Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the M. Horvat Science Fiction Fanzines Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1925-2002
Creator: Horvat, Mike
Extent: 97.40 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0791
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: A large collection, stretching across most of the 20th century, of science fiction fanzines.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The Horvat collection was acquired by the University of Iowa Libraries in December 2004.

Preferred Citation: M. Horvat Science Fiction Fanzines Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Martin M. (Mike) Horvat is a printer and collector in Stayton, Oregon. For many years, his collecting focused on general circulation science fiction magazines and fanzines. Horvat founded the American Private Press Association and, during the 1970s and 1980s, published South of the Moon, a catalog of publications of amateur press associations.

This collection contains many thousands of individual fanzines and pieces of fanzines, amassed by Horvat over the decades. The fanzines in the collection deal mostly with science fiction and related subjects, although there are zines on other genre topics, such as mysteries. The collection chronicles the evolution, growth and development of science fiction fandom from its early organization in the 1920s through the various iterations of fandom that occurred over the subsequent decades. Together the materials in the Horvat collection document the history of SF fandom over the course of its first century of life.

In physical terms, the number of individual items represented here is on the order of 15,000-20000 pieces.
Information is generally entered: Title (Place of Publication) editor(s). Issue number (date of publication).
ALS = autograph letter signed; TLS = typed letter signed.
HERELD, S. The S. Hereld Collection of Blake's 7 Fanzines and Fan Fiction, 1979-2001. 5.2 ft.

A collection of fan publications, including examples of fan fiction, by various authors relating to the British sciencefiction television series Blake's 7. Also included are some publications for several other genre shows. MsC0877.

HILL, SUSAN. The Susan Hill Fanzine Collection, 1986-2009. 4.0 ft. Science fiction fan and fanzine collector. Collection of fanzines - mostly works of fan fiction, with particular emphasis on multimedia anthologies and on the British science fiction TV show Blake's 7. MsC0401.

HOOVER, DEBBIE. Debbie Hoover Fanzine Collection. 42.8 ft. Oregon-based fan and collector of fanzines. Collection of fanzines - mostly fan fiction -, mainly from Star Trek but also for other SF and genre media properties. MsC0430.

HORVAT, M. The M. Horvat Collection of Genre Apazines, 1943, 1945, 1958-2002. A collection of science fiction, fantasy, mystery and other genre "apazines" (informal publications similar to newsletters or fanzines, and published by fan groups called Amateur Press Associations, or "apas"). MsC0825.

HORVAT, M. The M. Horvat National Fantasy Fan Federation Collection, 1942-2008. 1.5 ft. Collection of materials from the National Fantasy Fan Federation (N3F), a major and venerable SF fannish organization. Materials include administrative documents, publications, and records from N3F subsidiary bodies. MsC0886.

HORVAT, M. The M. Horvat Collection of Science Fiction Convention Materials, 1943-2000.

Materials produced for or relating to numerous science fiction conventions, including progress reports, advertisements, newsletters, and assorted ephemera. MsC0884.

HOTALING-LYONS, CELESTE. The Celeste Hotaling-Lyons Fanzine Collection, 1976-2005. Fan writer and editor. A collection of science fiction fanzines, primarily consisting of pieces of fan fiction, and a few related items, including some science fiction convention materials. MsC0400.

KNAPP, BRIAN. The Brian Knapp FanzineCollection, 1972-2003. 1 ft. Collection of fanzines and science fiction convention materials from Connecticut-based fan Knapp, mostly dealing with Star Trek but including other media properties as well. MsC0294.

ORGANIZATION FOR TRANSFORMATIVE WORKS. Organization for Transformative Works Fanzine and Fan Fiction Collection, 1979-2007. 4.4 ft. Collection of science fiction and other genre fanzines, pieces of fan fiction, and related fannish artifacts donated by various fans through the cooperation of the Organization for Transformative Works, established to preserve the history of fanworks and fan culture. MsC0320.

WATHNE, MARIELLEN (MING). Mariellen (Ming) Wathne Fanzine Archives Collection, 1966-2005. 93.6 ft. Large assemblage of fanzines and works of fan fiction relating to multiple media fandoms, including Star Trek, Star Wars, and other movies and television shows. MsC0313.

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.