Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Jeanne Reeder Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1961-1999
Creator: Reeder, Jeanne
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0796
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Iowa City author. This collections contains manuscripts of short stories, plays, shooting scripts, articles, and a small amount of correspondence.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries as a bequest by Jeanne Reeder in 2005.

Preferred Citation: Jeanne Reeder Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Claiming descent from Anne Bradstreet, Jeanne Funkhouser Reeder says that writing is in her blood. Reeder grew up in Dayton, Ohio where her father was Ovrille Wright's personal lawyer and she says she can remember him telling the story of their first flight. She attended Earlham College and received her M.A. in English Language and Literature from the University of Michigan. She worked for a time as a legal secretary in her father's law office, then taught school at both the elementary and secondary levels before teaching English at Henry Ford College. She has contributed writings to The Dayton Daily News, The Detroit News Sunday Magazine,and the Wall Street Journal, among others.

This collection is made up of correspondence, several play manuscripts and one novel manuscript.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: WRITINGS

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence
  • Autobiography. 2 copies
  • Series 2: WRITINGS
  • Box 1:
  • Articles:
  • "The Hazards of Authority"
  • Novellas:
  • "The Decisions of Ali"
  • "My Husband, My Betrayer"
  • "One in a Million"
  • "Shadows of the Past"
  • "Very Untruly Yours"
  • Novel - Mistress of Hartland
  • A summary
  • Cast of characters. 2 copies
  • Title page to page 167
  • Pages 168-326
  • Pages 327-486
  • Synopsis. 2 copies
  • Corrected pages
  • Plays:
  • “Autograph Book”
  • "Enemy in the Gates"
  • “Fatal Quest”. 2 copies.
  • “King Harry’s Daughter”
  • “Quietus”. 2 copies
  • "Strawberry Point"
  • “Thanksgiving Pageant” (Sail Ho). 2 copies
  • Shooting Script:
  • “Stranger in the Earth"
  • Short Stories:
  • "Angela's Revenge"
  • "A Call at Scotland Yard"
  • "Challenges"
  • "First Acquaintance"
  • "Forever Morrie"
  • "Gopher Junction"
  • "The Gospel According to Jude"
  • "Great Lover"
  • "His Father's Son"
  • "Homecoming"
  • "I'm Engaged to a Killer"
  • "In My Heart, In My Arms, In My Bed"
  • "Legacies"
  • "Lester Snow's Will"
  • "A Long Day's Journey into Light"
  • "My Beloved is Free"
  • "Only the Plum Branch Listens"
  • "An Oyster's Love Story"
  • "Rocky Lonesome"
  • "The Romantic Type"
  • "Rutherford H. Pussycat: A Cat Ahead of His Time"
  • "Sangre de Cristo"
  • "The Schooling of Slippery Malone"
  • "Signed With Their Honor"
  • "Too Nice A Girl For Me"
  • "The Trouble With Neatness"
  • "True Love and Other Headaches"
  • "Twenty Years Later"
  • "Visiting Day"
  • "Waiting at Holly's"

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.