Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Cranefield African Agriculture Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1902-1945
Creator: Cranefield, Paul Frederic (1925-2003)
Extent: 6.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0813
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Paul Cranefield did research on agriculture in Southern Africa.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use:

Acquisition: James Giblin donated this collection in 2000.

Preferred Citation: Paul Cranefield African Agriculture Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Paul Frederic Cranefield was born April 28, 1925 in Madison, Wisconsin, the son of Paul F. and Edna Rothnick Cranefield. He attended the University of Wisconsin at Madison, where he obtained his Ph.B degree in 1946 and his Ph.D. in 1952 before going on to obtain his M.D. degree at Yeshiva University in 1964.
 
He spent his entire career as a professor at Rockefeller Univeristy in New York City, where he was also editor of the Journal of General Physiology from 1966 to 1995. Under his editorship, this journal achieved a reputation for the high quality of the papers it presented, due in large part to his scrupulous review process.
 
He made many contributions to cardiac electrophysiology, but also was a medical historian. His writings include The Historical Development of Physiological Thought (edited with C. McBrooks, 1959), Electrophysiology of the Heart (with Brian F. Hoffman, 1960), The Way In and the Way Out (1974), Conduction of the Cardiac Impulse (1975), Cardiac Arrythmias (with R. S. Aronson, 1988), Science and Empire (1990), and Born Wanderer (1995).
 
He was a fellow of the International Academy of the History of Medicine and of the New York Academy of Medicine, where he served as editor of the Bulletin of the New York Academy of Medicine. He was an avid bibliophile and book collector, and also served the New York Academy of medicne by serving as Chairman of the Committee on the Library and as president of the Friends of the Rare Book Room.
 
He apparently lived most of his adult life in New York City and was very involved in his community in lower Manhattan. He was a founder, director, and supporter of La Mama Experimental Threate and Chair ofthe Kesselring Prize for playwrights at the National Arts Club. He was a member of the Grolier Club, The Century, The Coffee Club, and the Savile Club.
 
Dr. Cranfield died on May 31, 2003 at the age of 78. He is buried at Rock Lake Cemetery, Lake Mills, Wisconsin.

This collection is comprised of the research of Paul Cranefield into  agriculture in Southern Africa, conducted for his book, Science and Empire, concentrating especially on east coast fever among cattle. There is also a series on apartheid, which Cranefield apparently collected while he was in Southern Africa.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: RESEARCH
Series 2: BOOK MANUSCRIPT
Series 3: APARTHIED
Series 4: OVERSIZED MATERIALS

  • Series 1: RESEARCH
  • Box 1:
  • Bibliograhies
  • Biographical materials for veterinarians
  • Clippings from Zimbabwe - 1902
  • Index of South African veterinarians
  • Papers of biological research written before 1945
    2 folders
  • Papers of biological research written after 1945
    3 folders
  • Papers on epidemiology
    2 folders
  • Papers of historical research
  • Box 2:
  • Reports - 1902
  • Reports and Correspondence, April-May - 1902
  • Reports and Correspondence, June - 1902
  • Reports and Correspondence, July - 1902
  • Reports and Correspondence August-October
  • Reports and Correspondence - 1902-1904
    5 folders
  • Reports and Correspondence, South Africa - 1903
  • Reports and Correspondence - 1904
  • Reports and Correspondence - 1905-1910
  • Reports and Correspondence - 1910
  • South African Government reports - 1900-1912
  • Native commisioner's report
  • Malaria commisioner's report
  • Deixonne
  • Box 3:
  • Bruce, G. S. East Coast Fever
  • Research on Robert Koch
    4 folders
  • Matson, B. A. Theilerosis
  • Stirling, R.F. East Coast Fever in Rhodesia and its Control
  • Research onTheiler
    3 folders
  • South Africa and the Transvaal - 1902-1904
    2 folders
  • Miscellaneous diseases of cattle
  • Miscellaneous science papers
  • Series 2: BOOK MANUSCRIPT
  • Box 4:
  • Manuscript
    4 folders
  • Images
  • Series 3: APARTHIED
  • Box 5:
  • Aparthied
    2 folders
  • Series 4: OVERSIZED MATERIALS
  • Box 6:
  • British Souther Africa Company Gazette - 1904
  • Bulawayo Observer - 1904
  • Public Records Office, London. Reports - 1904
  • Reports of Edmonds (Zimbabwe) - 1924
  • Fox report to Early Grey - 1903

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Topics:
Agriculture
East Coast fever
Apartheid

Title:
Science and Empire