science Center (Newport Beach, CA) - 1961-1962
  • Box 35:
  • Institute of Radio Engineers - 1932-1953 
    2 folders
  • John Reinartz Testimonial Amateur Radio Banquet - 1960
  • Knemeyer, Siegfried - 1961-1962, 1966
  • Lab 12 (Collins Display and Demonstration Area) - 1959-1960
  • A Language for the Communication of Design, Control and Computational Descriptions - 1964
  • Lehigh Structural Steel Co. - 1938-1941
  • MacMillan Arctic Expedition -  1925
  • Manufacturing Facilities - 1954, 1956, 1961-1962
  • Maritime Radio Equipment - 1959-1960
  • MARS (Military Affiliate Radio System) - 1955-1956
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology Radiation Lab - 1945
  • W.L. Maxson Corporation - 1939-1941
  • Mexico (Collins Radio Company de Mexico) - 1934-1940
    3 folders
  • Miscellaneous Bids - 1934-1941
    3 folders
  • Miscellaneous Files, 1931-March - 1938
    12 folders
  • Box 36:
  • Miscellaneous Files, April - 1938-1941
    13 folders
  • National Association of Broadcasters - 1941 
    2 folders
  • National Association of Broadcasters: Civilian Defense Week - 1941
  • National City Bank of New York - 1942-1943
  • National Defense Research Committee - 1941-1942
  • National Security Forum (War College, Air University) - 1960
  • National War Labor Board (Region VII) - 1943-1945
  • Newport Beach Facility Requirements - 1967
  • Ohio State University - 1937-1939
  • Operation T-Bird - 1964
  • Police Radio Stations re: TC Amplifier - 1934
  • Police Stations - 1935
  • Progress Report on Developing a Telecommunications Strategy - 1971
  • Project Amigo (Presidential Visit to South America) -  1960
  • Radio Amateur Call Book Magazine - 1932-1934
  • Box 37:
  • Radio Conventions - 1932-1941
    3 folders
  • Radio Licenses and Documentation - 1927-1935
  • Radio Logs - 1960
    Undated
  • Radio Magazine - 1933-1934
  • Radio Manufacturing Engineers Lawsuit - 1935-1938
  • "Radio Reminiscences: A Half Century", by A. Hoyt Taylor
    2 folders, undated
  • Radio Tubes - 1935-1937
  • Radiograms - 1932
    Undated
  • RCA/AT&T Lawsuit: Copies of Documentation -  1936, 1938, 1940
  • RCA/AT&T Lawsuit: E.H. Armstrong Patents
    Various dates
  • RCA/AT&T Lawsuit: L. DeForest Patents
    Various dates
  • RCA/AT&T Lawsuit: Robert Goddard Patents
    Various dates
  • RCA/AT&T Lawsuit: Other Patents
    Various dates
  • RCA Manufacturing Co.: Tubes - 1941
  • Research Associates - 1941-1942, 1945
  • Raspet, August (Aircraft Researcher) - 1950, 1952
  • Rohde & Schwarz - 1958
  • Salisbury, Winfield W. (Harvard Radio Research Lab) - 1943-1945
  • Satellites - 1970, 1973
    Undated
  • W.T. Saxon/Airplane Insurance - 1936-1937
  • Scrapbook, Clippings relating to Radio, c. - 1924
  • "Secret of Flight" Film Series - 1956
  • Semiconductor Facility Plan - 1967
  • Ship Companies - 1937-1938
  • Signal Corps Survey of CRC - 1937
  • Single Sideband Program - 1953-1960
  • Box 38:
  • Sideband Sales Study - 1959
  • Solar Aircraft Corporation - 1955-1956
  • Solicitations, Maritime Vessel Owners - 1938
  • Speech Equipment, Letters on - 1934
  • Strategic Air Command Visit (by AAC) - 1954
  • John S. Swift and Co. (Planographers) - 1934
  • Switched Network and Traffic Terminology - 1970-1971
  • Symposium on the Guidance and Control Aspects of Guided Missile Development - 1947
  • TCS Equipment Stock Spare Parts (U.S. Department of the Navy) - 1943
  • Test Equipment Catalog - 1953
  • Thule Air Base Visit (by AAC) - 1960
  • "A Time for Innovation" Presentation by CRC - 1974
  • Tobey, W.H. (Portland General Electric) - 1937, 1940
  • Box 39:
  • Tractors - 1939
  • Union Metal Manufacturing Co. - 1940
  • United Shareowners of America Certificate of Merit - 1964
  • U.S. Bureau of Standards -  1933
  • U.S. Department of Commerce - 1933-1940
    2 folders
  • U.S. Department of Defense/Defense Communications System - 1970-1971
  • U.S. Department of the Navy: Price Adjustment Board - 1943
  • U.S. Department of the Treasury: Rulings - 1944-1945
  • War Mobilization Production Schedules - 1938-1941
  • Webb, W.L. (Bendix Aviation Corp.) - 1948-1949
  • Wincharger Corporation - 1941
  • World's Fair (Chicago: 1933) - 1932-1933
  • Series 8: VISUAL MATERIALS (PHOTOGRAPHS AND BLUEPRINTS)
  • Sub-Series: Photographs
  • Box 40:
  • Airplanes
    Undated
  • Airplanes
    Undated
  • Byrd Expedition Equipment - 1934
  • C-100A and 40A Exciter
    Undated
  • Collins, Arthur A.
    Undated
  • Collins, Merle H.
    Undated
  • Collins Employees at Work
    Undated
  • Collins Equipment - Andrews Air Force Base
    Undated
  • Collins Equipment
    Undated
  • Collins Facilities
    Undated
  • Collins Radio Company Executives
    Undated
  • Computer Equipment, Cedar Rapids
    Undated
  • Craft, Morgan, 35-year Luncheon for - 1970
  • Engineering Lab Building
    Undated
  • Facility Tour
    Undated
  • Group Photos
    Undated
  • Hubbard "Glacier Priest" Expedition
    Undated
  • Miscellaneous Office Scenes
    Undated
  • Box 41:
  • Osprey Equipment
    Undated
  • Radio Photographs
    Undated
  • Radio Tubes
    Undated
  • Various Buildings
    Undated
  • Various Photographs
    Undated
  • Western Division (CA) Buildings
    Undated
  • Sub-Series: Blueprints
  • Folder 1
  • "Zero Reader" blueprints and schematics, - 1948
  • "Autotune" component blueprints - 1938
  • Folder 2
  • Various blueprints and schematics - 1935, 1938
  • Folder 3
  • "Autotune" blueprints - 1938-1939
  • Sub-Series: Additional Materials
  • CRC Corporate Seal
    Stamper

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.