Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Willard Marsh Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1940-1970
Creator: Marsh, Willard (1922-1970)
Extent: 3.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0794
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Graduate of the Writers' Workshop, a musician and an English professor.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Accepted from a Marsh relative by the University of Arkansas and transferred to the University of Iowa

Preferred Citation: Willard Marsh Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Willard Marsh (1922-1970) was born in Oakland, California, son of Louis and Goldie (Greene) Marsh. While in Oakland High School he displayed a virtuosity with trumpet and trombone which led to an era as musician-impresario -- the launching of Will Marsh and the Four Collegians in an Oakland roadhouse -- which subsequently financed his education at the State College at Chico.
 
During World War II, while serving U.S. Army Air Forces (1942-45) in the South Pacific (advanced to staff sergeant), he began to write and subsequently acquired degrees at the University of Iowa Writers? Workshop (B.A., 1959, M.A., 1960). Marsh married George Rae Williams (a former actress at Pasadena Playhouse), September 4, 1948.
 
He taught at Winthrop College, Rock Hill, SC, assistant professor of English, 1959-61; University of California, Los Angeles, assistant professor of English, 1961-64; North Texas State University, Denton, assistant professor of English, 1968-70. He was a free-lance writer in Mexico before, between, and after these years, placing stories in more than seventy periodicals, including Antioch Review, Furioso, Prairie Schooner, Northwest Review, Yale Review, Esquire, Playboy, Transatlantic Review, and Saturday Evening Post. His stories were selected for such anthologies as the Foley and O'Henry collections.

The Marsh Papers have been organized in two series (I: Writing; II: Personal) with the first in two sub-series (A: Novels; B: Short Works). A list of Marsh's published writing, compiled from various sources and probably not complete, is appended.

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Marsh, Willard

Dates:
20th century

Occupations:
Authors

Genre/Form of Materials:
Photographs
Scrapbooks
Archives
Drafts (Documents)
Galley proofs
Clippings (Information artifacts)
Reviews (Document genre)
Typescripts
Correspondence