Guide to the Dick Higgins Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1968-1993
Creator: Higgins, Dick (1939-1998)
Extent: 7.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0790
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: He was a Fluxus artist. This is an Alternative Traditions in Contemporary Art Collection (ATCA).

Administrative Information

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Oversized material.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by a variety of sources including Ken Friedman, Buster Cleveland, and Steve Durland.

Preferred Citation: Dick Higgins Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Biographical Note

Dick Higgins was born in Cambridge, England in 1939 and died in Quebec in 1998. He was a Fluxus artist who studied with John Cage and Henry Cowell (1958-1959), and co-founded Happenings in 1958. He is credited with coining the phrase intermedia to describe his particular approach to artmaking that included (but is not limited to) his visual, musical and literary efforts. He was a theorist, poet, composer, performance artist, printmaker, filmaker, and book publisher. Most notably, Higgins founded Something Else Press (1963-1974), operated the Something Else Gallery (1966-1969) and founded Unpublished Editions (Printed Editions) in 1972.


Content Description

The collection contains original manuscripts of performance art, original works of art, and related ephemera.

Related Materials

This is an Alternative Traditions in Contemporary Art collection.

Detailed Description of the Collection

Browse by Series:


Subjects

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
Twentieth Century Avant-Garde Art
Alternative Traditions in the Contemporary Arts (ATCA)