Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the William Osler Collection of Medical Materials

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1890-1970
Creator: Osler, William (1849-1919)
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0804
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Letters from Osler and Lady Osler to Campbell Palmer Howard and his family as well as materials from the collecting activities of R.M. Larimer, who collected medical texts, particularly those of William Osler.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The letters from the Oslers to the Howards were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by R. Palmer Howard in 1981. Guide posted to Internet: July 2005.

Preferred Citation: William Osler Collection of Medical Materials, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Sir William Osler (1849 -- 1919) was a widely respected physician who trained in Canada. He believed in a holistic approach to medicine, as well as teaching through bedside training rather than classroom training alone. He was a teacher of medicine and prolific writer of medical texts.

The first part of this collection consists of eighty-one letters written by Osler and his wife to Campbell Palmer Howard and family members, along with transcriptions of these letters. These letters concern family matters, publications, and positions of Osler and, especially, Howard. The second part of the collection consists of materials apparently amassed by Dr. R. N. Larimer, who collected medical texts, especially those of Osler. There is only one actual text here by Osler -- the remainder of the collection is Larimer's correspondence with book dealers about his collection, lists of materials written by Osler, essays about Osler, several letters not having to do with collecting, and miscellaneous, consisting partially of writings by other medical professionals.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: OSLER'S LETTERS TO CAMPBELL PALMER HOWARD
Series 2: LARIMER'S COLLECTION

  • Series 1: OSLER'S LETTERS TO CAMPBELL PALMER HOWARD
  • Box 1:
  • Letters
  • Transcriptions
    (2 folders)
  • Series 2: LARIMER'S COLLECTION
  • Box 1:
  • Articles about Osler
  • Correspondence
  • Documents from Larimer's collecting activities: Correspondence
  • Godspeed's
  • John Howell
  • Old Hickory
  • Zeitlin and ver Brugge
  • Other book vendors
  • Lists of writings by Osler and others
  • Miscellaneous
  • Osler, William. The Growth of Truth as Illustrated in the Discovery of the Circulation of the Blood. London: Henry Frowde - 1906

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.